Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Results: More Common Desktop Apps

Core i7-4770K: Haswell's Performance, Previewed
By

The Core i7-4770K plants itself right between Intel's four-core Core i7-3770K and six-core -3970X.

More aggressive threading places Haswell ahead of Ivy Bridge in this OCR-based test, but quite a ways behind the flagship CPU representing Sandy Bridge-E.

Like LAME on the previous page, our iTunes benchmark is single-threaded. In this test, however, we're leaving Turbo Boost enabled. Higher IPC throughput pushes Core i7-4770K into a lead. The Sandy Bridge-E-based Core i7-3970X doesn't benefit from its six cores, and slides back to third place. It's only faster than the Core i7-2700K because of a higher single-core Turbo Boost frequency.

Haswell is certainly faster than Ivy and Sandy Bridge, but our Core i7-4770K cannot catch the Core i7-3970X in a benchmark able to utilize all processing resources.

Again, Core i7-3970X proves the viability of an older Sandy Bridge-E configuration in threaded software. The more mainstream processors trail behind.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 285 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 40 Hide
    Adroid , March 17, 2013 10:46 PM
    killerchickensDoes Haswell run hot as Ivy Bridge?

    That = the million dollar question. Did they do away with the bird poop and return to fluxless solder.

    Intel should stop throwing insults to the overclocking crowd. We will pay another 10$ for the fluxless solder.
  • 38 Hide
    twelve25 , March 17, 2013 10:20 PM
    Obviously with AMD striggling, Intel has no need to really stretch here. This is another simple incremental upgrade. Good jump from socket 1156, but I doubt many 1155 owners will feel the need to buy a new motherboard for this.
  • 27 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 17, 2013 10:47 PM
    @ Chris Angelini : Man, you are amazing for this preview! +1 to Toms.


    There is no surprise at Intel excluding TSX from the unlocked K parts. They removed teh VT-d in the Sb/IB too. Just so that people not use teh $300 chip in servers, but have to buy th e$2000 chip.
    Intel are fucked up

    i dont think Intel will be too happy with Toms for this preview....
Other Comments
  • 38 Hide
    twelve25 , March 17, 2013 10:20 PM
    Obviously with AMD striggling, Intel has no need to really stretch here. This is another simple incremental upgrade. Good jump from socket 1156, but I doubt many 1155 owners will feel the need to buy a new motherboard for this.
  • 19 Hide
    EzioAs , March 17, 2013 10:36 PM
    Thanks for the preview!

    So all of these results are what most people expected already: minimal increase in CPU performance while the iGPU shows significant increase? I'm not surprised really (and I believe most people have speculated this), since Haswell mostly targets the mobile segment.

    @twelve25

    In my opinion though, unless LGA1156 i5/i7 users really want to upgrade (native USB 3.0, more SATA 3, etc), they can still hold out with their current CPUs. Although upgrading to Haswell rather than IB does make much more sense if they really want to but there's also the reported USB 3.0 bug and we haven't seen the thermals and overclocking capability on this chip so it might actually be a turn off for some people. And yeah, I don't think many SB or IB users will upgrade to Haswell.
  • 18 Hide
    dagamer34 , March 17, 2013 10:38 PM
    @twelve25 But who does Intel really need to convince here? Trying to chase after people who upgrade every year is a fools errand because its such a small piece of the pie compared to the overall larger market. Besides, most of Intel's resources are clearly going towards making mobile chips better, where there energy really needs to be anyway.
  • 12 Hide
    dagamer34 , March 17, 2013 10:41 PM
    To add to EzioAs's point, I don't see most people on SB/IVB systems upgrading until Intel makes chips that have a good 10-15% better performance than 4.2-4.5Ghz SB/IVB systems or they decide to go down the APU route like AMD is (and also find/create workloads which an APU would beat those systems). In other words, not for another 2+ years.
  • 21 Hide
    killerchickens , March 17, 2013 10:42 PM
    Does Haswell run hot as Ivy Bridge?
  • 40 Hide
    Adroid , March 17, 2013 10:46 PM
    killerchickensDoes Haswell run hot as Ivy Bridge?

    That = the million dollar question. Did they do away with the bird poop and return to fluxless solder.

