Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Core i7-4770K: Haswell's Performance, Previewed

Core i7-4770K: Haswell's Performance, Previewed
By

A recent trip got us access to an early sample of Intel’s upcoming Core i7-4770K. We compare its performance to Ivy Bridge- and Sandy Bridge-based processors, so you have some idea what to expect when Intel officially introduces its Haswell architecture.

Editor's Note: The Core i7-4770K is now available! Get my impressions of the final silicon in The Core i7-4770K Review: Haswell Is Faster; Desktop Enthusiasts Yawn. It shouldn't surprise you to learn that the numbers and conclusions in this preview were pretty much spot-on!

We recently got our hands on a Core i7-4770K, based on Intel's Haswell micro-architecture. It’s not final silicon, but compared to earlier steppings (and earlier drivers), we’re comfortable enough about the way this chip performs to preview it against the Ivy and Sandy Bridge designs.

Presentations at last year's Developer Forum in San Francisco taught us as much as there is to know about the Haswell architecture itself. But as we get closer to the official launch, more details become known about how Haswell will materialize into actual products. Fortunately for us, some of the first CPUs based on Intel's newest design will be aimed at enthusiasts.

Fourth-Generation Intel Core Desktop Line-Up

Cores / Threads
TDP (W)
Clock Rate
1 Core
2 Cores
3 Cores
4 Cores
L3
GPU
Max. GPU Clock
TSX
i7-4770K4 / 8
84
3.5 GHz
3.9 GHz
3.9 GHz
3.8 GHz
3.7 GHz
8 MB
GT2
1.25 GHz
No
i7-47704 / 8
84
3.4 GHz
3.9 GHz
3.9 GHz3.8 GHz3.7 GHz8 MBGT2
1.2 GHz
Yes
i5-4670K4 / 4
84
3.4 GHz
3.8 GHz3.8 GHz3.7 GHz3.6 GHz
6 MB
GT2
1.2 GHzNo
i5-46704 /4
84
3.4 GHz
3.8 GHz3.8 GHz3.7 GHz3.6 GHz6 MBGT21.2 GHzYes
i5-45704 / 4
84
3.2 GHz
3.6 GHz3.6 GHz3.5 GHz
3.4 GHz
6 MBGT21.15GHz
Yes
i5-44304 / 4
84
3 GHz
3.2 GHz
3.2 GHz
3.1 GHz
3 GHz
6 MBGT21.1 GHz
No
i7-4770S4 / 4
65
3.1 GHz
3.9 GHz
3.8 GHz3.6 GHz3.5 GHz8 MB
GT21.2 GHzYes
i5-4570S4 / 465
2.9 GHz3.6 GHz3.5 GHz3.3 GHz
3.2 GHz
6 MB
GT21.15GHzYes
i5-4670S4 / 465
3.1 GHz3.8 GHz
3.7 GHz
3.5 GHz
3.4 GHz
6 MB
GT21.2 GHzYes
i5-4430S4 / 465
2.7 GHz
3.2 GHz
3.1 GHz
2.9 GHz
2.8 GHz
6 MBGT21.1 GHz
No
i7-4770T4 / 445
2.5 GHz
3.7 GHz
3.6 GHz
3.4 GHz
3.1 GHz
8 MBGT21.2 GHzYes
i5-4670T4 / 445
2.3 GHz
3.3 GHz
3.2 GHz
3 GHz
2.9 GHz
6 MBGT21.2 GHzYes
i7-4765T
4 / 4
35
2 GHz
3 GHz
2.9 GHz
2.7 GHz
2.6 GHz
8 MB
GT2
1.2 GHz
Yes
i5-4570T
2 / 4
35
2.9 GHz
3.6 GHz
3.3 GHz
-
-
4 MB
GT2
1.15 GHz
Yes


According to Intel’s current plans, you’ll find dual- and quad-core LGA 1150 models with the GT2 graphics configuration sporting 20 execution units. There will also be dual- and quad-core socketed rPGA-based models for the mobile space, featuring the same graphics setup. Everything in the table above is LGA 1150, though. All of those models share support for two channels of DDR3-1600 at 1.5 V and 800 MHz minimum core frequencies. They also share a 16-lane PCI Express 3.0 controller, AVX2 support, and AES-NI support. Interestingly, four of the listed models do not support Intel's new Transactional Synchronization Extensions (TSX). We're not sure why Intel would want to differentiate its products with a feature intended to handle locking more efficiently, but that appears to be what it's doing.

