Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

P8Z77-V LX Applications

Seven Sub-$160 Z77 Express Motherboards, Reviewed
By

The P8Z77-V LX includes several freeware and trial software applications, in addition to those written by or for Asus. Google Toolbar for Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Adobe Reader X, and a 60-day trial for Norton Internet Security are among them. They're all installed by default using Asus' “InstAll” method. Fortunately, that option can be deselected from the driver package’s “InstAll” menu, since you'd otherwise be plagued by Norton's pesky register/upgrade reminder.

Asus includes a USB Turbo Mode application. Unlike its competitors, however, the company uniquely supports UASP. Our recent investigation into this technology shows that certain USB 3.0-based devices already support USB Attached SCSI Protocol. But Asus thus far maintains exclusivity on the host side.

Asus still calls its vastly-updated monitoring utility PC Probe II, though today’s version is much more versatile and accurate than early versions of the software. We find voltage, temperature, and fan speed measurements, though several less significant voltage readings (such as CSA and DIMM) are still missing.

Fans of Asus' monitoring software should make sure they want to keep it before making the decision to install, as our copy would not uninstall cleanly. The pieces left behind caused no problem with a motherboard we tried to install later on using the same drive, but they did sabotage a competing vendor's monitoring software.

Going beyond live reporting, Asus Sensor Recorder provides a chart of the values seen in PC Probe II over time.

Asus Fan Expert allows users to modify the P8Z77-V LX’s automatic fan profiles for all three of the board’s four-pin headers.

Asus' EPU utility provides several automatic power-saving profiles, two of which can be reconfigured by users. We found a maximum savings of approximately 2 W at idle, compared to CPU- and operating system-based settings.

The P8Z77-V LX also includes Asus Network iControl, with which you can optimize packet prioritization to favor, for example, latency-sensitive online gaming.

Some people back things up to their 2 GB-or-larger email accounts, but downloading that saved content isn’t always convenient. Asus provides 2 GB of Web-based storage for free. You can get up to 10 GB of capacity by referring others or 1 GB by subscribing to another Asus service. The WebStorage program is used to sync and backup whatever folders you wish.

Display all 67 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • -3 Hide
    SpadeM , July 23, 2012 6:16 AM
    LAN performance .. ISC performance ... USB 3 .. well that's it then.
  • 1 Hide
    Crashman , July 23, 2012 8:48 AM
    SpadeMLAN performance .. ISC performance ... USB 3 .. well that's it then.
    Tom's Hardware has several controller comparisons, and publishes new ones frequently. So unless you think one of the boards has a broken controller, wysiwyg.

    The things that actually get screwed-up are typically related to the clock generator, multiplier control, memory timings and power options.
  • 0 Hide
    nikorr , July 23, 2012 9:54 AM
    I would place the ASRock and Gigabyte on the top as well : )

    Nice review.
  • 0 Hide
    jaquith , July 23, 2012 11:45 AM
    I always appreciate your Articles! :)  I know how much work you do to get them done.

    You're kidding - Biostar. I guess this article is not about the 'Best Sub-$160 Z77' MOBO's but about the best manufacturers sent you. The cheapest MOBO I recommend for the SB/IB (K) is the ASUS P8Z77-V which pops your 'unique' budget cap depending where you shop; found it here for $159.99 - http://www.gadgetneeds.net/asus-p8z77-v-atx-intel-motherboard/

    Interesting you didn't get an ASUS P8Z77-V LK ~$120 which offers SLI. The ASRock Z77 Extreme4 and Gigabyte Z77X-D3H for the price aren't bad.

    There's NO WAY I'm recommending Biostar in the forum, folks and myself would thing I've lost my mind.
  • 1 Hide
    jimishtar , July 23, 2012 11:47 AM
    It would be nice to see the CPU voltage for every board when overclocking.
  • 4 Hide
    Crashman , July 23, 2012 12:21 PM
    jimishtarIt would be nice to see the CPU voltage for every board when overclocking.
    1.25V
  • 0 Hide
    gorillagarrett , July 23, 2012 12:33 PM
    No peripherals performance tests? Those are the only tests that differentiate those motherboards from each other.

