Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Benchmark Results: Productivity

AMD Desktop Trinity Update: Now With Core i3 And A8-3870K
By

Trinity dominates in our OCR-oriented workload, followed by Llano. The Sandy Bridge-based i3 takes second-to-last yet again.

From our preview of the Trinity-based desktop APUs:

“Our audience likes to see Fritz included in our suite, but unlike some of our more applicable benchmarks, a loss in Fritz isn’t particularly concerning for us, given its fairly synthetic outcome.”

Our analysis from Visual Studio applies here as well:

“In contrast, compiling Google Chrome in Visual Studio 2010 is the very definition of real-world. And while we can fairly easily dismiss the results from Fritz, the fact that the second-fastest Llano-based APU outmaneuvers the soon-to-be flagship A10 isn’t something you can argue away using references to heterogeneous computing. If you already own Llano, it's going to be hard to compel an upgrade based on results like these.”

The difference is that Intel’s Core i3 lands right between the Llano-based parts and Trinity. These aren’t the right CPUs to buy for someone who compiles a lot of code, though.

Excellent single-threaded performance grants Core i3 the win when we print a PowerPoint document to PDF, though the A10 isn’t far behind.

The better news is that Trinity completely outclasses Llano in this metric.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 145 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 32 Hide
    belardo , July 2, 2012 4:55 AM
    OOOPS!!

    And it still doesn't make sense to only reserve the best graphics for the high-end chips. People who want such performance in a desktop or notebook may likely have a dedicated GPU anyway.

    The i3' should have HD graphics 3500/4000.
  • 22 Hide
    Reynod , July 2, 2012 5:23 AM
    She did a good job getting the point across with the tech jargon.

    I'd like to see her doing some more short videos on various products.

    She has improved with each new video too.

    Good move Chris and team.

    :) 
  • 22 Hide
    Onus , July 2, 2012 5:00 AM
    This gives me real hope that Piledriver will be a worthwhile chip to put on my 990FX rather than scrapping it for Intel as software becomes more demanding.

    I made myself read the entire article. I consider myself a literate person, but I still cannot find words to properly (and respectfully) express just how physically Beautiful your announcer is.
Other Comments
  • 32 Hide
    belardo , July 2, 2012 4:55 AM
    OOOPS!!

    And it still doesn't make sense to only reserve the best graphics for the high-end chips. People who want such performance in a desktop or notebook may likely have a dedicated GPU anyway.

    The i3' should have HD graphics 3500/4000.
  • 13 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , July 2, 2012 4:58 AM
    where are the OpenCL benchmarks ? specially in winzip ?

    if Intel cant run those, then technically its a loss for intel and win for AMD, right?
  • 22 Hide
    Onus , July 2, 2012 5:00 AM
    This gives me real hope that Piledriver will be a worthwhile chip to put on my 990FX rather than scrapping it for Intel as software becomes more demanding.

    I made myself read the entire article. I consider myself a literate person, but I still cannot find words to properly (and respectfully) express just how physically Beautiful your announcer is.
  • 20 Hide
    Anonymous , July 2, 2012 5:11 AM
    The video review girl is lovely, but being able to see her black brassier pushing her incredible breasts through that see-through shirt made me not pay attention at all to what she was talking about.
  • 0 Hide
    ojas , July 2, 2012 5:13 AM
    Hmmm...you think you could fix to them to the same clock rate and test one real-world productivity test? And perhaps one game with discrete graphics (maybe i've missed this particular test if you've already done it, if i have, sorry about that)...i mean with the i3 benchmarks for comparison.

    Apart from that, i think Trinity is clearly a win if AMD prices it the same as Llano.
  • 3 Hide
    caqde , July 2, 2012 5:18 AM
    I saw a Trinity Desktop from HP on Walmarts shelves. I just wish the processors and motherboards would show up at places like newegg so I could build them for people.
  • 22 Hide
    Reynod , July 2, 2012 5:23 AM
    She did a good job getting the point across with the tech jargon.

    I'd like to see her doing some more short videos on various products.

    She has improved with each new video too.

    Good move Chris and team.