The much-anticipated GT3 graphics engine, with 40 EUs, is limited to BGA-based applications, meaning it won’t be upgradeable. Intel will have quad-core with GT3, quad-core with GT2, and dual-core with GT2 versions in ball grid array packaging. GT3 will also make an appearance in a BGA-based multi-chip package that includes a Lynx Point chipset. That’ll be a dual-core part, though.

In addition to the processors Intel plans to launch here in a few months, we’ll also be introduced to the 8-series Platform Controller Hubs, currently code-named Lynx Point. The most feature-complete version of Lynx Point will incorporate six SATA 6Gb/s ports, 14 total USB ports (six of which are USB 3.0), eight lanes of second-gen PCIe, and VGA output.

Eight-series chipsets are going to be physically smaller than their predecessors (23x22 millimeters on the desktop, rather than 27x27) with lower pin-counts. This is largely attributable to more capabilities integrated on the CPU itself. Previously, eight Flexible Display Interface lanes connected the processor and PCH. Although the processor die hosted an embedded DisplayPort controller, the VGA, LVDS, digital display interfaces, and audio were all down on the chipset. Now, the three digital ports are up in the processor, along with the audio and embedded DisplayPort. LVDS is gone altogether, as are six of the FDI lanes.

Display 285 Comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 40 Hide
    Adroid , March 17, 2013 10:46 PM
    killerchickensDoes Haswell run hot as Ivy Bridge?

    That = the million dollar question. Did they do away with the bird poop and return to fluxless solder.

    Intel should stop throwing insults to the overclocking crowd. We will pay another 10$ for the fluxless solder.
  • 38 Hide
    twelve25 , March 17, 2013 10:20 PM
    Obviously with AMD striggling, Intel has no need to really stretch here. This is another simple incremental upgrade. Good jump from socket 1156, but I doubt many 1155 owners will feel the need to buy a new motherboard for this.
  • 27 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 17, 2013 10:47 PM
    @ Chris Angelini : Man, you are amazing for this preview! +1 to Toms.


    There is no surprise at Intel excluding TSX from the unlocked K parts. They removed teh VT-d in the Sb/IB too. Just so that people not use teh $300 chip in servers, but have to buy th e$2000 chip.
    Intel are fucked up

    i dont think Intel will be too happy with Toms for this preview....
Other Comments
  • 38 Hide
    twelve25 , March 17, 2013 10:20 PM
    Obviously with AMD striggling, Intel has no need to really stretch here. This is another simple incremental upgrade. Good jump from socket 1156, but I doubt many 1155 owners will feel the need to buy a new motherboard for this.
  • 19 Hide
    EzioAs , March 17, 2013 10:36 PM
    Thanks for the preview!

    So all of these results are what most people expected already: minimal increase in CPU performance while the iGPU shows significant increase? I'm not surprised really (and I believe most people have speculated this), since Haswell mostly targets the mobile segment.

    @twelve25

    In my opinion though, unless LGA1156 i5/i7 users really want to upgrade (native USB 3.0, more SATA 3, etc), they can still hold out with their current CPUs. Although upgrading to Haswell rather than IB does make much more sense if they really want to but there's also the reported USB 3.0 bug and we haven't seen the thermals and overclocking capability on this chip so it might actually be a turn off for some people. And yeah, I don't think many SB or IB users will upgrade to Haswell.
  • 18 Hide
    dagamer34 , March 17, 2013 10:38 PM
    @twelve25 But who does Intel really need to convince here? Trying to chase after people who upgrade every year is a fools errand because its such a small piece of the pie compared to the overall larger market. Besides, most of Intel's resources are clearly going towards making mobile chips better, where there energy really needs to be anyway.
  • 12 Hide
    dagamer34 , March 17, 2013 10:41 PM
    To add to EzioAs's point, I don't see most people on SB/IVB systems upgrading until Intel makes chips that have a good 10-15% better performance than 4.2-4.5Ghz SB/IVB systems or they decide to go down the APU route like AMD is (and also find/create workloads which an APU would beat those systems). In other words, not for another 2+ years.
  • 21 Hide
    killerchickens , March 17, 2013 10:42 PM
    Does Haswell run hot as Ivy Bridge?
  • 40 Hide
    Adroid , March 17, 2013 10:46 PM
    killerchickensDoes Haswell run hot as Ivy Bridge?

