Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

LGX ML300

Seven Small (But Powerful) Mini-PCs, Reviewed
By

Logic Supply's ML300 is a bit of an oddity in our round-up because it's not aimed at the same audience as the other contenders, although there are some client applications that could benefit from its unique selling points. While Logic Supply will build your system for you, you can also purchase the ML300 enclosure on its own for $129.

This chassis differentiates itself by being a dust-proof, vent-less industrial case. No fans and no vents mean no active cooling, so you also don't have to sweat a fan failure. See the ribs on the top of the chassis? The entire exterior serves as a passive heat sink for the processor; this works surprisingly well.

Logic Supply configures systems to order. Our review sample came with an Intel Core i5-3427U sporting 3 MB of shared L3 cache. Its 1.8 GHz base clock rate scales as high as 2.8 GHz under the right thermal conditions. Intel's on-die HD Graphics 4000 engine can handle very mainstream gaming, but that's about it. The machine we're looking at sells for $1245.65, making it the most expensive entry in our round-up. But remember that it's also armed with 16 GB of DDR3-1600, has the only bundled mSATA-based SSD, and includes an operating system. 

Of course, if you're content to build your own passively-cooled mini-PC, you can save some money by buying the ML300 and platform components separately.

Bundle And First Impression

In the plain cardboard box you'll find Logic Supply's ML300, an AC adapter, a power cord, an HDMI-to-VGA adapter, wall, VESA, and DIN rail mounting hardware, and Windows. A lack of fancy packaging suggests this product's industrial focus.

The front of this compact system features a power button and two USB ports. Measuring 7.72" x 1.45" x 5.17", the enclosure is roughly equivalent to one and a half NUCs. More surface area is necessary to cool the internally-housed processor passively, and to accommodate more I/O.

The back plays host to a power plug, two more USB ports, a pair of mini-DP outputs, an HDMI connector, and a GbE interface. Cutouts for other connections exist, but are not populated.

Open the chassis up and you'll see all of its extra expansion space. Our review unit doesn't have Wi-Fi or Bluetooth support, but there is a mini-PCIe slot under the mSATA-based SSD, though. Logic Supply uses an Emphase 128 GB model, along with two 8 GB DDR3-1600 SO-DIMMs with 11-11-11-28 timings. 

Special Features And Livability

An ultra-compact form factor is ideal for commercial applications, and a fan-less enclosure with nothing but solid-state components is ideal for ruggedness. With a wide range of mounting options and room for expansion, the ML300 chassis works well for its target market; it's a specialized piece of equipment that effective satisfies a specific need. 


LGX ML300
Chipset
Intel QS77 Express
CPU
Intel Core i5-3427U, Dual-Core, Hyper-Threaded, 1.8 GHz (2.8 GHz Peak Turbo Boost), 3 MB Shared L3 Cache
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4000, 350 MHz - 1.15 GHz
Graphics Memory
Shared with system memory
System Memory
2 x 8 GB Transcend PC3-12800, 1600 MT/s DDR3, 11-11-11-28-1T
Hard Drive
Emphase Enterprise 128 GB SSD, mSATA
Optical Drive
N/A
Operating System
Windows 7 Professional x64
Included Peripherals
Not Included
Internal Interfaces
Memory Support
Dual-Channel, 2 x DDR3/L/-RS SO-DIMM slots, 1.35/1.5 V, 1333/1600 MT/s, 16 GB Max
Mini-PCIe
Not Included
mSATA
One slot
Mass Storage Controllers
Chipset SATA
1 x mSATA 6Gb/s
I/O Panel Connectors
DVI
Not Included
VGA
Not Included
HDMI
1
DisplayPort
2 (mini-DP)
Thunderbolt
Not Included
MHSL Input
Not Included
USB
2 x USB 2.0, 2 x USB 3.0
Memory Card Reader
Not Included
Network
1
eSATA
Not Included
Digital Audio out
HDMI
Analog Audio
Not Included
IR Sensor
Not Included
Ethernet & Wireless
LAN
Integrated Gigabit
Wi-Fi
Not Included
Bluetooth
Not Included
Audio
HD Audio Codec
HDMI: Intel Display Audio
Audio Channels
HDMI 7.1 Digital Audio
Physical Specifications
Size
196 x 36.75 x 131.20 mm
(7.72" x 1.45" x 5.17")
Weight
1111 g  (2.45 lbs)
Price
As Tested: $1245.65 (with Windows 7 Ultimate x64; tested with Windows 8.1 Professional)

