Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

HDMI Output And Camera Quality

Apple's iPad 2 Review: Tom's Goes Down The Tablet Rabbit Hole
By

HDMI output


Apple neglected to include a digital video output on the original iPad, which is something that I constantly bemoan. Yes, you could output via component video, but multiple cables leads are a pain to deal with. In order for this to be painless, you really need a single-plug solution like HDMI, which Apple finally made possible on the iPad 2.

Of course, it isn't free. You have to buy this capability, and it's not cheap. Apple's Digital AV Adapter runs $39.

The adapter is simple, but I really think the ultimate in video output is wireless display technology like Intel's WiDi. In the meantime, Apple is covering the basics. The adapter has a single HDMI port for video output, along with a docking pass-through connector so you can charge the iPad 2 at the same time. Outputting video seems to drain the battery pretty fast. So, ideally, presentations made with your iPad 2 should be limited to two hours or so if you don't want to hook up the charger at the same time.

HDMI Output: 1920x1080 monitorHDMI Output: 1920x1080 monitor

HDMI to DVI Output: 1920x1080 monitorHDMI to DVI Output: 1920x1080 monitor

Video output isn't without its quirks. If you output via HDMI, native 1080p TVs and monitors display the image as an upscaled box in the center of the screen. If you use an HDMI-to-DVI cable, you'll see an upscaled image that takes up the total height of the screen. If you have a 1920x1200 screen, the image is correctly upscaled to fill the total height regardless of cable, but the 4:3 aspect ratio is preserved no matter what.

After a few days of mirroring the iPad 2's display, I decided that this isn't a perfect solution. I don't mind the upscaling, but I would prefer to have some sort of resolution control if I'm going to output to a larger screen. Apple also needs to fine-tune cloning because I don't need the iOS keyboard displayed on both screens. Ideally, it should only be visible on the iPad.

Playing video over HDMI is more refined. Regardless of the cable setup, you always get an image that preserves the aspect ratio of the original movie. According to Apple, media apps all have modes that are optimized for an external monitor. Netflix isn't listed, but this also applies to videos that you watch in that app.

AppNotes
iPodiPhone 4
VideosiPad and iPod touch (4th generation)
SafariVideo content on Web pages
PhotosSlideshow and video playback
YouTube 
KeynoteAvailable for iPad through the App Store


Camera Quality

iPad 2: Taking A PictureiPad 2: Taking A Picture

The front-facing and rear-facing cameras on the iPad 2 are really meant for FaceTime, which I unfortunately can’t test since no one else in the SoCal lab has the time to video conference (Ed.: So sue us for working!). No matter; the cameras are simply atrocious. The quality is good enough for Skype, but it pales in contrast to older smartphones that have 3+ megapixel sensors.

Back Camera: 0.7 MP 960x720Back Camera: 0.7 MP 960x720

Apple narrows the competitive advantage of other tablets by adding cameras, but it does the bare minimum. Granted, nobody wants to even take a family photo with a big, awkward tablet, but at least exceed the capabilities of an old Blackberry Pearl. Yeesh.

Front Camera: 0.3 MP 640x480Front Camera: 0.3 MP 640x480

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 63 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 3 Hide
    Yuka , June 16, 2011 4:46 AM
    What about adding other tablets in the mix?

    The XOOM could be a good choice, or the Asus Transformer.

    Cheers!
  • 7 Hide
    acku , June 16, 2011 4:49 AM
    We'll get to the others soon enough, but it's difficult to talk about other tablets without talking about Apple products.

    Cheers,
    Andrew Ku
    TomsHardware.com
  • 0 Hide
    Nintendork , June 16, 2011 5:15 AM
    Samsung Galaxy 10.1 anyday.
  • -6 Hide
    gidgiddonihah , June 16, 2011 5:24 AM
    Here is the article where all the Apple fanboys start to tear this article up :) .
  • 3 Hide
    gidgiddonihah , June 16, 2011 5:27 AM
    Oops, sorry for the poor grammer :) . Posted without rereading...

    Here is an article that Apple fanboys would be glad to rip up.
  • 2 Hide
    Tijok , June 16, 2011 5:37 AM
    gidgiddonihahHere is the article where all the Apple fanboys start to tear up .


    Fixed it for you. ;) 
  • 1 Hide
    Benihana , June 16, 2011 5:55 AM
    Still no HDD expandability? No thanks. I'm not rich.
  • 2 Hide
    Anonymous , June 16, 2011 6:36 AM
    Disagree.
    Like most computer guys like myself, adding an ipad won't make us to pack our PC/Mac to our closet. But again, mistakes like Microsoft or Linux, the "most computer guys on earth" are actually just a small group in total.
    For example:
    i've been teaching my 80 years old grandma to use pc to download, install and play simple games for years, no success. then she learned how to find/download/install/play many games after few days playing with my ipad.
    my 5 years nephew reads/plays/watch cartoons all on ipad now, she didn't turn on her pc for weeks.
    For myself, i uninstalled all my online video, movie client applications from my laptop, as I found watching these on ipad is much comfortable.

