Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Benchmark Settings

AMD's Mobility Radeon HD 6970 In CrossFire On Eurocom's Panther
By
Test System Configuration
Common CPUIntel Core i7-980X LGA 1366, 3.33-3.60 GHz, 12 MB L3 Cache
Common RAM3 x 4 GB DDR3-1333 CAS 9-9-9-24, 12 GB Total
Radeon HD 6970M
Graphics
Clevo Radeon HD 6970M 2 GB
680 MHz GPU Core, GDDR5-3600
Mobile Driver Version 8.810.0
GeForce GTX 480M
Graphics
Clevo GeForce GTX 480M 2 GB
425 MHz GPU Core, GDDR5-2400
Mobile Driver Version 259.51
GeForce GTX 470M
Graphics
Clevo GeForce GTX 470M 1.5 GB
535 MHz GPU Core, GDDR5-3000
Mobile Driver Version 266.35
480M System Hard Drives2 x Intel X25-M 80 GB SSD, 160 GB (Striped), SATA 3Gb/s
Eurocom Hard DriveSeagate ST95005620AS Hybrid, 500 GB +4 GB SLC, 32 MB cache, SATA 3Gb/s
SoundIntegrated HD Audio
NetworkIntegrated Gigabit Networking
Software
OSMicrosoft Windows 7 64-bit


We wanted to see how the GeForce GTX 480M compared to the Radeon HD 6970M and GeForce GTX 470M of today’s comparison, yet all of our GTX 480M-based notebooks have already been returned to the suppliers. The closest previously-tested GTX 480M match to today’s build differs in its hard drive configuration and graphics driver revision, which are points to remember in our benchmark results discussion.

Benchmark Configuration
3D Games
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2Campaign, Act III, Second Sun (45 sec. FRAPS)
Test Set 1: Highest Settings, No AA
Test Set 2: Highest Settings, 4x AA
CrysisPatch 1.2.1, DirectX 10, 64-bit executable, benchmark tool
Test Set 1: High Quality, No AA
Test Set 2: Very High Quality, 4x AA
DiRT 2Run with -benchmark example_benchmark.xml
Test Set 1: High Quality Preset, No AA
Test Set 2: Ultra Quality Preset, 4x AA
S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call Of PripyatCall Of Pripyat Benchmark version
Test Set 1: High Preset, DX11 EFDL, No AA
Test Set 2: Ultra Preset, DX11 EFDL, 4x MSAA
Audio/Video Encoding
iTunesVersion:9.0.2.25 x64
Audio CD (Terminator II SE), 53 min
Default format AAC
Handbrake 0.9.4Version 0.9.4, convert first .vob file from The Last Samurai (1 GB) to .mp4, High Profile
TMPEGEnc 4.0 XPressVersion: 4.7.3.292
Import File: Terminator 2 SE DVD (5 Minutes)
Resolution: 720x576 (PAL) 16:9
DivX Codec 6.9.1Encoding mode: Insane Quality
Enhanced multithreading enabled using SSE4
Quarter-pixel search
XviD 1.2.2Display encoding status = off
MainConcept Reference 1.6.1MPEG-2 to MPEG-4 (H.264), MainConcept H.264/AVC Codec, 28 sec HDTV 1920x1080 (MPEG-2), Audio: MPEG-2 (44.1 KHz, 2-Channel, 16-Bit, 224 Kb/s), Mode: PAL (25 FPS)
Productivity
Adobe Photoshop CS4Version: 11.0 x64, Filter 15.7 MB TIF Image
Radial Blur, Shape Blur, Median, Polar Coordinates
Autodesk 3ds Max 2010Version: 11.0 x64, Rendering Dragon Image at 1920x1080 (HDTV)
WinRAR 3.90Version x64 3.90, Dictionary = 4,096 KB, Benchmark: THG-Workload (334 MB)
7-ZipVersion 4.65: Format=Zip, Compression=Ultra, Method=Deflate, Dictionary Size=32 KB, Word Size=128, Threads=8
Benchmark: THG-Workload (334 MB)
Synthetic Benchmarks and Settings
3DMark VantageVersion: 1.0.2, System scores
PCMark VantageVersion: 1.0.1.0 x64, System, Productivity, Hard Disk Drive benchmarks
SiSoftware Sandra 2011Version 2011.1.17.25, CPU Test = CPU Arithmetic / MultiMedia, Memory Test = Bandwidth Benchmark


