Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Conclusion

AMD's Mobility Radeon HD 6970 In CrossFire On Eurocom's Panther
By

While Eurocom’s Panther 2.0 has given us class-leading mobile game performance since the middle of last year, today’s build focuses on its new AMD Radeon HD 6970M CrossFire option, which the company says it co-developed with AMD. This Radeon HD 6970M CrossFire configuration provides similar performance to Nvidia’s high-end GeForce GTX 480M in SLI, for around half the price.

The real star in the above chart appears to be the GeForce GTX 470M SLI, offering an 8% performance improvement at around 2/3 the price of its GTX 480M SLI predecessor. Yet, the point of high-end graphics is to play at high resolutions and settings, so we should probably show how these configurations compare at the panel’s native 1920x1080 resolution before handing out any crowns.

We noticed that the Radeon HD 6970M appeared CPU-bottlenecked at lower resolutions, and reducing our comparison to the panel’s native resolution puts this in perspective. At 1920x1080, the Radeon HD 6970M CrossFire provides similar performance to the GeForce GTX 470M SLI, yet costs roughly 18% less. Matched performance at reduced cost looks like an AMD win to us.

Yet, as nice as the HD 6970M appears in CrossFire, the single-card configuration is where it truly excels. A whopping 17% lead over a single GeForce GTX 470M gives hope to mid-budget mobile gamers, while hinting at the true potential of CrossFire, should scaling be improved by future drivers.

Our special thanks goes to Eurocom for providing its Panther 2.0 with the extra hardware required to make this comparison possible.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 42 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 7 Hide
    haxs101 , January 31, 2011 4:12 AM
    5292$... Are you kidding me!!
  • 3 Hide
    dogman_1234 , January 31, 2011 4:30 AM
    Yikes!
  • 4 Hide
    Crashman , January 31, 2011 4:43 AM
    dogman_1234Yikes!
    What, you don't have a $180,000 car sitting in front of your $5m mansion?
  • 2 Hide
    fstrthnu , January 31, 2011 4:45 AM
    This is even more absurd than the other recent power gaming notebook that was tested. You could save almost $500 by using Sandy Bridge instead of the old i7s, for the same performance. Even Falcon Mach V's usually don't get this expensive. This is absolutely ridiculous
  • 1 Hide
    Crashman , January 31, 2011 4:48 AM
    fstrthnuThis is even more absurd than the other recent power gaming notebook that was tested. You could save almost $500 by using Sandy Bridge instead of the old i7s, for the same performance. Even Falcon Mach V's usually don't get this expensive. This is absolutely ridiculous
    No you couldn't. Because as of CES when these cards launched, nobody produced a dual-graphics module chassis for the Sandy Bridge.
  • 2 Hide
    one-shot , January 31, 2011 5:16 AM
    There are the battery life graphs that I love! Thanks for adding those to the laptop review! My first laptop was a P4 Northwood that barely got 90 minutes of battery life. This one is insane!
  • -1 Hide
    _Pez_ , January 31, 2011 5:43 AM
    Insane and impossible to get and pay in Mëxico :(  ....
  • 0 Hide
    Maziar , January 31, 2011 6:10 AM
    First of all,great review ! I was desperately waiting for 6970M review from Tom's.
    The overall performance is quite good especially in single mode which it's faster than both GTX 470M/480M.I think if AMD pays more attention to mobile drivers, then 2 of this cards should perform better.
    About the price,well not everyone configures the laptop with i7 980x.Websites usually test the high-end specs in order to reduce the bottleneck and let the laptop run at its full potential.
    I've read that Sager will soon release a model with mobile Sandy bridge CPUs along with 1 6970M and it won't be very expensive I think.
  • 3 Hide
    tacoslave , January 31, 2011 6:23 AM
    CrashmanWhat, you don't have a $180,000 car sitting in front of your $5m mansion?


    Duh of course, we all do but i mean 32 bedrooms IS kinda small. On a serious note, wtf 5k seriously? I could build a desktop and hook it up to a small generator for 1.5k and get at least 4 hours of power than pay 5k for 20min Fuk that $hit.
  • 1 Hide
    christop , January 31, 2011 6:29 AM
    Who is buying this? I bet it weights 50 lbs. Nice battery life of 22 minutes.
  • -4 Hide
    sparky2010 , January 31, 2011 7:05 AM
    You know what really gets to me.. AMD really markets the whole 1.3 teraflops, and 2.7 teraflops.. but at the end of the day, nvidia, with a lot less flop, overpowers AMD's cards... so where does all of tha processing power go in AMD's cards?
  • 2 Hide
    stingstang , January 31, 2011 7:12 AM
    Looks like AMD hit the sweet spot in their mobile graphics division...FINALLY. I'd like to know what the price difference is between the 6970m and the 460m. It probably won't change the 460m pricing, but I'm willing to bet Nvidia snapped their fingers and said, "Damn, we can't milk our mobile cards for 4 times what they're worth anymore."
    Seriously, how could they charge 800 dollars or some such crap for half the power of their 600 dollar cards?
  • 3 Hide
    darkchazz , January 31, 2011 8:44 AM
    Who the Fu** would pay for this :/ 
  • 2 Hide
    Helltech , January 31, 2011 9:01 AM
    This... is sad. I don't know why anyone would want this, especially for that price.
  • -1 Hide
    alidan , January 31, 2011 9:55 AM
    stingstangLooks like AMD hit the sweet spot in their mobile graphics division...FINALLY. I'd like to know what the price difference is between the 6970m and the 460m. It probably won't change the 460m pricing, but I'm willing to bet Nvidia snapped their fingers and said, "Damn, we can't milk our mobile cards for 4 times what they're worth anymore."Seriously, how could they charge 800 dollars or some such crap for half the power of their 600 dollar cards?


    it does sound like they are screwing you, at first. but you have to think about it. with a full size card, they have how much space and cooling to work with? and how much space do they have with a notebook? pluss less people buy a notbook that high powered, so they have to recupe the costs of production somehow.
  • 1 Hide
    JohnnyLucky , January 31, 2011 10:54 AM
    The cost is way out of my price range.
  • 1 Hide
    jimishtar , January 31, 2011 11:38 AM
    "These desktop replacement notebooks are designed to run primarily from a wall outlet anyway"

    So all of your that cry about the battery life, the price, the weight.... its an elite desktop replacement. It was never meant to be power efficient, lightweight nor cheap. You don't buy this kinda stuff cause u need it - you buy it cause u don't.
  • -1 Hide
    dkaral , January 31, 2011 12:16 PM
    Should be compared to GTX 485M. Remember 485M is around 40% faster than a 480M according to notebookcheck.
  • 1 Hide
    Reynod , January 31, 2011 12:45 PM
    $5G for a high end gaming laptop is what you would expect to pay.

    A bit of a written rule over the years for me is that you can build the best PC for $5000 (with all of the performance bits but ditch the teenage blinged up case) ... it still applies.

    Crunch the numbers for yourself and include CF or SLI and you will see it works.

    $5G in a laptop fors out the best "mobile" money can buy ... will this is about right ... unless you want a bigger SSD I guess.

    Nice article crash.

  • 0 Hide
    rolli59 , January 31, 2011 12:46 PM
    Just need a portable generator to go with it (at that price they could throw one in for free)
    On a more serious note just get a desktop!
Display more comments