Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

P6T BIOS, Software And Accessories

X58 Roundup: Seven $200-300 Core i7 Boards
By

The P6T BIOS has a wide enough range for each setting to achieve the ultimate clock speed of nearly any processor and RAM combination, in small enough increments to allow extreme overclockers to reach component limits without exceeding them.

BIOS Frequency and Voltage settings (for overclocking)

CPU Reference Clock

133 to 500 MHz (1 MHz)

Clock Multiplier Adjustment

Yes

DRAM Ratios

DDR3-800 to DDR3-2133 (266 MHz)

PCIe Clock

100 to 200 MHz (1 MHz)

CPU Vcore

0.85v to 2.10v (0.00625v),

QPI/DRAM (CPU Uncore) Voltage

1.20v to 1.90v (0.00625v)

IOH (Northbridge) Core

1.10v to 1.70v (0.020v)

ICH (Southbridge) Core

1.010v to 1.40v (0.10v)

DRAM Voltage

1.50v to 2.46v (0.02v)

CASLatencyRange

tCAS: 3-11; tRCD: 3-10; tRP: 3-10; tRAS: 3-31


CPU core voltage “droop” can be fairly significant under full CPU load, but enabling “Load-Line Calibration” helps. Unfortunately, the setting also boosts base voltage well beyond the intended setting, forcing us to set 1.4375 volts to achieve an actual 1.45 to 1.46 volts.

The P6T has a variety of memory settings that would be unfamiliar to most overclockers, and allows individual timings to be left in automatic mode.

We enable power-saving features and Intel Turbo mode for our performance and power consumption tests, but disable them for our overclocking assessment.

Asus EZ Flash 2 supports BIOS flashing from its own command prompt, eliminating the need for bootable media.

Asus O.C. Profile allows up to two custom BIOS configurations to be saved onboard as profiles, and also supports transferring these profiles externally via USB flash drives.

Accessories

Accessories

Documentation & Software

Motherboard Manual

 

Asus case badge

 

Motherboard driver DVD

Hardware

4 x Serial ATA Cable

 

1 x 80-conductor Ultra-ATA Cable

 

1 x Quick Connector Kit

 

1 x I/O Panel Shield

 

1 x NVIDIA SLI Bridge

 

1 x 3-way SLIBridge


It’s hard to believe that a motherboard priced well over $200 is now considered mid-range, but the “better value” P6T comes with an installation kit typical of the middle market. The only stand-out accessory is its 3-way SLI bridge, which has questionable value when one of the slots employs x4 lane width.

Check prices for Asus' P6T

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 58 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    dragonsprayer , March 19, 2009 7:44 AM
    hey guys good info - its 4am i should not be posting with one eye closed to see the screen!
    Warpedsystems has tested a least half of these, my Evga failed out of the box, i would normally let that slide but with all the 680i and 780i issues and failures over the years - beware. So i can not speak of the evga - i will say the 780i FTW is kick butt mobo!

    Asus is asus and 90% or so of my stuff i ship, i switched to the new P6t from the deluxe and have had some issues - i am sitll working on the P6T tonight as i type. Opps- my jr tech set the blk to 180 and over clocked the QPI to max - i think he smoked the mobo ran amd cpu = its first in 5 years if so?

    Some did not make it? no gigabyte? gigabyte is really pushing on asus for number one - really! Ya, all the evga fans are what? I can say how many evga mobos break and fail: pci-e slot fail, pressure around the cpu mounting failure, lock ups - evga lock ups are just accepted as part of life! We all know that evga error code!

