Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test Setup And Benchmark Suite

Which Browser Should You Be Running On Your iPad And iPhone?
By

Victims of the Transition to Mobile

Our start time test is now scaled back to just a single tab, started "hot". Tablet operating systems only load the page in the active tab, and additional background tabs do not load until they're selected, making the eight-tab start-up time difficult to accurately measure and basically irrelevant. Likewise, most people never actually power down their tablets, making “cold” start times irrelevant as well.

Current mobile operating systems also handle memory and multi-tasking in a very different manner than PC operating environments, with a focus on suspending background applications and single-tasking. Therefore, the memory efficiency tests from the desktop suite are also not needed.

With the loss of the 40-tab memory test and the inability to load all tabs simultaneously, the page load reliability and responsiveness tests cannot be applied to mobile platforms either. While we could include "smoothness" and/or "usability" indicators, because this is the first time we're running the WBGP on iOS, we want to see how the raw numbers stack up before injecting any subjective metrics into the equation.

Because tablets do not have on plug-ins like desktops do, the Flash, Java, and Silverlight tests from the desktop WBGP test suite are gone, too. And finally, mobile platforms do not yet support WebGL, so those tests from the regular WBGP suite were dropped as well.

Test Setup And Benchmark Suite

Test System Specs
Model
Apple iPad (third-generation)
Operating System
Apple iOS 6
Home ScreenHome Screen
Display
9.7" LED-Backlit IPS Retina Display (2048x1536)
Processor
Apple A5X ARM Cortex-A9 @ 1 GHz (dual-core)
Memory
1 GB LP-DDR2
Storage
16 GB
Networking
802.11 a/b/g/n
Local Web Server Specs
Operating System
Ubuntu 12.04.1 LTS Server Edition "Precise Pangolin" (32-bit)
Processor
Intel Pentium 4 @ 2.41 GHz
Motherboard
Biostar P4M80-M4
Memory
768 MB DDR @ 333 MT/s
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce FX 5500 128 MB DDR (AGP)
Storage
Western Digital Caviar SE WD1600AAJD, 160 GB EIDE, 7200 RPM
Extra Packages
Apache2, MySQL Client, MySQL Server, PHP5, PHP-GD, PHP5-MySQL, PHPMyAdmin, SSH, Node.js, NPM
Network Specs
ISP Service
Cox Preferred (18 Mb/s down, 2 Mb/s up)
Modem
Motorola SURFboard SBS101U
Router
Linksys WRT54G2 V1
Benchmark Suite
Page Load Time
Start Time (Yahoo! homepage, Cached)
Uncached Load Time (Eight Test Pages)
Cached Load Time (Eight Test Pages)
JavaScript
RIABench JavaScript (Nine Tests)
Apple SunSpider v0.9.1 (Google Mod)
Mozilla Kraken v1.1
Google Octane v1
FutureMark Peacekeeper v2
RightWare BrowserMark
DOM
Mozilla Dromaeo DOM Core
CSS
Kaizoumark
HTML5
GUIMark2 HTML5 (Four Tests)
Asteroids HTML5 Canvas 2D And JavaScript
HTML5 Canvas Performance Test
Impact HTML5 Benchmark
Mandelbrot Set in HTML5 (FHD)
Hardware Acceleration
WebVizBench
Standards ConformanceHTML5Test.com
The CSS3 Test
Ecmascript Language test262
Facebook ringmark
SecurityBrowserscope Security


The iPad, local Web server, and all software were updated as of midnight (Eastern Standard Time) on October 15th, 2012.

Now, let's break some new ground and see how the iOS Web browsers stack up against each other.

Display all 38 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 20 Hide
    esrever , October 19, 2012 4:59 AM
    All of them are the same since apple doesn't give developers any freedom.
  • 13 Hide
    LuckyDucky7 , October 19, 2012 5:20 AM
    Was this review even necessary?
    There is no choice of browsers on iOS. None. Every "browser" is just a sub-par Safari wrapper.

    It's not like people buy iOS devices for the ability to tailor the device to their liking, after all- it's not called the "reality distortion field" for nothing.
Other Comments
  • 20 Hide
    esrever , October 19, 2012 4:59 AM
    All of them are the same since apple doesn't give developers any freedom.
  • 8 Hide
    ksampanna , October 19, 2012 5:10 AM
    I mean, c'mon ... bt obviously
  • 13 Hide
    LuckyDucky7 , October 19, 2012 5:20 AM
    Was this review even necessary?
    There is no choice of browsers on iOS. None. Every "browser" is just a sub-par Safari wrapper.

