Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Silverstone Crown CW03 HTPC Case

Silverstone Crown CW03 HTPC Case
By

Silverstone has always created very high quality cases; they have created some of the most desired units in the industry with the TJ and LC series. Now they have introduced us to the royalty of the HTPC case line, with the Crown CW03.

silverstone cw03

Silverstone’s Crown CW03, the king of the HTPC cases

The Crown CW03 case comes in silver and black, so its color scheme should fit in with most home theater and A/V systems. This is to be a full featured HTPC case designed to house higher-end hardware, so it can perform up to the needs of the most demanding HTPC users. For this review, the silver version was tested.

Display all 28 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    Jakt , May 13, 2008 2:11 PM
    It's a good review of a case, but it's a bit misleading to title page 5 "Making an HTPC". Making a good HTPC involves a lot more than slapping some good componenents inside a spiffy HTPC case. Readers interested in "Making an HTPC" would benefit from a discussion of video capture cards, cpu cooling fans, hard drives (cooler and quieter, and discrete pvr drives that are seperate from the OS hd), video cards (passive cooling!) and even pvr software, such as Windows Media Center, BeyondTV, Myth TV, or others.

    Maybe I didn't read carefully enough, but I didn't see what the street price of this case is. Also, are there competitive alternatives worth considering?

    I'm not here to shoot this article down, but I was hoping to see some of these issues addressed after reading 7 pages.



    Th
  • 0 Hide
    TeraMedia , May 13, 2008 2:14 PM
    For anyone building an HTPC with this case, they would probably want cooler, larger HDDs. The GP series from WD would be better for that.

    The CPU and GPU are probably overkill unless the person using this is an avid gamer.

    You did not say much about the touchscreen and how it works with Vista's built-in Media Center software. You stated that the instructions say to set it up as the secondary display in an extended configuration. Does the touchscreen echo the information in Vista's MC? Or did you use iMedian?
  • 0 Hide
    BillLake , May 13, 2008 3:42 PM
    I actually used Vista MC, iMedian and the HDMedian also. They all have their benefits and weaknesses. When connected to the big TV, I used Vista MC, it worked better for me with the remote, when connected to a local LCD the others worked better as they really like the use of the touch screen. Going back and forth was easy with the software, sorry I did not put more on that in the article but I wanted to keep it more about the case than software because that can be tweaked and changed. I can say when connected to my big TV, I really like the little LCD show one thing and maybe have something else on the TV. Kind of like Picture in a picture.

    As far as more on HTPC, check out Tom's other articles as there are several and this was just about this case. You can compare them there, same for the software as there are articles on that too. As for the cost of this case, they usually use the search engine to provide that but just google it and you will find prices running about $699. http://www.google.com/products?q=silverstone+CW03&rls=com.microsoft:*&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&um=1
  • 0 Hide
    resonance451 , May 13, 2008 6:29 PM
    I've been building MicroATX HTPC's, and find them just as quiet and operational, and a lot cheaper, even with adding a screen (and why would I even want that, as I've got a 56" 1080p HDTV?!)
  • 0 Hide
    Jakt , May 13, 2008 7:31 PM
    I have an Ahanix mce701 (not sure if they make them anymore) for my htpc. Very similar to the Silverstone, but not the same high level of quality. At less than half the price, I am extremely satisfied with the Ahanix. The touchscreen is wonderful for doing everything that the television isn't needed for, such as selecting and playing music, catching the latest weather forecast, or simply looping a slideshow of the kids while it's idle. The screen also adds a certain geek-cool touch to my entertainment center. I keep my components at eye-level, but if it were stacked below the tv, I could see the benefits of the little touchscreen greatly diminished.
  • 0 Hide
    boysdaddy , May 13, 2008 7:52 PM
    What CPU cooler did you use?
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 13, 2008 8:12 PM
    While this article is fine for reveiwing the case itself, it really falls short on the build aspect. Tom's Hardware is far too long overdue for an updated HD HTPC build. It seems like they are focused just on gaming. With DVD recorders with built in HDD's pretty much banned in the U.S., HTPC's are really becoming popular.
  • 0 Hide
    wcrank , May 13, 2008 8:52 PM
    I have a Coolermaster CM Media 282, you can use 4 120mm fans in this case. Its not the most stylish, but with Noctua 120mm fans it is exceptionally silent (due to the position of the fans I run passive cooling on an EVGA 8600 gt GPU, & AM2 5200 CPU). Plus I built this system for probably the cost of the silverstone case... Not a power house system, it is only a PVR.
  • 1 Hide
    BillLake , May 14, 2008 2:11 AM
    boysdaddy: I used the stock cooler on the Q6600. I thought it was very quiet even under load and was impressed with it. It is not a highend cooler but I did not have time to do much more.

