Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

nForce 790i Ultra SLI: Asus Striker II Extreme

High-End Chipset Battle
By

nForce 790i Ultra SLI: Asus Striker II Extreme

BIOS version: 0402

x48 790i sli

The Asus Striker II Extreme is called the “ultimate gaming/overclocking platform” on the Asus website. This seems to be the right product to represent the Nvidia nForce 790i Ultra SLI chipset, then!

It is equipped with an eight-phase voltage regulator together with Asus’s Energy Processing Unit (EPU). Depending on the power saving settings, EPU is intended to reduce power consumption by modifying the use of the voltage regulators depending on the processor load. Even the two memory channels are supplied by two independent voltage regulators, which may not be ideal for power efficiency, but for performance and stability reasons. The voltage regulators, northbridge and southbridge are connected with a massive heat pipe solution, and these components are also covered by heat sinks. The northbridge has been prepared for liquid cooling solutions by the addition of an integrated water block called Fusion; Asus also includes the necessary mounting materials.

The two x16 PCI Express 2.0 slots are blue; the third slot using eight PCI Express 1.0 lanes is white. In addition, there is one x1 PCIe slot — the second (black) one was designed for the SupremeFX II sound module, which carries all necessary 3.5 mm jacks for audio. Digital coax and optical audio outputs can be found on the motherboard back panel, together with the two Gigabit LAN ports, six USB 2.0 ports, two eSATA ports, Firewire and a PS/2 mouse port. The remaining element on the back panel is a light switch called EL I/O that illuminates the back panel connectors if you want to plug in cables under your desk, where you typically lack light.

The Q connector is a small adapter that you use to connect all the internal cables such as power, reset or HDD cables. Once this is done, you can connect the adapter to the pin panel — obviously, this is easier and in fact, almost hassle-free. Finally, the LCD poster is a little LCD display that can be used to monitor system parameters without invoking any Asus application, such as while gaming. Other motherboard features are the Extreme Tweaker overclocking and tweaking software, COP EX component monitoring to prevent damage when components run overclocked, Q-Fan Plus temperature controlled fan speed management, and an on-board power switch.

We found that memory bandwidth and Prey performance were slightly faster on the nForce 790i SLI motherboard by Asus, but the X48 solution from Gigabyte provided the better results across almost the entire benchmark suite. Please be aware that the differences are minor and far from being noticeable, but for the record, Asus and the nForce 790i Ultra SLI won the benchmark comparison. Of course, this would be different for most of the 3D graphics and game benchmarks once two GeForce 9800GX2 dual-GPU graphics cards or up to three GeForce 8800 GTX or 8800 Ultra faced two high-end ATI Radeon HD3870 cards. In this case, Nvidia would win due to its current superiority in the graphics space.

We weren’t able to update the BIOS version using the Windows BIOS update utility, as the update feature didn’t find the appropriate files — we had to look for BIOS updates on the Asus FTP instead, which is a rather cumbersome task. We reached up to FSB2000 speeds on this motherboard, while the X48 board by Gigabyte was able to show even better overclocking results.

x48 790i sli

x48 790i sli

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 34 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    dragoncyber , May 29, 2008 4:43 PM
    I went with the EVGA 790i Ultra intsead of the ASUS. They are both great boards, but the Asus was more expensive for the exact same feature set at the time.

    I am currently running this setup with the 790i:

    Q6600 @ 3.5ghz @ 1.32v Air Cooled (Prime Stable 4 instances/8hours)
    4Gb Corsair DDR3 XMS3 @ 7-7-7-20-1T @ 1.5v
    EVGA 790i Ultra w/FSB @ 1556 @ 1.40v Bios ver.P03
    (2)BFG 8800 GT's /SLI @ 710/1000/1600
    X-Fi Fatality Gamer Sound Card
    (4) Seagate 250Gb HDD's with 16mb Cache in RAID "0"
    (2) Samsung DVD-rw 20X
    1200 Watt Thermaltake Toughpower PSU

    3DMark Score: 18,900

    The Board runs great and is a better overclocker than my old 680i.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 29, 2008 4:45 PM
    thanks for the article.
    but next board for me is going to be p45 chipset anyway.
  • 2 Hide
    frodbonzi , May 29, 2008 4:47 PM
    Unless you want SLI, x48 is the way to go (or P45 once it arrives).

