Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Conclusion

Ubuntu 9.10: The Karmic Koala Benchmarked And Reviewed
By

There is no question about it: 9.10 is an ambitious release for Ubuntu. There are more new features and changes to previous defaults than any other previous version. With the tight integration of Ubuntu One, Tomboy Notes, Evolution, and Empathy, along with the new theming elements, one can begin to see Ubuntu becoming its own animal and not just another slight variation of Linux with GNOME. I'll give Canonical a ten for design, but I have to give it a zero for execution. If 8.10 was a fail, 9.10 is an epic one.

Four days and several handfuls of my own hair later, my systems were finally running the greatest Ubuntu to ever hit the wires. Unfortunately, I'm referring to version 9.04, and it's the exact setup I began with. The importance of a smooth release cannot be understated. This holds true especially with Linux distributions. When it comes to free software, there is no monetary commitment. However, a commitment still exists. I spent four days preparing for, installing, and subsequently un-installing Karmic, then re-installing Jaunty. If I wasn't a tech reviewer, I would have spent my weekend installing an unusable OS, gone a full week without a working system, then spent the following weekend getting back to where I started. For the average person with a regular job, that is a significant time commitment, and a week without a PC is unacceptable.

Whenever a Linux distribution gains a large following and begins to see mainstream attention, it can no longer afford to have a marred product launch. Canonical, by launching a new version of Ubuntu every six months, has made the risk of a failed launch even more fatal. Most users who have a bad experience with 9.10 will most likely not try it again, even if many of the issues are eventually resolved. At this point, why not just wait for the next version to come out in six months? Therefore, individual versions typically do not get an opportunity to redeem themselves. Needless to say, this assumes that the average user will want to try again at all. This effect can be devastating to novice users or those with little or no Linux experience. And with an estimated market share of about 1%, that's basically everyone.

The previous October release of Ubuntu, version 8.10 “Intrepid Ibex” also had a problematic launch, plagued by poorer performance and more bugs than its predecessor, 8.04 “Hardy Heron.” The release directly after Intrepid, 9.04 “Jaunty Jackalope,” had a flawless release and is still what I consider the best OS for my money. But 9.04 was met with minimal fanfare. Why? Much of momentum from 8.04 “Hardy Heron,” another successful launch, was lost because Intrepid was such a letdown.

Compounding the letdown was the uncharacteristic amount of confidence from Canonical. The release schedule for Karmic was incredibly ambitious. There was only one beta and only one release candidate, the former just one month out from the final, the latter only one week. Though this is not a departure from previous release schedules, consider the unprecedented amount of changes that were set to occur in 9.10 and you really have to question the reasons for such confidence. Canonical should have heeded the advice of the great Han Solo: “don't get cocky.”

The press also shares some of the blame for this. Much of the hype surrounding 9.10 was a recurrence of the too-early pro-Vista coverage that clearly jumped the gun. Betas and release candidates are not final products, and reviewing an OS in a virtual machine doesn't count. Don't we all know what happens when we ass-u-me?

The fact is that Linux has been around for well over a decade, and this is not the first time that mainstream adoption appeared to be a real possibility. Mandriva (then Mandrake), Red Hat, and SuSE all used to be available in a retail box at Best Buy in the late nineties. Mandriva has since plummeted in popularity and the other two never really made it out of the enterprise sector.

Another troubling trend with Ubuntu 9.10 is the move to Ubuntu-only apps and services. Ubuntu One is great; I honestly don't know how I got through life without a backup/sync service. But a Mac, Windows, or at least a general Linux client would make it a better option. Most people who use Ubuntu do not use it exclusively, making Ubuntu One a niche service. In my opinion, Empathy is another bad call. Though I do like the fact that it replaces two apps (Pidgin and Ekiga), people were happy with Pidgin. Empathy may be a better app, but this is a situation where “if isn't broke, don't fix it.” Pidgin did the job, it's available on all three major platforms, and people liked it. I'm not saying that Empathy isn't the way to go in the future, but I feel that it's a few releases premature. It's perfectly alright for distributions like Fedora and openSuSE to play fast and loose with new features--those distros aren't much more than testbeds for their retail counterparts (Red Hat and SuSE, respectively). Ubuntu, on the other hand, is trying to be the user-friendly desktop operating system for everyone from little Timmy to Grandma. Perhaps restraint when it comes to new features is more important than getting the latest technology included by default.