Fortunately, most of our benchmark scores won’t be affected by differences in drive configuration, though PCMark certainly will.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 42 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 7 Hide
    haxs101 , January 31, 2011 4:12 AM
    5292$... Are you kidding me!!
  • 3 Hide
    dogman_1234 , January 31, 2011 4:30 AM
    Yikes!
  • 4 Hide
    Crashman , January 31, 2011 4:43 AM
    dogman_1234Yikes!
    What, you don't have a $180,000 car sitting in front of your $5m mansion?
  • 2 Hide
    fstrthnu , January 31, 2011 4:45 AM
    This is even more absurd than the other recent power gaming notebook that was tested. You could save almost $500 by using Sandy Bridge instead of the old i7s, for the same performance. Even Falcon Mach V's usually don't get this expensive. This is absolutely ridiculous
  • 1 Hide
    Crashman , January 31, 2011 4:48 AM
    fstrthnuThis is even more absurd than the other recent power gaming notebook that was tested. You could save almost $500 by using Sandy Bridge instead of the old i7s, for the same performance. Even Falcon Mach V's usually don't get this expensive. This is absolutely ridiculous
    No you couldn't. Because as of CES when these cards launched, nobody produced a dual-graphics module chassis for the Sandy Bridge.
  • 2 Hide
    one-shot , January 31, 2011 5:16 AM
    There are the battery life graphs that I love! Thanks for adding those to the laptop review! My first laptop was a P4 Northwood that barely got 90 minutes of battery life. This one is insane!
  • -1 Hide
    _Pez_ , January 31, 2011 5:43 AM
    Insane and impossible to get and pay in Mëxico :(  ....
  • 0 Hide
    Maziar , January 31, 2011 6:10 AM
    First of all,great review ! I was desperately waiting for 6970M review from Tom's.
    The overall performance is quite good especially in single mode which it's faster than both GTX 470M/480M.I think if AMD pays more attention to mobile drivers, then 2 of this cards should perform better.
    About the price,well not everyone configures the laptop with i7 980x.Websites usually test the high-end specs in order to reduce the bottleneck and let the laptop run at its full potential.
    I've read that Sager will soon release a model with mobile Sandy bridge CPUs along with 1 6970M and it won't be very expensive I think.
  • 3 Hide
    tacoslave , January 31, 2011 6:23 AM
    CrashmanWhat, you don't have a $180,000 car sitting in front of your $5m mansion?


    Duh of course, we all do but i mean 32 bedrooms IS kinda small. On a serious note, wtf 5k seriously? I could build a desktop and hook it up to a small generator for 1.5k and get at least 4 hours of power than pay 5k for 20min Fuk that $hit.
  • 1 Hide
    christop , January 31, 2011 6:29 AM
    Who is buying this? I bet it weights 50 lbs. Nice battery life of 22 minutes.
  • -4 Hide
    sparky2010 , January 31, 2011 7:05 AM
    You know what really gets to me.. AMD really markets the whole 1.3 teraflops, and 2.7 teraflops.. but at the end of the day, nvidia, with a lot less flop, overpowers AMD's cards... so where does all of tha processing power go in AMD's cards?
  • 2 Hide
    stingstang , January 31, 2011 7:12 AM
    Looks like AMD hit the sweet spot in their mobile graphics division...FINALLY. I'd like to know what the price difference is between the 6970m and the 460m. It probably won't change the 460m pricing, but I'm willing to bet Nvidia snapped their fingers and said, "Damn, we can't milk our mobile cards for 4 times what they're worth anymore."
    Seriously, how could they charge 800 dollars or some such crap for half the power of their 600 dollar cards?
  • 3 Hide
    darkchazz , January 31, 2011 8:44 AM
    Who the Fu** would pay for this :/ 
  • 2 Hide
    Helltech , January 31, 2011 9:01 AM
    This... is sad. I don't know why anyone would want this, especially for that price.
  • -1 Hide
    alidan , January 31, 2011 9:55 AM
    stingstangLooks like AMD hit the sweet spot in their mobile graphics division...FINALLY. I'd like to know what the price difference is between the 6970m and the 460m. It probably won't change the 460m pricing, but I'm willing to bet Nvidia snapped their fingers and said, "Damn, we can't milk our mobile cards for 4 times what they're worth anymore."Seriously, how could they charge 800 dollars or some such crap for half the power of their 600 dollar cards?


    it does sound like they are screwing you, at first. but you have to think about it. with a full size card, they have how much space and cooling to work with? and how much space do they have with a notebook? pluss less people buy a notbook that high powered, so they have to recupe the costs of production somehow.
  • 1 Hide
    JohnnyLucky , January 31, 2011 10:54 AM
    The cost is way out of my price range.
  • 1 Hide
    jimishtar , January 31, 2011 11:38 AM
    "These desktop replacement notebooks are designed to run primarily from a wall outlet anyway"

    So all of your that cry about the battery life, the price, the weight.... its an elite desktop replacement. It was never meant to be power efficient, lightweight nor cheap. You don't buy this kinda stuff cause u need it - you buy it cause u don't.
  • -1 Hide
    dkaral , January 31, 2011 12:16 PM
    Should be compared to GTX 485M. Remember 485M is around 40% faster than a 480M according to notebookcheck.
  • 1 Hide
    Reynod , January 31, 2011 12:45 PM
    $5G for a high end gaming laptop is what you would expect to pay.

    A bit of a written rule over the years for me is that you can build the best PC for $5000 (with all of the performance bits but ditch the teenage blinged up case) ... it still applies.

    Crunch the numbers for yourself and include CF or SLI and you will see it works.

    $5G in a laptop fors out the best "mobile" money can buy ... will this is about right ... unless you want a bigger SSD I guess.

    Nice article crash.

  • 0 Hide
    rolli59 , January 31, 2011 12:46 PM
    Just need a portable generator to go with it (at that price they could throw one in for free)
    On a more serious note just get a desktop!
Display more comments