Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

GeForce GTX 570 Review: Hitting $349 With Nvidia's GF110

GeForce GTX 570 Review: Hitting $349 With Nvidia's GF110
By

A month ago, Nvidia launched its GeForce GTX 580, and it was everything we wanted back in March. Now the company is introducing the GeForce GTX 570, also based on its GF110. Is it fast enough to make us forget the GF100-based 400-series ever existed?

Tom’s Hardware reader nevertell in response to my review of Nvidia’s GeForce GTX 580:

“So it's basically what the 480 should have been. Fair enough, I'll wait for the 470 version of the GF110 and buy that.”

If nevertell stuck to his guns, then he’s probably pretty happy right about now. After all, I’ve been playing with “the 470 version of the GF110” for three days now, and have to say I’m genuinely embarrassed for the GeForce GTX 480 cards selling for $450 online. Why? Well, here’s a bit of a spoiler alert: the GeForce GTX 570 is every bit as fast, and in some cases faster. Moreover, Nvidia’s pricing the thing at $349. As soon as I found out about this board, I tried to warn those of you following me on Twitter to abandon any plans to scoop up a discounted GTX 480 ahead of the holidays. The GTX 570 is far more attractive.

Then, before sitting down to write this piece up, I went back to read all 10 pages of feedback on the GeForce GTX 580 launch. The one theme that came up over and over was 6800-series cards in CrossFire. I didn’t have the boards to make that happen at the time (they were hanging out over at Don’s place in Canada), but I do now. And so this time around, you’ll see Nvidia’s GeForce GTX 570 compared to a pair of Radeon HD 6850s yoked together. The AMD cards are $30 more expensive, but if they can also manage to put down better performance, perhaps that’ll make for an even better value.

Not Every Flower Can Be A Rose

With GeForce GTX 580, Nvidia showed us what its Fermi architecture was intended to look like nine months ago.

All 16 Shader Multiprocessors are enabled, yielding 512 CUDA cores, 64 texture units, and 16 PolyMorph engines. And while the back-end still consists of six ROP partitions associated with six 64-bit memory controllers (384-bit aggregate), it runs at a slightly higher data rate, improving memory bandwidth. The graphics and shader clocks are also a fair bit quicker. Lo and behold, a more efficient heatsink and better fan design keep the thermals and noise in check too, even as the GeForce GTX 580 uses just about as much power as its predecessor.

Unfortunately, not every GF110 GPU cut from TSMC’s silicon can grow up to be a princess (that’s not to say the rest of them have to be GeForce GTX 465 toads either, though).

The GeForce GTX 570 is what you’d get if GeForce GTX 480 slept with GeForce GTX 470, and the offspring somehow ended up with GF110 DNA. That is to say, the card’s GPU features 15 Shader Multiprocessors, yielding 480 CUDA cores and 60 texture units. That’s GTX 480’s bosom. It also wields five ROP partitions, a 320-bit memory bus, and 1.25 GB of GDDR5 memory. That’s GTX 470’s derriere.

And of course you end up with the architectural enhancements made to GF110. Mainly, FP16 texture filtering happens in one clock cycle, just as it does on the GF104 found in GeForce GTX 460, and not the two cycles endured by GF100. Nvidia also made improvements to GF110’s Z-culling efficiency. This means the GPU is smarter about discarding pixels that don’t need to be rendered in a scene (because they’re behind other objects), conserving memory bandwidth and compute muscle.

Display 108 Comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 32 Hide
    nevertell , December 7, 2010 11:31 AM
    Yay, I got highlighted !
  • 26 Hide
    sstym , December 7, 2010 11:36 AM
    thearmGrrrr... Every time I see these benchmarks, I'm hoping Nvidia has taken the lead. They'll come back. It's alllll a cycle.


    There is no need to root for either one. What you really want is a healthy and competitive Nvidia to drive prices down. With Intel shutting them off the chipset market and AMD beating them on their turf with the 5XXX cards, the future looked grim for NVidia.
    It looks like they still got it, and that's what counts for consumers. Let's leave fanboyism to 12 year old console owners.
Other Comments
  • -9 Hide
    thearm , December 7, 2010 11:16 AM
    Grrrr... Every time I see these benchmarks, I'm hoping Nvidia has taken the lead. They'll come back. It's alllll a cycle.
  • 5 Hide
    xurwin , December 7, 2010 11:30 AM
    at $350 beating the 6850 in xfire? i COULD say this would be a pretty good deal, but why no 6870 in xfire? but with a narrow margin and if you need cuda. this would be a pretty sweet deal, but i'd also wait for 6900's but for now. we have a winner?
  • 32 Hide
    nevertell , December 7, 2010 11:31 AM
    Yay, I got highlighted !
  • 5 Hide
    verrul , December 7, 2010 11:35 AM
    because 2 6850s is pretty equal in price to the 570
  • 26 Hide
    sstym , December 7, 2010 11:36 AM
    thearmGrrrr... Every time I see these benchmarks, I'm hoping Nvidia has taken the lead. They'll come back. It's alllll a cycle.


