Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Asax Server One 120 (200 GB)

Tom's Hardware's Summer Guide: 17 SSDs Rounded Up
By

The Server One 120 belongs to Asax's professional line, available in 50, 100, 200 and 400 GB capacities with SATA 3Gb/s interfaces. This is a SandForce SF-1200-based device and delivers higher peak throughput than the Leopard Hunt II, but also slightly lower minimum transfer rates. The Server One 120 uses more expensive SLC flash memory. This is typically a big advantage compared to mainstream MLC memory, but Asax surprisingly fails to beat other MLC products based on SandForce controllers.

In particular, 4K random reads are faster on the other SandForce SSDs, namely the Intel X25 devices and Crucial’s RealSSD. 4K random writes are even significantly faster on the MLC SandForce-based devices and, once again, the RealSSD. Asax's application performance remains above the average in this roundup. However, considering the higher price of the Server One's SLC flash memory, we’d recommend picking a different drive for a client SSD (Ed.: due to Asax's lack of availability, it looks like you won't have a choice anyway, unless you can get your hands on one of these drives).

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 85 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    Onyx2291 , August 31, 2010 6:16 AM
    Good, before I saw this my decision on getting an Intel would have been fine.
  • -4 Hide
    M3God , August 31, 2010 6:19 AM
    Have (2) 30GB OCZ Vertex in RAID 0. They are pretty darn quick.
  • 4 Hide
    El_Capitan , August 31, 2010 6:35 AM
    You can get the Crucial RealSSD C300 128GB for $240. Only problem is the sketchy firmware (read about at anandtech) and poor performance in RAID.

    SSD's I have (I always look for deals and buy when I think it's the lowest):
    1. (2) Crucial RealSSD C300 128GB ($240) - Fast, great price, used for video editing and programming.
    2. Intel x-25m 160GB ($380) - Fast, expensive, used on my server.
    3. (2) Corsair P128 ($260, $290)- Decently fast, very low power consumption, decent price but now expensive, used for my HTPC and laptop.
    4. Kingston SSDNow V-series 64GB ($110) - Fast enough, somewhat cheap, used for my gf's computer.

    Luckily none have gone bad on me, and would buy them again. Glad to see other SSD's in the mix, though. More reviews and benchmarks never hurt, and THG's always used when I need more information to make a decision. :) 
  • 3 Hide
    WarraWarra , August 31, 2010 6:46 AM
    Nice piece very informative.

    G-Skill Phoenix 100GB looks like a good all rounder.
    OWC a good 2nd choice for me.
    Western digital would have been my 1st choice but seems to lack a lot.

    The rest is too all over the place with it's performances for me.
  • 0 Hide
    The Greater Good , August 31, 2010 6:57 AM
    I just used 2 120 GB Phoenix Pros in RAID 0 for a friend's build. It's freakin FAST! I got one for my parents as their HDD just crashed. They love it.
  • 0 Hide
    heretocrave , August 31, 2010 7:02 AM
    "reads and whites" is that supposed to be some sort of play on words? Just kidding. Good article, much appreciated.
  • 1 Hide
    blackmancer , August 31, 2010 7:19 AM
    I got 2 intel 80 G2s in RAID0 and they haul. sure under heavy 4K scenarios they do fall behind, but for most use its no problem. you can also purchase 2 intel 160G drives for slightly more than a C300 and you'll get far better results per dollar per GB in a RAID0 setup.

    I get 525MB reads and 175MB writes. For an OS drive that doesn't do a whole lot of writing I'm ok with the performance.
  • 2 Hide
    JonnyDough , August 31, 2010 7:48 AM
    For my dollar I'll do a smaller OCZ Vertex 2 for a boot drive...they have great performance and come in under $150.
  • 5 Hide
    jgv115 , August 31, 2010 8:11 AM
    I'm still rocking a Intel X25-M G1, no probs at all. I see no point to change.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , August 31, 2010 8:34 AM
    I just picked up the kingston SSDNow-now SNV-425, Im happy with it but am thinking about picking up another for raid 0. Does anybody have this setup?Im curious to know your read/write numbers as I cant find anybody with this setup on the net. Please Post.
  • 0 Hide
    jsowoc , August 31, 2010 8:35 AM
    Two corrections to the graph titles (other SSD articles have the same problems):

    - it says "[t in ms]" (should be "t in us")

    - it says "including rotational latency"; which parts of the SSD are rotating and have latency? ;-)
  • 3 Hide
    ruffopurititiwang , August 31, 2010 9:31 AM
    I like how you did the price/performance index. People don't usually buy SSD's for storage but for performance so it makes much more sense to show the performance vs dollar metric than gigabyte vs dollar. This way, people can pick what capacity will suffice for them then decide which drive will give them the most performance for the money. Kudos!
  • 1 Hide
    Travis Beane , August 31, 2010 9:32 AM
    Interesting.
    Guess I'm still waiting for the Gen3 Intel drives.
    I have been saying that for a while now...

    Though I will avoid RAID for a boot drive, and RAID 1/5 only for storage.
    I've had enough headaches from RAID.
  • 0 Hide
    avatar_raq , August 31, 2010 12:14 PM
    I just ordered an OCZ vertex 2 60GB for ~155 USD, excluding shipping and other costs, if the performance is close to the 120GB version then I'm in good shape, but I highly doubt that. Any one got a good comparison between the 2 drives?
  • -6 Hide
    Reynod , August 31, 2010 12:24 PM
    Great stuff ... thanks guys.

    Sorry I came across so rude in your other article P & A.

    I have a soft spot for core2.

    :) 
  • 0 Hide
    andune , August 31, 2010 12:50 PM
    Maybe I missed this in the tables, but was the Crucial drive tested on a 6 Gb/s interface only? For those of us with only 3Gb/s boards, it'd be interesting to see how the performance compares. I seem to recall from Anand's review that throughput was somewhat less than saturated.
  • 3 Hide
    sstym , August 31, 2010 1:28 PM
    Patrick and Achim, great to see you included price in your performance ratios! The previous articles focused on power consumption, which is less relevant for SSD (a 1W difference when your laptop CPU consumes anywhere between 13 and 35W, and your GPU anywhere between 7 and 50W?)
    128GB C300 SSD's are already barely above $2 per GB. I can't wait for the next generation of intel SSD and the widely predicted price drops at the end of the year.
  • -8 Hide
    zaixionito , August 31, 2010 2:17 PM
    Raid does NOTHING to improve SSD speed....
  • 0 Hide
    cknobman , August 31, 2010 2:21 PM
    Western Digital should hang their head in shame. Pathetic SSD offering and I cant see anyone actually buying one.
  • 0 Hide
    sublifer , August 31, 2010 2:22 PM
    I'm kind of surprised seeing the aggregate performance chart with the intel V series outperforming the indilinx drives. Seems fishy to me.

    Not surprised with WD as I've noticed the same thing myself. If you look at the lower capacity WD drives though you'll find the price competes with the intel (and Kingston) V series but performance is closer to the indilinx and M series (I can only assume as I'm not sure I've ever seen the smaller cap versions benched). A much better buy in my opinion.

    That said, I really want a Vertex2 (or larger cap C300) but I'm waiting for a reasonable capacity under $200. I think that threshold is shared by many and the first mfg to make it there is going to make a killing.
Display more comments