Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

UMPCs, Intel's Atom and VIA's Nano Processor

Computex 2008 Wrap-Up
By

MIDs and UMPCs were also a big hit this year at Computex 2008. Many manufacturers were showing off ultra-portable devices. Of notable launches this year were MSI’s Wind, Gigabyte’s M-528 and Asus’ EeePC 901/1000H. All the craze about subnotebooks is that they are all easy to handle, very light, and support all your daily routines without breaking the bank.

Many of the new subnotebooks offer operating times of over 7 hours and are getting even more powerful with support from Intel’s Atom processor. Most of these devices come well below the $1000 mark, which is a very affordable price target. Considering what they offer, it’s no surprise that many users are opting to go for UMPCs rather than full-blown notebooks or desktop replacements.

VIA Nano Processor

While most of the new UMPCs use Intel’s powerful Atom processor, VIA announced that it would give Intel a run for a money with the launch of Nano, VIA’s claim to fame against Intel’s Atom. The Nano processor, VIA claims, gives even more operating time than Atom based systems, and even better performance. It’s been a long time since VIA honestly released a processor with so much excitement, and we’re eagerly waiting to see subnotebooks based on this jewel. More competition in this space - and any space for that matter - is win-win for the consumer.

Gigabyte M528 MID

Acer Aspire One

Competition in the UMPC space is heated and it’ll only get more intense as 2009 rolls in. Acer’s Aspire One is a particular UMPC that caught our attention for the inclusion of 3G wireless technology. No other UMPC currently includes it, and it takes top places in our hearts because of it. Having 3G connectivity enables users to truly go wireless, and it really gives the feeling of ultimate freedom with high-speed Internet access almost anywhere you go.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 15 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • -1 Hide
    sidereus , June 9, 2008 8:41 PM
    more babes ?
  • -1 Hide
    MJBatson , June 9, 2008 11:00 PM
    A review with half of the review just pictures of booth babes is just stupid. This just shows what immature people are being allowed to write articles for Tom's. I thought this was an electronic review site, and not an adult site. Tom's has been slipping for years. This is the highlights they came back with from the show? I think they need to fire the people that where sent, and get mature people who look more at the new electronics and less at the booth babes. If you want to take pictures of the booth babes for your own, keep them to yourself and friends. They do not need to show up in a review.
  • -1 Hide
    evilshuriken , June 9, 2008 11:07 PM
    You wanna know what I think MJBatson?
    I think you're just butthurt because you haven't gotten your AMD 48xx series benchmark fix.

    However, I think hexus got way better coverage then toms this time around... toms is getting lame lately.
    Still you're overreacting.
  • 0 Hide
    mothballd2 , June 9, 2008 11:35 PM
    First; just because a word passes a spellcheck does not mean its the correct word. Edit your frickin articles! Second, if I want a bunch of softcore picts of Asian chicks, I'll Google it. Stick to technology and leave the softcore bs to car shows and search engines.

    And yes, I realize my grammar probably sucks. But I'm not trying to run a website or write news articles.
  • -5 Hide
    Preytor , June 10, 2008 12:47 AM
    Tom's has yellow fever?
  • -3 Hide
    Anonymous , June 10, 2008 1:02 AM
    ^ this is crap the nehalem is running past 4 ghz? that doesn't mean sh*t to me... I wish it had a lower clock speed and that performance... I heard it was at 2.66 ghz... but if its past 4 ghz... that seems like crap... even though it is still much faster... it would have had a much larger impact if the ghz was less
  • 1 Hide
    Lozil , June 10, 2008 4:29 AM
    Ya This time Surely Tom's has missed the Coverage... They were busy clicking Booth Babe Photos Under Proper Lighting than the Actual Hardware around there...

    Http://free-and-useful.blogspot.com
  • 0 Hide
    nukemaster , June 10, 2008 6:57 AM
    I have to say, for a hardware site the coverage did suck this time around. I fully agree with those above.
  • -1 Hide
    Anonymous , June 10, 2008 7:58 AM
    OK, maybe they exaggerated a bit with the boothbabes in this article, but if you don't like it, you can skip the pages. For the future it will be best if TH will make a special article with the boothbabes and update it as they make more pictures. That way everybody will be happy. I'm sure the boothbabes article will be read as much as the rest.
  • -2 Hide
    TauAs , June 11, 2008 9:25 AM
    I don't want more ugly babes.
  • 0 Hide
    Tattysnuc , June 11, 2008 12:28 PM
    While I don't resent the "Asian chicks and Harware" fetish site that Tom's has become, I have to heartedly agree with the sentiment of the posts regarding the coverage.

    Once there was a time when Tom's was pioneering tests asking all the questions that we wanted to know the answer to, such as "what does happen when the HSF comes off" and "Would and Oil cooled pc work" etc. However I find myself looking elsewhere, and flicking back since Toms became a regionalised news service, mostly due to the content.

    Tom's you've let your journalistic standards drop. If this article is representative of the show, then there were a few hardware manufacturers presenting products that every other web site has already covered in the past few weeks/months and a few "babes" to keep you from actually looking at the products.

  • 1 Hide
    badboy4dee , June 11, 2008 1:03 PM
    MJBatson ....STFU!
  • 0 Hide
    Reynod , June 11, 2008 3:05 PM
    Totally ignore MJBatson because he is a n00b not worthy of making a comment.

    We appreciate the fine pictures.

    Your site here has a nice tasteful collection.

    My vote is still with the girl from Chaintech ... holding the card with the free Apogee game. 8/20 first review.

    Marketing people can see the connection there ...

    Thanks.
  • 0 Hide
    joebob2000 , August 8, 2008 5:12 PM
    OK I admit when I went down the first page of this article and got to the comments I thought "oh man what a bunch of prudes, they are complaining about a few pics of booth women?". I continued to read it and low and behold, there were a few pages of said content. And then a few more. And then I got to the page called "A wrap" thinking "OK, here I go, some insightful conclusions on the product news at the show, perhaps?" and sure enough, MORE BOOTH BABES! *That* is the definition of "too much of a good thing". I sure don't mind a few pics here and there, hell the show is more about marketing than anything else and there is a reason these women are paid to dress up like that and pose for you. But, when the last article of your series finishes with a page called "A Wrap" that is apparently nothing more than a wrap-up of the most attractive women at the show, you have waved goodbye to technology journalism and are now dangerously close to reporting for FARK.com.
  • 0 Hide
    pogsnet , August 24, 2008 12:15 PM
    yawn* get over it people. Be realistic! Babes are there, its not porn or whatever you malicious thinking people, fudzilla and others also include babes in the article since they are the muses of the tech company they represent.

    Anyway, I don't see any new about the this article.