Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Drive Comparison Table And Test Setup

High-Capacity Business Hard Drives: Biggest Of The Bunch
By
Manufacturer
Hitachi
Samsung
Seagate
Model
Deskstar E7K1000EcoGreen F2Barracuda LP
Model Number
HDE721010SLA330HD103SIST31000520AS
Form Factor
3.5"3.5"3.5"
Capacity
1,000 GB1,000 GB1,000 GB
Spindle Speed
7,200 RPM5,400 RPM5,900 RPM
Other Capacities
750 GB250, 320, 500, 640, 750, 1,500 GB1,500, 2,000 GB
Platters
3
2
2
Cache
32 MB32 MB32 MB
NCQ
yes
yes
yes
Interface
SATA/300SATA/300SATA/300
Operating Temperature
0-60°C0-60°C0-60°C
Specified Idle Power
5.2 W4.4  W3.0 W
Measured Idle Power
5.8 W3.8 W3.8 W
Operating Shock (2 ms, read)
70 G70 G70 G
Warranty
5 years
3 years
3 years
Manufacturer
Seagate
SeagateWestern Digital
Model
Barracuda LPBarracuda LPWD RE4-GP
Model Number
ST31500541ASST32000542ASWD2002FYPS
Form Factor
3.5"3.5"3.5"
Capacity
1,500 GB2,000 GB2,000 GB
Spindle Speed
5,900 RPM5,900 RPM5,400 RPM
Other Capacities
1,000, 2000 GB1,000, 1500 GB
Platters
3
4
3
Cache
32 MB32 MB64 MB
NCQ
yes
yes
yes
Interface
SATA/300SATA/300SATA/300
Operating Temperature
0-60°C0-60°C5-55°C
Specified Idle Power
5.5 W5.5 W3.7 W
Measured Idle Power
4.2 W4.2 W3.5 W
Operating Shock (2 ms, read)
70 G70 G65 G
Warranty
3 years
3 years
3 years


Test Setup

System Hardware
Hardware
Details
CPU
Intel Core i7-920 (45nm, 2.66 GHz, 8MB L2 Cache)
Motherboard (Socket 1366)
Supermicro X8SAX
Revision: 1.1
Chipset: Intel X58 + ICH10R
BIOS: 1.0B
RAM
2 GB DDR3-1333 Corsair CM3X1024-1333C9DHX
HDD
Seagate NL35 400 GB
ST3400832NS
7,200 RPM, SATA/150, 8 MB Cache
Power Supply
OCZ EliteXstream 800W
OCZ800EXS-EU
Benchmarks
Performance Measurements
h2benchw 3.12
PCMark Vantage 1.0
I/O Performance
IOMeter 2006.07.27
File server-Benchmark, Web server-Benchmark, Database-Benchmark, Workstation-Benchmark
Streaming Reads
Streaming Writes
System Software and Drivers
Driver
Details
Operating System
Windows Vista Ultimate SP1
Intel Chipset
Chipset Installation Utility 9.1.0.1007
AMD Graphics
Radeon 8.12
Intel Matrix Storage
8.7.0.1007
Display all 25 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    TheZander , August 14, 2009 7:17 AM
    Definitely evolutionary changes, not revolutionary, but that's what was expected with these drives. A good step in the right direction, nonetheless. I just purchased two of the Samsung Ecogreen 1.5TB drives. They are fantastic drives at a fantastic price. This is great for people that want to backup their entire HD (and SD) movie collection. Thanks for the information, Tom's.
  • 0 Hide
    megahunter , August 14, 2009 12:15 PM
    i would still go with the seagate barracuda 7200.12 =D
  • 0 Hide
    heathnoble , August 14, 2009 12:53 PM
    Woah, Déjà vu! I clicked "next" and got a "Guru Meditation: XID: 275861695" error!

    are you guys running on Amiga OS? Or are you just Amiga Fanboys?

    Good article up until the Guru decided I wasn't worthy ;-)

  • -3 Hide
    sublifer , August 14, 2009 1:33 PM
    Should have thrown in a caviar black and a caviar green for comparison
  • -2 Hide
    sublifer , August 14, 2009 1:36 PM
    Doh!... hide the above remark.... I should look at the charts first.

