Skip to main content

Apple Working on Fix for Snow Leopard Data Loss

The problem is said to affect users who sign into their computers using guest accounts that were enabled before they upgraded to Apple's latest version of its Mac OS X operating system, Snow Leopard. RedOrbit reports that the bug has Snow Leopard recognizing the main account as a guest account, meaning that the profile is deleted when users log out. RebOrbit writes that users should remove old guest accounts and build new ones that are "native" to the Snow Leopard program.

Apple Monday acknowledged the problem, promising that it was working on a fix and reassuring Mac users that it is not a widespread problem.

"We are aware of the issue, which occurs only in extremely rare cases, and we are working on a fix," an Apple rep said in statement, according to CNet.

Anyone experiencing this issue and willing to share? Leave your troubles in the comments section below.

  • bourgeoisdude
    So...is the Guest account to Apple ~ to the Guest account in Windows? Is it disabled by default like in Windows?

    If so, there are probably only about 200 people on the planet that actually ever use the thing. It would (or should) be as rare as the Apple rep. says.
    Reply
  • DjEaZy
    ... not me...
    Reply
  • nekatreven
    "Apple. It just deletes all your shit at random."

    or wait, was that not their slogan?
    Reply
  • beehew
    Well, at least it isn't a virus, because macs don't get them. Viruses are bad!!
    Reply
  • doc70
    I thought that MacOS was fault-proof... the only OS with problems was MS Windows...
    Reply
  • hellwig
    The problem is said to affect users who sign into their computers using guest accounts that were enabled before they upgraded to Apple's latest version of its Mac OS X operating system, Snow Leopard. RedOrbit reports that the bug has Snow Leopard recognizing the main account as a guest account, meaning that the profile is deleted when users log out.
    Wait, so simply using a Guest account means your main account could get wiped out? That is definitely a major bug. I assume not too many people activate guest accounts, but the fact that activating them causing other, full accounts to be wiped out is a crazy problem.

    Fortunately for anyone who lost data, your computer is still virus-proof*, it was just Apple who deleted your files.

    *virus-proof claim based on Apple advertising. We all know it's B.S.
    Reply
  • jhansonxi
    Apple should move to storing user files on hosted servers like Microsoft/Danger/T-Mobile.
    Reply
  • tipoo
    Its a feature.
    Reply
  • klanguedoc
    Lol, don't worry guys, it's one of Apple's new "features" that wipes your hard drive every time you log on to keep it running smoothly...lame
    Reply
  • kyeana
    need added security for those "guests" trying to steal you data? Theres an app for that!
    Reply