Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

SanDisk Extreme III 4 GB, Silicon Power SDHC 16 GB

13 SDHC Memory Cards Reviewed
By

This is probably the best-known brand of flash-based memory cards, and the Extreme series has always been one of the fastest options on the market. The Extreme III SDHC comes bundled with a USB 2.0 card reader called the MicroMate, and SanDisk makes a very specific warranty statement: there is no lifetime warranty, which may come with lots of exceptions, and the 10 years exceed everything else in this roundup. Although nobody will probably use such a product for more than a few years, the additional warranty is comforting.

All Extreme III SDHC cards are rated Class 6, and they are available at 4 GB, 8 GB and 16 GB. However, SanDisk offers two different 4 GB and 8 GB cards that are both called Extreme III: there is the “regular” Extreme III that reaches 20 MB/s, and the 30 MB/s editions, which speak for themselves. Our 4 GB Extreme III reached 19.7 MB/s reads and up to 18.2 MB/s writes; this makes the Extreme III the second fastest SDHC card after Lexar’s Professional. If you are looking for value cards, then you can consider the Video HD SDHC series or the Ultra II SDHC series—in that order—which will save you a considerable amount of money. But these don’t come with the USB 2.0 card reader.

SanDisk’s Micromate isn’t as quick as the Transcend card reader we used for this roundup: 19 MB/s read throughput was the maximum sequential transfer rate.

Details are available on the SanDisk Web site.

Silicon Power Class 6 SDHC, 16 GB

Silicon Power is a Taiwanese company that specializes in memory products of all kinds. We received a 16 GB SDHC Class 6 card; there are also 32 GB, 8 GB and 4 GB versions. Our card reached the maximum read speed of 19.7 MB/s, while also providing fast write throughput: we measured between 16.5 and 17.2 MB/s, which is an excellent result. In fact, this card offers the highest minimum write throughput of all the cards in this test, and is only beaten in the maximum results.

Details are available on the Silicon Power Web site.

Display all 28 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    hustler539 , February 17, 2009 6:09 AM
    Well written article and very informative. Now I know what to look for when purchasing my next sd.....I hate waiting on the camera to store a picture when I want to take the next shot!
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , February 17, 2009 7:40 AM
    I'm looking for SDHC card but this article is absolutely confusing. I was looking for the Silicon Power results but there are a lot of mistakes or mistyping in the article. On some of the I/O meter charts it's line is light gray on some other it is dark grey. On some pages there is the 16GB listed, on some other there is the 32GB version. Due to all these mistakes this article became absolutely confusing and unreliable!
  • 2 Hide
    aapocketz , February 17, 2009 1:17 PM


    Quote:
    On some of the I/O meter charts it's line is light gray on some other it is dark grey


    that IO meter plot is very hard to read, even when zooming in using firefox on a dell 3007wfp-hc
  • 2 Hide
    Robert17 , February 17, 2009 1:48 PM
    As usual, a well written and informative article from the Pros at Toms. Thank you.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , February 17, 2009 3:04 PM
    Bought the transcend 16gb yesterday for $33 looks like I didn't do to badly, I'm happy with 15mb/s read and I bet it does faster than 19.7 read with a quicker reader.
  • 7 Hide
    Deliriou5 , February 17, 2009 3:13 PM
    What about a price/GB chart or a price/performatnce chart? If one is 3% faster, but costs 40% more, that's a "no deal".
  • 6 Hide
    igot1forya , February 17, 2009 3:21 PM
    I really think someone should come out with an external RAID array for these things. You can fit a bunch of these in a very small space, and if you stack the performance/capacity in parallel you could potentially get some amazing numbers. Make one massive RAID50!
  • 2 Hide
    one-shot , February 17, 2009 3:21 PM
    If you use a d-SLR, the speed is well worth the price. I have a 266X Transcend Compact Flash card and it works great. The bottleneck is my camera's buffer and not the memory card when shooting RAW or RAW+JPEG.
  • 0 Hide
    Shadow703793 , February 17, 2009 8:45 PM
    Welldone! I was looking for something like this. Quite useful.
  • 1 Hide
    Shadow703793 , February 17, 2009 8:47 PM
    one-shotIf you use a d-SLR, the speed is well worth the price. I have a 266X Transcend Compact Flash card and it works great. The bottleneck is my camera's buffer and not the memory card when shooting RAW or RAW+JPEG.