    I have to say the gigabyte and the higher end asus deluxe version sure seem a lot more reliable for 4ghz systems - again - we only took 1 evga and it locked up and i said "that is it the last time" - the FTW 780i gives me faith evga will come around on x58.

    what ever you do - do not oc the blk and QPI - poof!

    nice stuff THG!
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , March 19, 2009 10:42 AM
    dragonsprayerhey guys good info - its 4am i should not be posting with one eye closed to see the screen!Warpedsystems has tested a least half of these, my Evga failed out of the box, i would normally let that slide but with all the 680i and 780i issues and failures over the years - beware. So i can not speak of the evga - i will say the 780i FTW is kick butt mobo!Asus is asus and 90% or so of my stuff i ship, i switched to the new P6t from the deluxe and have had some issues - i am sitll working on the P6T tonight as i type. Opps- my jr tech set the blk to 180 and over clocked the QPI to max - i think he smoked the mobo ran amd cpu = its first in 5 years if so?Some did not make it? no gigabyte? gigabyte is really pushing on asus for number one - really! Ya, all the evga fans are what? I can say how many evga mobos break and fail: pci-e slot fail, pressure around the cpu mounting failure, lock ups - evga lock ups are just accepted as part of life! We all know that evga error code!I have to say the gigabyte and the higher end asus deluxe version sure seem a lot more reliable for 4ghz systems - again - we only took 1 evga and it locked up and i said "that is it the last time" - the FTW 780i gives me faith evga will come around on x58.what ever you do - do not oc the blk and QPI - poof!nice stuff THG!


    One of the companies forgot to send a board and didn't respond in time to the reminder...see the introduction of the article. What makes you think that company wasn't Gigabyte?
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , March 19, 2009 12:10 PM
    Which ASUS board was actually tested - the plain "P6T" or "P6T SE?" There are subtle differences, like JMB322 in P6T but not in P6T SE. Also, some difference in e.g. back panel IO and advertised overclocking capabilities.
    Judging from the feature list, the board was plain P6T, but all pictures seem to be of P6T SE.
  • 2 Hide
    Crashman , March 19, 2009 12:39 PM
    RipaWhich ASUS board was actually tested - the plain "P6T" or "P6T SE?" There are subtle differences, like JMB322 in P6T but not in P6T SE. Also, some difference in e.g. back panel IO and advertised overclocking capabilities.Judging from the feature list, the board was plain P6T, but all pictures seem to be of P6T SE.


    http://media.bestofmicro.com/7/3/192063/original/asus_p6t_kit.jpg
  • 0 Hide
    wicko , March 19, 2009 1:23 PM
    Sadly, none of the good mobos in this review are sub 300$ in Canada.. what a damn ripoff.
  • 0 Hide
    hardwarekid9756 , March 19, 2009 1:29 PM
    Could you expound on "Catastrophic Failure?" I'd be interested to know what all went wrong in the fray. I've been using an ASRock Mobo recently, and noticed it full-out sucked at Overclocking when compared to my MSI board, so I'd like to know what exactly caused the thing to bomb out.
  • -8 Hide
    salavat23 , March 19, 2009 2:33 PM
    No Gigabyte.

    Sorry, but you can't make a good review without including one of the top manufacturers of X58 motherboards.
  • 0 Hide
    msdx_bizkit , March 19, 2009 2:35 PM
    Gigabyte EX58-UD3R and MSI X58 Pro are the cheapest X58 motherboards out there at the moment. (~250$ CAD - NCIX) Could you guys give me your input on those two particuliar boards?

    I am not the extreme overclocking kinda guy. In fact, I still am running on default settings on my Core 2 Duo E6750. I don't plan to overclock over 3,2Ghz on my new 920, if I ever do overclock.

    Neither boards support SLI, but I'd be interrested in a dual Radeon 4870 1GB Crossfire config.

    Thanks in advance
  • 0 Hide
    daft , March 19, 2009 3:14 PM
    i was just wondering if the "more on this topic" could be omitted in future articles, i like to skip to the conclusion in the mornings and its annoying to hit more on this topic and get a little window than to go to the conclusion
  • -1 Hide
    Anonymous , March 19, 2009 3:32 PM
    where is my GIGABYTE 1366 EX58-UD4P? supports crossfire and it's cheap
  • 5 Hide
    Crashman , March 19, 2009 3:33 PM
    salavat23No Gigabyte. Sorry, but you can't make a good review without including one of the top manufacturers of X58 motherboards.


