Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

On-Package Graphics: Arrandale Versus Clarkdale

Intel’s Mobile Core i5 And Core i3: Arrandale Is For The Rest Of Us
By

I went into ample depth on the HD Graphics built into Intel’s Clarkdale and Arrandale processors—for a quick recap, pull up this page.

With that said, while the 3D hardware remains the same between desktop and mobile CPUs, the Arrandale processors more intelligently handle the interaction between power and performance. You already know Turbo Boost technology, which capitalizes on thermal and power headroom to increase clock rate.

Dynamic frequency in action...Dynamic frequency in action...

Intel’s mobile chips get a form of Turbo Boost that the company calls dynamic frequency, which ramps up the GPU’s core clock in response to graphics-intensive workloads. The entire processor package (consisting of 32nm CPU and 45nm GPU/memory/PCIe) is still subject to a maximum TDP rating. However, the two components are able to balance that budget depending on perceived utilization.

For example, in the dual-core standard voltage (35W) SKUs, the 32nm CPU die is actually rated for up to 25W typical consumption, while the integrated graphics and memory controller uses up to 12.5W with total package power not to exceed 35W. Within that power budget, the fastest CPU core (Intel’s Core i7-620M) runs at a 2.66 GHz base clock rate and can Turbo up to 3.33 GHz with a single core active. Or, if there’s a demanding workload hammering the GPU, available TDP can take the graphics core from 500 MHz as high as 766 MHz. In extreme cases, which Intel defines as occasions when the package isn’t thermally-constrained and able to violate its maximum power limits, the processor may use up to 29W, leaving 6W to the graphics and memory controller. Or, the graphics may use up to 20W, leaving 15W to the CPU.

The medium-voltage 25W chips are kept on an even tighter leash, scaling CPU speed from up to 2.13 GHz to as much as 2.93 GHz via Turbo Boost or pushing graphics from 266 MHz up to 566 MHz. Typically, the CPU will use up to 18W and the graphics core 9.5W. But again, there are concessions made for extreme cases in which you’ll see a 21/4W or 12/13W split between the two components. The point is that there’s enough intelligence built into these processors to manage a peak power ceiling given two die on the same package doing different jobs.

All in all, the dynamic frequency capability is really quite cool. And while its absence will be lamented by some on the desktop Clarkdale processors, Intel is already running the graphics core at 900 MHz on its Core i5-661 and 733/533 MHz on its other launch SKUs.

Switchable Graphics

Mentioned previously in our Clarksfield (Core i7-920XM) coverage, switchable graphics is now supported across the Arrandale-based processors and 5-series chipsets. Of course, switchable graphics is the ability to swap between the CPU’s integrated graphics core and a discrete GPU without rebooting.

In that first exploration into Calpella, we decided that switchable graphics made the most sense matched to these Arrandale CPUs, since they already include integrated graphics as a standard capability. Moreover, there will undoubtedly be notebook vendors who pair mainstream processors with discrete GPUs for mid-range gaming capabilities. So, while switchable graphics has seen relatively little traction thus far (despite technically being supported since the days of Montevina), now is the time, if ever, we’d see it become more popular.

Display all 20 comments.
  • 3 Hide
    burnley14 , January 4, 2010 5:34 AM
    Well played, Intel. You've been knocking it out of the park lately, keep up the good work.
  • 4 Hide
    Anonymous , January 4, 2010 5:39 AM
    I'm looking forward to getting an HP laptop with the Arrandale Core i5 processor in the near future.
  • 2 Hide
    Anonymous , January 4, 2010 10:53 AM
    It's going to be interesting to see the performance/battery time of the LM and UM processors as I'm in the market for a thin-and-light myself.

    Performance is good but I'm hoping for a viable update to the CULV offerings of yesterday.
  • 1 Hide
    Computer_Lots , January 4, 2010 1:32 PM
    Looks like there are finally some replacements for the Atom, at least in efficiency anyway. Too bad the price is currently too high for the UM versions of these processors to make their way into netbooks. I would guess that even the i5-520UM would destroy the Atom in every benchmark, except maybe power consumption.
  • 2 Hide
    HansVonOhain , January 4, 2010 10:22 PM
    C2D was one of the longest living platforms. But newer tech will replace slower processors.