    Honestly, just stick 1 9800gx2 in an x48 and you're set :) 
  • 4 Hide
    njalterio , May 29, 2008 4:58 PM
    Personally I think 790i and X48 are pretty much equal. Something tells me the writer of this article is a 790i/Nvidia fan boy with their conclusion regarding possible graphics card configurations. Yeah, there are only two PCIe x16 2.0 slots on the X48 but you could definitely put two 3870X2's in, which would be equivalent to four gpus, which would be considerably cheaper then the nvidia equivalent. Interesting how the author fails to mention that part.
  • 1 Hide
    tiganz , May 29, 2008 5:44 PM
    This article is inaccurate with regards to X48's DDR2 support , the X-48 definite DOES support DDR2


    Some examples of DDR2 X-48 boards :-

    DFI LANPARTY DK X48-T2RS LGA (DDR2)
    GIGABYTE GA-X48-DS4 LGA 775 Intel X48 (DDR2)
    MSI X48C Platinum LGA 775 Intel X48 (DDR2&3 both supported on this one)
    DFI LP LT X48-T2R LGA 775 Intel X48
    ASUS RAMPAGE FORMULA LGA 775 Intel X48 (DDR2)
    GIGABYTE GA-X48-DQ6 LGA 775 Intel X48 (DDR2)

    the list goes on...

    It does however appear to be accurate stating the 790i doesnt support DDR2

    Still , im surprised that such an obvious error made it through to publication
  • 1 Hide
    pschmid , May 29, 2008 6:53 PM
    Technically, DDR2 can be supported. However, DDR2 support is up to the motherboard makers. Intel intends the X48 to work with DDR3. See:
    http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/X48/index.htm

    Best,
    Patrick
  • 0 Hide
    reasonablevoice , May 29, 2008 8:16 PM
    I understand if you have the money and are in to computers spending 300+ on a motherboard is no big deal but for most people I suspect that is not happening. I use a gigabyte board, the ga-ep35c-ds3r, got it for about 150 USD and it works splendidly, its a good over clocker to boot. Don't get me wrong, if I were a rich bastard I'd have all the latest and greatest from a quad core extreme to 790i, etc. In a lot of cases I think we don't really need more than mainstream. I put together my current main use machine for around $900 and it does everything I need it to exceedingly well, the 3dMark06 score is just over 12,000. Not stratospheric but it lets me waste my life playing Oblivion all night.
  • 3 Hide
    The_Blood_Raven , May 29, 2008 8:21 PM
    Take my word, this article points out what I have come to realize from much better sources, all Intel chipsets out perform Nvidia's. This article is very biased towards Nvidia, though in all fairness the 790i platform is the first decent one from Nvidia. Funny how the author did not run into the common Vcore, or 45nm quadcore CPU problems this motherboard is plagued with. Also funny that they did not test the efficency of the PCIE 2.0 lanes, another place Nvidia has problems. Funny how there were no stand alone memory or memory overclocking benchmarks, not to mention GPU overclocking benchmarks. Another place this article fails to go, is to compare the heat production of these two boards, all these things are in Intel's favour. I'm not an Intel Fanboy, not at ALL, I just recently bought my first Intel CPU and I hate the fact that it came to it, but Intel makes some great chipsets and Nvidia truly does not. If nothing else just remember the X48 does not support DDR2 lie, and the painfully biased conclusion, it is all there just look for it. Thing is the X48 runs much stabler, produces less heat from the entire board including the N/S bridges and the capacitor placement is better, not to mention the fact that the X48 overclocks much better when coupled with custom cooling solutions. Oh well, THW I'll let this one past I suppose, I still love your forums!
  • 0 Hide
    weilin , May 29, 2008 8:55 PM
    interesting... it would appear that nVidia still has that RAID bug... I saw it in the 6x0 series and apparently its still around in the 7x0 series. Oh well, no cheap(er) large file server based on their boards for now... again...
  • 1 Hide
    alantlchan , May 29, 2008 9:00 PM
    Some more obvious errors on p.10

    1. 1st paragraph - PS/2 mouse connector should be PS/2 keyboard connector

    2. 2nd paragraph - X48 northbridge. X48 on 790i mobo?

