Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test System Specs And Software Setup

RoboHornet Pro: Microsoft Snubs Google, Mozilla Concurs!
By

Test Setup

Desktop Test System Specs
Operating System 1
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit)

Operating System 2
Microsoft Windows 8 Enterprise RTM (64-bit)

Operating System 3
Apple OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.2 (64-bit)

Operating System 4
Ubuntu 12.04.1 LTS Precise Pangolin (64-bit)

Processor
Intel Core i5-2500K @ 3.3 GHz (quad-core)
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3 (F10 BIOS)
Memory
8 GB Crucial DDR3 @ 1333 MT/s (2 x 4 GB)
Graphics
GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1 GB GDDR5 (PCIe 2.0 x16)
Storage
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500 GB SATA 3Gb/s, 7200 RPM, 16 MB Cache
Optical
Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS
Power Supply
Corsair TX750W (750 W max)
Case
Zalman MS-1000 HS2
CPU Cooler
Scythe Mugen 2 Revision B
Keyboard
Logitech Wireless Keyboard K320
Mouse
Logitech Wireless Trackball M570
Tablet Test System 1 Specs
ModelAsus Transformer TF300T
Operating SystemGoogle Android 4.1.1 (Jelly Bean)

Display10.1" LED-Backlit WXGA IPS (1280x800)
ProcessorNvidia Tegra 3 (quad-core)
Memory1 GB
Storage32 GB
Network802.11 b/g/n @ 2.4 GHz
Tablet Test System 2 Specs
Model
iPad (3rd generation)
Operating System
iOS 6
Display
9.7" LED-Backlit IPS Retina Display (2048x1536)
Processor
Apple A5X ARM Cortex-A9 @ 1GHz (dual-core)
Memory
1 GB LP-DDR2
Storage
16 GB
Network
802.11 a/b/g/n
Network Specs
ISP ServiceCox Preferred (18 Mb/s down, 2 Mb/s up)
ModemMotorola SURFboard SBS101U
RouterLinksys WRT54G2 V1
Windows Browsers
Chrome
22.0.1229.79 m
Firefox
15.0.1
Internet Explorer 10
10.0.9200.16384
Maxthon
3.4.5
Opera
12.02 (build 1578)
Sleipnir
3.7.1.4000
OS X Browsers
Chrome
22.0.1229.79 m
Firefox
15.0.1
Maxthon
1.0.4.1000 Beta
Opera
12.02 (build 1578)
Safari
6.0.1 (8536.26.14)
Sleipnir
3.7.1 (3.7.1)
Linux Browsers
Chrome
22.0.1229.79
Firefox
15.0.1
Opera
12.02 (build 1578)
Android Browsers
Chrome
18.0.1025308
Opera Mobile
12.0.4
iOS Browsers
Axis
1.1.2
Chrome
21.0.1180.82
Dolphin
5.4.1
Maxthon
1.3
Safari
6.0
Sleipnir
2.0


Methodology

The Web browsers, operating systems, drivers, and other supporting apps were fully updated as of midnight on September 26, 2012 (Eastern Daylight Time). Screensaver and power management options are disabled in each operating system before testing.

Per the original RoboHornet homepage, each browser is tested with no other tabs or applications open. Due to the much shorter duration of RoboHornet Pro, our charts contain the average of five iterations.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 27 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 11 Hide
    techcurious , October 2, 2012 10:17 PM
    ... nevermind.. I would rate myself down if I could.. cause after further thought, I realized that anyone that chose to use OSX over Windows will never choose to use IE over Safari or Firefox.. Something I am sure Microsoft also realizes :) 
Other Comments
  • -8 Hide
    techcurious , October 2, 2012 10:09 PM
    A little off topic, but something just occurred to me.. that we had Safari on Windows, but not IE on OSX..
    Now that OSX market share is increasing, I wonder if Microsoft will ever release Internet Explorer for OSX, and I wonder if Apple will allow it..
  • 11 Hide
    techcurious , October 2, 2012 10:17 PM
    ... nevermind.. I would rate myself down if I could.. cause after further thought, I realized that anyone that chose to use OSX over Windows will never choose to use IE over Safari or Firefox.. Something I am sure Microsoft also realizes :) 
  • 6 Hide
    dalethepcman , October 2, 2012 10:21 PM
    My one complaint about this article, was the contrast between the massive amount of iOS browsers, and the utter lack of Android browsers. You stated yourself.
    Quote:
    Each of these third-party iOS browsers are essentially just a new GUI and additional functionality added to Safari


