Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Ubuntu Software Center

Ubuntu 9.10: The Karmic Koala Benchmarked And Reviewed
By

The Add/Remove Applications utility from previous versions of Ubuntu has been ditched in favor of a newer tool that does the same thing: the Ubuntu Software Center. While Add/Remove is simply a nice graphical front-end for Synaptic Package Manager, Ubuntu Software Center tries to emulate a software storefront like the iTunes App Store, whereas Add/Remove only mimicked the function of the same name from Windows.

While my 32-bit Test System was being prepped for the installation of 9.10, I began downloading benchmarking tools on my 64-bit machine. I had no problem getting files from the Web, though they seemed to download noticeably slower than in the past. I opened up the new Ubuntu Software Center to grab openArena at around 1:00pm EST on October 31st. At ten past four in the afternoon, I canceled the installation, which had only made it to 44 percent. This was not the last time I attempted to install openArena, but it set the pace for all future attempts.

I decided to make sure that it was Karmic Koala and the new Ubuntu Software Center to blame for the painfully-slow download. Booting a third machine into Jaunty, I was able to install openArena via the old Add/Remove Applications tool in about thirty minutes. Just to make sure it was the Karmic software repositories (repos) and not the Internet in general, I downloaded openArena directly from the official Web site on both the Jaunty box and in Karmic. The download via openArena's site completed in about the same time on both versions of Ubuntu. Therefore, the problem did lie with the Karmic repos. Although a good deal of the slowdown was due to everyone installing software through it in the days immediately after release, installing software via Karmic's Ubuntu Software Center has not gotten much faster in the (almost) month since the final release.

Not only is downloading files via the new Ubuntu Software Center slower than via Add/Remove Applications, but the additional number of clicks needed to perform the same operation has also added unnecessary time to the user experience. In Add/Remove Applications, you had the ability to select multiple applications with check boxes, and then click Apply Changes to install all of them together. In Ubuntu Software Center, you must click Install from within each app's description page. It might not seem like much, but this means that if you want to install three applications, it's going to take a lot more mouse clicks than it did with Add/Remove. In Ubuntu Software Center, you will need to click on the category the app is in, then the app, then Install, then back to the main screen of app categories to find the second app, and so on--for all three apps. While it's true that most of the time you would probably install one application at a time, due to the extraneous mouse clicks, the every-so-often fresh install of the entire OS becomes a pain, akin to Windows Vista UAC pre-SP1.

Simply browsing applications is also more trouble than it was with Add/Remove. Since Ubuntu Software Center uses a two-paned interface (with the left pane being almost useless), you will need to navigate backwards to select a new app when reading the currently-selected app's description. In Add/Remove, the bottom-right pane listed the app's description and the upper-right pane listed the applications in each category, while the left pane listed the categories. Basically, everything was on the same screen at once. Even the drop-down menus for selecting the software sources is now buried in the View menu in Ubuntu Software Center's menubar. The screen shots below illustrate the waste of screen space that Ubuntu Software Center brings to the table. Both show the same options and information about the example application (openArena), but Ubuntu Software Center is actually three screenshots edited together while Add/Remove Applications only needed one to display the same information.

If you're looking for a specific application, but not certain what category Canonical has put it in, finding it can be a hassle since you have to navigate backwards to the main app menu instead of just switching categories via the left-hand pane in Add/Remove. Though, if you know the correct name and spelling of an app, searching for it is probably a smarter way to go. However, the search bar disappears when you're in the app description page, forcing at least one navigation back to the previous page. I say at least one, because if you search for a video player application in the Office category page, it won't find it. You must backtrack to the main list of categories or be in the proper category (Sound & Video).

This is the first iteration of Ubuntu Software Center, so it stands to reason that improvements and tweaks will be made. But in its current state, Ubuntu Software Center is a major downgrade from Add/Remove Applications in terms of speed/performance, ease-of-use, and logical design.