    Keep it up intel. I do hope that AMD will release some new chips that will be able to compete with intel offerings.
  • 0 Hide
    jasperjones , January 4, 2010 10:46 PM
    ^^^ true that. arrandale will further diminish AMD's role in the mobile processor market. and there's nothing coming up before may.
  • 0 Hide
    Luscious , January 5, 2010 1:23 AM
    Chris, the dv4 series from HP has a 12-cell extended battery available as well rated for 94Wh 2.2A. Once HP makes the transition to Arrandale, all else being same, you can expect the dv4 to hit 8-10 hours easy.
  • 0 Hide
    cangelini , January 5, 2010 1:33 AM
    Thanks for the tip Lucious. I didn't have the higher-capacity battery available to test, but I'd absolutely love to see 8-10 hrs. real-world from an Arrandale-based machine.
  • 1 Hide
    Reynod , January 6, 2010 10:07 AM
    Good bye NVidia ...

    That chops them completely out of the mobile graphics market for the masses ... Intel will pay the RIGHT OEM's some "adjustment" just to make sure their "Strategy" is right to ensure AMD's mobile market is thin and restricted to the backwaters of Bejjing.

  • -1 Hide
    spydercanopus , January 6, 2010 1:24 PM
    Wish you would have compared it to Intel Extreme Graphics 2 or something.
  • -2 Hide
    spydercanopus , January 6, 2010 1:26 PM
    These comparisons aren't very useful. Was really curious how it stacks up against other competing integrated graphics.
  • 0 Hide
    spydercanopus , January 6, 2010 1:27 PM
    Like... what is the Vista / 7 Aero and Gaming graphics score?
  • 1 Hide
    cangelini , January 6, 2010 1:33 PM
    spydercanopusThese comparisons aren't very useful. Was really curious how it stacks up against other competing integrated graphics.


    Have a look at Page 8, where HD Graphics is compared to the previous-generation GMA in Vantage and WoW. You're not going to get much else out of this, to be honest...
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , January 7, 2010 3:26 PM
    Ok so we get 20% improvement over a 2.53GHz C2D but what about the fact that C2D goes to 3.06 GHz and 3.33GHz in extreme edition, but the best arrandale is only 2.66Ghz?

    Also the integrated graphics can barely match the 9400m that is 1-2 years old.

    The battery life is the same or worse...

    What is so great about this chip?

    Personally I'm not at all impressed and find it a step side ways or even backwards.
  • 0 Hide
    xanxaz , January 27, 2010 9:36 PM
    ASUS EFI? can it load the apple one?
  • 2 Hide
    Anonymous , February 5, 2010 5:03 AM
    Just because the older C2D's have higher clocks doesn't necessarily mean they are better. Advances in the micro-architecture sometimes leave clock freqs irrelevant. An i7 920 @ 2.66 will beat a Core 2 Extreme QX9770 @ 3.2. But to be sure I guess we will have to see the highest end Arrendale vs highest end C2D.

    The integrated graphics do suck, but at least now we have a choice in some laptops where we can switch from the integrated to dedicated, saving battery life when needed and boosting performance where needed. It adds flexibility basically, I'm sure Intel was aiming more for that rather than performance in 3D games.

    What I really want to see is the ULV versions of this chip. I'm hoping whenever they start coming out, it'll push down the prices of older Ultra-Portable laptops around the 12-14" sizes. Certain ones with the C2D SU7300 and 4GB of RAM can be found for around $550 today. If these prices go down far enough, netbookks will be obsolete in my mind.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , April 8, 2010 9:40 AM
    Thank you for another great article. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such a perfect way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such information.I will recommend my friends to read this.I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often.I am quite sure they will learn lots of new stuff here than anybody else!....There is also a lot of visual symbolism that is sometimes subtle, sometimes not so subtle...
    http://www.beste-deutsche-casinos.de/
  • -1 Hide
    Anonymous , April 19, 2010 8:11 PM
    Interesting that no mention was made of how Apple has been building Core 2 Duo notebooks that will play 4 movies on a single battery charge, while the i5's and i7's are great, I don't think Intel's Duos can be blamed for your notebook's barely being able to play a single movie. (note Apple is now making notebooks with the i5 and i7 processors which also can run all major operating systems)
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 12, 2010 5:47 PM
    Hey, Did you know these Arrandale CPUs are starting to pop-up already? I've noticed this review for the Core i5-520UM today, google says it's new: http://www.netbooklive.net/intel-core-i5-520um-benchmarked-on-asus-ul30jt-3493/ . Hopefully It's ok to post links in here, as they are related and help the readers of this post.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , June 25, 2010 12:22 PM
    I am very glad then read your posting. I think your information is very useful for everyone……..
React To This Article