Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Turbo Boost Behavior And Throttle Testing

MSI GT70 Dragon Edition 2 By Xotic PC: Haswell Goes Mobile
By

AC Power Vs. Battery Performance

When you pull the AC power on MSI's GT70 Dragon Edition 2, you lose 60% of your gaming performance. However, a 3DMark score of 3288 is still fairly respectable, and able to outrun a GeForce GTX 660M. In other words, a number of games will still be playable, though the frame rates won't be nearly as compelling as what we saw over the past three pages.

Power consumption through this test was about 40 W. So, you can expect roughly two hours of run time in a game away from the wall.

System Throttling

Running Prime95 and FurMark at the same time places a very high load on any system, with both the CPU and GPU drawing maximum power while also generating maximum heat. In the GT70's case, the CPU is rated for up to 57 W and the overclocked GPU is at least 100 W. Add in 10-20 W for the other platform components and you're looking at 175 W or so.

It the system can't get more than 175 W from its supply, or isn't able to dissipate that amount of heat efficiently enough, it will throttle the CPU, GPU, or both in order to honor its thermal and electrical specifications.

In the above screenshot, the CPU is operating under full load. The GPU is as well. With the cooling fan spinning as fast as possible, we observed the power supply pulling 179 W from the wall. This is not what we were expecting. Generously assuming 90% efficiency, 179 W at the wall is 162 W to the machine. With the CPU rated for 57 W, the overclocked GPU at 100 W, and the rest of the components pulling 10 W or more, the GT70 should be registering a little more than what we measured.

The day after I wrapped this story up, MSI sent us an updated BIOS for the GT70 Dragon Edition 2, changing the power consumption characteristics of the machine and increasing performance. Now the system pulls up to 194 W from the wall during games. Strangely, with a full synthetic CPU and GPU load, it only pulls 187, suggesting something is throttling back a bit. While this represents an improvement, there is still optimization work to be done.

A look at HWInfo64 tells us where the GT70 was getting power, aside from its power brick. It actually pulls extra power from the system's battery. Obviously, the battery is not being charged at 688 W, but rather the amount of charge is falling. As you can see in the timer right below the “Reset Values” button, we were logging for about three minutes. If you look at the charge level, you can see that it dropped from 78.9% to 76.9%. The normal discharge rate was 1% every 90 seconds with the original BIOS. This rate dropped to 1% every 100 seconds with the new BIOS. 

In MSI’s promotional literature, this behavior is marketed as a "feature" called NOS, which we'll be prodding over the next few pages.

Normally, the extra power is used to keep Nvidia's GPU in boost mode. With the Xotic PC-tweaked configuration, the GPU is overclocked to keep it running faster than GPU Boost would permanently. As a result, any time the CPU and GPU are fully loaded at the same time, you're draining the battery. NOS allows the battery to discharge down to 30%. 

With the new firmware, battery discharge rates are greatly decreased. Most games do not drain any power from the battery, though some that fully load the system still do.

In DiRT: Showdown, which does balance CPU and GPU loading fairly well, we saw a 0.2% decrease in charge level over five minutes of play. This translates to a 2.4% drop in charge per hour of play.

The battery drain rate is highest in Crysis 3. We saw a 4.6% drop in charge level over 15 minutes of play in a particularly intense part of the game. Battery capacity drops at the rate of 18.4% an hour if you choose to play the “Welcome to the Jungle” level over and over again. In a less taxing sequence, battery drain is slower.

What happens when the GT70's battery drains to 30%? You'll find out just as soon as we present the results from our heat run, when we let the notebook suffer under the duress of maximum CPU and GPU load until the battery drops under 30% and NOS shuts down. But before we do that, let's look at the CPU's behavior.

Moving on to the Core i7's Turbo Boost performance, our chart illustrates what happens when the GT70's -4930MX is hit with a single-threaded load. One of the cores is almost always at 4.1 GHz. The smoothing in the graph masks how quickly the load is bounced from one core to another to tax the processor evenly. MSI's notebook essentially maintains 4.1 GHz in a single-threaded load forever. 

With two threads in flight, performance is essentially the same as single-threaded mode. There is some occasional switching down to 4.0 GHz, but the processor has no problem maintaining its clock rate. 

Four threads changes the CPU's behavior substantially. The Core i7 holds 4.1 GHz for about two seconds (Prime95 was started at seven seconds), then quickly falls to between 3.8 and 4.0 GHz. After 28 seconds, the clock rate falls to about 3.5 GHz and stays there for as long as a load is applied. At that point, the benefit of a higher maximum Turbo Boost is gone.

In the chart below, we run the same load using MSI's more experimental firmware update.

With the new BIOS, MSI's GT70 does hold onto higher Turbo Boost frequencies for longer. They still settle into the 3.4 to 3.6 GHz range, though. That jump at the end is where Prime95 was stopped and the cores returned to idle.

Fully loading the processor triggers an even more dramatic response from the processor. The 4.1 GHz Turbo Boost setting immediately falls (again, Prime95 was started at the seven-second mark) to between 3.6 and 3.8 GHz for 28 seconds, after which it falls once more to 3.3 GHz and remains there as long as the load is present. There were no heat or power issues to explain the rapid drop, though this is consistent with Intel's technology.    

