Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Cooler Master UCP 1100 W PSU

Tom's Holiday Buyer's Guide 2008, Part 4
By , Ed Tittel, Thomas Soderstrom

http://www.coolermaster.com/
$350
By: Chris Angelini

We already know from stories like Patrick’s piece Efficiency: Core 2 Nukes Atom on the Desktop that buying the right power supply is critical—not only to make sure your system has enough available power output, but also that it doesn’t have too much, hurting efficiency. As a result of stories like that one, you’d think high-output units would look less attractive in the eyes of discerning enthusiasts. However, what about when you truly need a high-end power supply? We’ve been using Cooler Master’s UCP 1100 W in the lab for a couple of months now and have had great luck with it driving some of the most demanding configurations we’ve put together, regardless of how many CPUs, GPUs, or hard drives they’ve had.

You really get a sense of the systems this power supply is designed to support just by looking at its vast array of connectors. A single 24-pin ATX cable is standard, but the two 2x2 +12V auxiliary plugs are a clear indication of dual-processor support. And the three eight-pin PCI Express 2.0 power connectors, each with its own six-pin auxiliary connector for graphics card compatibility, accommodate as many as three flagship graphics cards. That’s enough connectivity for three GeForce GTX 280s or a pair of Radeon HD 4870 X2s. Armed with nine SATA plugs as well, Cooler Master’s beefiest PSU is the foundation for either a potent gaming machine or a massive video editing workstation.

Of course, the UCP has ample output able to back that array of connectors. Its rated capacity is 1,100 W, but peaks at up to 1,320 W. The supply boasts remarkable efficiency ratings to help make the best use of power coming from the wall, even when you’re not running your system at load. An 80 Plus Silver certification represents 88% efficiency at 50% load and 85% at 20% and 100% loads. So, you get tons of connectivity, oodles of output, and efficient operation, even when you’re idling around the Windows desktop.

Display all 41 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • -7 Hide
    snotling , December 2, 2008 11:10 AM
    The model is way too skinny. she makes the hardware look cheap.
  • -6 Hide
    snotling , December 2, 2008 11:16 AM
    SnotlingThe model is way too skinny. she makes the hardware look cheap.

    I did notice there were two girls in there, but even if you add them up you still get too little meat to call that a woman.
  • 0 Hide
    wicko , December 2, 2008 11:28 AM
    Wow, I can't believe I'm reading complaints about these girls. They are skinny, but not anorexic, they look like they're in very good shape. My girlfriend is getting jealous :p 
  • 1 Hide
    blackened144 , December 2, 2008 11:54 AM
    I personally like the brunette for the articles.. Something about her reminds me of Christmas.. The blonde, not so much..
  • -2 Hide
    LSoares1 , December 2, 2008 12:19 PM
    Wait, Did I miss something? What happened to part 2 and 3 of the 2008 Holiday Guide? All I see is part 1 and now this one....
  • -1 Hide
    LSoares1 , December 2, 2008 12:31 PM
    nevermind - I see the links in this article, but I didn't notice them on the Guide section.
  • 7 Hide
    antiacid , December 2, 2008 1:11 PM
    SnotlingThe model is way too skinny. she makes the hardware look cheap.

    Were you looking for "fat girls gone wild" when you opened this review? Seriously, this had to be the dumbest complaint of the year.
  • 2 Hide
    WINTERLORD , December 2, 2008 4:08 PM
    Quote:
    Of course, you’ll void your warranty in the process,


    does anyone know if intel really can tell if your CPU has been just mildly overclocked? with no burn marks ect. i wonder about that cause id love to overclock it's fun to tinker with, but could not afford getting a bum chip, and it not be under warranty.
  • 2 Hide
    Anonymous , December 2, 2008 4:18 PM
    Nice to see the update about the Seagate fix, finally.
  • 0 Hide
    WINTERLORD , December 2, 2008 4:19 PM
    That "the Gigabyte’s board with 2 graphics slots" is a sweet looking motherboard. and for anyone who just needs one graphics card slot i bet this be an alswome rig as well. a deffinit choice if i upgrade to the core 2 quad route. prolly go nehalem core i7 though
  • -4 Hide
    romans11 , December 2, 2008 5:02 PM
    wickoWow, I can't believe I'm reading complaints about these girls. They are skinny, but not anorexic, they look like they're in very good shape. My girlfriend is getting jealous


    Yeah, but the point is compared to Sarah (particularly with long hair in 2006) these ladies aren't in the same league. Some of us like women who look at least a little curvy.

    I know I should probably comment on the products not just the modeling talent, but since this is where the conversations begins, I'll jump in to the fray.
  • -3 Hide
    snotling , December 2, 2008 6:35 PM
    antiacidWere you looking for "fat girls gone wild" when you opened this review? Seriously, this had to be the dumbest complaint of the year.

    the actual dumbest "comment chain" of the year were on spotlight where hundreds of comments criticized Tamara for using a mac, dressing to casual, dressing to formal, being to expressive, being not expressive enough, being sexy, not being sexy... well I just find it amusing that nobody cares how Ben Meyer and Rob Wright look or dressup.
    Fat girls gone wild... how drastic. What about water-cooled hot chicks ?
  • 1 Hide
    Shadow703793 , December 2, 2008 7:55 PM
    For part 6 of this guide, consider recommending this: http://www.livescribe.com/smartpen/index.html My friend has one and god I envy him for it. Helps to handle long lecturs (1hr +) easily.
  • 0 Hide
    tipoo , December 2, 2008 7:57 PM
    SnotlingI did notice there were two girls in there, but even if you add them up you still get too little meat to call that a woman.

    lmao
  • 3 Hide
    KyleSTL , December 2, 2008 8:49 PM
    I'm surprized I'm the first to catch it, but the motherboard in the picture is not the UD3R, it is the UD3P. The UD3P has 2 PCIe 16x slots, whereas the UD3R only has one. It you click to see the full sized picture you can read (barely) the correct model number.
  • 2 Hide
    randomizer , December 2, 2008 9:31 PM
    It must suck to handle all that hardware but not be able to keep it.
  • 3 Hide
    randomizer , December 2, 2008 9:33 PM
    Snotlingwell I just find it amusing that nobody cares how Ben Meyer and Rob Wright look or dressup.

    Ben and Rob posing in Christmas gear, that would be funny.
  • 2 Hide
    caamsa , December 2, 2008 9:53 PM
    I am sure that none of you boys have the hardware that these ladies would be interested in anyway.

    Keep your flash drives in your pockets. ;-P
  • -3 Hide
    motleydogg , December 2, 2008 10:15 PM
    Sorry but my floppy drive has been replaced with a hard drive,... I wonder if I can place my RAM in the slot, I wouldn't try turning it on until after everything is in. I would like to monitor the cable being managed. It might get hot, but if we have a fan, I shouldn't have to twist those knobs to control things much,...
  • 1 Hide
    MitchMeister- , December 2, 2008 10:42 PM
    So I keep seeing everyone recommending the E8600.. but why when an E8400 is $100 less and the only difference is that it's not factory overclocked? Or is something on the E8600 that much better?
Display more comments