Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test--Graphics Menu And Quality Settings

Stalker: Clear Sky - Is Your System Ready?
By

Global functions in the graphics menu include the rendering mode (illumination quality) and quality settings (graphics quality). Each has five pre-configured profiles, which results in 25 different combinations. When you choose a profile, there is an automatic adjustment in the extended graphics menu. To keep things simple, the global settings are tested separately.

The following comparison images are related to the quality setting at the maximum illumination quality. The activated switches and positions of slide bars are copied into the picture. Usually you would find them in the extended graphics menu. The frame rate is right next to it. Anti-aliasing (AA) and anisotropic filtering (AF) are deactivated, and the test resolution is 1920x1200 pixels.

Quality Setting Maximum

It doesn’t get any better. The illumination and quality settings are at the maximum. If you don’t look directly into the sun, the frame rate stays at 26 fps, which is fine as a minimum value.

Quality Setting High

The graphics quality with the setting at high barely drops at all — the bright cloud of the anomaly, which used to be between the trees of the background, has disappeared. This is due to the reduced range of view, which should be increased again because it affects performance a little bit.

Quality Setting Medium

With the setting at medium the illumination from the sun is reduced and overall, the scenery is a little darker. The surfaces of the objects (textures) are lacking in depth and sharpness.

Quality Setting Low

At low graphics quality, you’ll see back shadows on the ground, and notice that illumination has decreased further and some object surfaces appear lighter.

Quality Setting Minimum

Because of the low range of view, trees and plants in the background disappear; some textures become really soft and lose their realistic impression.

In the table below, you’ll see two percentages: the baseline of the first one is minimum graphics quality and it shows the loss that occurs when you change to a higher quality setting. The baseline of the second percentage is the maximum graphics quality, and it shows the gain in percent when you lower the quality setting.

If you cannot run on maximum, you should take advantage of the 27% performance gain when you drop from maximum to high quality. After that, you should set the range of view back to maximum, so you can still see all the objects in the background. Avoid the minimum setting, because the loss when switching to low is a meager 10%.

Graphics Quality, 1920x1200, 0AF, 0AA fps Percent Percent
Minimum 71 100 273
Low 64 90 246
Medium 41 58 158
High 33 46 127
Maximum 26 37 100

Display all 62 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 2 Hide
    V3ctor , September 30, 2008 7:32 AM
    Page 7 is not available... It gives an error, as if the page doesn't exist.
  • -6 Hide
    magicandy , September 30, 2008 7:35 AM
    Aside from the numerous pages that don't work, was a 24-page analysis of STALKER, a fairly mediocre shooter, really necessary? Is a 24-page analysis of any game necessary? Sigh anything to please devs and grab ad dollars -_-
  • 0 Hide
    pogsnet , September 30, 2008 7:38 AM
    Now crysis is obsolete =p
  • 0 Hide
    haplo602 , September 30, 2008 7:43 AM
    hmm ... I loled when I saw the graphics error in the water tests. the camo-net disappeared everywhere it obscured water in all modes other than static. but you get a nice looking water effect :-)

    I was wondering if I can get this game to run on reasonable terms on a HD4670 or HD3850. Based on the HD3870 results, it looks like it would be playable ...
  • 0 Hide
    cangelini , September 30, 2008 7:53 AM
    V3ctorPage 7 is not available... It gives an error, as if the page doesn't exist.


    Not sure what you're seeing (or not, in this case), but everything is working over here. Any more detail?
  • 1 Hide
    randomizer , September 30, 2008 7:57 AM
    magicandySigh anything to please devs and grab ad dollars -_-
    Dude, the GSC can't even afford to hire a dozen half-decent developers, let alone pay for ads.
  • 0 Hide
    blackwidow_rsa , September 30, 2008 8:02 AM
    I had 'page not found' errors too, but they seem fixed now
  • -1 Hide
    randomizer , September 30, 2008 8:03 AM
    No page errors here.
  • 3 Hide
    ravenware , September 30, 2008 8:06 AM
    Nice article, I liked the quality comparisons a lot
  • 1 Hide
    xx12amanxx , September 30, 2008 8:07 AM
    I like the article ive been playing this on a 4870 for about a week now and absolutly love it!
  • 5 Hide
    dimaf1985 , September 30, 2008 8:21 AM
    magicandyAside from the numerous pages that don't work, was a 24-page analysis of STALKER, a fairly mediocre shooter, really necessary? Is a 24-page analysis of any game necessary? Sigh anything to please devs and grab ad dollars -_-


    A fairly mediocre shooter? Youre obviously an idiot.

