Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Benchmark Results: World Of Warcraft: Cataclysm (DirectX 9 And 11)

AMD A8-3850 Review: Llano Rocks Entry-Level Desktops
By

Earlier this month we previewed AMD's Llano architecture in a notebook environment. Now we have the desktop version with a 100 W TDP. How much additional performance can the company procure with a loftier thermal ceiling and higher clocks?

WoW players, rejoice. This game typifies what the Llano design is intended to enable. It doesn’t get much more mainstream than the World of Warcraft, and even at 1680x1050, it’s possible to get fluid frame rates, so long as you’re willing to dial down the graphics quality to Good and leave AA disabled. Where Core i3-2105 and 890GX fall flat on their respective faces, A8-3850 handles business.

AMD has a double-advantage in this specific title. Not only does it show up to this gunfight with the largest-caliber weapon, but the A8-3850 is also the only DirectX 11-capable part in the bunch. As it happens, the most recent 4.1 patch adds official DirectX 11 support to the game (it was experimental before). And whereas DirectX 11 can improve graphics quality, it’s all about improving performance in the Cataclysm expansion. We saw the effects of turning it on in World Of Warcraft: Cataclysm--Tom's Performance Guide.

As a result, both the Intel Core i3 and AMD 890GX have to be tested using the slower DirectX 9 code path, while the Llano APU handily outperforms the competition via DX 11.

Display all 148 comments.
Top Comments
  • 17 Hide
    Yuka , June 30, 2011 5:54 AM
    stardude82That's about all the sense it makes then.


    Actually Llano on the Desktop is (IMO) aimed at HTPC a 100% and, off course, notebooks.

    I would really, really like to see more media features with the Llano parts you guys have if it can be done 8)

    Great article as usual!

    Cheers!
  • 16 Hide
    Anonymous , June 30, 2011 3:23 PM
    Heh, I love these comments - for $150 more than a $135 AMD CPU you can get a better Intel CPU and AMD GPU!

    No shit, really? I wouldn't have thought so, it's just twice the price!
  • 16 Hide
    cknobman , June 30, 2011 2:37 PM
    Good lord reading the comments some of you people are really dense. Do you not understand the target market for these and can take the review in context????? Not everything should be looked at as though you are a custom power cpu/game builder.

    Great review Chris. For the target market AMD is doing a pretty good job here with an old CPU architecture and once they pair this with Bulldozer they should have a killer product.
Other Comments
  • 14 Hide
    whatisupthere , June 30, 2011 4:06 AM
    Great review! Thanks Toms
  • 13 Hide
    Tamz_msc , June 30, 2011 4:21 AM
    Another win for AMD!
  • 1 Hide
    SteelCity1981 , June 30, 2011 4:24 AM
    So then what's the point of getting the Turbo Core versions when they are going to be Turbo Clocked slower then the none Turbo Clocked versions...
  • 15 Hide
    cangelini , June 30, 2011 4:29 AM
    SteelCity1981So then what's the point of getting the Turbo Core versions when they are going to be Turbo Clocked slower then the none Turbo Clocked versions...


    They don't want you to see better performance from a cheaper APU in single-threaded apps by pushing Turbo Core further ;-)
  • 1 Hide
    Known2Bone , June 30, 2011 4:35 AM
    i really wanted see some amazing gains in the content creation department what with all that gpu power on chip... oh well games are fun too!
  • 12 Hide
    ivan_chess , June 30, 2011 4:41 AM
    I think this would be good for a young kid's PC. It would be enough to run educational software and a web browser. When he grows up to be a gamer it would be time to replace the whole machine anyway.
  • 5 Hide
    DjEaZy , June 30, 2011 4:52 AM
    ... it's may be not the greatest APU for desktop... but it will be a powerful thingy in a laptop... the review was nice... but in the gaming department... would be nice to see a standard 15,x'' laptop resolution tests @ 1366x768... or something like that...
  • 3 Hide
    Mathos , June 30, 2011 5:00 AM
    Actually if you want good DDR3 1600 with aggressive timings, the Ripjaws X series memory that I have does DDR3 1600 at 7-8-7-24 at 1.5v, not all that expensive when it comes down to it either.
  • -2 Hide
    Stardude82 , June 30, 2011 5:04 AM
    This makes little sense. An Athlon II X3 445 ($75) and a HD 5570 ($60, on a good day you can get a 5670 for the same price) would provide better performance for the same price ($135) and not have to worry about the RAM you use.