    There is no need to root for either one. What you really want is a healthy and competitive Nvidia to drive prices down. With Intel shutting them off the chipset market and AMD beating them on their turf with the 5XXX cards, the future looked grim for NVidia.
    It looks like they still got it, and that's what counts for consumers. Let's leave fanboyism to 12 year old console owners.
  • 8 Hide
    nevertell , December 7, 2010 11:37 AM
    It's disappointing to see the freaky power/temperature parameters of the card when using two different displays. I was planing on using a display setup similar to that of the test, now I am in doubt.
  • -2 Hide
    reggieray , December 7, 2010 11:46 AM
    I always wonder why they use the overpriced Ultimate edition of Windows? I understand the 64 bit because of memory, that is what I bought but purchased the OEM home premium and saved some cash. For games the Ultimate does no extra value to them.
    Or am I missing something?
  • 6 Hide
    reggieray , December 7, 2010 11:50 AM
    PS Excellent Review
  • 3 Hide
    theholylancer , December 7, 2010 11:50 AM
    hmmm more sexual innuendo today than usual, new GF there chris? :D 

    EDIT:

    Love this gem:
    Quote:

    Before we shift away from HAWX 2 and onto another bit of laboratory drama, let me just say that Ubisoft’s mechanism for playing this game is perhaps the most invasive I’ve ever seen. If you’re going to require your customers to log in to a service every time they play a game, at least make that service somewhat responsive. Waiting a minute to authenticate over a 24 Mb/s connection is ridiculous, as is waiting another 45 seconds once the game shuts down for a sync. Ubi’s own version of Steam, this is not.


    When a reviewer of not your game, but of some hardware using your game comments on how bad it is for the DRM, you know it's time to not do that, or get your game else where warning.
  • 2 Hide
    amk09 , December 7, 2010 11:52 AM
    nevertellYay, I got highlighted !


    So you gonna buy it? Huh huh huh?
  • -1 Hide
    nevertell , December 7, 2010 11:54 AM
    I was planning on doing so, but I didn't get enough money from the work I was doing, so I'll stick with just a new monitor. I will definitely get a new card during the next year, but not for now :(  And by then, there might be new great cards out there.
  • 1 Hide
    lostandwandering , December 7, 2010 11:55 AM
    Good looking performance numbers. Will be interesting to see what this does in the real world to NVidia's pricing of the GTX 400 series.
  • -5 Hide
    SininStyle , December 7, 2010 12:02 PM
    Wow, no sli 460s included? Yet you include 6850s in xfire? really? *facepalm* fail
  • 2 Hide
    darkchazz , December 7, 2010 12:04 PM
    now I want gtx 560
  • 3 Hide
    anacandor , December 7, 2010 12:07 PM
    While the 5xx series is looking decent so far, it seems to me (pure speculation here) that Nvidia held back with this series and are possibly putting more resources into Kepler. I feel this because they aren't trying to kill AMD for market share, instead put up a perfectly resonable product that neither EXCELS vastly beyond last gen, but providing enough performance to justify a new product. That said i'm looking forward to their 2011 lineup.

    Also, it would have been interesting to see Metro 2033 tested with max instead of medium settings. All the cards are able to play medium at all resolutions with no AA... push them to their limits? :) 

    Thoroughly enjoyable review though. Thanks, Chris!
  • 4 Hide
    gxpbecker , December 7, 2010 12:20 PM
    i LOVE seeing Nvidia and AMD trading blows back and forth. Keeps prices in check lol and gives more optiosn for buyers!!!
  • 1 Hide
    kg2010 , December 7, 2010 12:26 PM
    You can see how the 460's in SLI did here vs the 580
    http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=614&Itemid=72

    But yeah, this review NEEDS 460's 1GB in SLI to be fair, as they are definitely an alternative to a 580, even a 570. There are quite a few cards at or below $199

    Dual Hawks for $320 AFTER MIR:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127518

    And these cards will overclock well.
  • 0 Hide
    tronika , December 7, 2010 12:32 PM
    ReggieRayI always wonder why they use the overpriced Ultimate edition of Windows? I understand the 64 bit because of memory, that is what I bought but purchased the OEM home premium and saved some cash. For games the Ultimate does no extra value to them.Or am I missing something?

    noticed that too. i really can't think of any reason other than the language support for the Tom's engineers. 99% of the gamer market would be better off with home premium 64 bit. the other 1% that actually runs and maintains a domain in their house should get professional or the bloated "ultimate". i mean, who really uses bitlocker on their gaming machine anyway? great article though! i jumped on the 580 and haven't looked back. used to run on a 5850 but now that i've seen fermi in all of it's glory i'm really interested in nvidia's future "vision".
  • 1 Hide
    cangelini , December 7, 2010 12:38 PM
    theholylancerhmmm more sexual innuendo today than usual, new GF there chris? EDIT:Love this gem:When a reviewer of not your game, but of some hardware using your game comments on how bad it is for the DRM, you know it's time to not do that, or get your game else where warning.


    Wait, innuendo? Where? :) 
Display more comments