Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

The Reason HTPC Makes Sense (Now)

How To: Build An HTPC (With Windows 7)
By

As mentioned, our previous objection to a PC in the living room was its redundancy, especially in the face of modern networked gaming consoles designed to be there. Why bother booting a PC to watch a DVD when the PS3 has Blu-ray functionality built-in? Why bother booting a PC to record a TV show when so many services include their own DVR as part of your monthly package anyway? Why bother booting a PC to listen to .mp3s when your console is already wirelessly connected to the whole collection?

But as soon as we got Maui into a living room, it became clear that this can not only be a play on enhancing the functionality of your entertainment center, but also on saving money. There’s no longer a need for redundancy, if you don’t want it. The HTPC we’re building here can take the place of your CD/DVD player with a built-in Blu-ray drive. It can displace your console with the help of an add-in graphics card. It can almost nudge your DVR out of the way, thanks to AMD’s TV Wonder card with dual tuners. And—most important—it’s able to displace your amplifier with its own 5 x 100 W PCI Express card. Or install the optional seven-channel pre-amp and use an existing amp to drive your non-powered surround sound speaker system.

Our Maui box, turned sideways so its cables would reach far enough...Our Maui box, turned sideways so its cables would reach far enough...

Hardware is only one half of the picture. We’ve also seen software take a huge stride forward.

It’s true that there’s plenty to like about a Playstation linked up to a home’s media server with access to music, movies, and pictures—in addition to its core competencies as a gaming platform and Blu-ray player. But the console isn’t perfect. If you’re not meticulous about keeping your media organized, trying to find your favorite tunes on the PS3 can quickly become frustrating.

In contrast, the Media Center software built into Microsoft’s Windows 7 beta does a beautiful job of tracking down album covers, movie information, and scheduled programming all on its own. Just point the software to your audio repository and video library. It does the rest.

Microsoft has put a lot of thought into the 10-foot interface, too. Once you fire up Media Center, you can almost forget about the underlying platform running in the background (even though you’ll undoubtedly find yourself tabbing out to check email or search Wikipedia—I wanted to know more about the F-35 during Live Free or Die Hard). Flipping between music, movies, live television, Internet television, and photo albums with an IR remote is incredibly convenient and much more tailored to the content on your home network.

Let’s move on to the hardware inside this improved HTPC.

Display all 111 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    wmt , February 18, 2009 5:56 AM
    Nice review. Part of my problem with DVR's is limited storage and no way to save to a disk/tape (think vhs replacement). I've solved this with the HD PVR. Seems to work great with a good quality capture, reasonable editing to create DVD or BluRay without ads for those of us who want to archive something for personal use. So I record with the DVR and during off times record to my HTPC with the Happauge.
  • 2 Hide
    ravenware , February 18, 2009 6:19 AM
    My main reason for wanting to build is to eliminate the stack of DVDs on either side of my television.

    Not sure what software will actually allow me to copy the Media to hard drive to copyright protection bs.
    Would be nice to rip all of my simpsons DVDs and shuffle the episodes up. :) 
  • 1 Hide
    JeanLuc , February 18, 2009 7:21 AM
    ravenwareMy main reason for wanting to build is to eliminate the stack of DVDs on either side of my television.Not sure what software will actually allow me to copy the Media to hard drive to copyright protection bs. Would be nice to rip all of my simpsons DVDs and shuffle the episodes up.


    Well that's exactly what I done with my DVD's. However ripping DVD's to an ISO file will soon fill up a hard drive, especially if you have box sets of TV programmes like I have (I have Deep Space Nine Season 3-7 ripped from DVD and each season weighs in at 58Gb's each). I got around this by encoding all my movies to a high quality XVID format (bar DS9) which has worked quite well. So far I have around 70 movies backed up onto my external Western Digital My Book hard drive, so when I get around to building my HTPC I can watch my movies right of the hard drive without having to worry about find the discs.

    The only draw back with this method is that you will lose some picture quality and the ripping and encoding process can take about 1/2 an hour per disc.
  • 3 Hide
    suhail_th , February 18, 2009 8:32 AM
    This is still where it was in 2008, Power DVD doesn't play nice with Microsoft MCE Remote, not all keys are mapped... so playing Hi-Def is of not much Joy.

