Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Benchmark Results: Synthetic

System Builder Marathon: The $5,000 Extreme PC
By

Unlike applications, synthetics typically show the largest possible performance differences between various components. We start with 3DMark.

The four graphics processors of our current build beat three similar graphics processors in our December system, while the differences in scores were largely tied to the number of GPUs.

PCMark loves the dual-Intel SSD drives in RAID 0, spreading some of the hard drive test’s huge lead into its system-and-productivity tests.

Sandra’s arithmetic benchmark shows a surprisingly small performance gain for the latest system, while its multimedia benchmark shows a surprisingly large gain. If we averaged out the scores from both of these CPU tests, we’d likely find something closer to the “expected” performance gain.

DDR3-1800 memory speed gives the new system a colossal advantage in Sandra memory bandwidth.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 86 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    xx12amanxx , February 12, 2009 5:11 AM
    Nice article!

    I wish i could own a rig like that,but it would be that or a 383 stroker for the F-body..lol I can dream cant I?
  • 1 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 5:32 AM
    xx12amanxxNice article!I wish i could own a rig like that,but it would be that or a 383 stroker for the F-body..lol I can dream cant I?


    383 strokers are for copycats. Basically, too many bad 400 blocks and people found a cheap way to re-use the cranks to make their 350's bigger. If you have THIS kind of money, you'd might as well go BIG BORE too. Maybe a bowtie block? At any rate, you'll win more races with a real 400 (or larger custom size) so long as the block is good.
  • 2 Hide
    one-shot , February 12, 2009 6:24 AM
    It is interesting to note on Page 14. On the Sandra XII Multimedia test the Core i7 965 @ 4.2GHz scored 486,971, while the i7 920 @ 4.0GHz scored 386,867. The difference was 200MHz and made such a large difference. Did the Intel SSDs influence such a large gain in performance or the DDR3 @ 1800MHz or perhaps a combination of both?
  • 3 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 6:45 AM
    Quote:
    It is interesting to note on Page 14. On the Sandra XII Multimedia test the Core i7 965 @ 4.2GHz scored 486,971, while the i7 920 @ 4.0GHz scored 386,867. The difference was 200MHz and made such a large difference. Did the Intel SSDs influence such a large gain in performance or the DDR3 @ 1800MHz or perhaps a combination of both?


    The 965 has a higher-bandwidth QPI link, so it should be good for boosting at least a few synthetic scores.
  • 4 Hide
    xx12amanxx , February 12, 2009 7:24 AM
    Intel is the fastest thats why...This is supposed to be an uber rig.

    Ya crashman thats the problem i dont have that kind of money..lol A fresh stock rebuild bolt on's and spray will have to hold me off until better times!
  • 6 Hide
    JeanLuc , February 12, 2009 8:19 AM
    I would love to seen those Windows boot times with those RAID 0 Intel SDD's!
  • -8 Hide
    gim159 , February 12, 2009 8:35 AM
    Yeah, Optimize the heck out of it and take all of the unnecessary stuff out.. Probably 4 sec boot, Awesome!
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 10:17 AM
    xx12amanxxIntel is the fastest thats why...This is supposed to be an uber rig.Ya crashman thats the problem i dont have that kind of money..lol A fresh stock rebuild bolt on's and spray will have to hold me off until better times!


    I spec'd out a friend's 406 C.I. mouse a few years ago and he got through under $4500 with aluminum heads and a roller cam!
  • 2 Hide
    DjEaZy , February 12, 2009 10:51 AM
    ... maybe build some AMD based systems too, to see, how they stack up against in price/performance... just for tha fun of it...
  • 3 Hide
    _horse , February 12, 2009 10:51 AM
    Great article!

    HOWEVER, Should have used an Antec1200 for that much coin on the case. I have one at home using water cooling and its so much easier than any other case I've used to date. Cheaper too, in this instance.
  • 4 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 11:03 AM
    _horseGreat article!HOWEVER, Should have used an Antec1200 for that much coin on the case. I have one at home using water cooling and its so much easier than any other case I've used to date. Cheaper too, in this instance.


    I've owned both, the Cooler Master is a nicer case. I mean, we're just throwing opinions around now, right?

    But the Cosmos S is far more portable, and it fits the big radiator perfectly. In fact, it's the only stock case to fit that radiator properly.
  • 0 Hide
    LATTEH , February 12, 2009 11:13 AM
    With a build like that you guys should have tryed to set Crysis with 16 AA!


    well it probably wont be playable but it would just be neat to see.
  • 1 Hide
    _horse , February 12, 2009 11:24 AM
    CrashmanI've owned both, the Cooler Master is a nicer case. I mean, we're just throwing opinions around now, right?But the Cosmos S is far more portable, and it fits the big radiator perfectly. In fact, it's the only stock case to fit that radiator properly.


    Thats true, but I didnt know we were going for portability here, especially with a liquid cooled system.
  • 2 Hide
    rodney_ws , February 12, 2009 11:31 AM
    There's no way that sound "card" is up to the level of a $5k rig.
  • 3 Hide
    jcknouse , February 12, 2009 11:33 AM
    Nice article.

    Question for the writing staff:

    Have you thought about taking all your review statistics, and assembling an "uber system" based on the best parts based on what you have found in your review tests?

    Just curious. I don't remember that ever having been done before here. And for $5,000, you surely could afford to throw together all of the top notch parts into a system for kind of a "what happens when you put all the best parts together" article.

    Now you guys have me itching to build a new system already...and I just built one back in September!! lol
  • 1 Hide
    jcknouse , February 12, 2009 11:36 AM
    That is a really good question too:

    With the width of the video cards, where would you plug in a soundcard? Does it use the 3rd PCI-E x16 slot?

    Just curious. I've always noticed how the ATX motherboard size standard hasn't shifted to grow with the growth of the size of components, such as video cards and component heatsinks.

    Limited room bites. lol
  • 2 Hide
    cah027 , February 12, 2009 11:37 AM
    Why not 3 liquid cooled 285's. Maybe drop the Blueray and or go down to a 920 in the next one. Keep the SSD's.
  • 1 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 11:49 AM
    cah027Why not 3 liquid cooled 285's. Maybe drop the Blueray and or go down to a 920 in the next one. Keep the SSD's.SSD's are fast but the only benchmarks they matter in are the ones that don't count (synthetics)


    SSD's are fast but the only benchmarks they matter in are the ones that don't count (synthetics)
Display more comments