    Would really like to see how the UD3X Atheros Ethernet controller fares against the Intel and broadcom ones.
  • 3 Hide
    Crashman , July 23, 2012 12:38 PM
    gorillagarrettNo peripherals performance tests? Those are the only tests that differentiate those motherboards from each other. Would really like to see how the UD3X Atheros Ethernet controller fares against the Intel and broadcom ones.
    I'll let the integrated controller guy know you'd like to see those parts compared :) 
  • 0 Hide
    gorillagarrett , July 23, 2012 12:42 PM
    Quote:
    I'll let the integrated controller guy know you'd like to see those parts compared


    Thank you!
  • -1 Hide
    rolli59 , July 23, 2012 1:34 PM
    I would have liked to see the Asus P8Z77V-LK version instead of the LX since it is better equipped.
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , July 23, 2012 1:37 PM
    rolli59I would have liked to see the Asus P8Z77V-LK version instead of the LX since it is better equipped.
    It's also mentioned in the article. It was over $160 (at $165) when the comparison was set up.
  • 0 Hide
    nevertell , July 23, 2012 1:44 PM
    Why are there no DCP latency tests ? These differentiate the motherboards
    This is what differentiates them performance wise.
  • 0 Hide
    pacioli , July 23, 2012 3:33 PM
    Wow, Biostar...? I wonder what the longevity of that board is...
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , July 23, 2012 3:36 PM
    pacioliWow, Biostar...? I wonder what the longevity of that board is...
    It's hard to tell, but the last Biostar board I had in a system lasted 12 years before it got dismantled for its entire processor selection being too slow.
  • 0 Hide
    CaedenV , July 23, 2012 4:17 PM
    Nice to see a Mobo review where the charts are not all identical bars lol. It has been a long time sense the stock performance has had much of any variance between brands, and we are getting much more feature variety as well. I thought as more and more parts became integrated into the CPU that the bars would become more and more similar, and mainstream features would become more and more homogeneous.

    Also, I love the True Studio Pro software, if you are running digital audio it really makes any idea of a dedicated sound card a thing of the past. Every computer I build now either has True Studio Pro with the mobo, or I purchase the MB2 software suite, it makes such a difference if using headphones or quality speakers, and much less buggy that Creative's sound cards and driver issues that we all know and love.
  • -5 Hide
    jamie_1318 , July 23, 2012 4:18 PM
    On-motherboard start buttons are a useless feature. Anyone who could actually use it should know they can just short across the power switch header using any piece of metal.
  • 0 Hide
    delaro , July 23, 2012 4:28 PM
    At this point SATA 6GB, USB 3 and PCI-e 3.o should be a standered and not a side option.
  • 0 Hide
    g-unit1111 , July 23, 2012 4:34 PM
    As good as Asus motherboards are - why do they include such poorly made I/O brackets? Even Biostar and ECS include ones that are better made than Asus does.
  • -2 Hide
    goinginstyle , July 23, 2012 5:06 PM
    Another comment about why the P8Z77V-LK board was not reviewed. I own this board now after a total disaster with one of the boards you awarded so why is it missing? The ASUS P8Z77V-LK was priced at $149.99 when I purchased it and is now $139.99 with a rebate down to $119.99 after a quick check this morning. Based on your comments about the Biostar and ASRock boards having additional features like SLI/CF or additional USB 3 ports it is hard to understand why this board was not reviewed. The P8Z77V-LE is priced at $165 not the LK board. As to the 4-dimm testing, did you try the DDR3-2666 ratio or is the test overclocking the 2400 ratio?
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , July 23, 2012 5:19 PM
    goinginstyleAnother comment about why the P8Z77V-LK board was not reviewed.
    Because it was priced at $165 two months ago when the invitations went out. End of story.
Display more comments