Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 CAS 9

High-Density DDR3: Five Dual-Module 8GB Kits Compared
By

Patriot has barely gotten its feet wet in the high-density DDR3 market, and its recently introduced PGV38G1333ELK 8GB dual-channel kit was the only package we could find to use its new 4GB DIMMs.

These DDR3-1333 CAS 9-rated modules are also the only devices in today’s lineup that do not default to DDR3-1333 CAS 8. A combination of SPD and XMP values seem to indicate that these use overclocked DDR3-1066 components.

Users with XMP-capable motherboards can easily select the rated speed, timings, and 1.65V voltage using one or two BIOS settings, while more experienced users can set everything manually. Users who can’t or won’t make manual BIOS adjustments will find that these modules default to proper DDR3-1066 CAS 7 settings and many programs show little to no performance difference between DD3-1066 and DDR3-1333.

Display all 86 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 18 Hide
    micky_lund , February 3, 2010 7:20 AM
    ouch 400+ for 8gb ram?
  • 13 Hide
    liquidsnake718 , February 3, 2010 5:19 AM
    At an average of $200 dollars a stick I can safely say I am not an "Enthusiast" even though I love computers, hardware, consoles, games, and talking about computers.

    However my next build has almost been conceptualized (waiting for certain parts and prices), so DDR3 here I come.
Other Comments
  • 0 Hide
    jasonz001 , February 3, 2010 5:16 AM
    nice :o 
  • 13 Hide
    liquidsnake718 , February 3, 2010 5:19 AM
    At an average of $200 dollars a stick I can safely say I am not an "Enthusiast" even though I love computers, hardware, consoles, games, and talking about computers.

    However my next build has almost been conceptualized (waiting for certain parts and prices), so DDR3 here I come.
  • 18 Hide
    micky_lund , February 3, 2010 7:20 AM
    ouch 400+ for 8gb ram?
  • 0 Hide
    falchard , February 3, 2010 7:26 AM
    Its about twice as much as getting 8GB off 2GB Modules. So the price increase isn't too bad considering 4GB ram sticks are the largest you can currently buy. I am still waiting for that to dip in price and for the more massive ram sticks to come along. We have been max 4GB for quite some time now.
  • 1 Hide
    arkadi , February 3, 2010 8:38 AM
    4 now i can live with 12gb limit on my x58 mb. But it is good to know that ppl that really need more then that can do it for affordable price
  • 4 Hide
    Anonymous , February 3, 2010 9:59 AM
    Only problem I have with the review is where is the same tests on a AMD platform for all us AMD users that will be or are already looking at AMD AM3/DDR3 builds.
  • 1 Hide
    Crashman , February 3, 2010 10:01 AM
    micky_lundouch 400+ for 8gb ram?


    Yeh, ouch, but can you imagine paying $800 for it last summer? Newegg still has one of those super-expensive kits.
  • -1 Hide
    verrul , February 3, 2010 10:24 AM
    dont expect more than 4gb anytime soon there really is no need in a system to run more than 4 to begin with you really dont see any speed improvements past 4 and no program is built to handle that size of memory block currently. Sure there are the occasional special systems that use more than 4gb but not for a single program. Besides that there is the TDP and FCC inforced efficiency ratings they have to come in under ram is an energy hog for an overclocker
  • -1 Hide
    Crashman , February 3, 2010 11:04 AM
    terrybearOnly problem I have with the review is where is the same tests on a AMD platform for all us AMD users that will be or are already looking at AMD AM3/DDR3 builds.