Display all 146 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 10 Hide
    burnley14 , December 3, 2009 5:20 AM
    The new Upstart feature sounds terrific. Windows needs to take notes, I hate the awkward limbo of seeing your desktop but not being able to do anything.
Other Comments
  • 10 Hide
    burnley14 , December 3, 2009 5:20 AM
    The new Upstart feature sounds terrific. Windows needs to take notes, I hate the awkward limbo of seeing your desktop but not being able to do anything.
  • 5 Hide
    Anonymous , December 3, 2009 5:38 AM
    Hi,

    I was a bit surprised to read your slaughter of Ubuntu 9.10, because that does not reflect my experience with it. My first thoughts when reading this were related to the (possible lack of) integrity and technical skills of the author (sorry about that). Then I remembered that I experience a few minor issues when upgrading from 9.04 to 9.10 as well and that I read about people which were unhappy with it. However, none of these would IMHO deserve the label "epic fail".

    Spending four days for installing 9.10 and reinstalling 9.04 seems like way more time than you should need. I upgraded my computers running Ubunutu in less than an hour. I have not tried a clean install but it would surprise me that this would be any harder. My parents have also been using Ubuntu for more than a year now without any complaints (this includes an upgrade to 9.10). Maybe I have been lucky?

    I have been using Ubuntu at work and at home for the last 3-4 years and I am pretty happy with it. I am also happy with the fact that you (Tomshardware) have been writing about Linux a bit more frequently. Keep it up, but don't be so harsh :) 
  • 4 Hide
    jj463rd , December 3, 2009 5:44 AM
    I tried it on one PC.Had constant problems with the Mouse not working,system locking up etc.I went back to installing rock solid older 8.04 LTS on it which worked without problems (except for the time consuming (about) 450 updates).
  • 5 Hide
    rsmith13 , December 3, 2009 5:56 AM
    I also got the Kernel problem error messages after installing Xubuntu 9.10 on an AMD 64 system. They went away after doing an update. I now have Xubuntu 9.10 on 5 single and dual core AMD 64 systems. with no problems.

    Do the update!
  • 1 Hide
    cyberkuberiah , December 3, 2009 6:07 AM
    hardware driver support from the hardware makers themselves is lacking , i installed ubuntu , could not connect to belkin wifi even after using the prop drivers , and then uninstalled it . patience over .
  • 2 Hide
    haplo602 , December 3, 2009 6:14 AM
    nice article ... I mostly skimmed through it :-) anyway can you include a windows 7/vista benchmark base for the same hardware ?

    I know some of the test will be irrelevant (like the timed installation) but most should work.
  • 2 Hide
    DGriffin , December 3, 2009 6:17 AM
    I had 9.04 and upgraded to 9.10 with out any problems at all... I have a AMD 64 processor and had no problems with the 64bit vir... ..idk maybe I got lucky, but I sorta doubt it..
  • 0 Hide
    MaxTesla , December 3, 2009 6:39 AM
    The screensaver starts after 5 min so when you install Ubuntu the screen saver will start and the screen will go black you need to move your mouse too see the instalation again, this could of course be mistaken for a crash
  • -6 Hide
    MaxTesla , December 3, 2009 6:42 AM
    The screen saver starts after 5 min so when you install Ubuntu the screen saver will start and the screen will go black you need to move your mouse too see the installation again, this could of course be mistaken for a crash
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , December 3, 2009 6:49 AM
    I tried installing Ubuntu 9.10 via Wubi, immediately after rebooting from Windows and seeing the Ubuntu bootscreen it gave me a black screen, with my monitor reporting that there was no signal. Back to Windows I go, I suppose. :/ 
  • -9 Hide
    techguy378 , December 3, 2009 7:03 AM
    Windows is the most advanced desktop OS ever created. Unless you have a really, really old computer that can't run anything past Windows 98 there is never a reason not to run Windows on a PC. Don't waste your time with this Linux crap. Free isn't always better.
  • -3 Hide
    Anonymous , December 3, 2009 7:09 AM
    Oh! Please!