    :) 
  • 12 Hide
    de5_Roy , July 2, 2012 5:24 AM
    trinity's igpu humiliates intel's sb igpu, like llano's did almost a year back. all three are 32 nm products, so i think the comparison's fair. :)  if the igpu was well-scalable, intel should have built a 85/95w sb core i3 with 20-30 eus to be competitive with the apus, at least in terms of igpu performance. if intel once again slaps hd 2500 on core i3s and overprices the hd4k + core i3s, trinity will win in terms of price/performance.
  • -3 Hide
    vmem , July 2, 2012 5:30 AM
    REYNODShe did a good job getting the point across with the tech jargon.I'd like to see her doing some more short videos on various products.She has improved with each new video too.Good move Chris and team.

    Agreed, but she is also now completely covered up do to people "complaining". Would a low v-neck really be too much? She is overly covered compared to news anchors
  • 5 Hide
    Marco925 , July 2, 2012 5:35 AM
    Chris Angelini, What software do you use to create the RAM Drive?
  • 13 Hide
    amdfangirl , July 2, 2012 5:37 AM
    At least the single threaded gap is smaller... makes Trinity very competitive.

    Still amazing that a Core i3 with 1100mhz disadvantage (if you count turbo of 4.2Ghz) can beat Trinity.

    What a world we live in. :) 

    Interesting to see how Ivy Bridge Core i3 performs. Will Intel ramp up the clockspeed and risk cannibalising the Core i5 series? Given this turn of events, I wouldn't be surprised if Intel decides to make HD 4000 standard, or at least a cheap upgrade from HD 2500.

    For desktop Piledriver, Trinity competes well with Intel's Core i3 but I have a few concerns for Piledriver AM3+, mainly that there are unlocked Core i5s and i7s which may be able to negate the clockspeed advantage AMD has here.. Depending on how well Piledriver for AM3+ overclocks, AMD will need quite a hefty stock clock and OC ability to beat or match Intel.

    More likely than not, desktop AM3+ Piledriver won't be K8 to P4, but if it's just PhII to Core i5/i7 (bloomfield, lynnfield), I'll be happy.
  • 8 Hide
    csbeer , July 2, 2012 6:04 AM
    I wish these sites would do a thorough review of the dual graphics/asymmetrical crossfire set up of the APU chips. From what I've read there are certain situations where they shine but are highly dependent on the drivers.
  • 3 Hide
    goodguy713 , July 2, 2012 6:06 AM
    good review +1 for the lady she did a good job.. :p  any way was there any particular reason you did this review without discrete cards or is it that these are all laptop parts? just wondering hybrid crossfire would of been helpful.
  • -5 Hide
    _Pez_ , July 2, 2012 6:27 AM
    why amd memory cache and ram sucks badly ? does anyone know the technical answer?
  • -1 Hide
    we_san , July 2, 2012 6:27 AM
    Games : Just add both config 1 low-med discrete card and still intel cant beat amd. Hybrid cfx in action !
  • 8 Hide
    colinp , July 2, 2012 7:05 AM
    Would love to see some stats on the power draw and temperature, given that Trinity is a 100W part and the i3s were 65W (supposedly)
  • 8 Hide
    belardo , July 2, 2012 7:06 AM
    Thing is... in truth, Piledriver is more than good enough for todays needs. But if I am going to spend close to $200 for a CPU... i5-3570K without blinking.

    When I look at $100 CPUs for a budget user, I have to think: Is this an office/typical work or a low-cost gaming PC. If they are getting a dedicated card, the GPU part of the AMD CPU becomes useless. if its a biz PC that won't play 3D games... then the HD2000~3000 is overkill.

    The Trinity platform is FM2, so any AMD lovers (snif) are going to have to buy FM2 motherboards. Things that won't be on the market soon, and doesn't matter so much as people who are building their own PCs are going intel anyways.

    For AMD to compete, their A10 CPU needs to cost as much as an i3 class CPU... you get about the same performance + gaming abilities, if needed. Selling the FX at i5~i7 pricing didn't help at all.


    I don't consider any of the AMD dozer/driver CPUs to be true 4/6/8 CORE CPUs... they are not complete enough to be so and their performance against TRUE dual and quad core CPUs shows it.

    With that said... I think I can go with FM2 with a $100 quad core *IF* AMD had such a CPU for clients who need a good office PC. I can't go with FM1 or AM3 since those are EOL... and there are no FM2 products for us to choose from yet.
  • -1 Hide
    Yuka , July 2, 2012 7:08 AM
    Nice review guys.

    Can you make a quick decoding round up with the HD2k and HD3K against Trinity and Llano? Specially the HD2k, since mos of the Intel lineup in that segment has that.

    Cheers!
Display more comments