    Agreed! Not to mention with increasing resolutions for DSLR you need faster and bigger cards.
  • -1 Hide
    ram1009 , February 17, 2009 9:07 PM
    IMHO, reviews like this aren't much good without a cost comparison. Bang for the buck and all that.
  • 0 Hide
    angry_ducky , February 17, 2009 9:35 PM
    I'm so glad I found this article; I just bought a Nikon D60 digital SLR, and have no idea what memory card to get for it. I want something with fast writes, as the camera can shoot up to 3 MB/s, but I don't care how long it takes to transfer pictures to the computer.

    While I have a digital camera, I normally use a 28-year old Minolta SLR, as well as a Holga and other film cameras, so memory cards and lens systems are very confusing to me.
  • 3 Hide
    Darkk , February 18, 2009 2:12 AM
    Sandisk SD cards always worked well for me. Even their 4GB Ultra II model works great in my Canon camera. Not the fastest but it's fast enough for my needs at a low price point and not one of them ever failed on me.

    Costco usually carries em at decent prices.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , February 18, 2009 8:19 PM
    Well I use a SDHC 4gb from Veho, which is class 6 and excellent..But really it is a *lot* about bang fer Buck. The card was as cheap as other lower rated cards .. so why not? I would like to see the use of these as storage and storage extenders on all manner of devices explored. I use mine as a surrogate blank DVD. A Cheap 32gb would be lovely..
  • 1 Hide
    matjazz , February 20, 2009 10:44 AM
    I'd like to add that Transcend 150x is probably the only one with SLC memory. Advantage over MLC is that SLC can handle 10x more read/write cycles is more reliable in low temperatures. If you look up the price of Transcend 150x SDHC cards you'll see that they cost somewhat twice as much per GB as regular SDHC class 6. Here's what I found on SLC vs MLC whitpaper from Super Talent:
    "Single-level cell (SLC) and multi-level cell (MLC) Flash memory are similar in their design. MLC Flash devices cost less and allow for higher storage density. SLC Flash devices provide faster write performance and greater reliability, even at temperatures above the operating range of MLC Flash devices"
  • 2 Hide
    bfrazier , February 24, 2009 5:08 PM
    I would have appreciated some discussion about the speed of CF relative to Flash Memory Camcorders such as the Canon FS Series. Isn't that where consumers really need the faster cards anyways?
  • 1 Hide
    ppj , February 27, 2009 5:55 PM
    Silicon Power SDHC class 6 is excellent choice for movie recorders. You might have noted that camcorders are moving towards flash memory for movie recording and to record the high resolution HD movies at real time speed, high speed cards are required, and high speed SDHC silicon power memory cards to my opinion is really a good choice.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , March 16, 2009 10:01 PM
    Great article but it is lacking. You mentioned but didn't list the OCZ Gold Series, the Extreme III 30MB series or the Sandisk VideoHD series of cards all of which are options I think need to be addressed.
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , May 23, 2009 1:36 AM
    Should retest with a faster card reader ... SanDisk ImageMate Multi-Card Reader ... 30MB max.
  • 0 Hide
    kbuchanan , June 15, 2009 10:45 PM
    I agree with Delirious5 - I found this article very helpful - recently being a first time digital camera owner. However the price comparison for write speed in my case would be very helpful. I was surprise I couldn't tell the comparison chart ranked maybe I looked over it too fast. Also Transcend in their online store indicates a much lower write speed (8MB) on the 16 GB Class 6 and shows their 8GB being faster(13MB) than their 16GB? Is there reasons for these differences?
Display more comments