Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test System Configuration And Benchmarks

System Builder Marathon, March 2012: $650 Gaming PC
By

Current $650 PC System Test Configuration
Component Base Settings Overclock Setting
CPUIntel Core i3-2120 (Sandy Bridge), 3.3 GHz, LGA 1155, 3 MB Shared L3, Hyper-Threading Enabled, power savings enabledUnchanged
CPU CoolerIntel retail boxed heatsink & fanUnchanged
MotherboardGigabyte GA-H61MA-D3V
Intel H61, BIOS F3 (02-16-2012)
Unchanged
RAM4 GB Team Elite DDR3-1333 kit
2 x 2 GB, CL 9-9-9-24 1T at 1.5 V
DDR3-1333, CL 7-8-7-22 1T at 1.6 V
GraphicsXFX HD-695X-ZNFC Radeon HD 6950 1 GB
800 MHz GPU, 1250 MHz (5000 MT/s) Memory
840 MHz GPU, 1300 MHz (5200 MT/s) GDDR5 Memory
Hard DriveSeagate Barracuda ST500DM002
500 GB, 7200 RPM, 16 MB Cache
Unchanged
SoundIntegrated Eight-Channel HD AudioUnchanged
NetworkIntegrated Gigabit NetworkingUnchanged
PowerRosewill Green Series RG630-S12 630 WUnchanged
OpticalLG 22x DVD Burner SATA Model GH22NS90B-OEMUnchanged
 Software and Drivers
Operating SystemWindows 7 Ultimate Edition x64Unchanged
Graphics DriverAMD Catalyst 12.1Unchanged
Platform DriverIntel 6-series Inf v. 9.2.0.1030Unchanged
December $600 Gaming PC System Test Configuration
Component Base Settings Overclock Setting
CPUIntel Core i5-2400 (Sandy Bridge), 3.1 GHz, 3.4 GHz Turbo Boost, LGA 1155, 6 MB Shared L3, power savings enabledUnchanged
CPU CoolerIntel retail boxed heatsink & fanUnchanged
MotherboardMSI PH61A-P35
Intel H61, BIOS E7732IMS V1.3 (05-27-11)
Unchanged
RAM4 GB Wintec DDR3-1333 kit
2 x 2 GB, CL 9-9-9-24 1T at 1.5 V
DDR3-1333, CL 7-7-7-20 1T at 1.65 V
GraphicsSapphire 100314-3L Radeon HD 6870 1 GB
900 MHz GPU, 1050 MHz (4200 MT/s) Memory
990 MHz GPU, 1180 MHz (4720 MT/s) GDDR5 Memory
Hard DriveSeagate Barracuda ST3500413AS
500 GB, 7200 RPM, 16 MB Cache
Unchanged
SoundIntegrated Eight-Channel HD AudioUnchanged
NetworkIntegrated Gigabit NetworkingUnchanged
PowerAntec EarthWatts Green 430 W Unchanged
OpticalSamsung 22x DVD Burner SATA Model SH-222ABUnchanged
 Software and Drivers
Operating SystemWindows 7 Ultimate Edition x64Unchanged
Graphics DriverAMD Catalyst 11.11Unchanged
Platform DriverIntel 6-series Inf v. 9.2.0.1030Unchanged
Benchmark Configuration
3D Games
Battlefield 3Version 1.0.0.0, DirectX 11, 90-sec. Fraps "Going Hunting"
Test Set 1: Medium Quality Preset, No AA, 4X AF, SSAO
Test Set 2: Ultra Quality Preset,  4X MSAA, 16X AF, HBAO
DiRT 3Version 1.2, Direct X 11, Built-in Benchmark
Test Set 1: High Quality, No AA
Test Set 2: Ultra Quality, 8x AA
Elder Scrolls V: SkyrimVersion 1.4.27.0.4, December PC: v.1.3.10.0, 25-Sec. Fraps
Test Set 1: High Preset, No AA, 8x AF, FXAA Enabled
Test Set 2: Ultra Preset, 8x AA, 16x AF, FXAA Enabled
StarCraft IIVersion 1.4.3.21029, Tom's Hardware Map, 60-sec. Fraps
Test Set 1: High, DX11, AAA, 4x AF, No DoF, No PhysX