In the chart below, we run the same test using the newer firmware.

With the new BIOS, Turbo Boost clock rates stay higher for the first 28 seconds. The processor still settles to around 3.3 to 3.4 GHz, though. Again, the jump at the end is where Prime95 was stopped and the cores returned to idle.

These charts explain what we were seeing in the real-world productivity benchmarks. Lightly threaded apps benefit from the overclocked Core i7-4930MX processor, while more heavily threaded titles only benefit for short durations.

Still, neither the CPU nor the GPU throttled during testing. There is a drain on the battery when both subsystems are fully loaded, but the platform as a whole exhibited no worrying issues. Testing the CPU or GPU individually yields no battery drain, and each allows the battery to charge at full speed.

Display all 26 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    cobra5000 , July 15, 2013 9:24 PM
    My A10 laptop w/7660g may not have the specs but it plays great and only cost me $505.99.
    How about that for bragging rights!
  • 1 Hide
    sha7bot , July 15, 2013 9:27 PM
    Forbes magazine posted a great article on this system, as well. Seems like Alienware, ASUS, and Clevo have some serious competition.
  • -1 Hide
    lunyone , July 15, 2013 10:21 PM
    I have an AMD a6 quad core CPU w/7670 dGPU that cost me <$400 and it will game okay for most things. Of coarse it's no screamer unit, but for 95% of what I do it works just fine. Yes I would have loved to had a better system for light gaming, but my laptop fit my budget. I wish that we got off this 1366 x 768 resolution and started out at 1600 x 900 for 11-15" laptops as a minimum, but that is just me.
  • 3 Hide
    Ducktor , July 15, 2013 10:24 PM
    Please remove the term W/h from the text as well as "Watt per hour" from the graph on page 14. This unit is meaningless! 1W = 1J/s which is already a rate of power consumption. Dividing this unit by an hour yields 1W/h = 1J/3600s^2 which actually implies an acceleration in power consumption! Such mistakes are really hard to accept on a technical site like Tom's
  • 1 Hide
    danwat1234 , July 15, 2013 10:33 PM
    Yea, the 180w ac adapter in this laptop, and also in the Gt60-2od laptop (the 15" version of this laptop) should really come with a ~240w AC adapter like what the Asus G750 has, but it doesn't. So they made NOS to adapt.
    It is unfortunate. What if I want to crunch on the high-end CPU and the GPU 24/7 for some reason? Can't do it with a 180w AC adapter.

    To those thinking that the built in single fan isn't good enough, it is a 12V fan! I have never seen a 12V fan in a laptop before but this one has it. The Coolerboost feature ramps up the fan RPM to maximum and really keeps the temperatures down.

    There are some reports of bad paste jobs so if you are having high temps, that may be the reason. Call up MSI to verify that your warranty will not be void and then repaste it. MSI is cool in that they'll usually allow you to take off the heatsink whereas Asus won't.


    Thanks Tom's for making a much better review than what Anand did!

    So on page 14, the max power draw from the battery when the laptop is unplugged and you are gaming is only 85 watts? That must mean that the dedicated graphics is shut down and the HD4600 is only on? Can you have the 780m when on only battery power?
  • -1 Hide
    luckiest charm , July 16, 2013 4:11 AM
    I would feel awkward using this machine in trains, at relative's places, or anywhere else I can be spotted on so I don't become a laughing stock. :p 
  • -1 Hide
    custodian-1 , July 16, 2013 6:30 AM
    With the problem with cell phones being stolen I would not take something out of the case.
  • -1 Hide
    boro169 , July 16, 2013 7:54 AM
    I think it should be noted that derived notebooks from this like deviltechs are much cheaper. the starting point of msi is 2400 euros in my country and deviltechs modified msi cost me 2050 with a 250gb samsung 840 and a 1 tb 5400 hdd and the 780m.. yeah it doesn't have the steelseries keyboard it has de gt60 blue blaclight one but...
    for those talking about its not for hardcore gamers... I think they are wrong because i can't take my cosmos II tower with the 3930x and my titan on my back when i visit my girlfriend on train a 300km away from my home... and not everybody can have two of those beasts.. the desktop is always better but you can't drag it always with you to trips...
    for the one talking about being scared of being robbed... I don't know why he walks on the streets wearing a wallet you COULD be robbed... or a plane could crash on your head.... ¬¬ then nobody would buy an smartphone. because to use it indoor and using outdoors and old nokia because if it is robbed its not an expensive lose....
    if you at least talked about the processing power lose when not wall plugged or so that would be a reasonable comentary...
  • -1 Hide
    adgjlsfhk , July 16, 2013 8:19 AM
    "Plus, there's the warranty coverage on the tuned hardware, which is a plus."
  • -1 Hide
    warezme , July 16, 2013 10:57 AM
    You know the new Haswell GTX780m Alienware models have been out for awhile. You should have done your comparison with one of those. LIkely more expensive but more direct comparison.
  • -1 Hide
    Wisecracker , July 16, 2013 2:29 PM

    For all those bucks, it needs a 120Hz refresh

    :D 

  • 0 Hide
    ajcroteau , July 17, 2013 5:52 AM
    Those dragon decals are very sexy :) 
  • -2 Hide
    dalauder , July 17, 2013 6:21 AM
    The multi-colored keyboard is stupid.

