Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Seven 8 GB DDR3 Memory Kits For Your AMD A75 Motherboard

Seven 8 GB DDR3 Memory Kits For Your AMD A75 Motherboard
By

Because integrated GPUs generally employ shared system memory, RAM performance has a significant effect on gaming frame rates. We're testing seven 8 GB DDR3 kits that manufacturers tell us are a perfect match for AMD’s mainstream Llano-based APUs.

The biggest surprise in AMD’s Llano architecture was its integrated GPU's ability to play real games. And by real games we mean the kinds of titles that people who call themselves enthusiasts like to play. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is actually viable at high quality and 1680x1050. What you need to understand, though, is that gaming performance is largely affected by the memory you drop into a Llano-powered machine, as discussed in Chris Angelini's launch coverage page, “Making Memory Performance Matter Again.”

Of course, the most recent titles are more demanding than Call of Duty. However, we're still able to play them at lower resolutions and detail levels. That's something no other integrated GPU has ever done satisfactorily. We've always been impressed by the graphics quality of Call of Duty, given how low-impact it seems to be on hardware. So, we're also testing some of the more demanding titles in our suite in order to put today's memory kits through the ringer.

8 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 Rated Settings
 Data Rate (MT/s)
TimingsVoltage
Adata XPG DDR3-1600+
AX3U1600PC4G8-2P
16008-8-8-241.65 V
Corsair Vengeance
CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8R
16008-8-8-241.50 V
G.Skill Ripjaws X
F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM
16008-8-8-241.50 V
Geil Evo Corsa
GOC38GB1866C9DC
18669-10-9-281.50 V
Kingston HyperX
KHX1600C9D3P1K2/8G
16009-9-9-271.50 V
Mushkin Enhnaced
Redline 997000
16007-8-7-241.65 V
PNY XLR8
MD8192KD3-1600-X9
16009-9-9-241.65 V
Reference DDR3-1333 C913339-9-9-241.50 V


Note that we also include some basic DDR3-1333 CAS 9 in today’s round-up, intended to set a performance baseline in our charts. The real question, then, is: how much more speed will these low- to mid-priced modules bring to our games?

Display all 34 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • -5 Hide
    hmp_goose , September 5, 2011 4:29 AM
    Where's the CAS7 DDR3-1333? Many of us are still trying to pin down how important timing are in the scheme of things …
  • 3 Hide
    _Pez_ , September 5, 2011 4:44 AM
    Cool Review !! I liked it ! this review enforced my decision to choose Adata Ram-.
  • 6 Hide
    whysobluepandabear , September 5, 2011 5:17 AM
    hmp_gooseWhere's the CAS7 DDR3-1333? Many of us are still trying to pin down how important timing are in the scheme of things …


    They're not.


    You're better off buying value RAM with decent timings and throwing that extra $$$ into a GPU. I promise your FPS will improve more that way.



  • 5 Hide
    Crashman , September 5, 2011 5:59 AM
    Quote:
    Where's the CAS7 DDR3-1333? Many of us are still trying to pin down how important timing are in the scheme of things …
    CAS 7? Most of the modules were tested at DDR3-1333 CAS 6.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/llano-apu-memory-performance,3017-10.html

    Please read the article, thanks!
  • 0 Hide
    Rizlla , September 5, 2011 6:34 AM
    I have been looking at those Corsair kits for an upgrade and it's good to know they are approved.
  • 0 Hide
    beenthere , September 5, 2011 7:44 AM
    As has been known for quite some time, there is virtually no performance gain on DDR3 RAM with lower CAS because DDR3 has plenty of bandwidth and frequency. The higher the frequency the lower the cycle time in real time, thus CAS 7 vs. CAS 9 is totally insignificant in system performance.
  • 0 Hide
    ojas , September 5, 2011 7:56 AM
    Is it a valid conclusion that, if the 8GB kits are good, then the corresponding 4GB and 2GB kits would be good to? Or will pricing make a difference there?
  • 0 Hide
    ChromeTusk , September 5, 2011 8:29 AM
    Quote:
    I have been looking at those Corsair kits for an upgrade and it's good to know they are approved.

    Wish I found that Corsair CAS8 kit, but I did find the CAS9 version for $50, no rebate or shipping.
  • -2 Hide
    nforce4max , September 5, 2011 12:50 PM
    I bought the cheaper version G.SKill kit for $59 oh well :s can't wait for prices to drop again for a little splurge ;) 
  • 0 Hide
    Yuka , September 5, 2011 1:14 PM
    Nice review guys!