    Intel should stop throwing insults to the overclocking crowd. We will pay another 10$ for the fluxless solder.
  • 27 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 17, 2013 10:47 PM
    @ Chris Angelini : Man, you are amazing for this preview! +1 to Toms.


    There is no surprise at Intel excluding TSX from the unlocked K parts. They removed teh VT-d in the Sb/IB too. Just so that people not use teh $300 chip in servers, but have to buy th e$2000 chip.
    Intel are fucked up

    i dont think Intel will be too happy with Toms for this preview....
  • 6 Hide
    universal remonster , March 17, 2013 10:56 PM
    Excellent!! Thanks very much for the preview! Been waiting for this =)
  • 5 Hide
    sixdegree , March 17, 2013 11:09 PM
    Good preview. I kinda hoped that Toms includes the power consumption figure for Haswell. It's the biggest selling point of Haswell, after all.
  • 10 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 17, 2013 11:10 PM
    sixdegreeGood preview. I kinda hoped that Toms includes the power consumption figure for Haswell. It's the biggest selling point of Haswell, after all.


    Power consumptions is a lot dependent on the BIOS optimizations, which are far from final.
  • 8 Hide
    cangelini , March 17, 2013 11:15 PM
    mayankleoboy1@ Chris Angelini : Man, you are amazing for this preview! +1 to Toms.There is no surprise at Intel excluding TSX from the unlocked K parts. They removed teh VT-d in the Sb/IB too. Just so that people not use teh $300 chip in servers, but have to buy th e$2000 chip. Intel are fucked up i dont think Intel will be too happy with Toms for this preview....

    Thanks--and yeah, VT-d is being excluded from these K-series parts, too. Funny thing is that it'll be enabled on the -4770, but not the -4770K.
  • 0 Hide
    tomfreak , March 17, 2013 11:19 PM
    I could not understand the meaning of 3.5GHz vs 3.7GHz on 4770K 4 core turbo. which one is the right clock?
  • 4 Hide
    EzioAs , March 17, 2013 11:22 PM
    Quote:
    I could not understand the meaning of 3.5GHz vs 3.7GHz on 4770K 4 core turbo. which one is the right clock?


    If all 4 cores are being stressed (used), each core can boost itself up to 3.7GHz?
  • 12 Hide
    LORD_ORION , March 17, 2013 11:32 PM
    If you actually care about VT-d, why not get an 8350? 8 Cores for $200, and the IOMMU boards from Gigabyte start at $120.
  • 3 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 17, 2013 11:35 PM
    Do Microsoft Compilers even have specific optimisations for AVX2 and FMA3 ?

    @ Chris Angelini : Can you build a few applications in linux (like 7z and h.264) with -core-avx2 optimisation and test that ? Iam eager to know how much boost pre-written, integer heavy code can get with only compiler optimisations.
  • 4 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 17, 2013 11:40 PM
    LORD_ORIONIf you actually care about VT-d, why not get an 8350? 8 Cores for $200, and the IOMMU boards from Gigabyte start at $120.


    Because their performance sucks in comparison to the latest Xeons, as tested by Anandtech a few days back.
  • 7 Hide
    de5_Roy , March 17, 2013 11:44 PM
    nice preview!
    i was expecting something richland related. this came outta nowhere. :D 
  • -3 Hide
    ascension505 , March 17, 2013 11:47 PM
    tick-tock, nuff said
  • 7 Hide
    cangelini , March 17, 2013 11:51 PM
    mayankleoboy1Do Microsoft Compilers even have specific optimisations for AVX2 and FMA3 ? @ Chris Angelini : Can you build a few applications in linux (like 7z and h.264) with -core-avx2 optimisation and test that ? Iam eager to know how much boost pre-written, integer heavy code can get with only compiler optimisations.

    Let me see what I can do there.
  • -1 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 18, 2013 12:09 AM
    No info on QuickSync 3.0 ?

    I am assuming that :

    1. No proper working drivers.
    2. ISV's not willing to release pre-alpha builds over fear of Intels NDA wrath.

    Do you know if the QS3.0 performance will depend on the whether the chip has GT1/2/3 ?
Display more comments