Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Hitachi Travelstar 7K500 (HTS725050A9A364, 500GB)

Reviewed: 2.5" Notebook Hard Drives From Toshiba And Hitachi
By

The Travelstar 7K320 followed on the 7K200, and now the 7K500 follows on the 7K320. The capacity steps are obvious (200GB, 320GB, 500GB) and performance has been increasing nicely with every new generation. Hitachi’s datasheets state up to a 65 MB/s data rate for the 7K320, 86 MB/s for the 7K320, and now up to 108 MB/s for the latest Travelstar 7K500. That’s quite something, considering that 5,400 RPM low-power desktop drives are only slightly faster.

Meanwhile, access time has increased a bit from 15.9 ms on the 7K320 to 16.6 ms with the 7K500, although this difference is negligible in the real world. All Travelstar 7,200 RPM drives utilize a 16MB buffer memory. For this latest model, Hitachi changed the shock specifications from 350 G to 400 G for 2 ms half-sine waves. All other changes can be followed best in the benchmark section, as the new Hitachi drive clearly is a screamer.

Hitachi offers 120, 160, 250, 320, and 500 gigabyte capacities, all of which are available in optional bulk data encryption (BDE) models. In addition, there's an enhanced availability line for 24x7 operation at the same capacity points. Hitachi doesn’t provide MTBF specs for this drive family.

Display all 20 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    wintermint , June 10, 2010 6:17 AM
    Can you also benchmark the noise level next time? I prefer a quiet PC :x
  • 2 Hide
    rocky1234 , June 10, 2010 7:15 AM
    wintermintCan you also benchmark the noise level next time? I prefer a quiet PC :x


    these are laptop drives so by nature they make very little noise.
  • 0 Hide
    sonofliberty08 , June 10, 2010 8:20 AM
    wonder how is the performance when put 2 7K500 on RAID 0 compare to the 3.5" 7200RPM HDD
  • 0 Hide
    LaloFG , June 10, 2010 9:22 AM
    Great to see more variety at 500GB.

    Nice article, except for the Vantage benchmark, i hope someday Tomshardware drop that type of benchmarks (same in games articles).
  • 0 Hide
    ietrinidad , June 10, 2010 11:25 AM
    The WD7500BPVT from Western Digital has a 9.5mm height, not 12.5mm as you had mentioned as being non-standard. Whereas the WD10TPVT has a 12.5mm height. I also personally own a WD7500BPVT, and it works great in my 15" MacBook Pro Spring 2009 Model.
  • 0 Hide
    Pei-chen , June 10, 2010 2:32 PM
    Why these drives aren’t 640GB? Clearly they are using two 320GB platters so 640GB is the max size and not 500GB.
  • 0 Hide
    wittermark , June 10, 2010 2:32 PM
    HUH?!!?!? why is this news? I've had the Hitachi 7K500 (HTS725050A9A364) for over 4 month now, how is this news?!!?!
  • 0 Hide
    bmgoodman , June 10, 2010 2:50 PM
    Hey, why didn't you include the Seagate Momentus XT Hybrid in your charts? Would make it much easier to compare! Thanks.
  • 0 Hide
    zoemayne , June 10, 2010 4:46 PM
    no one ever benchmarks temperatures. you should do that.
  • 0 Hide
    puddleglum , June 10, 2010 6:11 PM
    Hmmm. So are these 4096 Byte sector drives?
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , June 10, 2010 9:09 PM
    Western Digital WD6400BEVT is a 640G drive according to WD. All the charts have it at 500G.
  • 0 Hide
    pinkfloydminnesota , June 10, 2010 9:51 PM
    Temperatures don't affect hdd life except at the extremes.
  • 0 Hide
    pinkfloydminnesota , June 10, 2010 9:56 PM
    nor do they effect it
  • 0 Hide
    killerclick , June 10, 2010 11:06 PM
    Drive selection should be guided not by performance or cost but by reliability. Any extra megabyte per second or a few dollars off is nothing if the drive fails after a few months. For example the current Seagate drives have big reliability problems (check out user reviews on Newegg).
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , June 11, 2010 4:09 AM
    and how do u benchmark reliability?
  • 0 Hide
    dEAne , June 11, 2010 8:45 AM
    Yes sir there are lots of things you can read on their web site but how reliable they are no one can tell until you bought one and it fails.
  • 0 Hide
    killerclick , June 11, 2010 2:15 PM
    As I said, check out user reviews on Newegg. Newegg lists users who bought that particular product from them so you know they're not bogus reviews. If a Seagate drive has 20% one-egg (worst rating) reviews and Samsung drive has 8% one-egg reviews, that says a lot about the quality and reliability of the drives. Of course this only works for popular products but it's better than simply hoping you're buying a reliable drive.
  • 0 Hide
    conebone96 , June 11, 2010 6:19 PM
    My Hp Dv7 came with two MK5056GSY (raid 0) they are very impressive no vibrations to speak of and extremely quite as well I should mention that HP does have jell cushions on each contact point but very impressive.

  • 0 Hide
    spamurnz , July 19, 2010 8:46 PM
    I've been looking for the best/most reliable 2.5" 500Gb 7200rpm hard drive for my MacBook Pro. After all of that research the Toshiba sounds like a very solid hard drive. Still, it's only been out for a month or two (7/19/10) So I just can't be sure. I was about to grab the Momentus Xt, but I'm scared after hearing some of the reviews about reliability.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , August 3, 2010 1:22 PM
    I am using this drive in the Macbook Pro 991. just upgraded two days ago. working great! silent and love it's speed. Friends of mine keep having problems with Seagate and WD.