Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Gaming System Review: Überclok's Ion

Gaming System Review: Überclok's Ion
By

The best part about owning a new system is reveling in its performance. But not everyone wants to pay full price for the best parts when a little elbow grease can unlock so much performance from more mainstream components—and that’s why many of us overclock. Yet, there are always gamers who don’t have the time (or skill, let’s face it) to assemble a computer in the first place, let alone tune it up. After all, isn’t reliability more important than raw speed ?

Überclok knows a few things about building reliable, overclocked systems. Rather than attempt to set records for the ultimate in speed, Überclok designs its systems to last many years. So sure is the company of its technical prowess that it backs each system for three years, even going so far as to pay to have the system shipped back to its lab in case of needed repairs. And just in case you weren’t satisfied with the performance of your new Ion PC, Überclok will even let you return it within thirty days of purchase.

Here’s a quick look at the configuration Überclok sent us :

Überclok Ion Configuration
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, 3.0GHz, FSB-1333, 6MB Cache
Custom Overclocked to 4.0 GHz, FSB-1780
Motherboard Gigabyte EP35, BIOS F5 (07/16/2008)
RAM Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX, 2x 2.0 GB CAS 4-4-4-12
Custom Overclocked to DDR2-1066 CAS 5-7-7-25 (2T)
Hard Drive Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS
500 GB, 7200 RPM, 32 MB Cache, SATA 300
Networking Integrated Realtek Gigabit Networking, PCIe
Audio Integrated Realtek High-Definition Audio (7.1-channels)
Graphics Cards SAPPHIRE TOXIC HD 4850 512MB
675 MHz GPU, GDDR3-2200
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-550VX (550W, ATX12V V2.2)
System Software & Drivers
OS Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit Build 6001 (SP1)
DirectX Version DirectX 10.0
Graphics Driver ATI Catalyst Version 8.7
Peripherals
Keyboard Logitech Internet 350 USB
Mouse Microsoft Wheel Mouse Optical
Warranty and Support
Warranty 30-Day Money Back, 3-Years Free Replacement
Support Toll-Free Telephone Support
Repairs Free Shipping to and from Repair Center
Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 17 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • -6 Hide
    kitsilencer , September 19, 2008 10:32 AM
    Sensible, still-under-warranty overclocking. Those words don't belong together.

    Overclocking should be about using liquid nitrogen, pushing pash 5.5GHz, and shortening the lifespan of the chip to 3 hours. Not years.

    But still, I'd buy this PC.
  • -4 Hide
    ap90033 , September 19, 2008 11:55 AM
    Uh why worry about Three Year Warranty? WHat you do is build it then sell it after a year or two and put that $600 you would have had to use on the Above system and you have a brand new latest and greatest system.

    I do this every year or two and end up paying out of pocket $300 or so and for around 8 years now I always have a very current system in warranty...
  • 0 Hide
    ap90033 , September 19, 2008 11:57 AM
    Oh and kit, overclocking is so much more accepted and used. A lot of people overclock a little for say a 10% gain but keep it safe...

    Why would you only want your chip to last three hours anyway? Thats STUPID! Goof...
  • 0 Hide
    randomizer , September 19, 2008 12:08 PM
    ap90033Why would you only want your chip to last three hours anyway?

    E-peen of course!
  • -3 Hide
    kitsilencer , September 19, 2008 12:31 PM
    Of course E-peen. Plus I'd get featured as an article.
  • -1 Hide
    kittle , September 19, 2008 5:25 PM
    kitsilencerOf course E-peen. Plus I'd get featured as an article.

    15min of fame for a chip with a 3hr lifespan?

    each to their own....
  • -1 Hide
    ThePatriot , September 19, 2008 5:54 PM
    Entertaining a niche market...... clever move.
  • -1 Hide
    guyladouche , September 19, 2008 6:06 PM
    kitsilencerSensible, still-under-warranty overclocking. Those words don't belong together.Overclocking should be about using liquid nitrogen, pushing pash 5.5GHz, and shortening the lifespan of the chip to 3 hours. Not years.But still, I'd buy this PC.


    It's warrantied by Uberclock, not by the component manufacturers--hence the addition of $600 to the price tag for the insurance (aka warranty). So if something like the CPU dies, getting it replaced (for free apparently) has nothing to do with the manufacturer.
  • -3 Hide
    guyladouche , September 19, 2008 6:11 PM
    It's a nice idea, but I don't see this going anywhere because of the terrible problems they could likely encounter with need for support/returns. One simple BSOD loop would require the entire rig to be shipped back for analysis (if the user isn't computer-savvy, which is likely the demographic they're aiming at). I wonder if the $600 overhead (in addition to whatever profits they make on the system as a whole) will recoup it? I remember "back in the day" when monarch computers would custom-build systems (no overclocking) and they went belly-up with all the returns and warranty-service (granted, if things are built carefully, there are rarely any needs for services after sale).
  • -4 Hide
    skalagon , September 19, 2008 6:49 PM
    $600 security for $1100 components is retarded. This is only usefull if the entire pc dies. However its likely that only maybe 2 parts will die completely within the 3 year warranty time and even that is a long shot. So lets say two parts die,the cpu and the hardrive and Uberclock replace them. That means youve paid $600 for two parts worth about $270 together.
    Granted the stock parts would not be overclocked but with the spare $600 you can buy a quadcore, a better gpu, a larger hardrive and better ram, so it will probly be faster. There is no point buying this pc except if you plan on spilling a pint of water onto it. (or i suppose just so you can say "it's overclocked man!")
  • 1 Hide
    kyeana , September 19, 2008 8:49 PM
    But you have to figure that the people who would be getting this computer wouldn't have the know how to build their own system, overclock it, or fix it if something went wrong. In that group this computer makes perfect sense, and lets face it, you would have to recommend this over a dell or alienware.
  • -1 Hide
    ViViF , September 20, 2008 7:19 AM
    nice one...but i don't get enough money...
  • -1 Hide
    mgl888 , September 20, 2008 2:45 PM
    Isn't 1.45V a bit high for vcore?
    I wonder what the temperature is like
  • -1 Hide
    Anonymous , September 20, 2008 5:29 PM
    What if the CMOS-battery dies, and all BIOS/overclocking-settings with it?
    Not for the average user to try to reconfigure these....
  • 0 Hide
    rhysee , September 21, 2008 8:07 PM
    Not bad , nice case and very good cabling.. like my cablekami!
  • 0 Hide
    neiroatopelcc , September 22, 2008 1:15 PM
    I really like their business strategy. I'd like to see them make a discount model though!

    Most of those I build pc's for don't really use them for much hightech stuff. What if a company like this could provide them with an overclocked pentium dualcore with cheap pc2-6400c5, a 1tb spinpoint f1, and a overclocked 8800gt (or similar) packed in an antec sonata 3 chassis or some other lowcost-but-nice chassis?

    I mean - let's face it .... those systems I built years ago with x200 onboard and 2gb memory are still running, and if I'd been able to deliver an oc'ed system with warranty, they'd run another year more. They ARE too slow now though, and need replacing. Which means I'll have to built more pc's which I'd rather not.
  • 0 Hide
    warlordsagan , September 24, 2008 12:20 AM
    I live in Edmonton, Canada and bought a custom Reactor from Uberclok. I won't bore anyone with my story of what happened but Thomas Glen went out of his way to make sure I was happy with it. The cables inside the Cosmos S case where as neat as anyone could possibly get them. And it was stably overclocked by 33% and still running at a good temperature. A happy customer here.