    Playing a Blu-Ray or HD-DVD using Integrated 3200 using Arcsoft TMT Produces Stutter.

    Ripping these disc's to Hard Drive in ISO is the only viable solution, if we talk about media arrangement.

    Also, 3200 IGP doesn't support 7.1 over LPCM.

    Not sure how even after so many hurdles, i am still hanging onto the though of a quiet full functional HTPC.

    NOTE: using NGRC on iphone is a DREAM for 10 Foot Interface.
  • 1 Hide
    rtfm , February 18, 2009 8:38 AM
    if you have vista/mce, check out the my movies add on http://www.mymovies.dk/ its free :-) I have around 380 movies in my collection and this allows you to sort through by genre, rating, title etc and download covers and other info for the films
  • 4 Hide
    LuxZg , February 18, 2009 8:56 AM
    OK, I do have a few questions.

    First is - total price for hardware? I know it's from AMD, but I'm wondering if this Maui is anywhere to be seen as a complete platform, or do we have to hunt for individual components by ourselves.

    Second is - how about satelite cards? Technisat SS2 cards are very popular in my country, but there's no PCI slot on MSI board. So what can you suggest here as an addition to Maui HTPC so we can watch satellite channels as well?

    And last but not least, have you even tried using a discrete graphics card? Power supply from article is plenty even for HD4870 card (since this is almost all-ATI/AMD setup) which would alow for a good gaming session on big screen and surround, even on FullHD resolution. Problem is in dual slot cooler and how much would it interfere with rest of the add-in cards. It looks as a no-go because of MSI soundcard, right? So what could you suggest than - that's better than onboard, single slot, HDMI ready, not noisy when in 2D or playing DVD/BluRay etc. HD4850 maybe? Would it be good for HTPC setup in this platform?

    As for comments above regarding ripping collections of optical media - with 4 empty slots for 3.5" drives in that HTPC case, RAID support on MSI board, and 1.5TB drives out there - only problem is how deep are your pockets. Not to mention that you can always go the ways of NAS box in the other room with several more HDDs.
  • 0 Hide
    chovav , February 18, 2009 9:15 AM
    can the new media center play/sort .mkv files? used to be a pain in the butt with the last version... and is that phenom processor strong enough to play 1080p .mkv files through media center without any lag? I used to have to use windows media player to be able to do that without any lag...
  • 2 Hide
    rlevitov , February 18, 2009 10:07 AM
    chris one thing i dont get. whats the differance? i have HTPC for almost 3 yrs now (with VISTA) and i have all above functionality... (minus the Dual Tuner cause in israel we have to use set top BOX to see HD and Cables) i also have a remote and so on and with my old pvr150mce i can also record while playing games and such...

    what does windows seven and all above gives beyond the old vista???
  • 0 Hide
    lillo , February 18, 2009 11:06 AM
    try WDTV is the best solution and the cheapest

    http://www.westerndigital.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=572

