Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test Setup And Test Procedure

The SSD Workload Performance Analysis
By
System Hardware
Hardware
Details
CPU
Intel Core i7 920 (45 nm, 2.66 GHz, 8 MB L3 Cache)
Motherboard
Supermicro X8SAX (Socket LGA 1366), Rev. 1.0
Chipset: Intel X58 + ICH10R
BIOS: 1.0B
RAM
3 x 1 GB DDR3-1333 Corsair CM3X1024-1333C9DHX
System Hard Drive
Seagate NL35, 400 GB
ST3400832NS
7,200 RPM, SATA/150, 8 MB Cache
Power Supply
OCZ EliteXstream 800W
OCZ800EXS-EU
Benchmarks
Performance measurements
h2benchw 3.12
I/O Performance
IOMeter 2006.07.27
Database -Benchmark
Fileserver-Benchmark
Webserver-Benchmark
Workserver-Benchmark
System Software and Drivers
Driver
Details
Operating SystemWindows Vista Ultimate SP1
Intel Chipset Drivers
9.1.0.1007
AMD Graphics Drivers
Radeon 8.12
Intel Matrix Storage Drivers
8.7.0.1007


Test Procedure

In an effort to really stress the flash SSDs, we ran the following cycle on all drives:

1st cycle

  • h2benchw sequential read/write test
  • IOMeter fileserver, database, webserver, workstation profile I/O test

2nd cycle

  • h2benchw sequential read/write test
  • IOMeter fileserver, database, webserver, workstation profile I/O test

3rd cycle

  • h2benchw sequential read/write test
  • IOMeter fileserver, database, webserver, workstation profile I/O test

4th cycle

  • h2benchw sequential read/write test

5th cycle

  • h2benchw sequential read/write test

6th cycle

  • h2benchw sequential read/write test

We decided to run the sequential h2benchw test and immediately switch to I/O loads three times in a row, so the drives would have to switch from maximum throughput to maximum I/O performance repeatedly. Then we ran three additional h2benchw tests to see if and when the flash SSDs returned to their initial performance levels.

Display all 23 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    mrubermonkey , April 27, 2009 7:16 AM
    Props to you guys for this review.
  • 3 Hide
    Tindytim , April 27, 2009 7:47 AM
    I really wish we were able to Thumb up or Thumb down articles. This one would get a large thumbs up from me.
  • 1 Hide
    chookman , April 27, 2009 7:58 AM
    Thumbs up on this one too from me. Although if anyone desires more in depth understanding of the problem i found the PC Perspective articles better in that aspect.

    Intel Firmware change
    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=691

    OCZ Indilinx Chip
    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=670
  • -9 Hide
    chookman , April 27, 2009 7:58 AM
    Thumbs up on this one too from me. Although if anyone desires more in depth understanding of the problem i found the PC Perspective articles better in that aspect.

    Intel Firmware change
    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=691

    OCZ Indilinx Chip
    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=670
  • -8 Hide
    chookman , April 27, 2009 7:59 AM
    Thumbs up on this one too from me. Although if anyone desires more in depth understanding of the problem i found the PC Perspective articles better in that aspect.

    Intel Firmware change
    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=691

    OCZ Indilinx Chip
    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=670
  • 5 Hide
    empstar , April 27, 2009 8:55 AM
    why don't show the HDD read / write data here together with SDD?
  • -4 Hide
    lire210 , April 27, 2009 10:56 AM
    this will not matter at all to servers until the price gooes down. the speed does not make sence in the 4+ bucks a gig. normal hd are safer just in the fact that you can put 7 hd and put it in a raid one fails o well. plus 800 bucks for 64gb o my god
  • 4 Hide
    snotling , April 27, 2009 11:29 AM
    lire210this will not matter at all to servers until the price gooes down. the speed does not make sence in the 4+ bucks a gig. normal hd are safer just in the fact that you can put 7 hd and put it in a raid one fails o well. plus 800 bucks for 64gb o my god

