Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test Results: Thermal And Power

CoolIT Vs. Cogage: Little Water And Big Air Compared
By

We maintained ambient temperatures between 23.2 and 23.6 degrees Celsius throughout our thermal test, but our charts still reflect “above ambient” rather than absolute temperatures.

The Cogage True Spirit and CoolIT Domino A.L.C. provide similar cooling at the Domino’s highest performance setting, while lower-speed settings cause the liquid cooler to fall behind.

The True Spirit allows some of its air to blow beneath the sink and out its sides, cooling northbridge and VRM sinks. The Domino pulls heat away from these components less effectively.

Because we connected each cooling system to a continuous 12V power source, the Domino’s speed varied with its onboard controller while the True Spirit was stuck at 1,600 RPM. At full thermal load, the Domino’s fan ran at 1,800 RPM in “Quiet” mode.

With no pump to power, the True Spirit is the most miserly.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 55 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    Proximon , May 8, 2009 6:34 AM
    I would have liked a better description of this Cogage. HDT? Aluminum block? Copper? It could have used a few more pictures as well.
  • 0 Hide
    JeBuSBrian , May 8, 2009 7:36 AM
    Come on, Tom's! Hire a proof-reader already. Your writers obviously can't do the jobs themselves. And it simply makes this site look more unprofessional than it already has become.
  • -1 Hide
    renozi , May 8, 2009 7:38 AM
    Is the Spirit better than the TRUE 120?
  • -1 Hide
    Crashman , May 8, 2009 8:36 AM
    renoziIs the Spirit better than the TRUE 120?


    The article said they never sent the Ultra 120 Extreme.
  • 4 Hide
    Anonymous , May 8, 2009 8:57 AM
    "At full speed (2,800 RPM) its fan was over twice as loud as that of the True Spirit."

    That will lead people to believe it was 56dB, when in fact something that is "twice as loud" is only +6dB
  • 2 Hide
    Crashman , May 8, 2009 9:09 AM
    Drikanna"At full speed (2,800 RPM) its fan was over twice as loud as that of the True Spirit."That will lead people to believe it was 56dB, when in fact something that is "twice as loud" is only +6dB


    No. Twice as loud is +10db. Twice as many fans would be +3db. We didn't have a accoustically dampened room to test them in, and taking meter readings against background noise provides skewed numbers that most people can't work out. It's easier to simply say "at least twice as loud" when you mean more than 10db louder.

    What makes that observation most significant is that both companies rate their devices at similar full-speed noise levels, when it's quite obvious to testers that one device is very much louder than the other.

    There are many ways to screw up a reading even in a silent room. The standard from audio devices is to test at one meter, but some review sites do it at around one decimeter. If you go in the other direction, perhaps the "noisier" device was tested at 1 dekameter.

    Any company who advertises noise readings that were taken at more than one meter without specifying the distance is cheating its customers. Any company who advertises noise readings that were taken at less than one meter is cheating itself.
  • -1 Hide
    Crashman , May 8, 2009 11:12 AM
    Congrats on getting a good processor. I get those once in a while too. With Core i7, it's like one out of five.
  • 9 Hide
    kschoche , May 8, 2009 11:55 AM
    dragonsprayerlol! me? sorry about the typos - i am testing a system while i test this - keep in mind its running at 4.15ghz at 72c with prime 95 and 3d mark06 running at the same time!!!!! with hypo treading on! try that cyber-loser! or ibuyjunk! o man i should not do that sorry THG! i know they support the site but, when they claim 4.1ghz but do not spec 100c with prime 95 - well we get a little up set over here! hybrid single (keep in mind this is our low end system!) (includes push pull fans in 3 rads- look for the split at the upper left)anyone that wants to build ther own email me or pm me! tech support is free for THG, loop: http://s329.photobucket.com/albums [...] s-i7-2.jpg ,,,, http://s329.photobucket.com/albums [...] C_0166.jpg enjoy and good luck! we do plumb the boreas in this too - sorry for no proof rading~!


    You should be banned, not for your shameless plugs, but for your idiotic posts and worse proofreading performance than THG
  • 2 Hide
    hustler539 , May 8, 2009 1:04 PM
    ^not banned, shot.....As for the article, I too would have liked a bit more info on the Spirit, like base material and smoothness?
  • 4 Hide
    chjade84 , May 8, 2009 1:14 PM
    Wow, lots of messages rated as useless here.

    A decameter, Crashman? I'm not sure many people read from 10 meters away but I bet someone has, lol. SPL is a difficult thing to rate objectively.

    I am a little surprised the HSF beat that little water cooler by so much.
  • 3 Hide
    morpheas768 , May 8, 2009 1:16 PM
    dragonsprayercan i delete that? looks like i was sleep typing again! worst part is the system above i was mubbling about in my sleep runs 60-70c in prime 95, even after running 3dmark06 3 times in row. That is at 4.2ghz. I make you a deal you find a better systme for under $4k, that is single loop that can match those specs and i quit! lol!i am central time, i wrote that at 4am after i woke up and then went to bed! lol! ya i should be banned! again!

    kschocheYou should be banned, not for your shameless plugs, but for your idiotic posts and worse proofreading performance than THG


    I agree with kschoche, You should be banned for your 'no-proof claims' and stupid adv. posts dragonsprayer.
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , May 8, 2009 1:31 PM
    chjade84Wow, lots of messages rated as useless here. A decameter, Crashman? I'm not sure many people read from 10 meters away but I bet someone has, lol. SPL is a difficult thing to rate objectively.I am a little surprised the HSF beat that little water cooler by so much.


    Yeh, it's a shame that the liquid cooler was both noisier and less effective at cooling.
  • 0 Hide
    sublifer , May 8, 2009 2:21 PM
    Be nice to see the results next to a nicer liquid cooling system. But was a good review. I've seen results like this many times and am always surprised by people claiming that liquid is so much greater than air cooling.
  • 1 Hide
    hardwarekid9756 , May 8, 2009 2:34 PM
    Very great article. I miss such great detail and compelling reviews!
  • 2 Hide
    chjade84 , May 8, 2009 2:36 PM
    subliferBe nice to see the results next to a nicer liquid cooling system. But was a good review. I've seen results like this many times and am always surprised by people claiming that liquid is so much greater than air cooling.


    Real, QUALITY, liquid cooling is much greater than air. The problem is this is not quality liquid cooling and neither are the cheap water-coolers on the market. Tom's did a review of 3 REAL liquid coolers and (granted it was a quad core but not an i7) full load was around 43-45c. In this test they were around 77c. i7's run hotter but you should still see around a 20c drop if you use QUALITY liquid cooling.
Display more comments