Skip to main content

Operating System: XP For Hardware

Logging On

When you turn on the computer you will see a screen where all users of that computer are listed.

You simply click on your name and type your password (if you have one). If you have forgotten your password you can see your password hint by pressing the button labeled with the question mark. Hence, you don't have to type your username and you never have to press Ctrl+Alt+Del to log on. Notice that everyone can therefore see who has an account on the computer. They can even see all the password hints. In addition, the logon screen will give you a reading on how many unread emails you have if you are running Outlook Express.

Switching Users

Several users can be logged in at the same time. This is possible thanks to the "Switch User" feature. You simply hit "Log Off" at the bottom of the Start Menu and choose Switch User from the dialog box that pops up.

You are then returned to the login screen, but under your name it is reported that you currently are logged on and how many programs you have running. Another user can now click on his/hers name and log on, and all of your data and setting is automatically hidden (including email accounts and personal files). After someone logs off the login screen is always displayed.

If someone tries to reset or shut down the computer while other users are logged on and have programs running, they are prompted with a warning.

This "Switch User" feature seem to work very well and it makes it easy for people to share a computer. If you are doing some work on a PC and someone needs to access their personal files on the same PC for a moment, you don't have to close down anything to let them do so. When they are finished and you click on your name again, the desktop appears identical to how you left it.