All of this negativity aside, this is a review of Ubuntu 9.10 “Karmic Koala” and not all of Ubuntu. Tom's Hardware still recommends Ubuntu 9.04 “Jaunty Jackalope” as our free OS of choice, and you can still grab a copy here. Hopefully, Canonical can learn from its mistakes and make version 10.04 “Lucid Lynx” succeed in the areas that Karmic failed (namely, execution). It's a shame, because the material to make the greatest desktop Linux OS is here in Karmic. But the crippling bugs and poor launch mar the entire product. Interestingly, there are reports that the KDE variant of Ubuntu, Kubuntu, managed to avoid all of these pitfalls and became a hit in those circles. Better luck next time.

Follow us on Twitter for more tech news, reviews, and exclusive updates!

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 146 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 10 Hide
    burnley14 , December 3, 2009 5:20 AM
    The new Upstart feature sounds terrific. Windows needs to take notes, I hate the awkward limbo of seeing your desktop but not being able to do anything.
Other Comments
  • 10 Hide
    burnley14 , December 3, 2009 5:20 AM
    The new Upstart feature sounds terrific. Windows needs to take notes, I hate the awkward limbo of seeing your desktop but not being able to do anything.
  • 5 Hide
    Anonymous , December 3, 2009 5:38 AM
    Hi,

    I was a bit surprised to read your slaughter of Ubuntu 9.10, because that does not reflect my experience with it. My first thoughts when reading this were related to the (possible lack of) integrity and technical skills of the author (sorry about that). Then I remembered that I experience a few minor issues when upgrading from 9.04 to 9.10 as well and that I read about people which were unhappy with it. However, none of these would IMHO deserve the label "epic fail".

    Spending four days for installing 9.10 and reinstalling 9.04 seems like way more time than you should need. I upgraded my computers running Ubunutu in less than an hour. I have not tried a clean install but it would surprise me that this would be any harder. My parents have also been using Ubuntu for more than a year now without any complaints (this includes an upgrade to 9.10). Maybe I have been lucky?

    I have been using Ubuntu at work and at home for the last 3-4 years and I am pretty happy with it. I am also happy with the fact that you (Tomshardware) have been writing about Linux a bit more frequently. Keep it up, but don't be so harsh :) 
  • 4 Hide
    jj463rd , December 3, 2009 5:44 AM
    I tried it on one PC.Had constant problems with the Mouse not working,system locking up etc.I went back to installing rock solid older 8.04 LTS on it which worked without problems (except for the time consuming (about) 450 updates).
  • 5 Hide
    rsmith13 , December 3, 2009 5:56 AM
    I also got the Kernel problem error messages after installing Xubuntu 9.10 on an AMD 64 system. They went away after doing an update. I now have Xubuntu 9.10 on 5 single and dual core AMD 64 systems. with no problems.

    Do the update!
  • 1 Hide
    cyberkuberiah , December 3, 2009 6:07 AM
    hardware driver support from the hardware makers themselves is lacking , i installed ubuntu , could not connect to belkin wifi even after using the prop drivers , and then uninstalled it . patience over .
  • 2 Hide
    haplo602 , December 3, 2009 6:14 AM
    nice article ... I mostly skimmed through it :-) anyway can you include a windows 7/vista benchmark base for the same hardware ?

    I know some of the test will be irrelevant (like the timed installation) but most should work.
  • 2 Hide
    DGriffin , December 3, 2009 6:17 AM
    I had 9.04 and upgraded to 9.10 with out any problems at all... I have a AMD 64 processor and had no problems with the 64bit vir... ..idk maybe I got lucky, but I sorta doubt it..
  • 0 Hide
    MaxTesla , December 3, 2009 6:39 AM
    The screensaver starts after 5 min so when you install Ubuntu the screen saver will start and the screen will go black you need to move your mouse too see the instalation again, this could of course be mistaken for a crash
  • -6 Hide
    MaxTesla , December 3, 2009 6:42 AM
    The screen saver starts after 5 min so when you install Ubuntu the screen saver will start and the screen will go black you need to move your mouse too see the installation again, this could of course be mistaken for a crash
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , December 3, 2009 6:49 AM
    I tried installing Ubuntu 9.10 via Wubi, immediately after rebooting from Windows and seeing the Ubuntu bootscreen it gave me a black screen, with my monitor reporting that there was no signal. Back to Windows I go, I suppose. :/ 
  • -9 Hide
    techguy378 , December 3, 2009 7:03 AM
    Windows is the most advanced desktop OS ever created. Unless you have a really, really old computer that can't run anything past Windows 98 there is never a reason not to run Windows on a PC. Don't waste your time with this Linux crap. Free isn't always better.
  • -3 Hide
    Anonymous , December 3, 2009 7:09 AM
    Oh! Please!