    So is AM3+ going to be retired in favor of FM1 in the near future? Why are there chipset at all? Why isn't everything SOC by now?

    Otherwise this is a very good CPU. If AMD has used 1 MB level 2 caches in their quads when they came out with the Deneb Propus die, they would be much more competitive.
  • 9 Hide
    crisan_tiberiu , June 30, 2011 5:37 AM
    stardude82This makes little sense. An Athlon II X3 445 ($75) and a HD 5570 ($60, on a good day you can get a 5670 for the same price) would provide better performance for the same price ($135) and not have to worry about the RAM you use.

    what about power consumption?
  • -7 Hide
    Stardude82 , June 30, 2011 5:46 AM
    crisan_tiberiuwhat about power consumption?

    That's about all the sense it makes then, for mobile and all-in-one units, but for cheap desktops... eh.
  • 17 Hide
    Yuka , June 30, 2011 5:54 AM
    stardude82That's about all the sense it makes then.


    Actually Llano on the Desktop is (IMO) aimed at HTPC a 100% and, off course, notebooks.

    I would really, really like to see more media features with the Llano parts you guys have if it can be done 8)

    Great article as usual!

    Cheers!
  • -4 Hide
    jdwii , June 30, 2011 5:54 AM
    not bad but can you overclock the graphics core
  • 10 Hide
    fictionforthetame , June 30, 2011 6:11 AM
    I completely agree with Yuka and was thinking the whole way through how amazing these would be (especially the low TDP versions) in a HTPC.
  • 2 Hide
    RazberyBandit , June 30, 2011 6:17 AM
    In regards to dual graphics, the only game that it seemed to work on was WoW Cataclysm. What was the cause, drivers? CAPS?

    And I think you guys may have gotten the min and avg FPS scores for the CoD:MW benchmark backwards... How can the min be higher than the average? Maybe you were actually comparing No AA to 4x AA or something, not min and avg FPS?
  • 3 Hide
    Nintendork , June 30, 2011 6:30 AM
    This review need IGP OC. The Llano GPU overclocks like hell.

    600Mhz to 840/900Mhz? No problem at all.
  • 3 Hide
    frozenlead , June 30, 2011 6:34 AM
    On the COD graphs, the minimum and average FPS bars have to be switched...it's impossible to have a "minimum" data point greater than the average.
  • 9 Hide
    ChiefTexas_82 , June 30, 2011 6:38 AM
    Since when does a 100W CPU and a 6530 need a 850W power supply???

    Anyway, The real show should be bulldozer-based APU's. If they could just get the graphics up to a 5750 level...
  • 7 Hide
    ChromeTusk , June 30, 2011 6:45 AM
    Great article. This really helps me out since I need to replace 2 laptops in the near future.
    As for a higher end desktop, I am waiting for BD and how it affects the market. That will determine which parts I keep and which parts get put into an HTPC.
  • -4 Hide
    fstrthnu , June 30, 2011 7:08 AM
    Definitely looks like a stopgap measure, a product with good execution but no market. Basically, the only people who will buy this are casual/lazy PC gamers - the serious guys would come to sites like this very one to find out that they can get way more for their money than buying Llano. Thing is, at this price point, most people don't even care about games. Like I said on a previous post, any serious, smart PC gamer will build their own or look higher in terms of pricing to get a genuinely strong system.
Display more comments
React To This Article