ASRock X470 Taichi Ultimate: Just Add 10GbE?

How We Test

We started today’s comparison by retesting the Gigabyte’s X470 Aorus Gaming 7 WiFi, using the new hardware available at a different lab. Unfortunately, we found that the board defaulted our high-flying G.Skill DDR4-3866 to a mere DDR4-1866, crippling our performance metrics. Kingston’s DDR4-2933 now fills that role with an XMP setting that’s optimized for AMD processors and equally impressive overclocking capacity. Unfortunately, its DDR4-2400 defaults boosted performance to the point that none of our prior findings could be properly compared. We’re restarting from a zero baseline.

Sound

Integrated HD audio

Network

Integrated gigabit networking

Graphics Driver

GeForce 382.53

The same platform that cooled the intense heat of our X299 motherboards works equally well with AMD’s AM4 processors, as proven in the overclocking evaluation of our next page.

Comparison

Loading...

With only one X470 board to compare, we filled out the bottom of our charts with an average of all previous Z370 data. You’ll want to see just how well the AM4 boards perform before crying Intel bias on this occasion.

Benchmark Settings

Synthetic Benchmarks & Settings

PCMark 8

Version 2.7.613
Home, Creative, Work, Storage, Applications (Adobe & Microsoft)

3DMark 13

Version 4.47.597.0
Skydiver, Firestrike, Firestrike Extreme Default Presets

SiSoftware Sandra

Version 2016.03.22.21
CPU Arithmetic, Multimedia, Cryptography, Memory Bandwidth

DiskSPD

4K Random Read, 4K Random Write
128K Sequential Read, 128K Sequential Write

Cinebench R15

Build RC83328DEMO
OpenGL Benchmark

CompuBench

Version 1.5.8
Face Detection, Optical Flow, Ocean Surface, Ray Tracing

Application Tests & Settings

LAME MP3

Version 3.98.3
Mixed 271MB WAV to mp3: Command: -b 160 --nores (160Kb/s)

HandBrake CLI

Version: 0.9.9
Sintel Open Movie Project: 4.19GB 4K mkv to x265 mp4

Blender

Version 2.68a
BMW 27 CPU Render Benchmark, BMW 27 GPU Render Benchmark

7-Zip

Version 16.02
THG-Workload (7.6GB) to .7z, command line switches "a -t7z -r -m0=LZMA2 -mx=9"

Adobe After Effects CC

Release 2015.3.0, Version 13.8.0.144
PCMark-driven routine

Adobe Photoshop CC

Release 2015.5.0, 20160603.r.88 x64
PCMark-driven routine (light and heavy)

Adobe InDesign CC

Release 2015.4, Build 11.4.0.90 x64
PCMark-driven routine

Adobe Illustrator

Release 2015.3.0, Version 20.0.0 (64-bit)
PCMark-driven routine

Game Tests & Settings

Ashes of the Singularity

Version 1.31.21360
High Preset - 1920 x 1080, Mid Shadow Quality, 1x MSAA
Crazy Preset - 1920 x 1080, High Shadow Quality, 2x MSAA

F1 2015

2015 Season, Abu Dhabi track, Rain
Medium Preset, no AF
Ultra High Preset, 16x AF

Metro: Last Light Redux

Version 3.00 x64
High Quality, 1920 x 1080, High Tesselation, 16x AF
Very High Quality, 1920 x 1080, Very High Tesselation, 16x AF

The Talos Principle

Version 267252
Medium Preset, High Quality, High Tesselation, 4x AF
Ultra Preset, Very High Quality, Very High Tesselation, 16x AF

MORE: Best Motherboards

MORE: How To Choose A Motherboard

MORE: All Motherboard Content

3 comments
    Your comment
  • Rookie_MIB
    Just wondering why you would include the 'average 8700k configuration' in the overclocking results for an article about an AM4 platform? Why not include a result on a B350 AM4 board? That way you could compare the value of AMD budget systems vs stepping up to a more expensive board for a Ryzen build.
  • Crashman
    1373686 said:
    Just wondering why you would include the 'average 8700k configuration' in the overclocking results for an article about an AM4 platform? Why not include a result on a B350 AM4 board? That way you could compare the value of AMD budget systems vs stepping up to a more expensive board for a Ryzen build.
    Simply including the X470 Aorus Gaming 7 WiFi added nearly three days to the test, and adding another AM4 board would have delayed the review by that much again. We did test more AM4 boards for the second, third, and fourth review, but those reviews haven't been published yet.
  • rantoc
    I really hope 10GbE takes off, 1GbE is starting to feel slow now that storage speeds have been increased significantly with SSD's