    Tom's Hardware has recently been getting very similar overclocking and timing results between AMD and Intel systems when using the same modules and DIMM voltage. That's why the high-end system for the last two System Builder Marathons used the same RAM both times.
  • 1 Hide
    anamaniac , February 3, 2010 11:13 AM
    What about 16GBm 1066MHz DDR3 DIMM's? Only $1,700 a piece. =D
    Granted, however, it is server ECC memory, and was never designed to be in a desktop. (Would love a 2P rig running dual 4GHz sexacore Gulftowns with HT, with 9 DIMM's per socket, running (18 DIMMs x 16GB/DIMM) 288GB of RAM.)

    http://www.amazon.com/HP-Memory-240-pin-PC3-8500-registered/dp/B002I8SHK2
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , February 3, 2010 11:32 AM
    anamaniacWhat about 16GBm 1066MHz DDR3 DIMM's? Only $1,700 a piece. =DGranted, however, it is server ECC memory, and was never designed to be in a desktop. (Would love a 2P rig running dual 4GHz sexacore Gulftowns with HT, with 9 DIMM's per socket, running (18 DIMMs x 16GB/DIMM) 288GB of RAM.)http://www.amazon.com/HP-Memory-24 [...] B002I8SHK2

    Nobody will use more than 12GB of memory, 16GB should be enough for anyone.
  • 1 Hide
    sir_malaki , February 3, 2010 11:45 AM
    I've been using 8GB of G.skill Ripjaws 1600 (4x2GB) for about a month on a AM3 based system and love it. Very easy to overclock, although not all the time - just playing to see how fast I can push the Phenom IIx4 965 Black Box. Stock is 3.4GHz, made it to 4.4GHz before showing signs of memory/cpu issues (getting warm, need to get better cooling).

    The only complaint I have is how tall the heat sinks are, in a mATX case space is a premium. The memory is cool looking though. I bought it from Newegg for $219.99 USD
  • 0 Hide
    pocketdrummer , February 3, 2010 1:50 PM
    What ever happened to the Socket 1366 component reviews? All I see here anymore is the 1156 components. I realize that it's more "mainstream", but those of us who made the plunge into the "enthusiast" platform want to know more! How about the "Five Triple-Module 12GB Kits Compared"? ugh...
  • 0 Hide
    coldmast , February 3, 2010 1:59 PM
    thank you again Tom's for debunking myths
  • -1 Hide
    megamanx00 , February 3, 2010 2:05 PM
    I'll tell you what's limited demand for higher RAM Density..... The darn persistent 32-bit OS. I still say Vista should have been 64-bit only. Wish the university would have provided the 64-bit Vista when I was still going there, but hey they gave 32-bit to me free so I can't complain :D 
  • 1 Hide
    JohnnyLucky , February 3, 2010 2:06 PM
    Another interesting article. Big thank you for mentioning the "heatspreader myth".
  • 1 Hide
    volks1470 , February 3, 2010 3:07 PM
    Well this is good, but why are RAM prices still high in general?? I remember back in April I bought two A-Data 2GB 1333MHz DDR3 sticks for $50. Now i'm seeing prices around $85-$100 for basic RAM. Ridiculous!!
  • 2 Hide
    Craxbax , February 3, 2010 3:30 PM
    Ram prices aren't going up. The dollar is going down in purchasing power!
  • 1 Hide
    cangelini , February 3, 2010 4:02 PM
    pocketdrummerWhat ever happened to the Socket 1366 component reviews? All I see here anymore is the 1156 components. I realize that it's more "mainstream", but those of us who made the plunge into the "enthusiast" platform want to know more! How about the "Five Triple-Module 12GB Kits Compared"? ugh...


    We'll have more of these within the next month!
  • 3 Hide
    rpmrush , February 3, 2010 4:19 PM
    I still haven't seen any need to run more than 2GB of ram even when gaming and benching in Vista. For those with 12GB, your just filling up your X58 board cuz you can. There is zero need for anything beyond 4GB in the current 32bit environment. Even with a 64bit OS (I have Vista 64bit and Win 7 64 bit) the majority of all programs are 32bit. For those who actually utilize 64bit programs, well 8-12GB might be useful. Anyone with 64 bit Win7..load up 64bit Internet Explorer and open 10 different tabs and watch your ram get filled up..lol
Display more comments