XoticPC’s G73JW: A Good Gaming Notebook Made Better?

Test Settings

Test System Configuration
Common CPUIntel Core i7-940XM PGA988
2.13-3.33 GHz, 8 MB L3 Cache
XoticPC: GraphicsNvidia GeForce GTX 460M 1.5 GB
675 MHz GPU Core, GDDR5-2500
Overclocked to 810 MHz GPU, GDDR5-2520
Mobile Driver Version 261.14
XoticPC: RAM4 x Samsung M471B5273CH0-CH9 (4 x 4 GB)
DDR3-1333 CAS 9-9-9-24 16 GB Total
XoticPC: Hard DriveIntel SSDSA2M080G2GC SSD
80 GB, MLC SATA 3Gb/s
XoticPC: PowerDelta 19.5 V 7.7 A (150 W) Power Block
14.6 V 520 mAh (75 Wh) Battery
X8100: GeForce
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX 480M 2 GB
425 MHz GPU Core, GDDR5-2400
Mobile Driver Version 257.07
X8100: Radeon
Graphics
2 x ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870 1 GB, CrossFire
700 MHz GPU, GDDR5-4000
Mobile Driver Version 8.75-100527a-100755E-Clevo
X8100: RAM2 x Kingston KHX1333C7S3K2/4G (2 x 2 GB)
DDR3-1333 CAS 7-7-7-20 4 GB Total
X8100: Hard DriveCorsair CSSD-V128GB2-BRKT SSD
128 GB, MLC, SATA 3Gb/s
X8100: PowerFSP 19 V 11.57 A (220 W) Power Block
14.8 V 4650 mAh (68.82 Wh) Battery
SoundIntegrated HD Audio
NetworkIntegrated Gigabit Networking
Software
OSMicrosoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
ChipsetIntel INF 9.1.1.1020
Benchmark Configuration
3D Games
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2Campaign, Act III, Second Sun (45 sec. FRAPS)
Test Set 1: Highest Settings, No AA
Test Set 2: Highest Settings, 4x AA
CrysisPatch 1.2.1, DirectX 10, 64-bit executable, benchmark tool
Test Set 1: High Quality, No AA
Test Set 2: Very High Quality, 4x AA
DiRT 2Run with -benchmark example_benchmark.xml
Test Set 1: High Quality Preset, No AA
Test Set 2: Ultra Quality Preset, 4x AA
S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call Of PripyatCall Of Pripyat Benchmark version
Test Set 1: High Preset, DX11 EFDL, No AA
Test Set 2: Ultra Preset, DX11 EFDL, 4x MSAA
Audio/Video Encoding
iTunesVersion:9.0.2.25 x64
Audio CD (Terminator II SE), 53 min
Default format AAC
HandBrake 0.9.4Version 0.9.4, convert first .vob file from The Last Samurai (1 GB) to .mp4, High Profile
TMPEGEnc 4.0 XPressVersion: 4.7.3.292
Import File: Terminator 2 SE DVD (5 Minutes)
Resolution: 720x576 (PAL) 16:9
DivX Codec 6.9.1Encoding mode: Insane Quality
Enhanced multithreading enabled using SSE4
Quarter-pixel search
Xvid 1.2.2Display encoding status = off
MainConcept Reference 1.6.1MPEG-2 to AVC (H.264), MainConcept H.264/AVC Codec, 28 sec HDTV 1920x1080 (MPEG2), Audio: MPEG- (44.1 KHz, 2 Channel, 16-Bit, 224 Kb/s), Mode: PAL (25 FPS)
Productivity
Adobe Photoshop CS4Version: 11.0 x64, Filter 15.7 MB TIF Image
Radial Blur, Shape Blur, Median, Polar Coordinates
Autodesk 3ds Max 2010Version: 11.0 x64, Rendering Dragon Image at 1920x1080 (HDTV)
Grisoft AVG Anti-Virus 9.0Version: 9.0.663, Virus base: 270.14.1/2407, Benchmark: Scan 334 MB Folder of ZIP/RAR compressed files
WinRAR 3.90Version x64 3.90, Dictionary = 4,096 KB, Benchmark: THG-Workload (334 MB)
7-ZipVersion 4.65: Format=Zip, Compression=Ultra, Method=Deflate, Dictionary Size=32 KB, Word Size=128, Threads=8
Benchmark: THG-Workload (334 MB)
Synthetic Benchmarks and Settings
3DMark VantageVersion: 1.0.1, GPU and CPU scores
PCMark VantageVersion: 1.0.1.0 x64, System, Productivity, Hard Disk Drive benchmarks
SiSoftware Sandra 2010Version 2010.1.16.11, CPU Test = CPU Arithmetic / MultiMedia, Memory Test = Bandwidth Benchmark
Create a new thread in the US Reviews comments forum about this subject
This thread is closed for comments
27 comments
Comment from the forums
    Your comment
  • the_krasno
    Add another 460M in SLI and then you have the punch needed!
  • fstrthnu
    With all of the flair going on over Sandy Bridge, one might as well just wait till someone comes out with the Sandy Bridge gaming notebooks
  • adribhel
    @fstrthnu:
    The new Asus G73SW on Xoticpc has sandy bridge ;)

