Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Accessories And Installation

System Builder Marathon: The $5,000 Extreme PC
By

Because our $5,000 system used two 2.5” form-factor SSD hard drives, we needed at a minimum two 3.5” bay adapters, at a minimum cost of $10 each. The thought of paying $20 or more for a few crude brackets spelled “rip off” in this editor’s mind, especially when a far more elegant solution could be had for $36.

Newegg calls this type of device a "mobile rack," but the term “mobile” is most likely carried over from earlier designs that mounted the hard drive in a tote box with a handle. Alternatively, this device could be called a “hot-swap drive cage” or a “SATA backplane,” although these names are typically only applied to devices that support three or more drives for advanced RAID arrays.

Two adapters are required to connect the SYBA CL-HD-MRDU25S rack’s LED activity indicators, but we instead configured our system using standard cables. The activity light of the Cooler Master Cosmos S provides the same information without the sloppy wiring.

An ejection lever automatically disengages each drive when its access door is open, making the installation and removal of 9.5 mm tall drives a simple operation.

Buyers should be aware that the 2.5” SATA form factor is standardized so that 2.5” SSD devices follow it. Specially-labeled “SSD Adapters” are not required, although labeling a standard adapter as SSD-optimized sounds like a good way for sellers to collect a “sucker tax.”

Cooler Master designed space into its Cosmos S for installing fans between the top trim panel and the top of the aluminum chassis. Mounting intake fans here allows cool air to be blown downward through the radiator. This is the method that liquid-cooling expert Koolance favors, even though it works against convective flow of the case. We tried it, and found it was too noisy.

Mounting the fans on the bottom blows warm case air up through the radiator, but this also improves airflow inside the case. The cooling of other internal components improves, with the added benefit of significant noise reduction. Choosing this configuration increased the temperature of our heavily overclocked Core i7 965 processor by around 0.5 degrees Celsius, which we feel is a reasonable trade-off for remarkably decreased noise with marginally lower case temperatures.

The Swiftech MCR320-QP radiator doesn’t include hose barbs, so we re-used fittings from the Cooler Master Aquagate Max radiator.

Because the liquid cooling system was empty, we attached the Apogee GTZ water block onto the Asus Rampage II Extreme prior to motherboard installation. Coolant lines were then cut to length, joining the Aquagate Max pump and reservoir assembly with remaining components.

With the liquid cooling components installed, we inserted the LG GGW-H20LK Blu-ray Burner, the SYBA CL-HD-MRDU25S rack with its twin Intel X25-M 80 GB drives, the Seagate ST31500341AS 1.5 TB storage drive, and the Cooler Master RS-850-EMBA power supply.

Once we had the case, hard drive, and motherboard power cables connected, we inserted two MSI N295GTX-M2D1792 graphics cards to complete our quad-SLI configuration.

We dropped the radiator below the Aquagate Max pump and reservoir to allow air to be purged while filling the liquid-cooling system. The radiator was detached from the top panel by removing four screws and was repositioned once air had been removed.

Few problems slowed our build progress, but one particular annoyance was that the Aquagate Max pump assembly didn’t quite fit into its bays. Tabs protruding from the sides of the bays are meant to keep drives positioned horizontally during installation, but the pump assembly’s casing was just a little taller than the spacing of those tabs. We had to slightly bend four of the tabs to compensate.

A less annoying issue was that the 5.25”-to-3.5”-adapter brackets that Cooler Master included with its case were too narrow to fit snuggly into the larger bay when attached to the SYBA CL-HD-MRDU25S rack. That prevented the screw-less drive-lock mechanism from functioning properly, forcing us to use screws instead.

Display all 86 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    xx12amanxx , February 12, 2009 5:11 AM
    Nice article!

    I wish i could own a rig like that,but it would be that or a 383 stroker for the F-body..lol I can dream cant I?
  • 1 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 5:32 AM
    xx12amanxxNice article!I wish i could own a rig like that,but it would be that or a 383 stroker for the F-body..lol I can dream cant I?


    383 strokers are for copycats. Basically, too many bad 400 blocks and people found a cheap way to re-use the cranks to make their 350's bigger. If you have THIS kind of money, you'd might as well go BIG BORE too. Maybe a bowtie block? At any rate, you'll win more races with a real 400 (or larger custom size) so long as the block is good.
  • 2 Hide
    one-shot , February 12, 2009 6:24 AM
    It is interesting to note on Page 14. On the Sandra XII Multimedia test the Core i7 965 @ 4.2GHz scored 486,971, while the i7 920 @ 4.0GHz scored 386,867. The difference was 200MHz and made such a large difference. Did the Intel SSDs influence such a large gain in performance or the DDR3 @ 1800MHz or perhaps a combination of both?
  • 3 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 6:45 AM
    Quote:
    It is interesting to note on Page 14. On the Sandra XII Multimedia test the Core i7 965 @ 4.2GHz scored 486,971, while the i7 920 @ 4.0GHz scored 386,867. The difference was 200MHz and made such a large difference. Did the Intel SSDs influence such a large gain in performance or the DDR3 @ 1800MHz or perhaps a combination of both?


