Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Display Quality: Color Gamut

HP TouchPad Review: A Tablet For Productivity?
By

We've seen doubters out there skeptical of whether the TouchPad actually employs an IPS screen. Based on our observations under the microscope, we can confirm that this is an S-IPS panel. In fact, based on the subpixel structure, HP appears to be using glass from Samsung.

HP Touchpad: LCD Color Gamut (S-IPS)

Even though mobile operating systems don't honor ICC color profiles, native color management does occur at the hardware level. When a GPU sends 10 different hues of blue to an LCD only capable of displaying three, the subpixels display the closest matching color. So, in a way, smartphones and tablets behave as if they’re using relative colorimetric rendering. For more information, read Tom's Hardware Benchmarks Inkjet Printer Paper!

In terms of color quality, the TouchPad delivers the most color that we've seen from any tablet. Even though it uses a panel similar to the iPads, HP achieves a higher gamut volume by using a default calibration closer to the AdobeRGB 1998 spec.

We have to make a couple of adjustments in order to generate these gamut measurements. First, we disable dynamic brightness because it doesn’t facilitate an accurate (or reproducible) measurement of the display’s potential. Second, brightness is set to the highest value. If you don't use the same settings, your color gamut is going to look smaller than what we're showing here.

Compared to the S-IPS panels on the iPads, HP achieves a slightly lower contrast ratio due to stunted white luminance. The color temperature is exactly at 6500 K, resulting in accurate color representation, but the low gamma distorts color perception. Gamma doesn't affect black or white performance, but it does affect midtones. If gamma is set too high, they appear too dark. If it's set too low, midtones appear too pale.

Adobe, Apple, and Microsoft all recommend a gamma of 2.2. It's an arbitrary value carried over from the NTSC standard, but it was originally chosen because it allows colors to appear more natural in slightly dim environments. The TouchPad's slightly lower gamma value suggests that it's best used in a darker environment. This is really the only weak point of the TouchPad's display. In every other attribute, HP seems to be hitting the AdobeRGB 1998 reference spec.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 26 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    obarthelemy , August 10, 2011 5:20 AM
    I have faith in the QuickOffice port coming through: datawiz have been woking in the mobile space since Palm days (actually, they started on Palm I think, so they know their stuff, and the platform. It works well on Android.
  • 0 Hide
    obarthelemy , August 10, 2011 5:22 AM
    I don't understand why you use the Xoom as the Android yardstick though, it's been upstaged long ago, by the Asus and Samsung tablets at least
  • 0 Hide
    compton , August 10, 2011 5:28 AM
    I'm certainly glad the TouchPad has a decent display -- a good trend to say the least. Apple deserves much of the credit for setting the quality bar in consumer devices like the iPhone/iPad. Happily, if you are looking around for a new phone or tablet, good displays are easy to find. If consumers as a whole get used to using good screens in tablets/phones, why don't more laptop manufacturers capitalize by upping their game? HP may have realized that the TouchPad needs a good display, but most laptop (theirs, Dell's, Asus, ect.) displays are shamefully terrible. Perhaps the laptop as we know it needs an injection of what makes modern tablets so appealing -- and at (or around) the top of that list is a bitchin' screen.
  • 9 Hide
    Anonymous , August 10, 2011 5:50 AM
    I've probably read at least 20 reviews of the touchpad. This is the only one I would actually call a review. This was balanced and in-depth. Thank you for your efforts.

    The one thing lacking in this review, which is also lacking in everything being written about webos, is the mention of what I consider one of the standout features of webos: The openness of the platform. With preware installed (free), you have access to thousands of patches and homebrewed apps as well as linux applications. It is possible, for example, to run a full Debian Linux in a chrooted environment (without any cracking or jailbreaking), giving access to OpenOffice, and all other x-server Linux software out there. HP/Palm is the only tablet OS developer that actively encourages the homebrew/open source community in its efforts. As a developer, it is not only the ease of development that is compelling but the huge amount of expressive and creative freedom you get. With the Apple appstore, the walled garden may protect consumers well, but also creates a completely controlled and often repressive and capricious environment for a developer. This openness is the secret sauce behind much of the loyalty of webos users. The os is a joy to use, a joy to explore, and a joy to create new code in. And unfortunately, most reviewers can't or won't take the time to understand this extremely compelling aspect of the OS.