    3. 3rd paragraph - ICH9 southbridge. ICH9 on 790i mobo?
  • 1 Hide
    Arbie , May 29, 2008 9:17 PM
    First, thanks very much for the review. I appreciate the effort Toms and others put into running the latest hardware for us and putting all those results together.

    I do ask that your motherboard reviews and reports include tests with 4GB of RAM. Would anyone even consider stopping at 2GB with a new "enthusiast" build (other than for a max OC screenshot)? And it should be 2x2GB since that's evidently more stable, and many people building expensive systems will want to at least keep the 8GB option open.

    So - do 2GB to see how high the mobos clock with that, but give us 4GB results too so I'll know which one works best the way I intend to use it. Your comparison review will be much more valuable.

    Arbie
  • 3 Hide
    non-distinct , May 29, 2008 11:11 PM
    The_Blood_Raven is spot on, but I'll be more blunt: Schmid's and Roos' journalistic integrity is tarnished by their failure to mention the numerous curious problems plagued by 790i chipset. A simple scan through the EVGA 790i forum would've removed any doubt that the chipset continues to have problems.
  • 0 Hide
    ocp_15k , May 30, 2008 10:54 AM
    I agree with njalterio, Nvidia must have a knife stuck up authors backside while he was writing the review.
  • 1 Hide
    JohnMD1022 , May 30, 2008 12:35 PM
    Please note that for those of us with aging eyes, who make use of Firefox's Ctrl + font enlargement feature, your pages do not render properly.
  • 0 Hide
    tiganz , May 30, 2008 1:33 PM

    The really bad thing is this article also contradicts this previous X-48 review done here at toms , which clearly shows DDR2 X-48 boards ;) 



    This previous review goes as far to say that X48 is just a higher binned X38 (in the same way that intel bins some Wolfdale CPU's as 8500's and others as 8400's) and the X-38's marketin...err i mean "specs" page states "official" DDR2 support..

    I also Agree with the comments made RE: the omission of the 3870X2 and CrossfireX as a viable route to provide a Quad or Triple GPU solution to the X-48 .

    Everything omitted from this article tends to paint the X48 in a bad light and tends to favor the nvidia chipset .

    Maybe this is an honest mistake but as a regular reader of toms guide for over 11 years I can honestly say ive never found any article on this site with so many glaring omissions...
  • 0 Hide
    tiganz , May 30, 2008 1:39 PM
    it seems the link didnt post above...heres the previous toms hardware X48 motherboard roundup/review

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/x48-motherboard-comparison,1781.html
  • 0 Hide
    evilakumagouki , May 30, 2008 2:22 PM
    The nForce models 680i and 780i also support three-way SLI (twin x16 PCI Express 2.0 plus one x16 PCI Express 1.0 slot) This sentence is wrong. The nForce 680i supports twin x16 PCI-E 1.0 and one x16 PCI Express 1.0 slot (with 8 lanes), so the 680i chipset has a total of 46 lanes.

    There is an nForce 750i SLI entry-level model, which is limited to two x8 PCI Express 2.0 slots, again, is wrong too: The nForce 750i has two X16 PCI-E 2.0 slots!!

    This article has a lot of mistakes and the author was unhappy.
  • 1 Hide
    butcher , May 30, 2008 3:20 PM
    the thing that would stop me buying a 790i mobo is the price

    there in the land of OZ you can get a x48dq6 for about AU$350 where as a striker extreme II is over AU $ 500

    and unless you want sli i dont really see the difference

    also with the asus you lose a pcie to that add on card thing
  • 0 Hide
    Fedor , May 30, 2008 7:18 PM
    I too think that the conclusion here is somewhat biased. Whilst reading the entire thing it was pretty obvious that for the most part Nvidia was just a tad behind the Intel chipset. However, I still think that the main point in the conclusion is very valid - for top top graphics, you have to go Nvidia because the ATI cards cannot compete at the high end. I'm not comparing price/performance here, just plain simple performance.

    One thing about the nvidia onboard RAID - it can be SUBSTANTIALLY improved:
    http://forums.storagereview.net/index.php?s=e34721daa27db0deb19c4732a652f46c&showtopic=25786&pid=244502&mode=threaded&start=#entry244502
  • -2 Hide
    anonymous x , May 31, 2008 4:38 AM
    790i for me!
    i like sli
Display more comments