    i bought it last friday and now 2 of my friend also bought one this is a HTPC killer paired with AT&T UVERSE service
  • -1 Hide
    BBFATTS , February 18, 2009 12:29 PM
    You mentioned the Playstation 3 in your article, but have you ever tried the Xbox 360? It can connect to your PC too and the Windows Media Center interface that you love so much will come up right on your Xbox allowing you to browse and stream all your pictures, music, and videos as if you were on your PC. The only catch is that it doesn't support all file formats although it does support the most poular ones. The currently supported formats are: WMV, WMA, MP3, MPEG2, MPEG4-Part 2, Simple Profile, and Advanced Simple Profile (Xvid)(DivX). I have 11,000 Mp3s, about 30 T.V. seasons, and a gazzilion photos on my PC, and I 'm able to watch/listen to them all on my Big Screen through my Xbox. I can even open up my pre-made music playlists. I have never experienced any lag and I stream full 1080p video and HD audio which is supported through the Xbox's HDMI and Optical audio outputs. If your looking for a cheap solution to bring your computer's media to your front room try the Xbox for $199.99. Just beware of those high hardware failure rates... For more information go to: http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/windowsmediacenter.htm
  • 0 Hide
    retxed333 , February 18, 2009 12:33 PM
    What HTPC case is that in the thumbnail for the article?
  • 1 Hide
    Jakt , February 18, 2009 12:41 PM
    Many of the issues brought up with the Televesion portion of this article have been addressed with Snapstream's "Beyond TV" software. I just wish that there was a way to more seamlessly integrate it with Windows Media Center. I have used Beyond TV for a couple of years now, and it makes Media Center's Television capability look like a toy. I try the MediaPortal (www.team-mediaportal.com) once in a while, and while it is getting better all the time, it still doesn't cut it for me.
    With an HP Mediasmart server running in a corner of my basement holding a my movie and music library, and Beyond TV's "Link" software on office PC, I would argue that a pc-based home theater is a truly viable and worthwhile project!
  • 0 Hide
    barrychuck , February 18, 2009 12:42 PM
    Great review, and as to your question about remotes with LCD screens for media center, they do exist!! The support was included with VISTA known as Sideshow. To date, I only know of one manufacturer, Ricavision. The remote the Vave 100 http://www.ricavision.com/vave100.html. It works with bluetooth connectivity and has learning IR to run all of your AV equipment. Expensive but worth it for VISTA or Windows 7.
  • 1 Hide
    cah027 , February 18, 2009 12:51 PM
    I think it would be cool if you included a home surveillance system with cameras around your house recording footage. It would be nice if you got a knock on the door while you were watching a movie and you could bring up the front door cam and see who it was. Then you could decide if you wanted to get up and answer the door or turn down the volume for a min and pretend you are not at home! :) 
  • -2 Hide
    ap90033 , February 18, 2009 12:56 PM
    Will this record everything a satellite/cable PVR will record? I BET NO. Until you can record everything these units can whats the point???
  • 0 Hide
    ncarty97 , February 18, 2009 1:14 PM
    What are you using for a remote control? Is the receiver built into the case or sitting out separately?
  • 1 Hide
    jschoorl , February 18, 2009 1:20 PM
    I am more than happy with my own build AMD Maui HTPC. I am running it now for a little more than a month. It has replaced my:

    - HD satellite receiver (Kathrein UFS-920)
    - DVD player (Pioneer DVD 454)
    - Receiver (Pioneer DVD-2011)

    Because I got a pretty good price for these components I was able to buy all the components for the HTPC+ almost without any additional costs !

    Till a month ago I used Vista and now Windows 7. HD satelite setup recorcding and playing now works, with Vista you had to do a lot of tricks. Win 7 is also much faster and setup much easier than Vista. Got the same problems with Arcsoft and PowerDVD.

    The best thing about this setup is the 5.1 sound card. I got out of it better sound than with my Pioneer receiver ! I think this is the unique selling point of the AMD Maui platform and I would love to see more of it in the next review (no one is believing me :) .

    My setup can be found on www.htpcplus.com (still based on the Vista setup)
  • 0 Hide
    bdollar , February 18, 2009 1:33 PM
    I like the article and I have a question. Not sure if there is a better place to ask since a little unrelated. But how do I find out what that Case is on the picture for this article on the home page. looks like it has a screen that flips over or something. Want to check out the specs on that but I have no idea what it is or where to start. i thought maybe it was one covered in the touchscreen article linked in this article but it isn't.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , February 18, 2009 1:44 PM
    Great article on a growing trend. I just built one myself, using some spare/new parts, including a sempron OCed to 2.8 (to be upgraded), 2GB 1066 ram, Radeon 4670 from Gigabyte (had HDMI built in), and the HT Omega sound card. I put passive heatsinks on anything that needed it(CPU and GPU included!), a single 120mm fan exhausting (variable speeds through the mobo's CPU fan header) and an OCZ SilentXtreme. It does great! Though with movie ISO's, I need a much larger hard drive...

    I didn't care to do any TV inputs as I don't have the need. I can do some gaming, movies, internet... I find it to be a good investment :D 
  • 1 Hide
    piesquared , February 18, 2009 1:55 PM
    Great review, thanks. I'm wondering what your thoughts are on the quality, for both audio and visual. There is one comment a couple posts up about it, but that's all i've read about it so far. I've heard in other places that the sound quality is equal to much more expensive equipment.
Display more comments