Case Only: $129 (Logicsupply)
Display all 50 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 9 Hide
    outlw6669 , January 30, 2014 12:31 AM
    Not a single AMD based SFF PC?
    I am disappoint, this would be a great area for AMD to show their competitiveness.
  • 8 Hide
    ta152h , January 30, 2014 12:50 AM
    @outlw6669I built one based on the A6 5200, and it's perfect for what I need it for. It's low power, more than fast enough for what 99% of the people do, quiet, and inexpensive. I'm a little surprised they didn't choose something based on the Jaguar for that reason, but it might just be a situation where nothing with one was sent to them for review. Certainly this is a poor representation, without both Jaguar and Bay Trail missing. I got to the first page, read what they had, looked at the cases, and moved on. Reading about different versions of Ivy Bridge and Haswell and how they compare to each other is profoundly uninteresting.
  • 3 Hide
    m32 , January 30, 2014 2:04 AM
    I wouldn't mind having a small system like this. Maybe Mid-Year when everyone's CPU/APUs are out, I'll have the chance to make a smart buy. Thanks for the article. :) 
  • 0 Hide
    blackmagnum , January 30, 2014 2:39 AM
    Buy a laptop and hook a screen to it; no compromises.
  • 1 Hide
    mesab66 , January 30, 2014 2:47 AM
    It is interesting that by going slightly larger with the enclosure space (still keeping within cube/rectangle/media player shape) opens up the possibility of so much more power....dedicated gfx, full cpu, etc etc., and, can be cheaper to build - depending on the users requirements.......of course, at the cost of power requirements, etc. I'm thinking most folk would ideally chose a slightly larger form factor for living room/media pc duties.On the other hand, if constraints are tight (form factor in this article) and the end user's requirements match, then these options are worth considering.
  • 3 Hide
    mesab66 , January 30, 2014 2:56 AM
    Maybe Tom's could do some options on Media PC/HTPC builds for a future article?
  • 0 Hide
    s997863 , January 30, 2014 3:38 AM
    Power. I don't care about no power. Where's the love for the old games? If I want to play some of the classics which just don't emulate properly, I have to hunt for a heavy old Pentium3 box and try to get it working. How about a cheap mini PC with miniaturized legacy hardware for full compatibility to dual-boot win98 & XP, with gameports, VGA & S-Video, PS/2 & USB, IDE & SATA external ribbon & power connectors, & a turbo button for choosing between 2 processors 200MHz & 3GHz?
  • 1 Hide
    elgranchuchu , January 30, 2014 5:51 AM
    this was exactly was i was looking for deploying php software
  • 2 Hide
    vertexx , January 30, 2014 6:01 AM
    I am a huge fan of compact systems. Almost everything I have built has been ITX. But I've had a hard time with the NUC form factor. As a desktop, I think it's actually too small. One of those boxes would get lost on my desk, continuously being pushed around by other clutter. Now, if I had a hutch with an optimally sized cubby, that might be a different story.

    VESA mounted on the back of a monitor, these look really clunky, and I'd rather go with an AIO kit using the thin mini-ITX form factor where I have more control over processor choice.

    I'd be more excited if this technology and form factor were applied in a more interchangeable system with a standardized GPU socket. I really like what ASRock and Gigabyte have done with their compact systems. They're not as compact, but having something a little more substantial on my desk is a good thing, and they pack a lot of punch. I just wish the standards were developed to allow builders to replicate that feat - pipe dream, I know.

