Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test Settings And Benchmarks

System Builder Marathon, June 2012: $2000 Performance PC
By

Test Hardware Configurations
 Q2 2012 $2000 PCQ1 2012 $2600 PC
Processor
(Overclock)
Intel Core i7-3770K
3.50 GHz, Four Physical Cores
O/C to 4.60 GHz, 1.25 V
Intel Core i7-3930K
3.20 GHz, Six Physical Cores
O/C to 4.60 GHz, 1.38 V
Graphics
(Overclock)
Asus GTX680-DC2T-2GD5: 1201 MHz GPU,  GDDR5-6008
O/C to 1262 MHz GDDR5-7204
MSI R7970-2PMD3GD5/OC: 1010 MHz GPU,  GDDR5-5500
O/C to 1100 MHz GDDR5-6000
Memory
(Overclock)
8 GB G.Skill DDR3-1600
CAS 8-8-8-24, O/C at 1.60 V
to DDR3-2000 CL 8-10-9-16
16 GB G.Skill DDR3-1600
CAS 9-9-9-24, O/C at 1.60 V
to DDR3-1866 CL 9-10-9-16
Motherboard
(Overclock)
ASRock Z77 Extreme6:
LGA 1155, Intel Z77 Express
Stock 100 MHz BCLK
Asus P9X79 Pro
LGA 2011, Intel X79 Express
Stock 100 MHz BCLK
OpticalLite-On iHAS124-04 24x DVD±RPioneer BDR-206DBKS 12x BD-R
CaseAntec Nine HundredAntec P280 Case w/Rosewill Fans
CPU CoolerZalman CNPS12XZalman CNPS12X
Hard DriveMushkin Chronos Deluxe MX 120 GB, SATA 6Gb/s SSDMushkin Chronos Deluxe 240 GB, SATA 6Gb/s SSD
PowerSeaSonic SS-750KM: 750W, ATX12V, 80 PLUS Gold SeaSonic SS-860XP: 860W, ATX12V, 80-Plus Platinum
Software
OSMicrosoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
GraphicsNvidia GeForce 301.42AMD Catalyst 12.2
ChipsetIntel INF 9.2.3.1020Intel INF 9.2.0.1030


In addition to overclocking our PC, we enabled Virtu MVP’s HyperFormance mode in the overclocked configuration. Though it doesn't demonstrate much benefit in most of our System Builder Marathon games, you will see it bolster the 3DMark score. Except for that exhibition, its ineffectiveness in applications that count towards our overall performance calculations would have otherwise caused us to leave it disabled.

Benchmark Configuration
3D Games
Battlefield 3Campaign Mode, "Going Hunting" 90-Seconds Fraps
Test Set 1: Medium Quality Defaults (No AA, 4x AF)
Test Set 2: Ultra Quality Defaults (4x AA, 16x AF)
DiRT 3V1.01, Run with -benchmark example_benchmark.xml
Test Set 1: High Quality Preset, No AA
Test Set 2: Ultra Quality Preset, 8x AA
Elder Scrolls V: SkyrimUpdate 1.5.26, Celedon Aethirborn Level 6, 25 Seconds Fraps
Test Set 1: DX11, High Details No AA, 8x AF, FXAA enabled
Test Set 2: DX11, Ultra Details, 8x AA, 16x AF, FXAA enabled
StarCraft IICustom map "Tom's Hardware Guide V2", 60 seconds Fraps
Test Set 1: High Details, High Quality
Test Set 2: Ultra Details, Extreme Quality
Audio/Video Encoding
iTunesVersion 10.4.1.10 x64: Audio CD (Terminator II SE), 53 minutes, default AAC format 
Lame MP3Version 3.98.3: Audio CD "Terminator II SE", 53 min, convert WAV to MP3 audio format, Command: -b 160 --nores (160 Kb/s)
HandBrake CLIVersion 0.95: "Big Buck Bunny" (720x480, 23.972 FPS) 5 Minutes, Audio: Dolby Digital, 48 000 Hz, Six-Channel, English, to Video: AVC Audio: AC3 Audio2: AAC (High Profile)
MainConcept ReferenceVersion: 2.2.0.5440: MPEG-2 to H.264, MainConcept H.264/AVC Codec, 28 sec HDTV 1920x1080 (MPEG-2), Audio: MPEG-2 (44.1 kHz, Two-Channel, 16-Bit, 224 Kb/s), Codec: H.264 Pro, Mode: PAL 50i (25 FPS), Profile: H.264 BD HDMV
Productivity
Adobe Photoshop CS5Version 12.1 x64: Filter 15.7 MB TIF Image: Radial Blur, Shape Blur, Median, Polar Coordinates
Autodesk 3ds Max 2012Version 14.0 x64: Space Flyby Mental ray, 248 Frames, 1440x1080
WinZipVersion 15.5 Pro: THG-Workload (650 MB) to ZIP, command line switches "-a -ez -p -r"
WinRARVersion 4.1: THG-Workload (650 MB) to RAR, command line switches "winrar a -r -m3"
7-ZipVersion 9.22: THG-Workload (650 MB) to .7z, command line switches "a -t7z -r -m0=LZMA2 -mx=5"
ABBYY FineReaderVersion 10.0.102.82: Read PDF save to Doc, Source: Political Economy (J. Broadhurst 1842) 111 Pages
Synthetic Benchmarks and Settings
3DMark 11Version: 1.0.1.0, Benchmark Only
PCMark 7Version: 1.0.4 x64, System, Productivity, Hard Disk Drive benchmarks
SiSoftware Sandra 2011Version 2011.10.17.80, CPU Test = CPU Arithmetic / MultiMedia, Memory Test = Bandwidth Benchmark
Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 116 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 30 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , June 4, 2012 5:45 AM
    i would never buy a green 5400 RPM over a 7200 RPM drive, no matter the cost.
  • 14 Hide
    Anonymous , June 4, 2012 5:50 AM
    Now imagine if two GTX 670 were available!!
  • 12 Hide
    Crashman , June 4, 2012 6:41 AM
    strandiamSo many great cases to choose from with so many great features....
    Perhaps the award-winning NZXT Phantom 410 next time?
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/mana-136-midgard-ii-phantom-410,3203-5.html
Other Comments
  • 4 Hide
    Trialsking , June 4, 2012 5:18 AM
    Very nice build, if only I had $1800 to spare
  • 5 Hide
    rohitbaran , June 4, 2012 5:24 AM
    Well, is GTX 680 availability good enough now?
  • 30 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , June 4, 2012 5:45 AM
    i would never buy a green 5400 RPM over a 7200 RPM drive, no matter the cost.
  • 14 Hide
    Anonymous , June 4, 2012 5:50 AM
    Now imagine if two GTX 670 were available!!
  • 10 Hide
    vakuma5000 , June 4, 2012 5:55 AM
    Awesome Build!!