    That = the million dollar question. Did they do away with the bird poop and return to fluxless solder.

    Intel should stop throwing insults to the overclocking crowd. We will pay another 10$ for the fluxless solder.
  • 27 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 17, 2013 10:47 PM
    @ Chris Angelini : Man, you are amazing for this preview! +1 to Toms.


    There is no surprise at Intel excluding TSX from the unlocked K parts. They removed teh VT-d in the Sb/IB too. Just so that people not use teh $300 chip in servers, but have to buy th e$2000 chip.
    Intel are fucked up

    i dont think Intel will be too happy with Toms for this preview....
  • 6 Hide
    universal remonster , March 17, 2013 10:56 PM
    Excellent!! Thanks very much for the preview! Been waiting for this =)
  • 5 Hide
    sixdegree , March 17, 2013 11:09 PM
    Good preview. I kinda hoped that Toms includes the power consumption figure for Haswell. It's the biggest selling point of Haswell, after all.
  • 10 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 17, 2013 11:10 PM
    sixdegreeGood preview. I kinda hoped that Toms includes the power consumption figure for Haswell. It's the biggest selling point of Haswell, after all.


    Power consumptions is a lot dependent on the BIOS optimizations, which are far from final.
  • 8 Hide
    cangelini , March 17, 2013 11:15 PM
    mayankleoboy1@ Chris Angelini : Man, you are amazing for this preview! +1 to Toms.There is no surprise at Intel excluding TSX from the unlocked K parts. They removed teh VT-d in the Sb/IB too. Just so that people not use teh $300 chip in servers, but have to buy th e$2000 chip. Intel are fucked up i dont think Intel will be too happy with Toms for this preview....

    Thanks--and yeah, VT-d is being excluded from these K-series parts, too. Funny thing is that it'll be enabled on the -4770, but not the -4770K.
  • 0 Hide
    tomfreak , March 17, 2013 11:19 PM
    I could not understand the meaning of 3.5GHz vs 3.7GHz on 4770K 4 core turbo. which one is the right clock?
  • 4 Hide
    EzioAs , March 17, 2013 11:22 PM
    Quote:
    I could not understand the meaning of 3.5GHz vs 3.7GHz on 4770K 4 core turbo. which one is the right clock?


    If all 4 cores are being stressed (used), each core can boost itself up to 3.7GHz?
  • 12 Hide
    LORD_ORION , March 17, 2013 11:32 PM
    If you actually care about VT-d, why not get an 8350? 8 Cores for $200, and the IOMMU boards from Gigabyte start at $120.
  • 3 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 17, 2013 11:35 PM
    Do Microsoft Compilers even have specific optimisations for AVX2 and FMA3 ?

    @ Chris Angelini : Can you build a few applications in linux (like 7z and h.264) with -core-avx2 optimisation and test that ? Iam eager to know how much boost pre-written, integer heavy code can get with only compiler optimisations.
  • 4 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 17, 2013 11:40 PM
    LORD_ORIONIf you actually care about VT-d, why not get an 8350? 8 Cores for $200, and the IOMMU boards from Gigabyte start at $120.


    Because their performance sucks in comparison to the latest Xeons, as tested by Anandtech a few days back.
  • 7 Hide
    de5_Roy , March 17, 2013 11:44 PM
    nice preview!
    i was expecting something richland related. this came outta nowhere. :D 
  • -3 Hide
    ascension505 , March 17, 2013 11:47 PM
    tick-tock, nuff said
  • 7 Hide
    cangelini , March 17, 2013 11:51 PM
    mayankleoboy1Do Microsoft Compilers even have specific optimisations for AVX2 and FMA3 ? @ Chris Angelini : Can you build a few applications in linux (like 7z and h.264) with -core-avx2 optimisation and test that ? Iam eager to know how much boost pre-written, integer heavy code can get with only compiler optimisations.

    Let me see what I can do there.
  • -1 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 18, 2013 12:09 AM
    No info on QuickSync 3.0 ?

    I am assuming that :

    1. No proper working drivers.
    2. ISV's not willing to release pre-alpha builds over fear of Intels NDA wrath.

    Do you know if the QS3.0 performance will depend on the whether the chip has GT1/2/3 ?
Display more comments