Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

HTC One (M8) And One (E8) Review: A Flagship And Its Sidekick

HTC One (M8) And One (E8) Review: A Flagship And Its Sidekick
By

We run HTC's flagship Android smartphone, the One (M8), through our exhaustive benchmark suite. In addition, we take a close look at its less expensive sibling, the HTC One (E8). Both devices are compared and tested against a strong field of competition.

In a world where Samsung and Apple are gobbling up market share, its surprising to see former smartphone juggernauts struggling to find a niche. Back in 2009, HTC was in the power position, and its Hero was one of the only worthy contenders against the iPhone 3GS. A year later, HTC's Evo 4G was the first WiMAX-enabled phone in the United States. But while Samsung gained momentum with its Galaxy family and Apple capitalized on iPhone momentum, HTC's presence steadily declined.

The HTC One (M7), introduced in 2013, turned the company's fall from grace back the other way. It was almost universally lauded as an exemplary Android-based flagship. But the company continues to work hard for successes. July 2014 marks the first quarter of profitability for HTC since it started losing money in 2013, and the gains are attributable to cost-cutting measures (rather than increased sales). The pressure has never been greater to deliver hardware that takes the success of HTC's One to the next level.

And this is exactly what the HTC One (M8) and newly-introduced/less-costly HTC One (E8) were designed to do.

Released at the end of March, HTC's One (M8) replaced the One (M7) as its premium Android smartphone. The improvements are many, but a larger 5" screen, a redesigned body with 30% more metal, a faster Snapdragon 801 SoC, a dual-camera system capable of creating depth-of-field blur effects after the shot is taken, the addition of a microSD card slot, and a higher-capacity 2600 mAh battery are among the most notable. You wouldn't call the product revolutionary. However, there's a lot to like compared with last generation's One.

The HTC One (E8) followed last month, enabling many of the M8's improvements in a lower-priced package. Intended for parts of Asia and Eastern Europe, it's essentially HTC's One (M8) in a well-built polycarbonate body. The M8's dual-camera system is exchanged for a single 13 MP sensor that isn't as responsive. The TV remote feature gets  stripped out. Memory capacity is limited to 16 GB. But otherwise, the rest of the M8's goodness carries over, including the 5" screen and Snapdragon 801 processor with Adreno 330 graphics.

HTC One (E8) pricing is not available in North America, but we understand that a One (M8) sells for over £500 in the United Kingdom without a contract. Compare that to the HTC One (E8), which should be in the £270 range, and you can see that the new budget-friendly implementation could be a real looker in its intended markets. Fundamentally, all the E8 gives up is the metallic case, dual-camera system, and storage capacity. The case is largely aesthetic, the single sensor might be slower, but it captures more resolution, and the built-in flash can be augmented through the use of a microSD card. With all of that in mind, we can't help but hope the E8 finds its way to North America at a relatively low price point.

Since the M8 features a metal housing and the E8 is polycarbonate, there's a marked difference in available colors and finishes. Let's take a closer look.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 19 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    Heironious , July 24, 2014 12:39 AM
    The pricing says 1,309.00 for it on Amazon? May as well buy it straight from an authorized dealer for half that. It's a gorgeous phone and I don't regret picking it up over the Samsung S5 (mostly because of the cheap plastic of Samsung).
  • 0 Hide
    LordConrad , July 24, 2014 2:12 AM
    I love my M8 except for that stupid depth-camera, they should remove it and bring back OIS.
  • 0 Hide
    blackmagnum , July 24, 2014 2:18 AM
    HTC M8 versus Samsung S5. No contest!
  • 0 Hide
    JOSHSKORN , July 24, 2014 2:24 AM
    Just stop comparing to the iPhone 5s until a comparable 64-bit chip is released and implemented into Android phones. Until then, the iPhone 5s "appears to be faster" (only on benchmarks) but as many of us know, it justifies buying an iPhone for most users, even though a 64-bit processor in a mobile phone may be pointless (for now).
  • 0 Hide
    kevith , July 24, 2014 3:22 AM
    What is the price of E8? All over the article it says 699$, more than the M8 at 659.
  • 0 Hide
    CaedenV , July 24, 2014 4:46 AM
    If I were the android type I would get this phone hands-down. If they released a WP version then I would jump all over it over the stuff Nokia has been pushing out in 2014 so far.