    Why not also test firefox, dolphin, skyfire and stock browsers on android?
  • 1 Hide
    dalethepcman , October 2, 2012 10:28 PM
    techcurious... nevermind.. I would rate myself down if I could.. cause after further thought, I realized that anyone that chose to use OSX over Windows will never choose to use IE over Safari or Firefox.. Something I am sure Microsoft also realizes


    Actually I have many Mac users that would use IE in OSX just for the convenience of pass through authentication, but since its not available they all have a separately purchased copy of windows to run in a VM or access IE through Citrix for domain resources.
  • -1 Hide
    adamovera , October 2, 2012 10:51 PM
    dalethepcmanMy one complaint about this article, was the contrast between the massive amount of iOS browsers, and the utter lack of Android browsers. You stated yourself.Why not also test firefox, dolphin, skyfire and stock browsers on android?

    I attempted to, they either wouldn't run the test at all, or they hang indefinitely and are unable to complete it. Stay tuned for the Android Web Browser Grand Prix for the full benchmark results of browsers on that platform.
  • 1 Hide
    tipoo , October 2, 2012 10:53 PM
    I agree with Mozilla, perceived speed > benchmarks for browsers. And ironically that's exactly where they fail hardest. Chrome, Opera, heck sometimes even IE10 now always seem more responsive and stay more responsive than Firefox in my experience. I like its font rendering, I like its smooth scrolling (well, IE10 has those too, I think it has to do with DirectWrite more than the browser) but the small instances of UI lag bug me after using Chrome for so long.
  • 1 Hide
    tipoo , October 2, 2012 11:03 PM
    Once more I'm puzzled why browsers in OSX are consistently and significantly slower than Windows and Ubuntu, even the same browser cross platform.
  • 5 Hide
    adamovera , October 2, 2012 11:25 PM
    tipooOnce more I'm puzzled why browsers in OSX are consistently and significantly slower than Windows and Ubuntu, even the same browser cross platform.

    From page 4: "Our current cross-platform test system provides unusually low Web results under OS X Mountain Lion compared to other operating systems. While the OS X browser scores appear to be accurate in relation to each other, none of the OS X scores should be used to draw conclusions about OS X versus the other desktop environments in this test. Until we can pin down the culprit, please view the OS X results as if they were obtained on an entirely different test system."
    I have been unable to track down the cause of this problem - I tried every single network driver I could find, multiple re-installs, and different DSDT files. This is the only Hackintosh system we've ever used that has this issue - our older Lynnfield-based rig didn't. Hopefully, when I build a totally new Ivy Bridge-based rig this problem will just go away, if not, I guess I need an actual Mac - but that could leave Linux twisting in the wind since Bootcamp is just for Windows - on paper, anyway :( 
  • 0 Hide
    tipoo , October 3, 2012 12:55 AM
    Got ya, I missed that part. Maybe a commenter with a mac can give it a quick run to see how it compares to the hackintosh.
  • 2 Hide
    adamovera , October 3, 2012 1:37 AM
    tipooGot ya, I missed that part. Maybe a commenter with a mac can give it a quick run to see how it compares to the hackintosh.

    They have, and they're all reporting Web-related scores are higher on Mac's with lower-end hardware than our test system. Also, our old Lynnfield-based system shows OS X browsers doing way better in relation to Windows browsers on that Hackintosh versus a genuine MacBook Air - so it's definitely our current Hackintosh configuration and not OS X to blame for the lower scores versus other OSes.
  • 0 Hide
    CaedenV , October 3, 2012 3:25 AM
    adamoveraFrom page 4: "Our current cross-platform test system provides unusually low Web results under OS X Mountain Lion compared to other operating systems. While the OS X browser scores appear to be accurate in relation to each other, none of the OS X scores should be used to draw conclusions about OS X versus the other desktop environments in this test. Until we can pin down the culprit, please view the OS X results as if they were obtained on an entirely different test system."I have been unable to track down the cause of this problem - I tried every single network driver I could find, multiple re-installs, and different DSDT files. This is the only Hackintosh system we've ever used that has this issue - our older Lynnfield-based rig didn't. Hopefully, when I build a totally new Ivy Bridge-based rig this problem will just go away, if not, I guess I need an actual Mac - but that could leave Linux twisting in the wind since Bootcamp is just for Windows - on paper, anyway

    we saw a similar scoring issue with the 'web browser grand prix mac circuit'. If I remember correctly you were running on a Mac, and Win7 in bootcamp that time, and win7 still beat out the OSX scores, granted not by a huge margin.
  • 0 Hide
    adamovera , October 3, 2012 3:41 AM
    CaedenVwe saw a similar scoring issue with the 'web browser grand prix mac circuit'. If I remember correctly you were running on a Mac, and Win7 in bootcamp that time, and win7 still beat out the OSX scores, granted not by a huge margin.

