Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

When A Smaller Notebook Makes More Sense

Eurocom Racer: Radeon HD 6990M In A Truly Mobile Form Factor
By

The main reason we asked for Eurocom’s Racer was to test its Radeon HD 6990M graphics module in a less-expensive, more-portable package than the workstation we reviewed previously. When we achieved similar gaming performance compared to the Core i7-990X-based X7200 rocking a single GPU, we knew we had achieved exactly what we wanted to see. The prices for our performance-per-dollar chart were updated Christmas week.

No good deed goes unpunished, though, and a 10% average performance loss in our productivity suite moving from the Core i7-990X to the mobile Sandy Bridge-based part diminished the overall value chart slightly.

Both notebooks include 1920x1080 displays, and all three configurations are capable of playing most games at moderately high quality settings using that resolution.

Based on the desktop Radeon HD 6870, AMD's Radeon HD 6990M proves itself to be an almost-perfect notebook-oriented GPU by combining moderately-high performance with moderately-low power consumption. While it can’t outperform the power-hungry GeForce GTX 580M in most games, the graphics chip does let Eurocom build one of the few portable gaming rigs we wouldn’t mind carrying around. Our only reservation in making a full-fledged recommendation favoring the Racer has to do with its price. Had we been able to compare this notebook sporting Intel's quad-core processor to a dual-core model, we think you would have been even more impressed with the configuration's value.

Display all 34 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 2 Hide
    sodaant , January 3, 2012 4:01 AM
    Whats with all the noise in the pictures?
  • 5 Hide
    Crashman , January 3, 2012 4:35 AM
    sodaantWhats with all the noise in the pictures?
    Sorry, the equipment probably isn't suited to shooting textured black objects.
  • 1 Hide
    nevertell , January 3, 2012 4:35 AM
    It could've easily done away with a "slower" 45w i7 quad or even a 25w i7 dualcore CPU. This would help with the mobility bit of the laptop, making it last quite a bit longer. And a 9 cell battery wouldn't hurt either.
  • 1 Hide
    theuniquegamer , January 3, 2012 6:23 AM
    It is a semi desktop by its weight i.e 10 pounds. And performs as a desktop(with 23' ips display and ups) price less than it. In the world of growing market for tabs and ultrabooks the price of mobile cpu and gpu should be lowered in order to make these premium gaming laptops popular.
  • 4 Hide
    Maziar , January 3, 2012 8:43 AM
    Great review!
    It's good to see the battery life has increased notably compared to 990x.
    Overall,it's a decent desktop replacement laptop.
  • 2 Hide
    demonhorde665 , January 3, 2012 11:21 AM
    i sort of want one , , whats not to like about a laptop that would crunch circles around my current desktop (amd athy 64 X2 5000+ black ed Oc'ed to 3ghz, 3 gigs ddr 2 pc 800 ram , and a radeon 5770)

    sure my computer still runs most current game great at my monitors max res (1600x900) but damn , i'd take one of these laptops any day for that performance booste .. here's to dreaming of winning the builder's marathon though !
  • 2 Hide
    cknobman , January 3, 2012 12:02 PM
    It would have been nice to at least see a little of the review cover things like: screen, keyboard, build quality, etc........

    But good review on the graphics chip :) 
  • 2 Hide
    nforce4max , January 3, 2012 12:20 PM
    Take a good look at the fans, notice some dust on them. Someone has been putting this laptop to use ;) 
  • -8 Hide
    amstech , January 3, 2012 2:13 PM
    The laptop maxes out at only 1920 X 1080?
    The single GPU 6990M is overkill for that resolution and $2000 is a joke but hey atleast you can max everything.
    Idiots out there will buy this.

  • 7 Hide
    scook9 , January 3, 2012 2:26 PM
    amstechThe laptop maxes out at only 1920 X 1080?The single GPU 6990M is overkill for that resolution and $2000 is a joke but hey atleast you can max everything.Idiots out there will buy this.

    That is the native res on the laptop. Which is the res most would game at on a laptop.....

    And as for the price, find me a better performing laptop that is cheaper please.

    Troll somewhere else
  • -5 Hide
    amstech , January 3, 2012 3:10 PM
    Thats a terrible price when a GTX 560M can handle just about everything at 1080P maxed.
    1920 X 1080 isn't that hard to run, a lowly 5870M handles it well.