    If you have multi-colors, use them to some utility. Make the Numpad blue, and numbers and function buttons green with the rest red or something useful. Ideally, alternating number colors would be great. Or maybe the whole keyboard red except for green AWSD and Shift keys.
  • 0 Hide
    bokeh , July 17, 2013 7:24 AM
    Quote:
    Those dragon decals are very sexy :) 


    Not decals. The graphics are etched into the red anodized metal. I tried to capture them in the photos, but they still look better in person.
  • 0 Hide
    OleTrondheim , July 17, 2013 9:09 AM
    wow, awesome review. You guys covered pretty much all bases.
    And it looks like you put Anandtech`s review to shame.

    Good job guys :) 
  • -1 Hide
    Sakkura , July 17, 2013 1:00 PM
    There's an error on the first page. You say the Geforce GTX 780M normally has memory running at 2.5 GT/s, but it's actually 5 GT/s. GDDR5 effectively runs at a quad data rate, so 1250 MHz = 5000 MT/s.
  • 2 Hide
    cats_Paw , July 18, 2013 1:34 AM
    I actually have a model that looks exactly the same (GT780DX), but has lower specs so i might be able to point out a few key points:
    First, lets get rid of the CONS:

    -The screen is too heavy for the plastic covering it, this can cause a lot of problems. In reality, if you dont open and close the lid with both hads carefully each time, you are almost guaranteed to break the union point of the plastic surrounding the screen.

    -Loud. The fan is good and quite eficient but its loud. I dont know why they decided to use 1 fan instead of 2 (one for gpu other for CPU), but i guess its for more features.

    -Thin plastic covers. Some parts of this laptop feel weak, especially the botton part of it. Ive iopened the laptop around 3 times for mods and thermal paste change and each time i was SURE id braek that cover. It hols dor now thou.

    -Keyboard. While the keyboard is definitly above average. However, you need to press quite hard to make sure it registers. This is ok with the keyboard as its quite sturdy (1.5 years in, no issue whatsowever ), but bare in mind you will need strong actuation force to use this keyboard correctly.

    -Touchpanel( i dont mean the one used as mice, but the one at top for turn on, etc): The touchpanel is usefull, however it can become unresponsive at times (lucky they aded a Blue ray open button). The worst part is that it feels very fragile and cheap. It will do its job, but since the rest of the laptop is build very well, this feels out of place.

    -Trackpanel (the one used as mice): At laeast in my laptop its fairly unaccurate. Its not a problem for me as i would not game with it, but at times it is bothering.

    -Um, oh and... yeah, this thing is heavy. If you get the laptop+the charger+some mice+some cds.... you can end up carring around 8-10 KG :D .

    Now to The PRos:

    -The screen is amazingly good (dont expect to use it outdoors, but its quality is some of the best in the market).

    -The sound is decent (I am an amateur audiophile and this thing sounds awsome for a laptop, and its totally pasable for regular use).

    -The performance and temperatures are great. Granted my verion is not so packed as it runs a i5-2340M//GTX670M, but my temps after changeing thermal paste to arctic silver 5 at 30 C ambient never surpased 70 C at load (thou this was a short test to check if i applied the thermal paste correctly, so it will vary im sure).

    -The gimiks are fairly cool. The MSI logo is not too chessy, the beyboard lighting system is feirly nice and usefull, and in general it does not seem that they added this just to justify the price.

    -Button to instantly turn off trackpanel. This is just nice.

    -Good overall conectivity (many usb) and also a decent webcam.

    Now the only thing that could be a deal breaker for me is the fact that this is a machine you need to be very carefull with.
    I highly recommend this laptop chasis (MSI actually sold the patent to a few competitores on the chasis, so its very good), and any model using it, but i STRONGLY suggest to anyone that buys it to use a very good carring case.

    The laptop dosent lay well in bags. Allow me to explain: Most bags dont carry laptops in horizontal but in vertical. In most cases, the thiner part of the laptop goes down, and the wider up. This will make the pressure of each step you make impact the screen, as the screen gets all the pressure if you put the laptop downwards that way.
    In other words, without a carring case that will keep the laptop well safe, sooner or alter the screen will suffer, and also most likely the conectors between the screen and the rest of the laptop.
  • 0 Hide
    g-unit1111 , July 18, 2013 2:32 PM
    The look of this laptop is sweet, but the price tag will make me think twice about buying one. Especially when you consider that it's basically a rebaged Sager NP9570 with a crazy RAID SSD setup.
  • 0 Hide
    yobobjm , July 18, 2013 8:23 PM
    I owned an MSI for a while, I had it for about 2 years and never have any problems. Now I want one of their new GS70s
  • 0 Hide
    richfloors , July 21, 2013 8:52 PM
    I think using an old Alienware to make this machine look good is very wrong,still, I bet my m17x with dual 5870's would blow it away though!
Display more comments