    One thing is for sure, AMD needs to develop it's own equivalent of the NUC and thin Mini-ITX. The success of it's Kaveri line I think would be helped out by innovation in form factor.
  • 5 Hide
    axehead15 , January 30, 2014 6:03 AM
    I think you should compare the Mac Mini to these, that way we can see how it adds up.
  • 3 Hide
    Onus , January 30, 2014 6:35 AM
    It would take a unique set of requirements for any of these devices to make sense, particularly compared to competition. With the possible exception of the ASRock unit, the price is outrageous. If you don't have room by your TV for a [much more powerful and versatile] mini-ITX system, for the difference in cost you can replace your TV stand or component rack instead.

    These are essentially for gadget-freaks with more money than sense.
  • 0 Hide
    bloodroses75 , January 30, 2014 6:40 AM
    Interesting concept for these machines, price to performance is not worth it yet though. Buying an Inwin (or other brand) mini-itx case with power supply and building your own machine from the ground up is a much better deal.As with Intel, the i7s are only dual core? I'd be personally upset if I bought one and realized that after plugging it in. They should have kept a standard with their naming, like on their desktops:p entium= dual core, no HTi3= dual core, HTi5= quad core, no HTi7= quad core, HTand yes, I realize Intel did release an i5 that was only dual core with HT and thought it was a complete rip-off too.
  • 0 Hide
    MajinCry , January 30, 2014 7:18 AM
    Why did people vote down s997863? I'd kill for a mini pc that could actually play NWN 1 and/or the horde of DOS games.
  • 2 Hide
    cleeve , January 30, 2014 7:27 AM
    Quote:
    Why did people vote down s997863? I'd kill for a mini pc that could actually play NWN 1 and/or the horde of DOS games.


    I'm pretty sure any of these will fit the bill for old windows games like NWN 1.

    DOS based stuff has its own challenges, I don't know enough about dosbox emulators but I suspect these are more than powerful enough.

  • 0 Hide
    Bolts Romano , January 30, 2014 7:27 AM
    Thank you for the article, at least now I know some other brands never heard before. It is quite a surprise the price is hitting the same level as a notebook or mac mini price range or lower (remember this mini pc does not come w OS)
  • 0 Hide
    burkhartmj , January 30, 2014 7:37 AM
    these devices are super cool, but it's hard to ignore the fact that one can generally get better performance out of a fully configurable and upgradable ITX form factor for the same price. For niche use cases, these would be incredibly helpful, but I don't see them becoming particularly mainstream.
  • -1 Hide
    MajinCry , January 30, 2014 8:42 AM
    Quote:


    I'm pretty sure any of these will fit the bill for old windows games like NWN 1.

    DOS based stuff has its own challenges, I don't know enough about dosbox emulators but I suspect these are more than powerful enough.



    On the contrary, there are plenty of performance issues with old games when using new hardware. My 6670 and 7850 play NWN 1 piss-poorly with my 965 BE, por ejemplo.

    Intel's IGPUs fare no better nor do NVidia's GPUs. Speaking from experience.
  • 1 Hide
    lockhrt999 , January 30, 2014 8:58 AM
    Why some i7 are dual cores?
  • 0 Hide
    Croc Ography , January 30, 2014 9:23 AM
    Huge fail for the ASRock... Tom's Hardware is not reading their own listed specs:"Audio Channels: 7.1+2 Channel HD Audio Codec with Content Protection and DTS Connect support" -- this means that if you burn your own Blurays or DVD's to PLEX or BMC and any of them have Cinavia on them you will not be able to play them from this HTPC.Therefore this device is useless.
  • 0 Hide
    tntom , January 30, 2014 10:36 AM
    Great article! Thank you! Thank you! I hope this segment becomes more competitive and brings the prices down. Right now the prices are too inflated. All of these have more than enough CPU but except for the Asrock are lacking in GPU performance.Please update with the Brix A8 APU and Iris Pro 5200 when you finish testing them out.
Display more comments