    Yeah, Windows browsers (on a PC or a Mac) have so far trumped OS X browsers, but not by anywhere near the margins we're seeing on this Hackintosh. Gauging from past articles, the actual OS X scores should be somewhere between Windows 7 and Ubuntu (with Safari essentially being the big in-between) - and that order reflects the amount of resources developers allocate to these OSes.
  • 0 Hide
    Cryio , October 3, 2012 1:34 PM
    It breaks my heart when I see in the benchmark listed Opera 12.0x ... since it's basically the WORST release Opera ever had.

    Any, none of this browsers are on an equal foot.

    Internet Explorer Metro in Windows 8 X64 is running the IE10 in x64 mode, opposed to IE10 desktop which works ONLY in x86.

    The future release of Opera 12.10, will be faster on x64 than on x86, because of different coding and different SS2 instruction support. So choose carefully in the future what you benchmark.
  • 0 Hide
    LordConrad , October 3, 2012 6:13 PM
    You include Android as a test bed, but the Included videos won't play on Android Jellybean. Very stupid.
  • 0 Hide
    adamovera , October 3, 2012 10:15 PM
    CryioIt breaks my heart when I see in the benchmark listed Opera 12.0x ... since it's basically the WORST release Opera ever had.Any, none of this browsers are on an equal foot.Internet Explorer Metro in Windows 8 X64 is running the IE10 in x64 mode, opposed to IE10 desktop which works ONLY in x86.The future release of Opera 12.10, will be faster on x64 than on x86, because of different coding and different SS2 instruction support. So choose carefully in the future what you benchmark.

    Opera 12 is perhaps the most disappointing version of Opera ever due to the high expectations it carried, but I'd have to say that the version with a banner ad back in the day was the worst ;)  We benchmark stable browsers only (or RTM in the case of IE) and that's been the policy forever. I realize that IE10 Metro is x64, but in the original RoboHornet test we included both the 64-bit and 32-bit versions of IE9. I'm not sure what you wanted me to do here: exclude Opera, or make an exception for that browser and run a pre-release version?
  • 0 Hide
    meltbox360 , October 4, 2012 4:30 AM
    Hmm. Ran this on my playbook. Super smooth background and finished in 77.107 so... BlackBerry Playbook browser is the fastest mobile browser.

    Edit: According to this benchmark. Although it scores 30.something on the normal robohornet. Pretty robust and quick, has not had an issue running anything yet...
  • 0 Hide
    Cryio , October 4, 2012 11:17 AM
    @Adamovera: You aren't guilty of anything, my friend. It's just Opera version 12 that saddens me. And seeing that you brought it up, since I find v12.0x to be actually THAT awful and unsable (versions 8 to 11.6x tear right through it), a pre-release version here would have helped.

    A last thing.... isn't RTM=gold=stable?
  • 0 Hide
    Cryio , October 4, 2012 11:18 AM
    unusable*
  • 0 Hide
    adamovera , October 5, 2012 12:32 AM
    meltbox360Hmm. Ran this on my playbook. Super smooth background and finished in 77.107 so... BlackBerry Playbook browser is the fastest mobile browser. Edit: According to this benchmark. Although it scores 30.something on the normal robohornet. Pretty robust and quick, has not had an issue running anything yet...

    Whoa, that's interesting. Can you send me a screenshot of the results for that device - just click my name in the byline to email me.

    Also, if anybody out there has one of those HP WebOS pads and has run the tests, I'd be interested in seeing the results for that, too.
  • 1 Hide
    adamovera , October 5, 2012 12:38 AM
    Cryio@Adamovera: You aren't guilty of anything, my friend. It's just Opera version 12 that saddens me. And seeing that you brought it up, since I find v12.0x to be actually THAT awful and unsable (versions 8 to 11.6x tear right through it), a pre-release version here would have helped.A last thing.... isn't RTM=gold=stable?

    I hear ya, man. I held one of the WBGPs to include Opera 12 (I think it was late by over a month), and it finally arrived sans all the good stuff :( 
    Yeah, when it comes to MS/Apple software the RTM/Golden Master are as good as final (but there is always the possibility of massive day one patches which could change results). I wish Linux distros had an equivalent, in my experience the final RC builds just aren't final.
Display more comments