    The only 'complaints' that I have are the lack of wireless charging (impossible due to the metal back plate right?), and the lack of a sort of Nokia Glance screen (though other android devices are picking up similar features). The cover seems to bring that Glance functionality... but I really don't like that cover and would rather not. The thing is that with my lowly 920 I have built myself an upright wireless charging stand, and with glance screen enabled whenever the device has access to power, it makes a most excellent clock/notification center. With my 920 approaching 2 years old I am starting to look for a replacement, and as of the moment I am not finding one. WP has seemingly abandoned the high end devices, I am not apple compatible, and Android devices have a lot of really neat features... but then you deal with non-standard UIs and gimmickey software. I really hope something really good comes out before Christmas because the 920 is not getting any younger.
  • 0 Hide
    stevessvt , July 24, 2014 6:13 AM
    Wow, these benchmarks are, by far, the lowest I have seen for the M8. 27K in Antutu? Was power saver on?
  • 0 Hide
    Avus , July 24, 2014 6:17 AM
    Holy!! $1300 for a phone.... I am too cheap for that...

    I am currently using Nexus 5 and happy with it. If I want to buy a phone now, I may want to get an Oneplus One.
  • 0 Hide
    envy14tpe , July 24, 2014 6:29 AM
    Great phone but that camera is what holds me back from buying it. So Samsung or Google gets my money, although Apple has the best camera. (However, no Apple..screen wayyy to small...Android flagship phones have been over 4" for 2+ years)
  • 0 Hide
    TeKEffect , July 24, 2014 8:05 AM
    Me and my friend are both having problems with the usb port. They went cheap on the cheapest part. I would google the problem before getting the one.
  • 0 Hide
    Merry_Blind , July 24, 2014 9:13 AM
    The E8 looks like a great phone for a great price! Can't wait to see the next Nexus phone though. The 5 was definitely best price to performance ratio. If I ever upgrade to a proper smartphone, it will probably be a Nexus, unless they somehow become garbage.
  • 1 Hide
    PapaCrazy , July 24, 2014 9:47 AM
    I love my One M8. I've had iPhones and Samsungs before. It's hard to explain why this phone is so enjoyable, it really is more than the sum of its parts. Slick UI even better than stock Android, insanely quick in day to day tasks, design features that genuinely make the phone easier to use like tap-to-wake, beautiful audio quality that can even drive my 600ohm(!) headphones to respectable volumes... I actually was planning on getting a Samsung G5 but with the lack of 32gb went with the HTC instead. I had no idea the HTC One was so awesome when I bought it, but glad I did. Next time around I will be looking at HTC first thing.
  • 1 Hide
    dovah-chan , July 24, 2014 11:27 AM
    http://puu.sh/aposd/12cc16eef6.jpg a proud owner
  • 0 Hide
    dovah-chan , July 24, 2014 11:31 AM
    oh yeah forgot to say that the futuremark benchmarks are invalid as HTC cheated on those for specifically optimizing for them
  • 0 Hide
    PapaCrazy , July 24, 2014 3:02 PM
    Quote:
    oh yeah forgot to say that the futuremark benchmarks are invalid as HTC cheated on those for specifically optimizing for them


    Not to make excuses for HTC, but the "high performance CPU mode" that becomes unlocked on those tests was made a public feature to downplay the fact that they cheated. So now you can goto Developer Options and enable it yourself 24/7 (with added battery drain). As an overclocker, I find it a cute novelty, but not much more. It's a tangible user benefit to the cheating, though not an excuse for such tactics in benchmarks.
  • 1 Hide
    Thor God Of Thunder , July 24, 2014 7:43 PM
    HTC makes excellent phones.
  • 1 Hide
    doogansquest , July 27, 2014 2:08 PM
    Apple's GPU scores aren't exactly accurate. I mean, they have to produce less information in their much lower resolution screens.

    Got to give it to them on their web browsing experience though. They've always been pretty good there. Still the most over-priced-per-performance piece of marketing-to-the-sheep garbage out there.
  • 1 Hide
    CaedenV , July 29, 2014 1:12 PM
    Woo Hoo! Confirmed yesterday that the HTC One (M8) is going to have a WP version! Sadly it will be tied to VZW, but perhaps there will be an international version that would play nice on ATT or T-Mo network? Still, this looks to be a much better offering than the Lumia 930, cant wait to see a release date and if they are going to mess with the hardware or housing for the WP variant.
  • 1 Hide
    stealthgamer , August 7, 2014 5:51 AM
    Great value for money phone is Xiaomi Mi3..........
    http://www.techtomorrow.in/xiaomi-mi3