Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Shuttle's New $99 KPC Review

Shuttle's New $99 KPC Review
By

When it’s your job to review new PC hardware, it’s easy to get caught up in the cutting edge of technology. We see and evaluate some of the world’s newest computer components on a daily basis, and usually "newer" is synonymous with faster, stronger, and more power-hungry.

However, not everyone requires the fastest hardware; some folks have never touched a PC game, and there are tons of people out there who don’t use their PCs to convert video files. Many PC users just want to edit documents, surf the Internet, and maybe look at their digital photographs. For these people, a quad-core CPU and dual-videocard setup is grotesque overkill.

It is for these folks that Shuttle introduced the KPC, which stands for "Korporate Personal Computer". The KPC is not a powerhouse - it is a basic personal computer that will perform all of the every-day tasks you need, while having a minimal effect on both your electricity bill and your finances.

In fact, Shuttle’s main marketing drive behind the KPC underlines four strengths; it aims to be user-friendly, customizable, expandable, and green. With Shuttle now delivering the KPC in limited numbers as a barebones or complete system, we decided to see if it can deliver on these features as promised.

Join our discussion on this article!

Display 8 Comments.
  • 0 Hide
    BaconCache , April 15, 2008 7:56 PM
    Grandma build!
  • 0 Hide
    imatt , April 16, 2008 6:52 PM
    Great for a public computer for internet access in a family room. Small footprint, low heat, low price. Will be interesting to see what the masses can mod these things into.
  • 0 Hide
    styln , April 25, 2008 11:29 PM
    Regarding Linux's readiness for prime time...

    Six months ago I installed Ubuntu 7.10 on a compact barebones for my wife, a computer novice. I reconfigured Gnome to look a lot like XP with only one toolbar at the bottom and created desktop icons for common programs: browser, word processor, spreadsheet, media viewers/players, etc. I automounted our NAS and created an icon for that, too. Used CUPS to easily connect two networked printers (yeah, my house is fully networked with a GB backbone :) 

    She's as happy as can be and uses it everyday for routine "mommy", tasks including classroom rosters, art class schedules, saving/viewing picture and videos, etc.

    Bottom line is she loves it. As the home IT admin I like it too because it's rock solid and gives me less to do than maintaining the kids and my XP machines. So except for playing games, I see no reason to buy Windows in the future.... and I won't.
  • 0 Hide
    quicsilver , April 29, 2008 1:34 PM
    Pros: Tried and true chipset, linux, windows, windows server compatible. Small, low wattage, QUIET, stylish. Slot under faceplate for a laptop sized cd/dvd-rom

    Cons: barebone comes with no processor fan, no case fan, no cd-rom. Room for only 2 hard drives. NO CASE FAN

    Rumor has it that they will offer the ICE Genie as an optional separate purchase, which is nice for the processor but I don't know if it's sufficient enough to cool the HDD's. I built one with a celeron 420 and a stock core 2 duo proc fan. (the stock proc fan that came with the celeron was DOA) The fan size on the back is 92mm, I bought an antec 92mm case fan and it's very quiet, the loudest fan on the system is the small power supply fan. It has the slot under the faceplate for a slim dvd/cd-rom. You would have to dremel mod the front clear plastic to make it look right, but it's easily doable. AT LEAST it has the option.

    I built it for a Windows Home Server and it works perfect.
  • 0 Hide
    Luxcrete , August 7, 2008 4:59 AM
    ** DO NOT BUY THE PC62 PSU FOR THE KPC! **

    ...in spite of what this article would have you believe, it doesn't physically fit. I just wasted $100, and I'm pretty angry that the reviewer didn't do his research.

    If you're thinking of getting the KPC for a home server, bewarned that it's not that quiet. Probably fine if you can lock it away in a cupboard, but too irritating to be left out in the open, if you're anything like me.
  • 0 Hide
    sloto , August 19, 2008 3:54 PM
    There is a cutout for a front USB, but you have to hack and do your own mod. Same conditions for an optical drive. It's doable.
    Mint is my preferred linux and works just fine on KCP
  • 0 Hide
    uafon , April 1, 2011 4:03 PM
    I have tried many many wifi adapters.....and I can say one thing for sure...
    ..I don't know about you guys, but for me UAWIFI UA3 usb adapter is the BEST.
    No other adapter can compare to this baby, it is VERY powerful.
    There are few people sell them on ebay, but I got mine directly from mft. website www.uawifi.com price is same.
    I also know that it is Made in USA, so at least by buying it I am supporting US workers.
  • 0 Hide
    uafon , April 1, 2011 4:05 PM
    In other words, you do not have to power it up, as this adapter. It uses 5V from the USB plug.
React To This Article