    Amazing the performance they're getting out of these slower spindle speed hard drives
  • -2 Hide
    ubernoobie , August 14, 2009 2:41 PM
    wait.... 1tb on a single platter? AMAZING
  • 0 Hide
    raptor550 , August 14, 2009 2:54 PM
    Are we still on this green thing? Seagate 7200.12 FTW, also Hitachi.. didn't see that one coming. Warranty is important to me because I demand 24/7 on for at least 3 years.

    It's about time to step up the RAID array from WD RE2's, tough competition.
  • 0 Hide
    rooket , August 14, 2009 7:02 PM
    Seagate LP performance is impressive but I'm going to have to stick with WD due to Seagate's recent track record.
  • 1 Hide
    fanfoot , August 14, 2009 10:31 PM
    I'd rather you stick to testing comparable sized drives honestly. I don't care if the 1TB drive is faster, if I have to have a 2TB. Which is what I'm looking for next.

    Its too bad you couldn't include the new enterprise class 2TB drive from Hitachi, the Ultrastar A7K2000, that rotates at 7,200 rpm. I assume it would have kicked most of these other drives butts.

    I'm also left wondering where the long-ago announced Seagate Constellation ES 2TB 7,200 rpm drive is. With the laptop form factor hitting 1TB recently, I'm starting to wonder if these guys have taken their eye off the 3.5 inch space. Which might be a mistake right now given they're going to get their asses eaten by SSDs in the laptop arena any minute now, and the big 3.5 inch drives might be one of the few areas they're actually safe for a while.
  • -1 Hide
    sgunes , August 15, 2009 12:22 AM
    I bought 4 Seagate 2TB drives and the retail package states: 5 year warranty.
  • -1 Hide
    sgunes , August 15, 2009 12:27 AM
    http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/products/desktops/barracuda_hard_drives/barracuda_3.5_internal_kit_5900_rpm/

    See under Overview - Key Features and Benefits.
  • -1 Hide
    Anonymous , August 16, 2009 12:16 AM
    There is something wrong with the dBA readings for EcoGreen F2 1000GB. Can't be higher on idle.
  • -1 Hide
    FSXFan , August 16, 2009 7:08 AM
    we wonder why anyone would still buy the Deskstar if others deliver the same performance at reduced power consumption

    Not saying I would personally buy the Hitachi, but I also wouldn't buy a drive just because it's a low power model. I'm usually looking for quiet operation, read performance, and low temps. I'm all for making useful contributions to use less resources in life but 3 watts an hour is nothing, I'd never even notice the $0.25 change in my monthly bill. I could save more by not OC'ing my quad which is doing me no good sitting here surfing.

    In a laptop low power drives are great, but my desktop doesn't run on batteries.
  • 0 Hide
    ossie , August 16, 2009 4:12 PM
    The graphs of IOPs per queue depth for different load types are surely missing... Not the same for irrelevant PCMark desktop benchies, which are filling a long useless page.

  • -3 Hide
    jack2009 , August 17, 2009 6:38 AM
    I just bought 1 myself from mwave.com.au @ $299.99 and it works perfectly =)
  • 0 Hide
    eyemaster , August 17, 2009 1:37 PM
    jack2009I just bought 1 myself from mwave.com.au @ $299.99 and it works perfectly =)

    Bought one what?
  • -2 Hide
    jack2009 , August 18, 2009 2:45 AM
    I bought the Seagate 2TB one
  • 1 Hide
    stasdm , August 20, 2009 4:08 PM
    "High-Capacity Business hard drives" - but only one with business warranty!

    So all other are consumer class!
  • 0 Hide
    Kapman , September 13, 2009 8:23 PM
    I ended up getting the 1.5 TB 7200 rpm Seagate. It has been amazing. I posted my experience here:http://ellipz.com/?cat=5
    I also have the Samsung F1 and the WD Green 1 TB drives. All three have been great.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , September 25, 2009 2:53 PM
    3 watts per hour might not be much per drive, but if you're running a large SAN with 100s of drives, it quickly adds up to a respectable saving.
Display more comments