    All these installation crashes sound like memory failures. Did you run memtest before installing?
  • 6 Hide
    ibnsina , December 3, 2009 7:24 AM
    Simplicity + smooth Graphics UI = Great Linux

    Great Linux + industry support (drivers+gaming) = Great Operating System

  • 3 Hide
    Anonymous , December 3, 2009 7:27 AM
    Techguy378- Depends what you want it for. I use both OSes extensively. I quite enjoy not having to run an antivirus on my Ubuntu machine for instance. The responsiveness of Ubuntu is much better on the same machine when compared to windows, It's just unfortunate that some hardware isn't fully supported. That situation has improved a lot over the last few years but it's still there- my laptop would run ubuntu but the ACPI code in the bios is buggy (this is a hardware issue NOT a software issue- Microsoft just hasn't implemented the layer correctly which, oddly, circumvented the issue. Lucky! That said, i'd like to question what a proper implementation is if the one done incorrectly is the one that works....)

    I use Vista for my audio stuff, mainly because Fruityloops lags in Ubuntu. I also use Vista on my laptop for the ACPI issue, but I use ubuntu on my Desktop and server, because it's just less of a monster and requires less aftermarket tools to keep running. (Antivirus.)
  • -3 Hide
    Anonymous , December 3, 2009 8:23 AM
    I just spent the entire night trying to get Ubuntu 9.10 to get my USB devices to work in high speed mode. And I still haven't got it to work yet. Looks like there are a LOT of issues with Ubuntu. I only need to copy some stuff out of my ext4 partitions and using Ubuntu seems to be the wrong choice.
  • 2 Hide
    rean24 , December 3, 2009 8:32 AM
    I had no problem with 9.10 .
    Installed it through "Wubi" Not sure should i make the major change with a clean install.

    But soo far I havnt had any complains , all the effects are working , oline , workwise its Top-Notch.

    And Yes i am a Unbutu N00d..But Windows PRO...And if after a month of no problem will make the major change in OS.

    Only Complain I had was with my Logitic wireless mouse , but a quick change to the Microsoft one solved it all...
  • 5 Hide
    dimitrik , December 3, 2009 8:44 AM
    Good review. The fact is that about half the reviews of 9.10 are either negative or neutral due to problems encountered. Compared to the near universal positive reception of 9.04 this does warrant the words Epic Fail, especially since it squanders much of the goodwill built up by the success of 9.04.

    Based on all the reviews, I'm not even going to bother trying to run 9.10.
    I will give Linux Mint 8 a try instead which is based on 9.10 but has been customized for even more user-friendly operation and stability.
    The previous release Mint 7 was a nice improvement on 9.04 (which was great too) so I hope the Mint guys can pull the rabbit out of the hat again.

    Either way, I'll dual boot the new OS with my old one before even thinking of making it my main desktop.
  • 1 Hide
    tvel , December 3, 2009 9:21 AM
    I had no problems installing my 9.10 64 bit and I was surprised to read all the trouble you had.
    I'm using it for a month now with no problems at all.
  • 2 Hide
    JimmiG , December 3, 2009 9:28 AM
    Well, I've tried Ubuntu 9.04 previously, and it installed without a hitch on both my desktop and laptop systems.

    9.10 however just gives me a black screen when trying to use the bootable CD on my laptop. On my desktop system it installs fine, but doesn't detect my wireless adapter. 9.04 detected it automatically.

    I could probably fix both issues with patience, but it proves that Linux still isn't ready for desktop/laptop use, even though Linuxtremists have been claiming that for a decade.
  • 1 Hide
    nevertell , December 3, 2009 9:29 AM
    I've been using it since it went beta, and I haven't experienced any issues with the out-of-the box stuff. I do hate, the new media manager, I just want a tool to switch from alsa to PA when I want either gaming with wine or regular day-to-day use.
Display more comments