    Tell that to Gigabyte.
  • 6 Hide
    theloser , March 19, 2009 5:13 PM
    salavat23No Gigabyte. Sorry, but you can't make a good review without including one of the top manufacturers of X58 motherboards.


    No salavat23. Sorry but you can't make a good reader without reading the introduction.
  • 0 Hide
    hellwig , March 19, 2009 5:37 PM
    What happens when 4 PCIe x16 slots share two sets of x16 lanes? I mean, if I plug an x1 card into a secondary slot, is it going to reduce my graphics card in the primary slot down to x8 lanes? So in other words, if I have two GPUs in the two primary slots, and I want to plug in a x1 PCIe TV Tuner, its going to reduce one of the GPUs down to x8? Seems to me they should have made one of those PCI slots a x1 PCIe.
  • 0 Hide
    MotorMouth , March 19, 2009 6:47 PM
    msdx_bizkitGigabyte EX58-UD3R and MSI X58 Pro are the cheapest X58 motherboards out there at the moment. (~250$ CAD - NCIX) Could you guys give me your input on those two particuliar boards?I am not the extreme overclocking kinda guy. In fact, I still am running on default settings on my Core 2 Duo E6750. I don't plan to overclock over 3,2Ghz on my new 920, if I ever do overclock.Neither boards support SLI, but I'd be interrested in a dual Radeon 4870 1GB Crossfire config.Thanks in advance


    I have the P6T and love it. 3.8 GHz using DDR3 1333 RAM. All I need to do is change these settings:

    Ai Overclock Tuner: Manual
    CPU Ratio: Auto
    Intel Speed Step: Disable
    Bclk: 190
    DRAM: DDR3- 1523
    DRAM: Bus 1.66

    That's all that you need to do to get 3.8 GHz out of it. Works like a charm.

  • 0 Hide
    nevadarain72 , March 19, 2009 7:36 PM
    hardwarekid9756Could you expound on "Catastrophic Failure?" I'd be interested to know what all went wrong in the fray. I've been using an ASRock Mobo recently, and noticed it full-out sucked at Overclocking when compared to my MSI board, so I'd like to know what exactly caused the thing to bomb out.


    Agreed. While manufacturers not meeting the deadline is somewhat annoying, I'd really like to know which brand, and especially which motherboard model had the spectacular failure. I'm about to buy components for a Core i7 build, and knowing which one had issues would add some piece of mind to the decision.

    Tom's guys, can you help us readers out on on this?
  • 0 Hide
    harlequin6791 , March 19, 2009 8:38 PM
    I find it very interesting that review after review on just about every other site are GLEAMING about the Asrock X58. Everyone has been pleasantly surprised by the fact a budget board maker could make one of the top overclockers on their tests. This was a consistent theme it seemed.

    I'm curious what's the difference between their reviews and the ones here?
  • 0 Hide
    harlequin6791 , March 19, 2009 8:47 PM
    I'm hoping Toms just got a bad batch of boards because mine is waiting at home for it's new case to arrive.

    As for the reviews here you go..

    http://www.motherboards.org/reviews/motherboards/1861_16.html
    http://www.thinkcomputers.org/index.php?x=reviews&id=943&page=11
    http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/1761/13/asrock_x58_supercomputer_motherboard/index.html

    I guess my concern is who is right??
  • 0 Hide
    cangelini , March 19, 2009 10:49 PM
    harlequin6791I find it very interesting that review after review on just about every other site are GLEAMING about the Asrock X58. Everyone has been pleasantly surprised by the fact a budget board maker could make one of the top overclockers on their tests. This was a consistent theme it seemed.I'm curious what's the difference between their reviews and the ones here?


    From my discussions with Thomas, it seemed that this board was solid until you started overclocking it, after which we had two different boards burn up. Thomas can clarify, though.
  • 0 Hide
    ART-T , March 19, 2009 11:12 PM
    Tom's; I know there are more MB manufacturer's out there. I don't expect you (or anyone) to do all of them. It may be that I am about to mention 1 of the 3 you said died. But what about the Intel board DX58SO.

    I would really love to know where the Intel board stacks up in this.
Display more comments