    Whine somewhere else.
  • 5 Hide
    AMD_pitbull , January 3, 2012 3:36 PM
    amstechThats a terrible price when a GTX 560M can handle just about everything at 1080P maxed.1920 X 1080 isn't that hard to run, a lowly 5870M handles it well.Whine somewhere else.

    Actually, whining is what you're doing troll :)  "that is a terrible..." shows complaint through personal preference. Just thought you should make sure to verify what you're typing up before you type it and look like a fool...again.

    Anyways, enough with the troll. Overall, the price level of this laptop seems excessive when you compare it to laptops such as G74 series and other more modest gaming laptops. But, there will always be a price premium for performance gains. As they always point out in these types of articles, it's a very niche market. In conclusion, nice review, great performance, and look forward to where our laptops will be 5 years from now :)  Technology is fun.
  • -6 Hide
    amstech , January 3, 2012 4:01 PM
    Yeah its a ripoff for $2000.
    Don't like my complaint/opinion?

    And price premium for performance gains?
    Your limited to 1080P what more performance do you need?

    It's a niche product, and just like Alienware's topshelf stuff and Razer's new laptop, its overpriced and it won't sell.

    Anytime now someone reads something they don't like they toss out the troll word.
    Obvious and lame.
  • 1 Hide
    julius 85 , January 3, 2012 4:15 PM
    amstechThe laptop maxes out at only 1920 X 1080?The single GPU 6990M is overkill for that resolution and $2000 is a joke but hey atleast you can max everything.Idiots out there will buy this.

    And 6990M is like desktop 6870 in case you don't know.
  • -3 Hide
    amstech , January 3, 2012 4:28 PM
    Yeah thats common knowledge for mobile GPU's.

    Take the 5870M.
    Has 5770 specs...which is still enough to play all games at 1080P and most of them maxed or close to it.

  • 3 Hide
    clonazepam , January 3, 2012 5:17 PM
    Do an article about modding the laptop batteries. Take them apart. Replace the internal components of the batteries with something higher end found on the net or wherever if possible, wire it up, test and do a full blown how-to type article. Tom's intentially set an AMD processor on fire in the past, so maybe you could do a "what not to do" section of the article and set one on fire! :) 

    Could also be spinned on how to cheaply give new life to an aging laptop battery versus buying a new battery and price comparison of the parts vs new battery. :) 
  • 2 Hide
    Crashman , January 3, 2012 5:21 PM
    __-_-_-__nothing new to see here. This model lacks a very important feature of a switchable gpu that could make the intel igp working tripling the battery life.
    But it does minimize the number of variables when comparing the previously-reviewed 990X-based "notebook", which was the primary point of using it.

    Tom's Hardware reviews notebooks on a voluntary basis, so if you'd like to see a company's newer product compared you should ask them to pony up.
  • -1 Hide
    Anonymous , January 3, 2012 5:47 PM
    Where is the Crysis benchmark Tom's ?
  • 5 Hide
    Crashman , January 3, 2012 6:20 PM
    clonazepamTom's intentially set an AMD processor on fire in the past
    Ah yes the conspiracy theories. I'm sure you're referring to the article where the site pulled the cooler off AMD and Intel processors to test thermal overload protection and the AMD processor UNEXPECTEDLY burned up. Because AMD said the system would shut down and that's what's EXPECTED. Intel's advantage was not supposed to be "doesn't burn", it's advantage was supposed to be "slows down rather than shutting off".

    But go ahead, keep the conspiracy theories alive. Make sure the next time 1 out of 3 systems has an Nvidia graphics card you call Tom's Hardware out on being Nvidia-biased as well.
  • 0 Hide
    clonazepam , January 3, 2012 6:43 PM
    Yes, I read the article the day it was posted... I've never said Tom's was biased one way or another in any category. Anyway, saying it was intentionally set on fire is a lot more exciting than breaking it down as you have. Also, I read it ten years ago, so I took some liberties. I think it only smoked / charred anyway. It was a cool article, maybe people will look it up and check it out now :p 

    I really wish you had picked apart the meat of the comment as far as battery modication vs replacement. :) 
Display more comments