    I got the HyperX modules the A8 and the Vengeance are on my main rig. Now, I'm still intrigued about unganged when using a 4 module MoBo. I got the A8 with 4 modules in unganged at 1600 CL9 and it runs pretty well, but i wonder how that compares to this 2 modules MoBo.

    Cheers!
  • 0 Hide
    cypeq , September 5, 2011 1:45 PM
    I think the black horse here is 30-40$ 1333 value ram.

    Still llano isn't strong enough to give any reason for faster twice as expensive (or more) rams.

    IMHO who the hell would like to buy 60$ ram for a budget apu targeted more at htpc than anything.
    P.S. 8GB of RAM in htpc or lowend rig *poke in the head*
  • 0 Hide
    Krnt , September 5, 2011 2:57 PM
    Uhhh... I have recently bought some cheaper 4GB Mushkin Redline 997013 1600 7-8-7-24 with the Frostbite Head spreader and lower voltage at Newegg, for $44 + shipping, I felt that was a good choice for the price.
  • 3 Hide
    Crashman , September 5, 2011 6:05 PM
    cypeqI think the black horse here is 30-40$ 1333 value ram.Still llano isn't strong enough to give any reason for faster twice as expensive (or more) rams.IMHO who the hell would like to buy 60$ ram for a budget apu targeted more at htpc than anything. P.S. 8GB of RAM in htpc or lowend rig *poke in the head*
    The CPU in that APU is a fairly good one, not everyone needs a graphics card.
  • 0 Hide
    jhansonxi , September 5, 2011 6:41 PM
    WhysoBluepandabearThey're not. You're better off buying value RAM with decent timings and throwing that extra $$$ into a GPU. I promise your FPS will improve more that way.
    I agree more or less. I would rather get non-registered ECC memory and a good video card. An FPS or two isn't going to affect me much. Was burned by factory-overclocked DDR2 that started failing randomly after a few months. I decided that my data was a lot more important than speed.
  • 2 Hide
    SteelCity1981 , September 6, 2011 1:36 AM
    8gb of DDR3 is soo cheap now there isn't a reason to not buy 8gb of DDR3.
  • 2 Hide
    americanbrian , September 6, 2011 6:54 AM
    Why choose the A6 with its less demanding GPU part? Surely the A8 line would be a more suitable testbed?
  • 2 Hide
    Crashman , September 6, 2011 7:47 AM
    americanbrianWhy choose the A6 with its less demanding GPU part? Surely the A8 line would be a more suitable testbed?
    Different editors get different CPUs and rarely complain about the supplier's decision.
  • 0 Hide
    cypeq , September 6, 2011 11:07 AM
    CrashmanThe CPU in that APU is a fairly good one, not everyone needs a graphics card.

    What is your point ? This article was not about CPU neither my comment .
    Focus of this article was that expensive as hell ram will boost your graphical experience with integrated GPU. In my opinion gains do not justify the price mere 4 fps?
    Next generation will bring more muscle to the stage article like that may be justified then. For now I'd advice everyone unsure to go with quality value ram and spend extra money towards stronger processor.

    Still results here are staggering compared to regular desktop setups where highend +100$ rams give marginal (bellow 1fps) advantage over 1333 cl9 value rams.
  • -1 Hide
    daglesj , September 6, 2011 11:50 AM
    You cant deny this review (and any RAM review these days) is a total waste of life.
  • 2 Hide
    Crashman , September 6, 2011 11:59 AM
    cypeqWhat is your point ? This article was not about CPU neither my comment .Focus of this article was that expensive as hell ram will boost your graphical experience with integrated GPU. In my opinion gains do not justify the price mere 4 fps?Next generation will bring more muscle to the stage article like that may be justified then. For now I'd advice everyone unsure to go with quality value ram and spend extra money towards stronger processor.Still results here are staggering compared to regular desktop setups where highend +100$ rams give marginal (bellow 1fps) advantage over 1333 cl9 value rams.

    I think this is relevant:

    You have a good CPU for an upper-mainstream system in that APU. That justifies the extra capacity. If you're a "casual" gamer, you also have a "barely acceptable" GPU. That justifies the extra performance.
Display more comments