    All these installation crashes sound like memory failures. Did you run memtest before installing?
  • 6 Hide
    ibnsina , December 3, 2009 7:24 AM
    Simplicity + smooth Graphics UI = Great Linux

    Great Linux + industry support (drivers+gaming) = Great Operating System

  • 3 Hide
    Anonymous , December 3, 2009 7:27 AM
    Techguy378- Depends what you want it for. I use both OSes extensively. I quite enjoy not having to run an antivirus on my Ubuntu machine for instance. The responsiveness of Ubuntu is much better on the same machine when compared to windows, It's just unfortunate that some hardware isn't fully supported. That situation has improved a lot over the last few years but it's still there- my laptop would run ubuntu but the ACPI code in the bios is buggy (this is a hardware issue NOT a software issue- Microsoft just hasn't implemented the layer correctly which, oddly, circumvented the issue. Lucky! That said, i'd like to question what a proper implementation is if the one done incorrectly is the one that works....)

    I use Vista for my audio stuff, mainly because Fruityloops lags in Ubuntu. I also use Vista on my laptop for the ACPI issue, but I use ubuntu on my Desktop and server, because it's just less of a monster and requires less aftermarket tools to keep running. (Antivirus.)
  • -3 Hide
    Anonymous , December 3, 2009 8:23 AM
    I just spent the entire night trying to get Ubuntu 9.10 to get my USB devices to work in high speed mode. And I still haven't got it to work yet. Looks like there are a LOT of issues with Ubuntu. I only need to copy some stuff out of my ext4 partitions and using Ubuntu seems to be the wrong choice.
  • 2 Hide
    rean24 , December 3, 2009 8:32 AM
    I had no problem with 9.10 .
    Installed it through "Wubi" Not sure should i make the major change with a clean install.

    But soo far I havnt had any complains , all the effects are working , oline , workwise its Top-Notch.

    And Yes i am a Unbutu N00d..But Windows PRO...And if after a month of no problem will make the major change in OS.

    Only Complain I had was with my Logitic wireless mouse , but a quick change to the Microsoft one solved it all...
  • 5 Hide
    dimitrik , December 3, 2009 8:44 AM
    Good review. The fact is that about half the reviews of 9.10 are either negative or neutral due to problems encountered. Compared to the near universal positive reception of 9.04 this does warrant the words Epic Fail, especially since it squanders much of the goodwill built up by the success of 9.04.

    Based on all the reviews, I'm not even going to bother trying to run 9.10.
    I will give Linux Mint 8 a try instead which is based on 9.10 but has been customized for even more user-friendly operation and stability.
    The previous release Mint 7 was a nice improvement on 9.04 (which was great too) so I hope the Mint guys can pull the rabbit out of the hat again.

    Either way, I'll dual boot the new OS with my old one before even thinking of making it my main desktop.
  • 1 Hide
    tvel , December 3, 2009 9:21 AM
    I had no problems installing my 9.10 64 bit and I was surprised to read all the trouble you had.
    I'm using it for a month now with no problems at all.
  • 2 Hide
    JimmiG , December 3, 2009 9:28 AM
    Well, I've tried Ubuntu 9.04 previously, and it installed without a hitch on both my desktop and laptop systems.

    9.10 however just gives me a black screen when trying to use the bootable CD on my laptop. On my desktop system it installs fine, but doesn't detect my wireless adapter. 9.04 detected it automatically.

    I could probably fix both issues with patience, but it proves that Linux still isn't ready for desktop/laptop use, even though Linuxtremists have been claiming that for a decade.
  • 1 Hide
    nevertell , December 3, 2009 9:29 AM
    I've been using it since it went beta, and I haven't experienced any issues with the out-of-the box stuff. I do hate, the new media manager, I just want a tool to switch from alsa to PA when I want either gaming with wine or regular day-to-day use.
Display more comments