Test Set 2: Very High, DX11, 4x MSAA, 16x AF, DoF, No PhysX
CrysisPatch 1.2.1, DirectX 10, 64-bit executable, benchmark tool
Test Set 1: High Quality, No AA
Test Set 2: Very High Quality, No AA
F1 2010V.1.01, Direct X 11, -benchmark example_benchmark.xml
Test Set 1: High Quality, No AA
Test Set 2: Ultra Quality, 8x AA
Just Cause 2Steam Version, Built-in Benchmark "Concrete Jungle"
Test Set 1: Custom Medium Details, No AA, 8x AF
Test Set 2: Highest Settings, 8x AA, 16x AF
Metro 2033Steam Version, Built-In Benchmark
Test Set 1: High, DX11, AAA, 4x AF, No DoF, No PhysX
Test Set 2: Very High, DX11, 4x MSAA, 16x AF, DoF, No PhysX
Audio/Video Encoding
HandBrake CLIVersion 0.95: "Big Buck Bunny" (720x480, 23.972 FPS) 5 Min., Audio: Dolby Digital, 48 000 Hz, Six-Channel, English, to Video: AVC Audio: AC3 Audio2: AAC (High Profile)
iTunesVersion 10.4.1.10 x64: Audio CD (Terminator II SE), 53 minutes, default AAC format 
Lame MP3Version 3.98.3: Audio CD "Terminator II SE", 53 min, convert WAV to MP3 audio format, Command: -b 160 --nores (160 Kb/s)
MainConcept ReferenceVersion: 2.2.0.5440: MPEG-2 to H.264, MainConcept H.264/AVC Codec, 28 sec HDTV 1920x1080 (MPEG-2), Audio: MPEG-2 (44.1 kHz, 2 Channel, 16-Bit, 224 Kb/s), Codec: H.264 Pro, Mode: PAL 50i (25 FPS), Profile: H.264 BD HDMV
Productivity
ABBYY FineReaderVersion 10.0.102.82: Read PDF save to Doc, Source: Political Economy (J. Broadhurst 1842) 111 Pages
Adobe Photoshop CS5.1Version 12.1 x64: Filter 15.7 MB TIF Image: Radial Blur, Shape Blur, Median, Polar Coordinates
Autodesk 3ds Max 2012Version 14.0 x64: Space Flyby Mentalray, 248 Frames, 1440x1080
7-ZipVersion 9.22: THG-Workload (650 MB) to .7z, command line switches "a -t7z -r -m0=LZMA2 -mx=5"
WinRARVersion 4.01: THG-Workload (650 MB) to RAR, command line switches "winrar a -r -m3"
WinZipVersion 15.5 Pro: THG-Workload (650 MB) to ZIP, command line switches "-a -ez -p -r"
Sythetic Benchmarks and Settings
3DMark 11Version: 1.0.1, Entry, Performance, Extreme Suite
PCMark 7Version: 1.0.4, System, Productivity, Hard Disk Drive benchmarks
SiSoftware Sandra 2011Version 2011 17.80, CPU Test = CPU Arithmetic / MultiMedia, Memory Test = Bandwidth Benchmark
Display all 88 comments.
Top Comments
  • 22 Hide
    yukijin , March 26, 2012 5:24 AM
    so now that all the 6950's are deactivated or $289+, is this build invalid? because a 7850 is looking really good right now...
  • 17 Hide
    SpadeM , March 26, 2012 6:54 AM
    whysobluepandabearI appreciate what they're doing, but at some points, I can't help but feel like a cheap bitch. Making decisions overly measly amounts of money ($10) is just dumb. Work an extra day and just get the hardware you want. Or, don't go to the movies or out to eat for a few weeks. To me, there's a certain area, at which being cheap, just rips you off - you'd be better off spending a little more, and getting a much better item.