    It's not like people buy iOS devices for the ability to tailor the device to their liking, after all- it's not called the "reality distortion field" for nothing.
  • 2 Hide
    victorious 3930k , October 19, 2012 6:50 AM
    You may have forgotten the useful extra features category, where Chrome for iOS wins by MILES.
  • 4 Hide
    murzar , October 19, 2012 7:08 AM
    Quote:
    But Tom's Hardware, I hate Apple. What about Android?


    Such condescension! What about people who actually like Android more? Or find its features more beneficial?

    Not every Android user hates Apple.


  • 2 Hide
    barathn , October 19, 2012 7:20 AM
    I like the last paragraph
  • 1 Hide
    gamecube , October 19, 2012 7:23 AM
    I hope next week we see not only tablet review. I'm more interested in the phone part of Android.

    And Ubuntu just release 12.10. This is a good time to have another Ubuntu Web Browser Grand Prix.
  • 2 Hide
    Anonymous , October 19, 2012 8:41 AM
    I'm curious what the benchmarks would be like if they installed the Nitrous Cydia tweak, which allows third party apps to use the Nitro engine. Any chance we can get a follow-up?
  • -5 Hide
    Anonymous , October 19, 2012 9:28 AM
    no IE ?
  • 7 Hide
    amdfangirl , October 19, 2012 9:33 AM
    Quote:
    no IE ?


    On iOS?
  • 0 Hide
    amigafan , October 19, 2012 9:46 AM
    No iCab mobile and no Atomic Web Browser :( 
  • 1 Hide
    blackmagnum , October 19, 2012 9:46 AM
    Hey Apple... This is unfair!
  • 4 Hide
    Anonymous , October 19, 2012 10:09 AM
    why should you buy apple products to begin with?
  • 2 Hide
    abbadon_34 , October 19, 2012 1:06 PM
    hmm...this article seems to imply I can stomach any Apple product post-Apple II
  • -2 Hide
    jaquith , October 19, 2012 2:03 PM
    If you don't have an Apple iOS product then frankly go away, you're talking out your 'back side,' and go Troll somewhere else. Keep in mind all but two of the TH Editors have an iPhone and a slew of other Apple products - fact.

    I've tried Chrome and Dolphin and keep coming back to Safari. Most of these benchmarks are within milliseconds so ± <0.05~0.10 seconds or ± <1~2FPS in the real world is negligible, so it comes down to features. Chrome isn't bad but it still needs some improvements in it's UI and features which still aren't ready for prime time.
  • -1 Hide
    monkeysweat , October 19, 2012 2:10 PM
    I have noticed on iOS 6 the newer Safari is much faster than it used to be, but speed isn't everything here,, how about features? I use chrome because it is better at blocking popups, quicker to switch to 'incognito' for banking, etc, also it syncs with my desktop history and favorites --- AND in my opinion has a better way of managing the tabs,,, Safari doesn't do any of this. I get lots of popups and redirects which I don't get on Chrome.
  • 0 Hide
    jaquith , October 19, 2012 2:24 PM
    I like that Chrome syncs with my PC but where's the history (aside from recently closed tabs)? As far as pop-ups (even with Block Pop-up - 'on') and ad bars I've seen little differences between Safari and Chrome; try TH site. I do agree and I do like the 'incognito' but most of my e.g. banking is done on either my PC or Bank's App.

    On some sites Chrome isn't recognized as mobile friendly but it's not Chrome's fault, it's the site's fault.

    I have little doubt and look forward to later versions of Chrome that will solve many of these odd problems and fine tune their App.
  • 1 Hide
    drip50291 , October 19, 2012 3:02 PM
    um...what about Opera? Its faster with one bar of 3G than Safari is on Wifi.
  • 0 Hide
    blackened144 , October 19, 2012 4:51 PM
    murzarNot every Android user hates Apple.


    Maybe not but they yell the loudest.
  • -1 Hide
    kajunchicken , October 19, 2012 7:21 PM
    What about web browsers available through Cydia? You know... the ones that AREN'T stuck with Apple's crappy limitations.
Display more comments