Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Power Consumption: Idle And 4 KB Random (Windows 7/Mac OS X)

Intel SSD 520 Review: Taking Back The High-End With SandForce
By

Idle

Because SSDs are so fast, they sit idle most of the time. It's true! In almost our almost-30-minute virus scan, the SSD was only busy for 281 seconds. As a result, idle power consumption is the most important figure to consider in a desktop environment.

Samsung's 830 does exceptionally well here. Even though it employs a beefy triple-core ARM-based controller, it consumes slightly less power than Crucial's m4 and its dual-core ARM-based Marvell controller.

The Intel SSD 520 consumes the most power (even exceeding the Vertex 3).

4 KB Random Read

Tasked with a workload, the SandForce-based drives use more power than their competition. At a queue depth of one, the 60 GB SSD 520 and Vertex 3 both consume 0.5 W more than the 256 GB m4 and 830, regardless of whether you're on a Mac or PC.

4 KB Random Write

The drives based on SandForce's controller achieve higher 4 KB random write performance than the competition, while using less power.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 42 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • -8 Hide
    Anonymous , February 6, 2012 3:04 PM
    Hmmm, maybe I missed a good excuse, but I'd like to see the Octane in these tests.
  • 2 Hide
    phamhlam , February 6, 2012 3:11 PM
    I love Intel SSD. 128GB for about $210 isn't bad. It is just hard to not chose something like a Corsair GT 120GB that cost $150 with rebate over this. I would always put a Intel SSD in a computer for novice since it is reliable.
  • 3 Hide
    thessdreview , February 6, 2012 3:32 PM
    Nice Review!
  • 0 Hide
    jaquith , February 6, 2012 3:59 PM
    Nice article :) 

    Just need more SSD's to compare, I'd like to see similar tests done with 120GB...180GB...256GB and several more brands. Further, as I mentioned before in the other article please list the exact model numbers and OEM specs including their 4KB IOPS; otherwise folks don't understand the results and if relying on this a purchasing will have in many cases a 4 in 5 chance of selecting the wrong SSD.

    Prior article - http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/sata-6gbps-performance-sata-3gbps,3110.html
  • -3 Hide
    theuniquegamer , February 6, 2012 3:59 PM
    costly but i think reliability comes at a price. These ssds are best for enterprises . If the price will be little lower then the common user can afford these and get a good reliable ssd.
  • 1 Hide
    danraies , February 6, 2012 5:55 PM
    These prices are lower than I thought. $20-$40 extra (depending on the comparison) for peace-of-mind is not outrageous.
  • 2 Hide
    acku , February 6, 2012 6:02 PM
    carn1xHmmm, maybe I missed a good excuse, but I'd like to see the Octane in these tests.


    We didn't have the Octane on hand in the 256 GB capacity, but we'll be sure to make that side by side comparison down the road.

    phamhlamI love Intel SSD. 128GB for about $210 isn't bad. It is just hard to not chose something like a Corsair GT 120GB that cost $150 with rebate over this. I would always put a Intel SSD in a computer for novice since it is reliable.


    Excellent point. Price is always a fickle thing.

    thessdreviewNice Review!

    Thanks Les. :) 

    jaquithNice article Just need more SSD's to compare, I'd like to see similar tests done with 120GB...180GB...256GB and several more brands. Further, as I mentioned before in the other article please list the exact model numbers and OEM specs including their 4KB IOPS; otherwise folks don't understand the results and if relying on this a purchasing will have in many cases a 4 in 5 chance of selecting the wrong SSD. Prior article - http://www.tomshardware.com/review [...] ,3110.html


    We'll keep that mind for future reviews. However, we already list model and firmware on the test page.

    Cheers,
    Andrew Ku
    TomsHardware.com
  • 6 Hide
    willard , February 6, 2012 6:03 PM
    bildo123Getting out of standby on my HDD is a matter of seconds.

