Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Turion 64 X2 Processors (Tyler Core)

Mobile CPU Chart Update and Forecast
By

amd mobile processor

We obtained almost the entire dual core Turion 64 X2 processor lineup between model TL-56 (1.8 GHz) and TL-68 (2.4 GHz). The only processor that is missing is the entry model TL-53 at 1.7 GHz, which you shouldn’t find on the market anymore. All Turion 64 X2 TL dual cores are based on the 65-nm Tyler core today. The first generation Turion 64 X2 processors were based on AMD’s 90-nm process (Trinidad and Taylor cores – not to be confused with Tylor).

We received different hardware revisions: Some are based on the G1 stepping and others are based on G2, but we didn’t find any measurable performance difference between them. The models TL-53 to TL-60 (up to 2.0 GHz) are rated at a 31 W thermal design power (TDP), while all faster models are rated at a maximum power requirement of 35 W. This is considered mainstream for mobile processors today.

All these processors are based on the AMD64 architecture and hence are one generation behind the Phenom processors’ Stars core. Each of the two cores has a dedicated 512 KB L2 cache and 64 KB data as well as 64 KB instruction cache. All Turion 64 X2 processors inherit the architecture’s HyperTransport system interface and the dual channel DDR2-667 memory controller. The HyperTransport interface runs at 200 MHz, which results in an effective 800-MHz link speed for the HyperTransport system interface. If you add upstream and downstream, you receive the HT1600 speed, which you may be more familiar with. DDR2-667 memory for notebooks is increasingly attractive thanks to recent price drops. Even 4 GB of DDR2 SO-DIMM memory has become extremely affordable.

The processors all support AMD’s power saving technology PowerNow!, which must be enabled in the system BIOS. With Windows versions before Vista, you may also have to install AMD’s processor driver to enable PowerNow!. The feature automatically reduces the voltage from 1.1 V to 0.8 V, and it adjusts the clock speed to a low 800 MHz to minimize power consumption in idle mode. PowerNow! works very much like Cool’n’Quiet on the desktop; AMD simply decided to introduce a different product name.

Unlike early Intel Core Duo mobile processors, the Turion 64 mobile processor family has always supported 64 bit extensions for 64-bit operating systems.

Display all 9 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    weinheimer , May 22, 2008 2:16 PM
    So if this is an updated mobile cpu chart, where are the T8100's T9300's?

    45nm is the way to go on laptops
  • 1 Hide
    drfelip , May 22, 2008 4:41 PM
    I also miss some processor in the T5000 series, because they are very common in low-end laptops. Good work anyway!
  • 1 Hide
    jcwbnimble , May 22, 2008 5:10 PM
    I too am very dissapointed that your mobile CPU chart doesn't inlcude the T5000 series of processors from Intel. I realize that everyone wants to see the "high end", but some of want to compare it to the low end as well.

    I just purchased an HP 17" laptop and was trying to find some data on the T5000 processors because that is what comes stock on the model I purchased. I wanted to see if it was really worth it to spend the extra ~$200 to upgrade to the T9000 processors. I had to look elsewhere to get that kind of comparrison.

    To bad for Toms' sites, I found another reputable site that I will now use as a reference tool. Shame on Tom's for not covering the mid and low range products.
  • 0 Hide
    lightbody , May 22, 2008 8:39 PM
    65nm Turion X2's support DDR2-800. Why wasn't this speed used instead of DDR2-667?
  • 0 Hide
    eltouristo , May 23, 2008 3:59 AM
    toms you are no1 but you need more laptop cpu and gpu charting.
  • 0 Hide
    nihility , May 25, 2008 3:14 PM
    Wow, I knew my TL-60 was pathetic but I never realized just how much :( 
    I like the charts, I like the interactivity and I love that we can compare mobile and desktop CPUs. I just wish mine didn't rank so low.
  • 0 Hide
    crantech , May 28, 2008 5:23 PM
    Copying an earlier comment, these charts need many more chips on them. I just bought an otherwise screaming laptop with an 8800M GTS GPU but only T5550 CPU, and want to know how much improvement I'd get moving up to a T8xxx or T9xxx.

    Plus in general I miss how the charts used to allow highlighting of specific processors for easier comparison.
  • 0 Hide
    weinheimer , May 28, 2008 6:05 PM
    Tom's used to be number 1. They are jut OK now. If you don't know more than the authors and are not able to independently screen the information you can't trust the data or conclusions at Tom's anymore
  • 0 Hide
    carl0ski , June 1, 2008 7:26 AM
    crantechCopying an earlier comment, these charts need many more chips on them. I just bought an otherwise screaming laptop with an 8800M GTS GPU but only T5550 CPU, and want to know how much improvement I'd get moving up to a T8xxx or T9xxx.Plus in general I miss how the charts used to allow highlighting of specific processors for easier comparison.


    That's a bit pointless why review lots when the few they have are done poorly anyway.

    Whats the point of adding these benchmarks without demonstrating that your Notebook battery will last - less, more or the same between models/price/performance.

    Tom's grab a load meter and find the DC power load of each of these processors on your Solar Power equipment (direct DC input not AC PSU, to emulated a Notebook Battery).
    1. record peak and typical power in "each & every" application/benchmark
    2. record power consumption at system IDLE