    It's not an issues of whether they had the money or not, it's a matter of principle, you set your budget and goals at a certain point and then you make choices. Sure, not everyone will be happy with what they chose but that's what forums are for.

    Anyways, anything a bit over 60fps (on a 60hz monitor) really isn't that bad, i mean you might lack the bragging rights but at the end of the day, it's about gaming and feeling satisfied that you shot enough monsters. To further empathize that having 70 fps constant is not total shit because another GPU can serve you 130 (as if you're going to notice without watching the fps counter) my one suggestion for this SBM would be to introduce a different style of graphs. Below 30fps all the colors of the bars to be grey and over 60 the same thing. This to focus the attention on most relevant (to my opinion) segment. I've seen a lot of ppl chase those fps numbers, buying expensive GPUs only to have them sit in a bad enclosure, sub par motherboard or weak CPU.
    Even in gaming, i believe balance is key.
  • 16 Hide
    whysobluepandabear , March 26, 2012 5:45 AM
    I appreciate what they're doing, but at some points, I can't help but feel like a cheap bitch.

    Making decisions overly measly amounts of money ($10) is just dumb. Work an extra day and just get the hardware you want. Or, don't go to the movies or out to eat for a few weeks.

    To me, there's a certain area, at which being cheap, just rips you off - you'd be better off spending a little more, and getting a much better item.
Other Comments
  • 22 Hide
    yukijin , March 26, 2012 5:24 AM
    so now that all the 6950's are deactivated or $289+, is this build invalid? because a 7850 is looking really good right now...
  • 15 Hide
    tristan_b , March 26, 2012 5:43 AM
    What yukijin said.
  • 16 Hide
    whysobluepandabear , March 26, 2012 5:45 AM
    I appreciate what they're doing, but at some points, I can't help but feel like a cheap bitch.

    Making decisions overly measly amounts of money ($10) is just dumb. Work an extra day and just get the hardware you want. Or, don't go to the movies or out to eat for a few weeks.

    To me, there's a certain area, at which being cheap, just rips you off - you'd be better off spending a little more, and getting a much better item.
  • -3 Hide
    Anonymous , March 26, 2012 5:51 AM
    How do I win this????
  • 5 Hide
    mortsmi7 , March 26, 2012 5:55 AM
    Let me get this straight... you raised the budget $150 "as a result of steep price hikes on mechanical storage", then only spent $85 on a HDD. You really just wanted a more expensive graphics card. You could have taken the $70 processor savings and the $65 under-budget HDD savings and nearly have had a $500 build.
  • -8 Hide
    de5_Roy , March 26, 2012 6:37 AM
    very good read.
    nice to see where core i3's limits lie.
    i wonder if you guys will consider amd's new fx 6200 or fx 8120 for the $1200 build, with 78xx series in cfx.
  • -7 Hide
    serhat359 , March 26, 2012 6:45 AM
    if I had $600 for a PC, I would go with i3-21xx, 6870, a better mobo and a better case.
    it is probably the best thing to do
  • 17 Hide
    SpadeM , March 26, 2012 6:54 AM
    whysobluepandabearI appreciate what they're doing, but at some points, I can't help but feel like a cheap bitch. Making decisions overly measly amounts of money ($10) is just dumb. Work an extra day and just get the hardware you want. Or, don't go to the movies or out to eat for a few weeks. To me, there's a certain area, at which being cheap, just rips you off - you'd be better off spending a little more, and getting a much better item.

    It's not an issues of whether they had the money or not, it's a matter of principle, you set your budget and goals at a certain point and then you make choices. Sure, not everyone will be happy with what they chose but that's what forums are for.

    Anyways, anything a bit over 60fps (on a 60hz monitor) really isn't that bad, i mean you might lack the bragging rights but at the end of the day, it's about gaming and feeling satisfied that you shot enough monsters. To further empathize that having 70 fps constant is not total shit because another GPU can serve you 130 (as if you're going to notice without watching the fps counter) my one suggestion for this SBM would be to introduce a different style of graphs. Below 30fps all the colors of the bars to be grey and over 60 the same thing. This to focus the attention on most relevant (to my opinion) segment. I've seen a lot of ppl chase those fps numbers, buying expensive GPUs only to have them sit in a bad enclosure, sub par motherboard or weak CPU.
    Even in gaming, i believe balance is key.
  • 2 Hide
    confish21 , March 26, 2012 6:58 AM
    Great Job! These builds keep me at Tomshardware!

    Only thing 1 thing, you said an I3 was used instead of an I5 on this page...
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/build-gaming-pc-overclock,3159-8.html
    You can check the 600 dec build here...
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/core-i5-overclock-performance-gaming,3097.html
    Pretty sure an I5-2400 was used.
  • 4 Hide
    jerreddredd , March 26, 2012 7:46 AM
    I'm glad they used a i3 2120 for the CPU, but I wish they would have used some of the newer cards like the HD 7950 or the GTX 560 Ti 448. these are roughly the same price. Spending and extra $20 on a PSU was a waste. the EA430D and 380W are the core of the budget build. I would like to see some testing of a few of the less expensive PSU ($50 or less) to see which are junk and which aren't bad.
  • 10 Hide
    Crashman , March 26, 2012 8:33 AM
    SpadeMIt's not an issues of whether they had the money or not, it's a matter of principle, you set your budget and goals at a certain point and then you make choices. Sure, not everyone will be happy with what they chose but that's what forums are for.
    Exactly. These parts were picked 5 or 6 weeks ago and Paul wanted to get maximum gaming performance this time. I prefer balanced systems, but then again I don't build something called the "$xxx Gaming PC"
  • 9 Hide
    pauldh , March 26, 2012 8:39 AM
    mortsmi7Let me get this straight... you raised the budget $150 "as a result of steep price hikes on mechanical storage", then only spent $85 on a HDD. You really just wanted a more expensive graphics card. You could have taken the $70 processor savings and the $65 under-budget HDD savings and nearly have had a $500 build.

    $150? Check the text again. We raised it $50 (from $600). quote- "Although our previous system ducked in under $600 with a small promotional savings factored in, duplicating our efforts when the series went live required more than $650 as a result of steep price hikes on mechanical storage. Consequently, we bumped the official budget up to $650 this quarter, keeping a level playing field with the prior config."

