Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test Setup and Benchmarks

Efficiency: Core 2 Nukes Atom On The Desktop
By
System Hardware
CPU I Intel Atom 230 (45 nm, 1.6 GHz, 512 KB L2 Cache)
CPU II Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 (45 nm, 2.533 GHz, 3 MB L2 Cache)
Intel Atom Chipset : 945G ECS 945GCT-D, Rev. 1.0

Intel 945G Chipset, BIOS : 080013
Intel Core 2 Chipset : G31 Foxconn G31MG-S, Rev. 1.0

Intel G31 Chipset, BIOS : April 29, 2008
RAM 1x 2 GB DDR2-1066 Crucial CT25664AA1067 operated at DDR2-800 (Core 2) and DDR2-533 (Atom)
HDD Seagate Barracuda 7200.11, 500 GB

7,200 RPM, SATA/300, 32 MB cache
Blu-Ray Drive LG GGW-H20L
Graphics integrated 945G and G31 graphics
Power Supplies Fortron FSP220-60LE, 220 W

Etasis EFN-300, 300 W

Coolermaster, ATX 2.3, 850 W

OCZ Elite Xstream 1000, 1000 W


Please note that we only used a single DDR2 DIMM that ran at DDR2-533 speed with the Atom system and at DDR2-800 for the G31 motherboard. This was the only measure we took to bring the Core 2 Duo’s power consumption from 31 W to only 29 W, which was hence closer to the Atom system’s 28 W. This step makes little sense if you take a performance approach, as the memory bandwidth decreases. But it makes sense considering that many desktop Atom systems don’t even have a second DIMM socket to install more than one memory module.

Further power requirement reductions for our Core 2 Duo E7200 and G31 combo can probably be achieved by optimizing CPU voltage, which would involve “under-voltaging” the processor on suitable motherboards.

System Software&Drivers
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP SP2
DirectX 9 Version : April 2007
Intel Chipset INF : 9.0.0.1008
Java Java Runtime Environment 6.0 Update 1

Benchmarks and Settings

Audio Benchmarks and Settings
Benchmark Details
iTunes Version : 7.7.0.43
Audio CD (Terminator II SE), 53 min
Default format AAC
Lame MP3 Version 3.98
Audio CD "Terminator II SE", 53 min
wave to mp3
160 Kbps

Application Benchmarks and Settings
Benchmark Details
Winrar 3.80 Version 3.70 BETA 8
WinZIP Commandline Version 2.3
Compression = Best
Dictionary = 4096 KB
Benchmark : THG-Workload
Winzip 11 Version 11.2
Compression = Best
Benchmark : THG-Workload
Maxon Cinema 4D Release 10 Version : 10.008
Rendering from a scene
(Water drop at a Rose)
Resolution : 1280 x 1024 - 8Bit (50 frames)
Sysmark 2004 SE Version 1.04
Office Productivity

Synthetic Benchmarks and Settings

Benchmark Details
PCMark05 Version : 1.20
PCMark Benchmark
Memories Benchmark
CPU Benchmark
Graphics Benchmark
Windows Media Player 10.00.00.3646
Display all 67 comments.
  • 8 Hide
    slomo4sho , November 21, 2008 8:44 AM
    Thanks for the write up. I wish you actually compared the Atom to cheaper AMD CPUs like the 4850e instead of the core 2 though.
  • 0 Hide
    zodiacfml , November 21, 2008 9:02 AM
    quick follow up from the article on Efficient Motherboards which i mentioned that the power supply matters more than the motherboard for power efficiency.
    what's good in low power supplies is not really the efficiency, but they're lower in price and is usually less noisy. so indeed,you're right about to match the powersupply to the usual activity of the computer.

    the existence of an atom is not about power efficiency but lower die space then lower costs. as you see, the core2duo is almost 4 times the die space of the atom which reflects the three times performance advantage. also, i predict the atom will be more efficient at 0.8-1 GHz since the 1.6Ghz default speed is pretty high for this small chip.

    so, an atom system it is for NAS/server requirements. :) 
  • -1 Hide
    chouff , November 21, 2008 9:17 AM
    Slomo4shOThanks for the write up. I wish you actually compared the Atom to cheaper AMD CPUs like the 4850e instead of the core 2 though.


    They kind of did, here: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/shuttle-x27-atom,2038-5.html
  • 2 Hide
    blackwidow_rsa , November 21, 2008 9:23 AM
    The article states that the e7200 has a 800mhz fsb? shouldnt it be 1066mhz?
  • 3 Hide
    slomo4sho , November 21, 2008 9:27 AM
    chouffThey kind of did, here: http://www.tomshardware.com/review [...] 038-5.html


    Thats hardly a equal comparison... The AMD system was in no way build for power efficiency as it had a 4670 GPU.

    I want to see a fair representation of how well AMD holds up in the Power vs Performance discussion. Considering that you can get a MOBO + a 4850e for the price of a E7200, I would like to see how the two would compare when it comes to efficiency. Its also pretty unfair assessment of the atom vs a dual core processor, they really should have obtained a 330 for a more accurate assessment.