    The 965 has a higher-bandwidth QPI link, so it should be good for boosting at least a few synthetic scores.
  • 4 Hide
    xx12amanxx , February 12, 2009 7:24 AM
    Intel is the fastest thats why...This is supposed to be an uber rig.

    Ya crashman thats the problem i dont have that kind of money..lol A fresh stock rebuild bolt on's and spray will have to hold me off until better times!
  • 6 Hide
    JeanLuc , February 12, 2009 8:19 AM
    I would love to seen those Windows boot times with those RAID 0 Intel SDD's!
  • -8 Hide
    gim159 , February 12, 2009 8:35 AM
    Yeah, Optimize the heck out of it and take all of the unnecessary stuff out.. Probably 4 sec boot, Awesome!
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 10:17 AM
    xx12amanxxIntel is the fastest thats why...This is supposed to be an uber rig.Ya crashman thats the problem i dont have that kind of money..lol A fresh stock rebuild bolt on's and spray will have to hold me off until better times!


    I spec'd out a friend's 406 C.I. mouse a few years ago and he got through under $4500 with aluminum heads and a roller cam!
  • 2 Hide
    DjEaZy , February 12, 2009 10:51 AM
    ... maybe build some AMD based systems too, to see, how they stack up against in price/performance... just for tha fun of it...
  • 3 Hide
    _horse , February 12, 2009 10:51 AM
    Great article!

    HOWEVER, Should have used an Antec1200 for that much coin on the case. I have one at home using water cooling and its so much easier than any other case I've used to date. Cheaper too, in this instance.
  • 4 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 11:03 AM
    _horseGreat article!HOWEVER, Should have used an Antec1200 for that much coin on the case. I have one at home using water cooling and its so much easier than any other case I've used to date. Cheaper too, in this instance.


    I've owned both, the Cooler Master is a nicer case. I mean, we're just throwing opinions around now, right?

    But the Cosmos S is far more portable, and it fits the big radiator perfectly. In fact, it's the only stock case to fit that radiator properly.
  • 0 Hide
    LATTEH , February 12, 2009 11:13 AM
    With a build like that you guys should have tryed to set Crysis with 16 AA!


    well it probably wont be playable but it would just be neat to see.
  • 1 Hide
    _horse , February 12, 2009 11:24 AM
    CrashmanI've owned both, the Cooler Master is a nicer case. I mean, we're just throwing opinions around now, right?But the Cosmos S is far more portable, and it fits the big radiator perfectly. In fact, it's the only stock case to fit that radiator properly.


    Thats true, but I didnt know we were going for portability here, especially with a liquid cooled system.
  • 2 Hide
    rodney_ws , February 12, 2009 11:31 AM
    There's no way that sound "card" is up to the level of a $5k rig.
  • 3 Hide
    jcknouse , February 12, 2009 11:33 AM
    Nice article.

    Question for the writing staff:

    Have you thought about taking all your review statistics, and assembling an "uber system" based on the best parts based on what you have found in your review tests?

    Just curious. I don't remember that ever having been done before here. And for $5,000, you surely could afford to throw together all of the top notch parts into a system for kind of a "what happens when you put all the best parts together" article.

    Now you guys have me itching to build a new system already...and I just built one back in September!! lol
  • 1 Hide
    jcknouse , February 12, 2009 11:36 AM
    That is a really good question too:

    With the width of the video cards, where would you plug in a soundcard? Does it use the 3rd PCI-E x16 slot?

    Just curious. I've always noticed how the ATX motherboard size standard hasn't shifted to grow with the growth of the size of components, such as video cards and component heatsinks.

    Limited room bites. lol
  • 2 Hide
    cah027 , February 12, 2009 11:37 AM
    Why not 3 liquid cooled 285's. Maybe drop the Blueray and or go down to a 920 in the next one. Keep the SSD's.
  • 1 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 11:49 AM
    cah027Why not 3 liquid cooled 285's. Maybe drop the Blueray and or go down to a 920 in the next one. Keep the SSD's.SSD's are fast but the only benchmarks they matter in are the ones that don't count (synthetics)


    SSD's are fast but the only benchmarks they matter in are the ones that don't count (synthetics)
Display more comments