    The $500 Gaming PC does in fact have a long history at Tom's Hardware, but during the past few years we've often raised that limit to explore more attractive (higher) levels of hardware such as the recent Core i5-2400 and HD 6950.
  • -1 Hide
    giovanni86 , March 26, 2012 9:32 AM
    Not a bad build, can't really recommend this to any of my buddies but i do look forward to the next build. Is it just me or like maybe 5 years ago these builds used to cost 2x what they cost today =P Like performance was 5-7k.
  • -8 Hide
    tmk221 , March 26, 2012 9:50 AM
    I don't like this build. I think they should use afterburner or some other software to overclock gpu. That card would go much further imo. Also I think that phenom 2 x4 965 BE would yield better performance as you can overclock to ~4ghz.
  • 9 Hide
    pauldh , March 26, 2012 10:03 AM
    yukijinso now that all the 6950's are deactivated or $289+, is this build invalid? because a 7850 is looking really good right now...

    The HD 7800 series was not available until weeks after our window of opportunity (for ordering) had expired. So you will not see 7800s (or the GTX 680) in any of this month’s builds.

    Sure, the 7850 is an option now if within budget. Although a firm $650 component cap would mean dropping to a Sandy Bridge Pentium, or AMD FX-4100 build. Otherwise, there’s the cheaper GTX 560 Ti, which could leave funding for a different case and/or mobo.

    Good catch, ALL 6950s had been deactivated, now there is a single 2GB in stock for $290. Not likely, but worth keeping an eye on, since last gen parts often drop in price to offer tremendous value (before drying up altogether).

    jerreddreddI'm glad they used a i3 2120 for the CPU, but I wish they would have used some of the newer cards like the HD 7950 or the GTX 560 Ti 448. these are roughly the same price. Spending and extra $20 on a PSU was a waste. the EA430D and 380W are the core of the budget build. I would like to see some testing of a few of the less expensive PSU ($50 or less) to see which are junk and which aren't bad.
    Thanks, yeah, the Core i3 is very attractive for gaming, but we see overall how much it gives up in productivity.

    On the GPU side - The HD 7950 is far more expensive, so I assume you meant the 7850. As stated above, those were unavailable for any of this month’s builds. The GTX 560 Ti 448 was of course available, but at a much higher cost. It was way out of reach (back then) for a $650 build.

    confish21Great Job! These builds keep me at Tomshardware!Only thing 1 thing, you said an I3 was used instead of an I5 on this page... http://www.tomshardware.com/review [...] 159-8.htmlYou can check the 600 dec build here...http://www.tomshardware.com/review [...] ,3097.htmlPretty sure an I5-2400 was used.

    Thanks! i3-2400 was a typo. Fixed!
  • 4 Hide
    molo9000 , March 26, 2012 10:20 AM
    I personally wouldn't buy or recommend to buy a dual-core processor in this day and age. Some gaming benchmarks look good, but most people would be better off with a similarly priced AMD quad-core or a higher priced Intel quad-core, especially if the system is meant to last a few years. (which it is. Budget gamers don't upgrade every 2 years)


    btw: Battlefield 3 singleplayer benchmarks are VERY misleading. Multiplayer is a completely different animal.
  • -4 Hide
    Anonymous , March 26, 2012 10:58 AM
    gtx 480 run at $250 much better than 695
  • -6 Hide
    edwinjr , March 26, 2012 11:18 AM
    Where is system builder marathon for $500?
  • 0 Hide
    Onus , March 26, 2012 12:20 PM
    This build does a lot to confirm the need for balance. Confirmation vs. revelation is not a bad thing; consider the "revelation" in that $1200 SBM of just how badly an FX-6100 sucks. I'm not going to niggle over the parts in this build; my niece has commented that the E4400 rig I built for her some 5 years ago is now somewhat sluggish, so I'd love to win this one as a solid upgrade for her.
    Incidentally, I appreciate the initial remarks about the budget in this one. While I would like to have seen an additional $500 build, I understand why you did it this way, and am glad to see that you'll be returning to that budget next time.
  • 0 Hide
    jaquith , March 26, 2012 12:32 PM
    Thanks for the article.

    I refer to these builds often, I have a terrible time choosing components with budget minded builds. It's easy to say i7-2600K, $200+ MOBO, 8GB+ DDR3-1600 RAM, $200+ SSD, etc.

    For the most part everything is very playable with the exception of Metro 2033 at higher details/etc, and as one person pointed-out the HD 7850 is the HD 6850 replacement it might give some extra oomph but from what I recall 2~4FPS which is still short of 35+FPS needed.

    Obviously, a (i5/i7) 4-core is going to aide in productivity and in some gaming.
Display more comments
React To This Article