    Thank you again for the best review of the touchpad I've seen yet.
  • 1 Hide
    DjEaZy , August 10, 2011 9:02 AM
    ... nVidia work's with ARM... now AMD does it too... so where is intel at?
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , August 10, 2011 10:16 AM
    Well done review!...most thorough and in-depth of any I've seen thus far. As a user of about 3 weeks, I learned several new things I'd not discovered before. I second klktrk's comment about the homebrew community at PreCentral. I've taken advantage of several patches to customize my TouchPad (overclocking to 1.5 GHz, increased volume setting, etc)
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , August 10, 2011 1:53 PM
    HP really invested a lot of time and effort going into this tablet, and it is most definitely going to be an Apple killer and an Android killer one day. The potential it has is remarkable. Maybe not in this model, but in the next. As for right now, the card system in ingenious, the notification system is perfect, wireless charging is perfect, tap to share is perfect, and many many other things, including it's up to par with Apples A5 processor chip and Android Nvidia Tegra 2 Duo Core processor that evens out the fact that all these tablets are roughly the same speed, except for Apple, who lacks flash content support browser-wise. HP really leveled the playing field on this one, especially with the HD screen, and the Beats Audio, And also with their immense advertising. I don't know about you guys but I see the TouchPad on a lot of commercials and on ads everywhere! I'm thinking about buying one for school instead of the regular laptop.
  • 0 Hide
    absoluthunter , August 10, 2011 4:38 PM
    LED Pixels? Pretty sure this is an S-IPS LCD screen with LED back light. Sure wish people would understand the difference, specially when reviewing in technical forums.
  • 0 Hide
    BlueFireAngel , August 10, 2011 6:17 PM
    Thanks for a solid review! I'm not a Palm/HP owner yet but I hope to be someday soon. I've been impressed with Palm since I got a PDA 10 years ago. And since I've seen the Palm Pre I've been excited about the potential of webOS. I hope it catches on and that people begin to realize how powerful a tool webOS can become.
    Thanks again, Andrew!
  • 0 Hide
    Honis , August 10, 2011 6:47 PM
    Very nice review.

    HP just announced the $100 off sale from this last weekend is now permanent.

    "Effective immediately, the HP TouchPad 16GB Wi-Fi will now be available for $399.99 and the HP TouchPad 32GB Wi-Fi will now be available for $499.99"

    http://vdccnz2prof.houston.hp.com/view_email.asp?eid=10048010&mid=055f0aa5-75fa-414f-9913-9aa980bb0ef7
  • 0 Hide
    cptnjarhead , August 10, 2011 7:46 PM
    WebOS really shines on the TP and the OTA update takes care of many issues.
    With preware and some patches... 1.5ghz or even 1.7ghz... amazing!
    as the first WebOS tablet, i think its a home run.
  • 0 Hide
    busuan , August 10, 2011 9:28 PM
    I'd like to see a review of "what best to do with xPad". "Better" hardware or software, lower prices, or sexy looking, they mean nothing to me if I am not convinced why I really should do this or that with an xPad. For example, after reading this review, I am not convinced at all TouchPad would improve my "productivity" because I couldn't think of anything in my daily work that could be migrated onto it and done better.
  • 0 Hide
    11796pcs , August 11, 2011 2:17 AM
    The only thing HP does well is really expensive high-end printers, otherwise their products are generally crap. Some of their laptops are almost overly complex and include more screws than necessary.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OpCJzdWxEbQ
  • 0 Hide
    CaedenV , August 11, 2011 3:43 AM
    great review, nice to see tablets are getting closer to becoming useful, but until you can do content creation and modification then they are just really cool toys and do not belong in the office space. MS Office will be available for arm with win8, not sure if it will port over to other OSs though, so we need the libra office and other distros of open office to step it up and think of something. Then nothing would stand in the way.
    DjEaZy... nVidia work's with ARM... now AMD does it too... so where is intel at?


    Intel in under the impression that with die shrinks of 22nm and less that x86 will fit in the same power envelope as ARM but be able to run full applications, so they are not playing with ARM. But you have to believe that they are sitting on some ARM tech that will come out if their die shrinks are not as effective as they hope.
  • 0 Hide
    Coogie7 , August 11, 2011 5:47 AM
    Great article. The flexibility of the webOS is one of the more favorable features in my opinion.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , August 11, 2011 12:19 PM
    Right now the touchpad can run ubuntu and all of it's apps including libreoffice. I think you still need a physical keyboard but work is ongoing so that the virtual keyboard can be used. The joys of webOS
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , August 12, 2011 9:33 PM
    I don't know if the author knows and will amend his article but:
    "Effective immediately, the HP TouchPad 16GB Wi-Fi will now be available for $399.99 and the HP TouchPad 32GB Wi-Fi will now be available for $499.99"

    That's $100 cheaper than the initial price, and -$50 cheaper than what the article states.
  • 0 Hide
    kartu , August 13, 2011 12:50 PM
    Why is it that Samsung's Galaxy Tab is never mentioned on charts?
  • -1 Hide
    jdwii , August 14, 2011 12:07 AM
    I would never buy a cut down version of a OS. I only want windows on a tablet so i can install x86 programs. Not have to pay for every app i hate paying for software.
  • 1 Hide
    Gman450 , August 14, 2011 7:13 AM
    jdwiiI would never buy a cut down version of a OS. I only want windows on a tablet so i can install x86 programs. Not have to pay for every app i hate paying for software.

    So what do you do in-order to get software ?
Display more comments