    I'm waiting for a possible "G73SH" with Radeon 6970m, though it might never happen. :/
  • Crashman
    fstrthnuWith all of the flair going on over Sandy Bridge, one might as well just wait till someone comes out with the Sandy Bridge gaming notebooks
    XoticPC just wanted to show off its custom work and sent this in December. We're looking forward to the G73SW to be delivered in a similar configuration in the near future, so please stay tuned!
  • joytech22
    That is a pretty amazing laptop, I could definitely use one of those for LAN's.
  • curtis_87
    Is it me or has the print button suddenly disappeared from these batch of articles?...
  • Anonymous
    Is the problem a lack of strength? Or is it a heavy level of apathy? You can build the same machine in desktop form for significantly less.
  • kkiddu
    Although it's totally not fair to compare it with a desktop PC, but I've been confused on what to go for as I'm going to college next year, one option being the bare $1500 version of the G73, and the other being a netbook + a desktop. The problem with the desktop is that I'll have to haul it back home every vacation.

    But seeing that performance for $3000 is just 'good', I'm gonna stick with a $1400 desktop. I think I can get a 50% performance increase with half the price.
  • nevertell
    Why oh why didn't they fit a larger keyboard ? Look at the room on the sides of the keyboards, waiting to be filled with keys.
  • Big Daddy Rhino
    $3600? I literally LOL'd. Just built a Sandy Bridge, GTX 570 desktop that will smoke that laptop and I've got $2400 left over for hookers and booze.
  • Travis Beane
    Sorry, but no.
    I like the Clevo based alternatives a lot more. This is ugly and boring.
    It does disappoint me however that the Clevo 18.4" is 16/9 and not 16/10, but neither is this.

    Oh, and by the way, Sager sells its NP7280-S1 (Clevo) with the way I configured it with:
    17" 1920x1080
    Dual GTX 470M
    i7-950 3.06GHz
    12GB DDR3 (triple channel, so you get 4GB less memory, but 50% more bandwidth)
    2x750GB 7200RPM + 120GB Intel SSD
    6x Bluray reader/DVD writer
    Intel Ultimate-N 6300 wireless
    Bluetooth
    3 year extended warranty
    All for $3,643.

    So, better CPU, better GPU (nevermind there's two of them), 3x the HDD storage and a 50% larger SSD, better warranty, and all for $40 more.
    Screw you Zotac and Asus. ^_^
  • chickenhoagie
    I'm pretty sure they had an Asus laptop on newegg just like this one, but maybe a bit lesser of an i7 and with a radeon 5870, minus the SSD, but was still only $1,500..
  • irishmettle
    I agree with Travis and I like the Clevo systems better. I actually bought one from Xotic about 3 years ago and it is a solid laptop and it still gets the job done. The only complaint I have is my 8800m GTX in it died after about 1.5 years of heavy gaming, but I blame NVIDIA for that one.

    If you are looking for an enthusiast laptop I definitely recommend checking these guys out and do your price comparisons. One nice bonus is you get a bloat free OS from them.

    My two cents.
  • bildo123
    Beh, it's just OK when considering the asking price. I was expecting a little more action in the video graphics area TBH.
  • scook9
    A direct competitor to this and better build quality and price.....Alienware M17x R3 :)
  • Maziar
    Looks great.
    Hope you review the SW version soon with the new Sandy bridge CPUs
  • lothdk
    If doing a review like this in the future, having the basic model in the test as well would be nice, so we could see exactly what the changes does to the performance.
  • dilbert
    curtis_87Is it me or has the print button suddenly disappeared from these batch of articles?...


    I was wondering the same thing.
  • JackNaylorPE
    adribhel@fstrthnu:The new Asus G73SW on Xoticpc has sandy bridge I'm waiting for a possible "G73SH" with Radeon 6970m, though it might never happen.


    Ummm....they are out already

    http://www.pro-star.com/index.cfm

    P150HM, P150HM-PS1, P170HM, P170HM-PS1

    Pro-Star has the same Asus BTW, with blue or red KB backlighting rather than the flag thing for $200 cheaper.
  • JackNaylorPE
    Travis Beane......Sager sells its NP7280-S1 (Clevo) with the way I configured it with:17" 1920x1080Dual GTX 470Mi7-950 3.06GHz12GB DDR3 (triple channel, so you get 4GB less memory, but 50% more bandwidth)2x750GB 7200RPM + 120GB Intel SSD6x Bluray reader/DVD writerIntel Ultimate-N 6300 wirelessBluetooth3 year extended warrantyAll for $3,643.So, better CPU, better GPU (nevermind there's two of them), 3x the HDD storage and a 50% larger SSD, better warranty, and all for $40 more.Screw you Zotac and Asus. ^_^


    $100 cheaper at Pro-Star's site