Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Obligatory Conclusion

Who's Who In Power Supplies, 2013: Brands Vs. Manufacturers
By

We want to stress two things in particular:

A PSU is not necessarily bad because it is cheap. But the lower the price, the more you'll likely have to skimp on safety and performance features. A high-quality PSU contains more expensive components. If you buy cheap, you might have to buy twice--or more.

A PSU is not automatically inferior because it was made by a contractor with which you aren't familiar. These companies make all kinds of products, from luxury brands to pure garbage. Again, it's a question of hitting different production targets. Is the product built for quality or aggressive cost reduction? The responsibility always lies with the buyer to recognize and reject products that are obviously unsuitable.

In the light of the previously presented tables of manufacturers, some quality issues, such as those seen with Be Quiet's P6 series, present an additional aspect to consider. We can also see that companies like Super Flower are often underestimated because they are not seen and accepted as the large manufacturer, which in fact they are.

We thank our readers again for their help.  We will continue to collect new results and regularly update the lists. They are, after all, a rough guide to what goes on behind the scenes in the power supply industry.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 183 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 20 Hide
    rolli59 , May 13, 2011 4:42 AM
    Great article!
  • 14 Hide
    gsacks , May 13, 2011 7:32 AM
    When I replaced a crappy 500W power supply bought online from Fry's with a Corsair 520W supply built by Seasonic (from the egg), a few years ago the system almost miraculously became 100% more stable. I will never skimp on a power supply again. EVER.
Other Comments
  • 20 Hide
    rolli59 , May 13, 2011 4:42 AM
    Great article!
  • 6 Hide
    Darkerson , May 13, 2011 5:05 AM
    I really wish I would have had something like this years ago, but either way this was a great treasure trove of useful info. Thanks!
  • 5 Hide
    _Pez_ , May 13, 2011 5:13 AM
    Now i'm afraid of every PSU out there... :X .. awesome work now I'll be more careful when selecting a PSU I will check everything in that moment like some sort of paranoia. ja ja LOL !
  • 1 Hide
    chefboyeb , May 13, 2011 5:49 AM
    I have a Rosewill 950-DB and it's been working excellently for over a year now... How safe am I?
  • 4 Hide
    Tamz_msc , May 13, 2011 5:54 AM
    Channel well is pretty good.You have great PSUs from them for both Antec and Corsair.
  • 1 Hide
    shades_aus , May 13, 2011 5:59 AM
    That explains why my ANTEC power supplies have died. Although some were made by Seasonic, they were NOT designed by Seasonic.
  • 1 Hide
    PreferLinux , May 13, 2011 6:00 AM
    As you were told with the last one, chokes do not mean passive PFC. They will be present in the filters (all of them, including input) of any PSU.
  • 2 Hide
    The Greater Good , May 13, 2011 6:08 AM
    Ummm, Seasonic does make their own PSUs.
  • 0 Hide
    avatar_raq , May 13, 2011 6:09 AM
    "For those companies that don't manufacture their own products, such as HEC and Seasonic"

    Huh? Since when Seasonic is not the maker of their products?
    Nice article and much needed. Thanks
  • 3 Hide
    PreferLinux , May 13, 2011 6:12 AM
    shades_ausThat explains why my ANTEC power supplies have died. Although some were made by Seasonic, they were NOT designed by Seasonic.

    The ones in question were probably older ones with cheap caps that failed. And probably made by one of the lesser companies there too.
  • 0 Hide
    The Greater Good , May 13, 2011 6:19 AM
    At least I thought they did... what ever. They're still damn good.
  • 0 Hide
    yyk71200 , May 13, 2011 6:21 AM
    Tamz_mscChannel well is pretty good.You have great PSUs from them for both Antec and Corsair.

    I am not sure that Channel Well is that great. I had Antec Smartpower 2.0 die on me. Currently I own EarthWatts 500D from delta. Read that this is a decent unit.
  • 1 Hide
    Tamz_msc , May 13, 2011 6:30 AM
    Quote:
    I am not sure that Channel Well is that great. I had Antec Smartpower 2.0 die on me. Currently I own EarthWatts 500D from delta. Read that this is a decent unit.

    That can happen and I'm sorry for you.But the fact is that there are quite a few PSUs form them for Antec and Corsair that have received great reviews form sites like jonnyguru.
  • 1 Hide
    dirtmountain , May 13, 2011 6:44 AM
    Excellent article, also worth a read is this one by hardware secrets.
    http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/How-to-Discover-Your-Power-Supplys-Real-Manufacturer/370
    When i want the best power supply for any system i'm building my first choice is Seasonic.
  • 0 Hide
    yyk71200 , May 13, 2011 6:46 AM
    Tamz_mscThat can happen and I'm sorry for you.But the fact is that there are quite a few PSUs form them for Antec and Corsair that have received great reviews form sites like jonnyguru.

    Perhaps you are right. It have been years ago when it died. I even used Thermaltake Purepower for a few years after that before I purchased EarthWatts. Thermaltake still kicking but I decided that it was time to change. Anyway, things change and I decided to give Antec a second shot. I would say, the best advice would be to read reviews and not just any reviews where they just use PSUs in a system, but reviews where they measure voltage regulation, DC quality, ripple, etc. and open units to see if there is turd inside, or something worthy.
  • 0 Hide
    eszaqsc , May 13, 2011 7:03 AM
    mine is thermaltake TR2-900w (TR2 900 AP) W0175RE to be exactly, i buy it at 65$USD, is it a good or not ???
  • 14 Hide
    gsacks , May 13, 2011 7:32 AM
    When I replaced a crappy 500W power supply bought online from Fry's with a Corsair 520W supply built by Seasonic (from the egg), a few years ago the system almost miraculously became 100% more stable. I will never skimp on a power supply again. EVER.
  • 3 Hide
    iam2thecrowe , May 13, 2011 9:25 AM
    One of the interesting things i see here, for example is the Thermaltake section. Depending on model you could buy a Litepower or TR2 series and be getting it from one of 3 different manufacturers! Just goes to show you cant jut look at a series and assume they are all made the same. A 600w unit might get a good review but if you get the 500w you may be getting a dud.... Awesome article toms!
  • 7 Hide
    Makere , May 13, 2011 9:33 AM
    Could you please post a sortable list also? I would like to sort by the OEM, to see more easily who sells certain OEM's products.
  • 4 Hide
    spyder271 , May 13, 2011 10:21 AM
    I'm not sure I know how to effectifly use this list. How do I know which manufactures build quality units? For example, OCZ uses both Channel Well (supposedly good) and topower (supposedly bad). Is there a way to know which manufactures are to be avoided without first buying the unit? I know the general guidelines, but how do I use this list to help?
Display more comments