Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Computex 2008 Wrap-Up

Computex 2008 Wrap-Up
By

Computex is literally the "E3" of the east. Well, what E3 use to be anyway. However, Computex is an entirely different beast of its own, and host to a ton of interesting hardware and then some. This year at Computex 2008, we saw several major things. The first of these were lots and lots of motherboards. Computex is usually the show where all the major and smaller motherboard players go to show off their product lines.

An Intel P45 reference boardAn Intel P45 reference board

The usual suspects where there : MSI, Gigabyte, ECS, Asus, Albatron, ASRock, Foxconn, Jetway, and J&W. The biggest show for motherboards and chipsets this time around were Intel G45 and P45 chipset based motherboards from all of the above companies. While P45 is a current hot topic, it lacks a few things that were introduced with Intel’s X48 chipset. For example, P45 only supports up to 1333MHz FSB speeds and not 1600MHz like X48. In terms of add-on board bandwidth performance, P45 only supports half the bandwidth of X48, supporting only up to 16-line PCIe 2.0 interconnects.

Gigabyte's P45 with quad Gig-E LAN TeamingGigabyte's P45 with quad Gig-E LAN Teaming

In early stages of tests however, P45 seems to be able to hold quite competitively with X48, and costing significantly cheaper. The excitement here is that users will be able to afford top-notch performance without having to pay X48’s premium pricing.

Intel’s G45 chipset really took the majority of the show this year however, as it is the first Intel chipset with integrated graphics that’s able to accelerate .H264 and VC1 in hardware. The chipset also natively supports DisplayPort, which while offering some advantages over traditional DVI, doesn’t currently support ultra-high resolutions above 2560x1600. There aren’t many DisplayPort displays on the market right now either. DVI-based panels still take the cake.

Display all 15 comments.
  • -1 Hide
    sidereus , June 9, 2008 8:41 PM
    more babes ?
  • -1 Hide
    MJBatson , June 9, 2008 11:00 PM
    A review with half of the review just pictures of booth babes is just stupid. This just shows what immature people are being allowed to write articles for Tom's. I thought this was an electronic review site, and not an adult site. Tom's has been slipping for years. This is the highlights they came back with from the show? I think they need to fire the people that where sent, and get mature people who look more at the new electronics and less at the booth babes. If you want to take pictures of the booth babes for your own, keep them to yourself and friends. They do not need to show up in a review.
  • -1 Hide
    evilshuriken , June 9, 2008 11:07 PM
    You wanna know what I think MJBatson?
    I think you're just butthurt because you haven't gotten your AMD 48xx series benchmark fix.

    However, I think hexus got way better coverage then toms this time around... toms is getting lame lately.
    Still you're overreacting.
  • 0 Hide
    mothballd2 , June 9, 2008 11:35 PM
    First; just because a word passes a spellcheck does not mean its the correct word. Edit your frickin articles! Second, if I want a bunch of softcore picts of Asian chicks, I'll Google it. Stick to technology and leave the softcore bs to car shows and search engines.

    And yes, I realize my grammar probably sucks. But I'm not trying to run a website or write news articles.
  • -5 Hide
    Preytor , June 10, 2008 12:47 AM
    Tom's has yellow fever?
  • -3 Hide
    Anonymous , June 10, 2008 1:02 AM
    ^ this is crap the nehalem is running past 4 ghz? that doesn't mean sh*t to me... I wish it had a lower clock speed and that performance... I heard it was at 2.66 ghz... but if its past 4 ghz... that seems like crap... even though it is still much faster... it would have had a much larger impact if the ghz was less
  • 1 Hide
    Lozil , June 10, 2008 4:29 AM
    Ya This time Surely Tom's has missed the Coverage... They were busy clicking Booth Babe Photos Under Proper Lighting than the Actual Hardware around there...

    Http://free-and-useful.blogspot.com
  • 0 Hide
    nukemaster , June 10, 2008 6:57 AM
    I have to say, for a hardware site the coverage did suck this time around. I fully agree with those above.
  • -1 Hide
    Anonymous , June 10, 2008 7:58 AM
    OK, maybe they exaggerated a bit with the boothbabes in this article, but if you don't like it, you can skip the pages. For the future it will be best if TH will make a special article with the boothbabes and update it as they make more pictures. That way everybody will be happy. I'm sure the boothbabes article will be read as much as the rest.
  • -2 Hide
    TauAs , June 11, 2008 9:25 AM
    I don't want more ugly babes.
  • 0 Hide
    Tattysnuc , June 11, 2008 12:28 PM
    While I don't resent the "Asian chicks and Harware" fetish site that Tom's has become, I have to heartedly agree with the sentiment of the posts regarding the coverage.

    Once there was a time when Tom's was pioneering tests asking all the questions that we wanted to know the answer to, such as "what does happen when the HSF comes off" and "Would and Oil cooled pc work" etc. However I find myself looking elsewhere, and flicking back since Toms became a regionalised news service, mostly due to the content.

    Tom's you've let your journalistic standards drop. If this article is representative of the show, then there were a few hardware manufacturers presenting products that every other web site has already covered in the past few weeks/months and a few "babes" to keep you from actually looking at the products.

  • 1 Hide
    badboy4dee , June 11, 2008 1:03 PM
    MJBatson ....STFU!
  • 0 Hide
    Reynod , June 11, 2008 3:05 PM
    Totally ignore MJBatson because he is a n00b not worthy of making a comment.

    We appreciate the fine pictures.

    Your site here has a nice tasteful collection.

    My vote is still with the girl from Chaintech ... holding the card with the free Apogee game. 8/20 first review.

    Marketing people can see the connection there ...

    Thanks.
  • 0 Hide
    joebob2000 , August 8, 2008 5:12 PM
    OK I admit when I went down the first page of this article and got to the comments I thought "oh man what a bunch of prudes, they are complaining about a few pics of booth women?". I continued to read it and low and behold, there were a few pages of said content. And then a few more. And then I got to the page called "A wrap" thinking "OK, here I go, some insightful conclusions on the product news at the show, perhaps?" and sure enough, MORE BOOTH BABES! *That* is the definition of "too much of a good thing". I sure don't mind a few pics here and there, hell the show is more about marketing than anything else and there is a reason these women are paid to dress up like that and pose for you. But, when the last article of your series finishes with a page called "A Wrap" that is apparently nothing more than a wrap-up of the most attractive women at the show, you have waved goodbye to technology journalism and are now dangerously close to reporting for FARK.com.
  • 0 Hide
    pogsnet , August 24, 2008 12:15 PM
    yawn* get over it people. Be realistic! Babes are there, its not porn or whatever you malicious thinking people, fudzilla and others also include babes in the article since they are the muses of the tech company they represent.

    Anyway, I don't see any new about the this article.
React To This Article