    Also, when will we be seeing a write-up on a variety of >400watt PSUs?
  • 4 Hide
    Mucke , November 21, 2008 10:35 AM
    Absolutely. If I want an efficient system I will take a 4850e + 780G-Board. It will still need more power but it will be usable in every day life without limitations.
  • 4 Hide
    Shadow703793 , November 21, 2008 11:19 AM
    What Intel needs to do is create a new chipset specifically for Atom. The Chipset uses up most of the power.
  • 1 Hide
    zenmaster , November 21, 2008 11:27 AM
    Intel's Chipsets overall need a examination from a power point of view.
    I think they are still on the 65nm process?
  • -1 Hide
    Pei-chen , November 21, 2008 11:39 AM
    Great article; I always knew nettop is a fad. It is too bad that sub 350w PSU is very difficult to find.
  • 4 Hide
    nihility , November 21, 2008 11:50 AM
    I don't understand why you didn't underclock/undervolt the C2D processor (and atom too). That would have been very meaningful data.
  • 1 Hide
    kureshii , November 21, 2008 12:24 PM
    The results are not all that surprising; in terms of power efficiency, the Atom setup is already "crippled" by the 945GC. It would be nice to do a rerun once Poulsbo mini-ITX motherboards are out. There are already some available, but they are not quite mainstream yet.

    I'm pretty sure the Core 2 will still beat out Atom+Poulsbo for more processor-intensive applications, but I'd like to see how the significantly lower idle power for Poulsbo will affect things.
  • 1 Hide
    pullmyfoot , November 21, 2008 1:29 PM
    An ok writeup. Pretty interesting. However it seems like the article was just thrown together without much thought of the content - the scope is so extremely limited. 2 CPUs? common.. You can do better than that. This seems to be the case with most of their recent articles and it seems like these articles are just there for the sake of being there.

    What happened to AMD CPUs? And it would be interesting to see how the E7200 performed undervolted and underclocked. Seeing how close its idle power is to the Atom, it might even take up less power.
  • 1 Hide
    enewmen , November 21, 2008 1:48 PM
    Just wondering.
    I have a 4 year old Pentium M @ 1400 Mhz.
    Seems plenty fast enough - can even play Oblivion on low settings. This makes me wonder if the Atom is fully capable of everyting except for media recoding, high-end games, etc.
    The Pentium M would have been a better comparison since everyone knows the C2D is whole lot faster, etc. blah blah
  • -1 Hide
    zcubed , November 21, 2008 2:33 PM
    great article. i wonder what the e7200 would perform like in a mini-itx board power-wise. there are 6 available(3 different types of chipsets) on newegg that will support it. that would probably also be a more even comparison with the atom.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , November 21, 2008 2:39 PM
    Hi,

    i really wish for this kind of comparison, you include the intel Pentium-M & Pentium-III M for comparison.

    I have an intel Pentium-M, and I wish I know if I upgrade to intel atom would it be faster or slower.
  • 0 Hide
    JimmiG , November 21, 2008 2:49 PM
    Pretty interesting, but the point of the Atom isn't to give the most performance per watt. It's about providing "good enough" performance for stuff like browsing the Internet, at the targeted power draw. If you plan on doing rendering, gaming, converting video etc., a low-end Core 2 is a better choice. Also current Atom chipsets draw much more than the CPU itself which kind of defeats the purpose of the Atom on the desktop (mini-ITX). This will improve once Atom gets its own memory controller, possibly integrated GPU core, and Intel comes out with more efficient chipsets. Finally the cheapest Atom CPU costs $29, quite a bit cheaper than any Core 2 CPU.
  • 0 Hide
    nmathew , November 21, 2008 2:54 PM
    nihilityI don't understand why you didn't underclock/undervolt the C2D processor (and atom too). That would have been very meaningful data.


    I fully agree. In my experience, C2D processors easily undervolt a fair bit. Set the C2D to a 800MHz bus, and look out. I wonder how close the e7200 or the lower L2 cache E5200 underclocked and undervolted could get to passive cooling. Furthermore, while I understand the desire for an apples to apples comparison, testing the e7200 with a lower power modern chipset would have been nice. There is no real need to hamper it with an older inefficient platform if the goal is to show that a C2D system can be more efficient in low wattage situations than an Atom based one.
  • 0 Hide
    Christos , November 21, 2008 3:16 PM
    The point of Atom isn't just low power requirements. It's about small die size in order to be used for netbooks. Try to fit a celeron in one...

    I believe the desktop versions of Atom aren't really useful. As this article proves using a low end ordinary desktop cpu can do more for the same power draw.

    Since i have a quite powerful desktop pc, but i need some portability too, i chose an Acer Aspire One. I really love it! It can do much more than browsing the net. I use it for developing in Visual Studio 2008, i use Office 2007, i even play games like Star Wars KOTOR with it. Atom may not be similar in performance to Core 2, but it is perfect for netbooks and provides more than enough power for the average user.

    But frankly there is no point in bying an Atom for a desktop pc.
  • 0 Hide
    Area51 , November 21, 2008 3:21 PM
    Shadow703793What Intel needs to do is create a new chipset specifically for Atom. The Chipset uses up most of the power.

    I think they are including an IMC on the next version.. That should reduce power consumption to the platform significantly.
  • -2 Hide
    tsponholz , November 21, 2008 3:26 PM
    Love the comparison...

    I have some follow up questions that the board may be able to answer:
    1) Since system power maxed at
Display more comments
React To This Article