    Servers are actually where these drives makes the most sense, and you can RAID SSDs just like you RAID HDs... and about being "safe" well I would put my money on the technology with no moving parts!
  • 6 Hide
    xsamitt , April 27, 2009 12:27 PM
    I keep waiting for a reviews of new monitors.it seems we keep getting almost the same kind of topic every week lately.
  • 0 Hide
    rubix_1011 , April 27, 2009 1:37 PM
    I have to agree with most people on this one...a flashback to the really good reviews Tom's did in the past. A very relevant review for most people with some good data and testing steps.
  • 0 Hide
    arkadi , April 27, 2009 1:39 PM
    Well it like it was written specially for me. Grate job! One of the best articles i encounter in long time.
    I posted a question on storage configuration just few day ago, with no reply btw, with exactly the same thing on my mind. Hope we can go deeper with that, and talk how we can take an advantage of what we learned here in different situations with diffident storage/system configuration's, combining SSD with regular drives, raid configurations, moving tmp/swap some programs etc.. to different drives etc...
  • -4 Hide
    arkadi , April 27, 2009 1:40 PM
    Well it like it was written specially for me. Grate job! One of the best articles i encounter in long time.
    I posted a question on storage configuration just few day ago, with no reply btw, with exactly the same thing on my mind. Hope we can go deeper with that, and talk how we can take an advantage of what we learned here in different situations with diffident storage/system configuration's, combining SSD with regular drives, raid configurations, moving tmp/swap some programs etc.. to different drives etc...
  • 1 Hide
    tipoo , April 27, 2009 1:45 PM
    Nice review. So will you guys be reviewing the 1TB PCI-Express OCZ SSD? :-)
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , April 27, 2009 2:50 PM
    So if your SSD starts to slow down, does a reformat get rid of that issue?
  • 0 Hide
    yourhighness , April 27, 2009 4:22 PM
    You guys had any problems with that Power Supply?

    I bought an OCZ Elite Extreme 800W PSU last year an dhad 3 of them die in 6 months....The RMA process was long and slow, but they eventually made it right by upgrading me to a PC Power and cooling PSU.
  • 2 Hide
    Area51 , April 27, 2009 4:49 PM
    lire210this will not matter at all to servers until the price gooes down. the speed does not make sence in the 4+ bucks a gig. normal hd are safer just in the fact that you can put 7 hd and put it in a raid one fails o well. plus 800 bucks for 64gb o my god

    You need to have a better understanding of the problem before you make statements like this...

    1. The number of HD required to get the same IOPS will put the total price to be higher than SSD's
    2. The power requirement is much higher for the number of HD that you need to get the same performance as a single Intel SLC SSD. This can drop the power consumption of a server significantly down from regular HD, and increase it’s performance.
    3. Remember that in many servers it’s not the capacity that matters, It’s the performance that is more important.
    4. Since SSD's can do a very nice job of simultaneous read, and write running multiple jobs is not derogated by the SSD's as it is with regular HD's.
    5. SMART command in SSD’s can give you a predictive failure analysis, something that you cannot do with HD’s, HD’s can only show you if the Drive is good or bad. This is very important since data can be copied before the drive goes bad.
    6. MTBF of SSD’s (at lease Intel’s) are much higher than HD’s. 2M hrs. vs 1.2M hrs on HD’s


  • 2 Hide
    krazyderek , April 27, 2009 11:06 PM
    wheres the OCZ vertex ?????
  • 0 Hide
    krazyderek , April 27, 2009 11:08 PM
    lire210this will not matter at all to servers until the price gooes down. the speed does not make sence in the 4+ bucks a gig. normal hd are safer just in the fact that you can put 7 hd and put it in a raid one fails o well. plus 800 bucks for 64gb o my god

    have you seen how much SAS drives are??
  • 0 Hide
    hustler539 , April 28, 2009 11:07 AM
    Good to see more review sites doing articles on these performance degradations, helps us make a better informed decision when purchasing new hardware.

    Here's another great article which gives you a good in depth look at it
    http://www.anandtech.com/storage/showdoc.aspx?i=3531&p=4
    a must read if you are thinking of upgrading to some of those new shiny ssds
  • -1 Hide
    hustler539 , April 28, 2009 11:08 AM
    krazyderekwheres the OCZ vertex ?????



    ^ a review of that is in the article as well
Display more comments