Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Benchmark Results: Access Time And I/O Performance

Reviewed: 2.5" Notebook Hard Drives From Toshiba And Hitachi
By

All three drives have similar access times.

WD has been strong in I/O operations per second (IOPS), and the 7,200 RPM drives cannot beat the Scorpio drives. However, notebook drives are typically not optimized for database scenarios.

The same applies to the following I/O tests.

Display all 20 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    wintermint , June 10, 2010 6:17 AM
    Can you also benchmark the noise level next time? I prefer a quiet PC :x
  • 2 Hide
    rocky1234 , June 10, 2010 7:15 AM
    wintermintCan you also benchmark the noise level next time? I prefer a quiet PC :x


    these are laptop drives so by nature they make very little noise.
  • 0 Hide
    sonofliberty08 , June 10, 2010 8:20 AM
    wonder how is the performance when put 2 7K500 on RAID 0 compare to the 3.5" 7200RPM HDD
  • 0 Hide
    LaloFG , June 10, 2010 9:22 AM
    Great to see more variety at 500GB.

    Nice article, except for the Vantage benchmark, i hope someday Tomshardware drop that type of benchmarks (same in games articles).
  • 0 Hide
    ietrinidad , June 10, 2010 11:25 AM
    The WD7500BPVT from Western Digital has a 9.5mm height, not 12.5mm as you had mentioned as being non-standard. Whereas the WD10TPVT has a 12.5mm height. I also personally own a WD7500BPVT, and it works great in my 15" MacBook Pro Spring 2009 Model.
  • 0 Hide
    Pei-chen , June 10, 2010 2:32 PM
    Why these drives aren’t 640GB? Clearly they are using two 320GB platters so 640GB is the max size and not 500GB.
  • 0 Hide
    wittermark , June 10, 2010 2:32 PM
    HUH?!!?!? why is this news? I've had the Hitachi 7K500 (HTS725050A9A364) for over 4 month now, how is this news?!!?!
  • 0 Hide
    bmgoodman , June 10, 2010 2:50 PM
    Hey, why didn't you include the Seagate Momentus XT Hybrid in your charts? Would make it much easier to compare! Thanks.
  • 0 Hide
    zoemayne , June 10, 2010 4:46 PM
    no one ever benchmarks temperatures. you should do that.
  • 0 Hide
    puddleglum , June 10, 2010 6:11 PM
    Hmmm. So are these 4096 Byte sector drives?
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , June 10, 2010 9:09 PM
    Western Digital WD6400BEVT is a 640G drive according to WD. All the charts have it at 500G.
  • 0 Hide
    pinkfloydminnesota , June 10, 2010 9:51 PM
    Temperatures don't affect hdd life except at the extremes.
  • 0 Hide
    pinkfloydminnesota , June 10, 2010 9:56 PM
    nor do they effect it
  • 0 Hide
    killerclick , June 10, 2010 11:06 PM
    Drive selection should be guided not by performance or cost but by reliability. Any extra megabyte per second or a few dollars off is nothing if the drive fails after a few months. For example the current Seagate drives have big reliability problems (check out user reviews on Newegg).
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , June 11, 2010 4:09 AM
    and how do u benchmark reliability?
  • 0 Hide
    dEAne , June 11, 2010 8:45 AM
    Yes sir there are lots of things you can read on their web site but how reliable they are no one can tell until you bought one and it fails.
  • 0 Hide
    killerclick , June 11, 2010 2:15 PM
    As I said, check out user reviews on Newegg. Newegg lists users who bought that particular product from them so you know they're not bogus reviews. If a Seagate drive has 20% one-egg (worst rating) reviews and Samsung drive has 8% one-egg reviews, that says a lot about the quality and reliability of the drives. Of course this only works for popular products but it's better than simply hoping you're buying a reliable drive.
  • 0 Hide
    conebone96 , June 11, 2010 6:19 PM
    My Hp Dv7 came with two MK5056GSY (raid 0) they are very impressive no vibrations to speak of and extremely quite as well I should mention that HP does have jell cushions on each contact point but very impressive.

  • 0 Hide
    spamurnz , July 19, 2010 8:46 PM
    I've been looking for the best/most reliable 2.5" 500Gb 7200rpm hard drive for my MacBook Pro. After all of that research the Toshiba sounds like a very solid hard drive. Still, it's only been out for a month or two (7/19/10) So I just can't be sure. I was about to grab the Momentus Xt, but I'm scared after hearing some of the reviews about reliability.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , August 3, 2010 1:22 PM
    I am using this drive in the Macbook Pro 991. just upgraded two days ago. working great! silent and love it's speed. Friends of mine keep having problems with Seagate and WD.