    The real question here is what was the point of the first 9 pages? Is this a review on a graphics analysis article? C'mon on, Tom's, get it together.

    Other than the first 9 pages, nice article. Very in-depth.
  • 0 Hide
    Luscious , September 30, 2008 9:27 AM
    No 4870x2 in that roundup? What about some CF/SLI numbers?
  • 0 Hide
    radnor , September 30, 2008 11:10 AM
    Well, i found it a decent review. I liked how they categorized the cards and presented the game. This review might not ring you bells but it is not too bad.

    Not that I'm going to buy this game atm. Its too hilarious to see the stock market now. Oh, well :) 
  • 0 Hide
    V3ctor , September 30, 2008 11:49 AM
    cangelini

    It posted as a bad link... as if i got a link (for example 1 year ago, and now doesn't work)... But it's fine now... never mind :) 

    Good review... 24 pages is a lot, u covered a lot of angles... including the graphics cards.
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , September 30, 2008 11:50 AM
    The game is definitely an improvement on the first one - on paper at least.
    The problem is the huge amount of game crashes. I played the game for about 8 hours, progressing all the way to The Garbage level when my crashes started. I was forced to install the latest patch, but that meant I had to start all over again. Although I this time got twice as far, the game still crashes - although now instead of rebooting the PC, it is caught by a built-in bug tracker.
    I am really dissapointed now, cause after one of these crashes, my game is now stuck at the Yantar level - where I'm supposed to meet up with a character, but when you get to the character, he is completely inactive. I've moved backwards and forwards in levels, but I cannot get this dude to react to my presence.

    I suspect I will probably have to restart the game, but I think I am going to abandon - at least untill a newer patch, and then hope the new patch will recognize my current saves.

    Advice: Make regular custom saves - not just quicksaves...
  • 0 Hide
    mr roboto , September 30, 2008 1:44 PM
    More like is STALKER ready? From what I've heard it's not. Numerous bugs and crashes, but then again the first game was like that so would you expect anything less?
  • 0 Hide
    modtech , September 30, 2008 1:55 PM
    Patch 1.5.05 is out. The game never crashed or glitched for me and I've gone from start to finish, joined in on 3 different faction wars and explored the crap out of every area. I also finished crysis warhead and that CTDed twice from the start to the end.
  • 1 Hide
    ahslan , September 30, 2008 2:00 PM
    I dont know if Im convinced on getting this STALKER...I was hugely disappointed with the first one (especially since sooo many people said it was a great game)...
    For me, its the exact opposite of crysis...I didnt get crysis for the longest time because soo many people said it wasnt worth it, but once I took a chance on it, I loved it...now I got warhead which so far has be amazing...
  • 1 Hide
    modtech , September 30, 2008 2:20 PM
    Warhead is short and shallow. Not a bad game but anyway. If you're talking about Stalker:SOC then you would do well to look at the modding community which really made the game the memorable experience it is to many. (Notably the oblivion lost mod)

    I've played and finished both crysis games. They are in no way comparable to the atmospheric freedom that the stalker games have. You just can't compare them. Change the point of view to multiplayer and things might be different. Otherwise I you comment comes across as poorly thought out and shallow.
  • 1 Hide
    Yuka , September 30, 2008 2:36 PM
    Very nice review indeed. I missed the 4870X2 and 9800GX2 though, but it was a nice review indeed.

    I liked the "Performance Comparison" at the end the most. That's the most usefull piece of info you guys can give the reader: easy to digest pointers and info for overall game experience. Two thumbs up for that =)

    Esop!
Display more comments