    niknik, I was going to do a Blu-Ray drive with some results of it but the Pioneer blu-ray software did not work, it said not a supported pioneer system and then the replacement did the same. I am investigating it further before I say any more but I think an HD HTPC system is a good idea.

    I build a PVR on the KPC system like I reviewed, it works great, is quiet and I spent less than $400 on it
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 14, 2008 8:45 PM
    For $700 there should be no flaws. Ridiculous.
  • 0 Hide
    shadow2get , May 15, 2008 5:16 AM
    I wonder if anyone heard of this HDD model:

    "Seagate WD5000AAKS"

    Looks like a typo error here.
    Located here: Page 5 - Making an HTPC, Table 1: System Components
  • 0 Hide
    BillLake , May 15, 2008 4:06 PM
    Should have been Western Digital not Seagate
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 17, 2008 8:41 AM
    Just a short note, you stated you used a Seagate harddrive with partnumber WD5000AAKS. Of course, this is not a Seagate drive but a Western Digital Caviar SE16.
  • -1 Hide
    BillLake , May 19, 2008 12:40 AM
    yes it was a Western Digital hard drive and I used a standard 7200 RPM HDD becuase eventually I want to do mirroring of this system and the GP drives do not work for any RAID duties. WD even says this and I would assume that this is due to the variable speed causing the data to get out of sync. This is supported by reports from users who have tried to use the GP drives in RAID configurations. I would recommend a large GP drive if you want to save energy and perhaps soon Toms will do a test of the energy saving in the motherboard and HDD that claim energy savings
  • 0 Hide
    TeraMedia , May 19, 2008 2:29 PM
    Bill, you might be interested in the WD7500AYPS at http://www.wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=384. It has RAID-specific TLER and is part of the GP family. I'd love to see where they say not to use it in RAID arrays, because I was about to buy two for that purpose.
  • 0 Hide
    BillLake , May 20, 2008 12:57 AM
    The RE2 version of the drives do support RAID with TLER and RAFF but the AACS and EACS models do not support these features. Sorry again for the miss information.
  • 0 Hide
    TeraMedia , May 20, 2008 1:17 PM
    Thanks for the clarif.
  • 0 Hide
    retro77 , May 22, 2008 9:28 PM
    I bet a good portion of the cost is in that LCD screen. All and all that's a pretty sweet case. I too would be curious on a HD HTPC build, maybe even a couple of different affordability levels.
  • 0 Hide
    BillLake , May 31, 2008 11:32 PM
    For anyone interested I installed a Blu-Ray drive to watch Blu-Ray movies, the small LCD would play the movies without any problem but I ran into trouble with the Pioneer software it does not support being installed on the secondary SATA controller from Gigabyte. Then I learned that my about a year old Sony LCD TV is not HDCP enable so I can not watch the Blu-Ray movies on my 42" TV which really sucks. So the moral to this story is make sure your TV will support PC Blu-Ray before you build a HTPC like this or you might be wishing you did not waste the money on a Blu-Ray drive.
  • 0 Hide
    BillLake , May 31, 2008 11:35 PM
    Forgot to say my TV is KDF-E42A10 and it plays DVD great, same with TV or recorded TV just not Blu-Ray movies. I have contacted Sony but no answer on how to fix it.
Display more comments