    Yes I still do my works on my pc, mostly in my office. At home, now the only thing force me to turn on my pc is to play world of warcraft
    I mean, who says ipad can't replace anything?
  • 3 Hide
    acku , June 16, 2011 7:33 AM
    joeyluDisagree.Like most computer guys like myself, adding an ipad won't make us to pack our PC/Mac to our closet. But again, mistakes like Microsoft or Linux, the "most computer guys on earth" are actually just a small group in total.For example:i've been teaching my 80 years old grandma to use pc to download, install and play simple games for years, no success. then she learned how to find/download/install/play many games after few days playing with my ipad.my 5 years nephew reads/plays/watch cartoons all on ipad now, she didn't turn on her pc for weeks.For myself, i uninstalled all my online video, movie client applications from my laptop, as I found watching these on ipad is much comfortable. Yes I still do my works on my pc, mostly in my office. At home, now the only thing force me to turn on my pc is to play world of warcraftI mean, who says ipad can't replace anything?


    I'd actually argue that in your case you're not replacing a PC, you're augmenting it. Granted, there will be others like your nephew and grandmother who can use an iPad as their primary device.
  • 8 Hide
    damianrobertjones , June 16, 2011 7:45 AM
    May I simply say, "thank you" to Toms for writing a well thought out objective, honest and practical review of thr iPad2. Instead of getting carried away you've hit the nail on the head.

    P.s. I use an Acer W500 and I still struggle to justify why i have it.
  • 5 Hide
    Maziar , June 16, 2011 9:19 AM
    Good too see you guys are writing about tablets.Hope this trend continues and we can see reviews of more tablets :) 
  • 2 Hide
    Marcus52 , June 16, 2011 9:45 AM
    In my opinion, the tablet is a fad that will go away when everyone finds out they are very cool looking toys that really don't add anything to what you can do.

    Oh, don't get me wrong; I think they'll make their permanent mark on the smart phone and laptop scenes, the devices that really fit into people's lives - but the tablet is too limited and too clumsy in actual use.

    Certainly, they have their niche uses - as book readers, like the Kindle, for example, but as something that will actually replace anything, I think not. Lots of coolz, little practicality.

    ;) 
  • 2 Hide
    VVV850 , June 16, 2011 9:59 AM
    What about light bleeding? I mean, the number of Ipads 2 that have this issue is staggering and has to be included in a review
  • 2 Hide
    molo9000 , June 16, 2011 10:33 AM
    Marcus52In my opinion, the tablet is a fad that will go away when everyone finds out they are very cool looking toys that really don't add anything to what you can do.Oh, don't get me wrong; I think they'll make their permanent mark on the smart phone and laptop scenes, the devices that really fit into people's lives - but the tablet is too limited and too clumsy in actual use.Certainly, they have their niche uses - as book readers, like the Kindle, for example, but as something that will actually replace anything, I think not. Lots of coolz, little practicality.

    They don't "add anything to what you can do", but they do certain things much better than other devices.

    Reading this article on my iPad while sitting on a sofa was certainly much more comfortable than reading it on my desktop or laptop.
  • 0 Hide
    phraun , June 16, 2011 11:07 AM
    molo9000They don't "add anything to what you can do", but they do certain things much better than other devices.Reading this article on my iPad while sitting on a sofa was certainly much more comfortable than reading it on my desktop or laptop.


    You need a more comfortable computer chair. =)
  • 4 Hide
    damianrobertjones , June 16, 2011 11:07 AM
    Reading this article on a 108" projector screen was a lot more comfortable... :) 
  • -1 Hide
    altoidman85 , June 16, 2011 11:14 AM
    molo9000They don't "add anything to what you can do", but they do certain things much better than other devices.Reading this article on my iPad while sitting on a sofa was certainly much more comfortable than reading it on my desktop or laptop.


    You should have taken the money you spent on your ipad and bought a more comfortable desk and chair for your desktop. Then a few cases of beer.
  • 1 Hide
    brendonmc , June 16, 2011 11:48 AM
    Spot on. Even Microsoft recognized that Windows Mobile applications had to be compatible with the full versions. Unfortunately there just wasn't the hardware to make it run....well....
    Oh, and using a stylus to type sucks.

  • -4 Hide
    jdamon113 , June 16, 2011 12:05 PM
    This is Boring, just like a tablet.
  • 2 Hide
    Anonymous , June 16, 2011 12:27 PM
    I only justify having a tablet for my girlfriend, who's work place (Hospital ER) will not allow laptop use during her down time, to browse or chat w/ me. But they do allow them to read books, or e-readers, so she has a nook color running Cyanogenmod7, so i guess the onl ytime a tablet is useful to us is when a laptop strictly isnt allowed.
Display more comments