    And with an SSD, your computer comes out of standby faster than your monitors do. Not kidding.
  • 7 Hide
    mrkdilkington , February 6, 2012 6:08 PM
    Anyone else disappointed Intel isn't producing their own high end chipset? Been waiting to upgrade my X25-M for a while now (Intel 320 isn't a big upgrade) but might just go with Samsung.
  • 0 Hide
    boletus , February 6, 2012 6:49 PM
    Good to see Intel throw its hat into the ring for the prosumer market. We should be able to expect performance and out-of-the-box functionality (as opposed to theoretical endurance) for the amount of money these devices cost. As the article repeatedly infers, this has not always been the case to date (although the last year has seen some major kinks worked out). Competition at the mid to upper end of the market will lead to higher expectations.
  • 1 Hide
    universalremonster , February 7, 2012 12:26 AM
    Quote:
    Anyone else disappointed Intel isn't producing their own high end chipset? Been waiting to upgrade my X25-M for a while now (Intel 320 isn't a big upgrade) but might just go with Samsung.


    Yes, I'm with you on that one. I've had an Intel 320 128Gb SSD for quite some time now and have nothing but the greatest things to say about my particular experience with it. I purposely held off from buying the Marvell controller 510 in hopes that the next refresh would have a new Intel made 6Gb controller. One thing I am curious about, does the new 520 still have the Intel Toolbox software with it? I have gotten alot of use out of it with my current drive and would really hate to not have it on a new one.
  • 0 Hide
    acku , February 7, 2012 12:29 AM
    universalremonsterYes, I'm with you on that one. I've had an Intel 320 128Gb SSD for quite some time now and have nothing but the greatest things to say about my particular experience with it. I purposely held off from buying the Marvell controller 510 in hopes that the next refresh would have a new Intel made 6Gb controller. One thing I am curious about, does the new 520 still have the Intel Toolbox software with it? I have gotten alot of use out of it with my current drive and would really hate to not have it on a new one.


    You can use the Toolbox software with the SSD 520. It will however not work with other SF drives.

    Cheers,
    Andrew Ku
    TomsHardware.com
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , February 7, 2012 12:47 AM
    Andrew, could you please comment on the encryption capabilities of the new drive. Does it support AES encryption like the Intel 320? Is there an option for pre-boot? Thanks in advance!
  • 2 Hide
    compton , February 7, 2012 3:03 AM
    Andrew,

    Your SSD investigations/reviews/history lessons are Tier 1.


    But I always get curious when Intel starts on and on about how it has the best NAND around. It's not that I even doubt them when they say this, but AFAIK Intel/Micron/IMFT are made and binned in the same place.

    IMFT is supposed to be 49% Intel and 51% Micron-owned. Now both companies' own drives are stocked with what I presume is the best available NAND at that price point, but how did Intel get the reputation of having better NAND? (and if I'm honest, there is at least some evidence that it does). Micron doesn't run around talking up their NAND as much as they should, and this makes me think that the details of the IMFT arrangement are probably pretty strange. In a blind taste test, they taste pretty similar.

    But not all Micron NAND is created equal, nor is Intel's (for example, does Kingston really get Intel's top shelf shtuff?). The IMFT NAND used in so many drives today runs the gamut from fantastic down to mediocre, only one step above Hynix's too-dirty-for-television flash. I'm probably the one person on this planet that wants to know more about Intel, Micron, and their bastard love child, IMFT.
  • 0 Hide
    nikorr , February 7, 2012 4:15 AM
    So, does this SandForce's SF-2281 controller has the bug as well?

    Or it is already fixed?

    Or they have replaced it with a new version?
  • 0 Hide
    dragonsqrrl , February 7, 2012 6:11 AM
    nikorrSo, does this SandForce's SF-2281 controller has the bug as well?

    As far as Anand can tell... no.

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/5508/intel-ssd-520-review-cherryville-brings-reliability-to-sandforce


    Intel's SF2281 implementation seems to be stable, and BSOD free.

  • 1 Hide
    DjEaZy , February 7, 2012 8:38 AM
    ... my OCZ Vertex 3 is still strong...
  • 0 Hide
    triny , February 7, 2012 9:00 AM
    I have a crucial 128 my next will be Samsung
  • 2 Hide
    TEAMSWITCHER , February 7, 2012 11:44 AM
    Thank you for the OS X benchmarks! There are real differences between Windows 7 and OS X and having these benchmarks helps Mac users make better upgrade decisions.
Display more comments