    I have the exact same GTX 680 from ASUS, and I love it. Managed to get 1337Mhz out of the core and 6800 out of the memory. I achieved that with only 115% power limit. If I raise the power limit any higher, i start to loose performance and stability. That is a truly awesome memory oveerclock you got out of it! Congrats!

    Very much looking foreward to the value comparison.
    Would LOVE to see the 1800$ build win the value comparo!
    GO GTX 680!!

    My vote goes towards keeping a gaming focus as opposed to a more "all-in-one" type build.
    Love the System Builder Articles, love Toms!
  • 8 Hide
    strandiam , June 4, 2012 5:56 AM
    So many great cases to choose from with so many great features....
  • 5 Hide
    vakuma5000 , June 4, 2012 5:59 AM
    Unfortunately GTX 680 availability is still pretty spotty.
    Had to spend 2 days on newegg, refreshing the page every few mins to get the model i wanted.
    However, it IS looking better. They are listing them more often on newegg, and they don't sell-out as quickly as they were a few weeks ago.
    Check newegg daily from 5:30pm to 6:30 pm CST, and you should be able to catch one.
    The GTX 670's are in stock right now.
    Good luck rohitbaran!
  • 5 Hide
    slicedtoad , June 4, 2012 6:26 AM
    Quote:
    should we keep the gaming focus or move back towards higher-cost do-it-all machines?
    Personally, I'm happy with the gaming focus. Don't know how others feel but gaming performance is more important than productivity benchmarks for me. I compile a lot of code and do some video encoding but I find gaining fps in games is more important than shaving seconds off my work. Besides, productivity follows gaming performance close enough.

    On another note, I dislike value comparisons when things like SSD size and optical drives have made an impact in price. A larger SSD does nothing for a benchmark but is awesome in practice. I'd prefer only comparing the combined price of the gpu, cpu, cooler(s) and mobo in the value chart. That's not a perfect solution but it annoys me that things like high quality PSUs, nice cases, blu-ray burners and large SSDs throw things off so much.
  • 12 Hide
    Crashman , June 4, 2012 6:41 AM
    strandiamSo many great cases to choose from with so many great features....
    Perhaps the award-winning NZXT Phantom 410 next time?
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/mana-136-midgard-ii-phantom-410,3203-5.html
  • 3 Hide
    sam_fisher , June 4, 2012 7:00 AM
    CrashmanPerhaps the award-winning NZXT Phantom 410 next time?http://www.tomshardware.com/review [...] 203-5.html


    My only dislike about this build is the case, for a $2000 PC I would prefer a case that was tidier and larger than the Antec Nine Hundred (especially with the layout of the HDD bays). The NZXT Phantom 410 would be much better for that budget.
  • 11 Hide
    ojas , June 4, 2012 7:00 AM
    Quote:
    should we keep the gaming focus or move back towards higher-cost do-it-all machines?

    do-it-all if it's greater than $2000, otherwise gaming.

    CrashmanPerhaps the award-winning NZXT Phantom 410 next time?http://www.tomshardware.com/review [...] 203-5.html

    Or maybe the original Phantom? Even the Corsair Graphite 600T is good...
  • 2 Hide
    strandiam , June 4, 2012 7:01 AM
    CrashmanPerhaps the award-winning NZXT Phantom 410 next time?http://www.tomshardware.com/review [...] 203-5.html

    One of many great choices. If I had a $2000 budget instead of the $900 I'm currently working on, I would go with something a bit nicer like Thermaltake Chaser MK-I, Corsair Obsidian 650, Rosewill THOR V2, or one of many other feature rich cases.
  • 8 Hide
    cmcghee358 , June 4, 2012 7:02 AM
    mayankleoboy1i would never buy a green 5400 RPM over a 7200 RPM drive, no matter the cost.


    It's a data drive.. why wouldn't you?
  • 3 Hide
    DookieDraws , June 4, 2012 7:03 AM
    Great read! I too enjoy these type of articles. Been a reader at Tom's for many years. Keep it up!!!

    Well, I'd be willing to go out on a limb and say most members around here are gamers. I am, but I also do photo/video editing as a hobby on an older, and very sad build. By the way, I expect to be having a funeral for that poor fellow any day, now. :) 

    Now, about the reviews - I like seeing how much performance you guys get out of those lower-end builds. I'm sure those lower-end configs have helped a lot of folks around here with their build decisions. Especially those of us who can't afford the higher-end stuff. Today, those higher-cost do-it-all machines would/should run games fine, too. Honestly, the way technology has advanced and keeps rapidly advancing, you can build a pretty sweet do-all-machine for less than a grand these days. And one to last a few years at that! So, I like seeing those "budget" builds.

    Also, I'd love to see video reviews on these builds. It'd be nice to see some performance video of the set-up and also be able to hear how loud/quite the machine is. You guys think this would be a possibility for future reviews?

    Well, it's very late and I'm going my behind to bed! Too tired to proof read! Sue me if ya find any errors! :p  Good night fellows!
  • 2 Hide
    Crashman , June 4, 2012 7:04 AM
    sam_fisherMy only dislike about this build is the case, for a $2000 PC I would prefer a case that was tidier and larger than the Antec Nine Hundred (especially with the layout of the HDD bays). The NZXT Phantom 410 would be much better for that budget.
    Same price for the case, similar quality so this is really just a matter of preference. I like cases that are small enough to look good on my desk :)  I don't like drive doors :(  But I'd still pick the 410 for someone else :) 
  • 1 Hide
    killerofall , June 4, 2012 7:36 AM
    Personally if I had that much money to spend on a system I would put a bit more money towards the case, like in the $150-$200 range. I would either want to do a themed case, where everything looks the same, a quiet case (maybe water-cooled), or a clean and elegant look (I think that the later would be best but that's just me).

    I do think that it should be more towards gaming as that is what most people here do. However it might not be a bad idea to include a workstation build as well that was business first and gaming second for those people who work at home/small business and don't want to spend extra on a separate gaming machine, or maybe just make it business only, it depends on how you want to take it and what your business is. I don't do this so I don't know what the requirements for the build would be but I am sure that there are plenty of people out there who can provide quality input.
  • 4 Hide
    yyk71200 , June 4, 2012 7:37 AM
    If you remove 680 and put 2 x 670 $400 each, you'll be at $2001, just at budget.
  • 1 Hide
    csf60 , June 4, 2012 7:53 AM
    "ASRock Z77 Extreme6:
    LGA 2011, Intel X79 Express
    Stock 100 MHz BCLK"

    (Typo in test hardware configurations)
  • 2 Hide
    simonmodule , June 4, 2012 9:00 AM
    Toms Hardware, you have writen i7-3770k(sandy bridge), where it actually is ivy bridge
  • 2 Hide
    Crashman , June 4, 2012 9:14 AM
    csf60"ASRock Z77 Extreme6:LGA 2011, Intel X79 ExpressStock 100 MHz BCLK"(Typo in test hardware configurations)
    Fixed, thanks! (table copy/edit error, my greatest downfall)
    simonmoduleToms Hardware, you have writen i7-3770k(sandy bridge), where it actually is ivy bridge
    I don't know what happened there, (sleep editing Chris?) but it's now fixed!
Display more comments